Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cpa P1

• 25-03-2008 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭

Anyone doing CPA P1 exams next month? How are you set?
    Which syllabus are you on? Im still on the old one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Shurwhynot

I'm doing Law and Auditing next month. Haven't done a tap yet but i'm hoping that the 2 and a half weeks or so i have off before them will do. These are my first set of CPA exams and have only been working in practice since October so i'm not sure what to expect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

Yea I have Auditing, Management & Strategy and Corporate Reporting. Can't fecking wait.
    Have you had any problems with the CPA? I have found that they are very unhelpful to students.

Nah no problems as such. U getting study leave from work? how u finding auditing?

Yea I get a week, so I split it and take 2 weeks of half days, and u?
    Are you working in a practice?

Auditing, eh can't stand it, sat it last April and it didnt go so well, mind you, thats probably got something with the lack of study done...
    Am considering dropping it next year, on the new syllabus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭charba

I'm sitting the corporate reporting, financial management and law module.
    I'm quite annoyed to be sitting the law paper as I did company law in DCU but CPA don't deem it to have covered enough even though ICAI accept it!!!

Apart from that I find CPA okay. A little unhelpful the first time I filled in my training record but now that I can do that they are grand.

Where did you guys study?

I went to Griffith this year, found them very good. Went to a college in the south east last yr and there was no comparison, griffith was miles ahead.

And you?

The training records aren't very user friendlyare they? Still have to do mine... Any suggestions in doing them easily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭Hmm_Messiah

Don't suppose the " South East " college was Carlow IT ?

am there and its a disaster,

went to revision in Griffith College on weekend and did more than we'd previously done all year

feel like its a non starter, 3 weeks to f2 exams and we've never tackled an exam, question 9 other than in the revision seminar in griffith)

Yea, you would be right! The majority of my class didnt go back this yr.
    I found the biggest difference was that their aim was just for you to get 50%,where Griffith want you to get 100%.

3 weeks to go,I dunno about you but I have a sh*t load to do!!
    Cant wait till the 2nd of may!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Jakey

Im doing Management and Strategy and Corporate reporting, Was also in Griffith last weekend for the seminar quite impressed with the lecturers. I find CPA to be a total disaster to deal with.

Jakey wrote: »
    Im doing Management and Strategy and Corporate reporting, Was also in Griffith last weekend for the seminar quite impressed with the lecturers. I find CPA to be a total disaster to deal with.

Did you get back to Galway okay?

Yep, One day ill learn and not go out the night before the seminars. No more nights out til i get these exams out of the way.

Hows the study going?

Yea I noticed that you left a bit early!!
    Started studying last night, think it could be a pointless exercise, but sure will give it a shot
    And you? Any craic?
    Just think think time 3 weeks we'll be in corporate reporting!

You totally depressed me sayig that!!!

I went to BPP, very very good corporate reporting lecturer. Law was a lot to be desired. Guess its hard with a new course

Yeah I couldnt face hanging around for an hour when there was only an hour and a half left, Earnings per share isnt too frightening anyway.

Im trying to get 2 hours in most evenings but any excuse not too

Now that is worrying,

charba wrote: »
    You totally depressed me sayig that!!!

I went to BPP, very very good corporate reporting lecturer. Law was a lot to be desired. Guess its hard with a new course

I did BPP last year and I still use there manuals, I noticed that my BPP ones are almost twice as thick as the Griffith ones. Not really impressed I wonder how much extra crap is in them.

Some of the BPP lecturers in Galway wernt great either.

I definitely like the manuals, they are really good. Go through the whole thing from start to finish which is especially good for corporate reporting.

Well i have spent the last 2 hours trying to upgrade the firmware on my phone, Im sure it will be really helpfull for Auditing!!

And the Masters is on this weekend......

And Punchestown is on the week before the exams........

Its just so hard to get stuck into it.

At least your only doing 2 Jakey......

Will definately be splitting p2 (if i get there!!) even if it does take an extra yr

Im home alone this weekend so i've no one to blame on distracting me so its flat out studying. No more excuses left

No I have to work in in the morning, so hopefully after that will get a bit done,

Start half days on monday, so its not too bad!

Alot to do though!!!

Not long to go now......

It will be great to have our evenings free again and not have the guilt of not doing enough!

Best of luck to everyone!

Does anyone have any tips for P1 auditing?

Also any strategy of how to attack the paper would be appreciated too!

Shurwhynot wrote: »
    Does anyone have any tips for P1 auditing?

Also any strategy of how to attack the paper would be appreciated too!

Well defo read the requirments first, its amazing how many questions you can answer without even reading the case study.

Use bullet points and dont waffle,

Thats all i can think of at the moment, I went in to it last april totally unprepared, and hence am getting ready to do it again this friday.
    Mind you I dunno how much better i am this yr!! Guess I'll find out in the morning....

Best of luck,

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭mike2084

Hope things aren't going to bad for ye all. I completely fecked up my two P2's so it looks like August for me. All the best for the rest of the week:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭Hmm_Messiah

I doubt I will ever make it to P1 or P2

Had F2 Financial Accounting and the exam structure is a joke
    One question is exactly the same as april 05, this is a common occurrence though sometimes they change a figure or too
    so if u did all the past papers you could do the exam from rote /or memory despite the examiner saying he wanted to set questions so peopel demostrated understanding - a joke IMHO

and Branch account s - a very easy 20% , thats if you remembered the few treatments, but when it has not come up in 5.5 yrs and your lecturer dismisses it - what are ya to do

I now need to get over 50% in cost accounting, which is impossible ( see separate post) because I'll be repeating Fin Accounting, despite finding the subject a diddle - frustrated that success is dependent on an exam that involves so much "luck"

I thought todays Corporate Reporting in P1 was fair, dont know if i will pass it though, but they didnt go over board like last year.

And for a professional body they cant even set the papers right, there was typing error on question 2, had a date wrong, and then in the multiple choice, they got part 5 wrong completly and will have to give us all the marks, at least thats 2.5% in the bad, only 47.5% more to go!

As for Mgt & Strat, it was a joke, for such a broad syllabus, they asked such specific questions, its no wonder its been taken off the syllabus.... But thats not much help to the 11 of us who were doing in in Tullow!

Ah well, one left, Auditing, am half asleep already!! Roll on liunch time friday.
    The 13th of June will be here quick enough.

Have Law in the morning and Auditing Friday and i am s/hitting it! Stuff on Shares and Share capital is brutal...oh well off to watch Liverpool Chelsea before a long night begins!

Best of luck, I managed to get SMA last year,so have tomorrow off
    REally must turn off the computer and do some study, but its so hard to cocentrate after doing an exam.

Just back from Law...what a tough paper. Without a doubt will be repeating it but im not too bothered as i'll know better next time as regards revision and preperation. We never covered Q.2 in class and i had done very little on examinership so thats my own fault.

Iv been looking at auditing all morning, and christ im finding it hard to stay awake....
    How are you finding it?

Cant wait to get it over!

Will consider dropping it next yr, you only really need it if your going for your practicing cert, and thats one thing im not

How did ye find auditing?

I have a question...say if i have to repeat law or auditing which are the 2 subjects i did must i do the classes again over the summer? seeing as the exams are in august how do they fit all the classes into just 3 months??

Shurwhynot wrote: »
    How did ye find auditing?

I have a question...say if i have to repeat law or auditing which are the 2 subjects i did must i do the classes again over the summer? seeing as the exams are in august how do they fit all the classes into just 3 months??

Ah I tought it was a fair paper, mind you that doesnt say i didnt put down the rigt answers!

Dont worry, you dont have to do classes at any time. For the April or August exams.
    They do help, but if you can study on your own,fair play!

As far as a know Griffith run revision seminars for the august sitting

Buts hears hoping that none of us will be there!
    Its gona be great to have free time again!

So griffith dont actually have classes over the summer just revision courses?

As far as im am aware yes thats all they do. Sure there is only 6 or 8 weeks from when the results come out and the re sits are.

For more information contact

Milena Nikolova
    Tel: (01) 415 04 76
    Email: milena.nikolova@gcd.ie

The School of Professional Accounting
    Griffith College Dublin
    South Circular Road
    Dublin 8.

Hopefully it wont be an issue