Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your new Simian Overlord!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Tuesday 21/07/09:

Running / Conditioning:
    5 x 2 BW push ups
    3 x BW chin ups.

Treadmill:
    7.2Km 40 mins, random setting L6 @ 12 KPH

Military press:
    35Kg x 10
    30Kg x 10
    30Kg x 10

R.C. - innies & outties:
    10Lbs x 10 & 10

Summary:
    Run was TOUGH! Had to turn down the level and speed to L5 11Kph from 20-30 mins for 10 mins total. Couldn't find my HR monitor but I was totally anerobic for the run, sprint finish for last 2 mins.
    Had some physio on the shoulders, they were hurting when I did the R.C. work so I stopped after 1 set.
    Also my first time in months doing shoulder exercises and no real clicks / pain!

Wednesday 22/07/09:

Training:
    Rest day.

Summary:
    Hit the big 28 so went to Gourmet Burger Kitchen and the cinema instead of training :)

Thursday 23/07/09:

weights - chest & back:
    BW push ups to warm up.

Smith machine bench:
    80Kg x 8
    80Kg x 8
    80Kg x 8

Chin ups:
    BW x 3
    +10Kg x 3
    +10Kg x 3
    BW x 8
    BW x 7

Swiss ball push ups & back extensions (hands by waist):
    15 & 10
    15 & 10
    15 & 10

Bicep curl - 30Kg & weighted crunches - 10Kg on swiss ball:
    10 & 10
    10 & 15
    10 & 15

Sports day
    Tag rugby
    Basketball
    Penalties
    Some other crap.
    Approx 2.5 hours of cardio.

Summary:
    Tough session, was in bits after it.

Friday 24/07/09:

MMA - M.T.:
    Counter to jab.
    Counter to cross.
    Slip jab & cross.
    Slip jab & cross -> L hook R cross.

4 x rounds on focus mits.

2 x 3 mins boxing.
    2 x 3 mins full MMA sparring.

Summary:
    Good session, nearly got sparked out sparring but recovered well and got on with it.

Saturday 25/07/09:

Running:
    1:10 hill running. Didn't calculate the distance.

Summary:
    Found this very tough, got a few hard leg kicks on Friday as well so about 45 mins into this it started to hurt!
    Tried to stay in the aerobic region as much as possible.
    Think I have only 4 weeks left to the Warriors run.

Sunday 26/07/09:

Training:
    Rest day:
    did some R.C. work.

Summary:
    Think I hurt my(good) shoulder with the R.C. work :rolleyes:
    No MMA for 2 weeks - holidays, so I will be working on a game plan for the Warriors run, will be trying to meet up with one of the lads to work on my boxing, depending on his schedule

Monday 27/07/09:

MMA - Boxing:
    Warmed up, bit of shadow boxing.

6 x 3 min rounds on Thai pads
    > Just let the lads call out whatever techniques they wanted.

Summary:
    Short and sweet, keping my self ticking over during the hollidays.

Tuesday 28/07/09:

Running - conditioning:
    Squats:
    ??? sets and reps
    40Kg x ??? -> explosive, jumping squats
    50Kg x ??? -> ATG, explosive (or as close to ATG as I can get)

R.C. innies & outties - 10lbs:
    10 & 15
    10 & 12

Treadmill 45 mins random L6 12Kph.

Dumbell press:
    7Kg bells x 10

Military press:
    25Kg x 15

Russian twist 10Kg & crunches:
    20 & 20
    20 & 20
    20 & 20

Summary:
    Run was TOUGH, increased the hill session by approx 10% on last week. I've been having some problems with my knees, so this is my first time squatting with any weight since, physio basically recommended keeping the weight low and going for explosive reps, got a bit carried away, hurt my knee again when I tried the ATG.
    Some very light shoulder work, seems to have gone well - no pain or clicking, I'll be trying to incorporate this, little and often.

Wednesday 29/07/09:
    Weight 79.4 Kg... Down from about 81Kg.

Weights - chest & back:
    Push ups to warm up.
    Light resistance band - R.C. innies & outties - through full range of movement.

Dumbbell press:
    245Lbs x 3
    25Kg x 4?
    27.5Kg x 3
    30Kg x 8
    30Kg x 9
    30Kg x 7

Chin ups:
    BW x 3
    BW x 3
    10Kg x 5
    10Kg x 5
    20Kg x 2.5
    20Kg x 2

Dumbbell press:
    25Kg x 5 Flat
    25Kg x 5 Incline +1
    25Kg x 5 Incline +2

1 arm row:
    30Kg x 10
    30Kg x 8
    30Kg x 8

Swiss ball push ups & Back extensions 10lbs:
    15 & 10
    15 & 10 -> good few unweighted ones thrown in.
    15 & 10

Summary:
    Pretty good session, started off doing the R.C. work on the bands and a few young lads in the weights section started nudging each other and watching me. They weren't so smart when I picked up the 30Kg bells while they were doing their 7Kg bicep curls :D
    Weight is down, strenght remains the same.
    Long run planned for Thursday as I have plans for the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

started off doing the R.C. work on the bands and a few young lads in the weights section started nudging each other and watching me. They weren't so smart when I picked up the 30Kg bells while they were doing their 7Kg bicep curls :D

Big LOL..fcking kids, bands are manna from heaven.

Haha I have to say - that was sweet, I probably wouldn't have managed half the reps only for those muppset!

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

Haha, thats brilliant!
    That'll learn them.
    Did they die?
    Want to do the road section with me when you get back into town?

I'll be back next week and planning on doing the full course, but you can come along if you like.
    I'm away this weekend so will be doing SFA.

Edit: They didn't die but that smug look was replaced with an WTF? Look :D

Just got my % bodyfat measured: 14.56 %.
    Bodyweight: 79.4 Kg.
    Not too bad I suppose. Will try to bring this down.

Thursday 30/07/09:

Running:
    1:30 hill running. Didn't calculate the distance.

Summary:
    Slow pace, had to stop about 4 / 5 times, mostly for small stuff like stones in my runner, but knee started acting up a few times.
    Was running on a golf course, the only place near me with a decent sized hill, so tried to run asmuch as possible in the grass as theWarriors run this year will have a really tough grassy section.

Friday 31/07/09:

Swimming:
    Approx 1 hour, ??? lenghts of a ??? pool :p

Summary:
    I'm a crap swimmer, was in bits after Thursdays run, couldn't face anything else.

Sat 1st - Monday 3rd/07/09:

Training:
    Rest days.

Summary:
    Had a weekend away, lot of walking but also a lot of eating / drinking.
    Was supposed to get in some boxing last night but was home late & wrecked.

Tuesday 4/08/09:

Running - conditioning:
    40 mins treadmill - random setting L8 -> L14 for 30mins, L4? last 10 mins
    Speed 10Kph.

Military press:
    6Kg x ???

Crunches & Russian twist 10Kg:
    20 & 10 each side

Knee raises:

YTW Shoulder warm up:
    Done throught the day - first time trying these and think I need to work on my technique.

R.C. Innies & outties band exercises:
    ??? Done through out the day.

Summary:
    Easy pace, tried to concentrait on getting in as much of an incline as possible.
    Did as much shoulder rehab as possible, then tried to do some bridging stuff and got a really sharp pain :(
    You live, you learn!

Wednesday 5/08/09:

M.T. & Legs & Shoulders:
    15 mins bag work:
    Full thai -> working more for technique than fitness.

Diesel crew shoulder warm up:

R.C. innies & outties 10Lbs:
    10 & 10
    10 & 10
    10 & 10

Squat:
    40Kg x > 10
    40Kg x > 10 -> Can't remember how many I did.

Horizontal leg press:
    140Kg x 10
    140Kg x 10
    140Kg x 10

Shoulder press machine:
    35Kg x 8
    35Kg x 8 -> starting to hurt
    35Kg x 8 -> left it at this, still good progress.

Single leg deadlift:
    90lbs x 8 -> 40.8 Kg
    90lbs x 8
    90lbs x 8

Seated shoulder press:
    10Lbs x 10 -> intended to warm up but my flexibility is so bad I couldn't lock out the press.
    Stretching
    10Lbs x 10
    Stretching
    10Lbs x 10
    Stretching

Jump & tuck - jumping squat:
    BW x 10
    BW x 10
    BW x 10

1 arm thrusters:
    35lbs x 8
    35lbs x 8
    35lbs x 8

Summary:
    Could only get 15 mins on the bag, was enough to work on some punches and kicks.
    Never really did the leg press before and shoulders were too dodgy to clean any decent sort of weight. But seems to have worked alright.
    Going to really blast the R.C. exercises this week as I'm finally seeing some progress. Shoulder hurt a bit when boxing so may just rest it until I start back training Monday...

Thursday 6/08/09:
    Weight = 79.8Kg - 12 stone 8 lbs.

Running - conditioning:
    Treadmill 40 mins Random L3 12Kph for 3 mins then sprint for 1 min.
    Sprint started at 14Kph, 14.5Kph, 15Kph, etc... 16Kph. Stayed around the 15.5Kph range towards the end - 8 sprints in total..

Stretched out.
    Some hip flexibility / mobility exercises.

Summary:
    Very good session, was more of an interval session as my HR was between 166-188 averaging approx 175 for most of it.
    Although I have hurt the back of my knee again - same complaint I'd had a few weeks ago. Supposed to be doing a dry run of the course tomorrow so hopefully it will be OK.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Just got my % bodyfat measured: 14.56 %.
    Bodyweight: 79.4 Kg.
    Not too bad I suppose. Will try to bring this down.

Hey, how did you get the bf% measured?

BossArky wrote: »
    Hey, how did you get the bf% measured?

Got it done in my gym, just got chatting to the woman working there and asked her. Didn't think she'd do it as it's a very small gym but there ya go.
    Was measured with a calipers.

Friday 7/08/09:

Weights - chest & back:
    Diesel crew shoulder warmup - 10lbs.

Pullups:
    BW x 9
    BW x 8
    BW x 7 -> Something funny happened my shoulder on the last one here.

Push ups:
    Bw x 10

Summary:
    Shoulder felt really funny when doing the chin ups, so I just left it at that. Was supposed to be recovering this week and hurt my knee and shoulder again... Had been doing a lot of rehab stuff on it, seeing some results so thought I'd leave it on a high note.

Saturday 8/08/09:

Running:
    Warriors run course - new course: 1:32
    HR Avg: 163
    HR Max: 187

Summary:
    Felt alright until about the 7th mile, at one stage I actually told my running partner to go on and get the car and collect me.
    Walked a lot of the mountain section - could have done better here.
    My knee had been sore since I did those feckin squats / leg press.
    But I sucked it up an mangaged to finish in a decent time!
    Knee seems grand too, no trouble with it since.

Sunday 9/08/09:

Training:
    Rest day

Summary:
    N/A

Monday 9/08/09:

MMA:
    2 x rounds of light sparring.
    Takedowns - from wrestling shoot:
    Double leg.
    Single leg.
    Single leg w/ resistance.

Pad work:
    Right & left haymaker.
    Fake shoot & Right / Left hook.
    Fake shoot & left hook, right cross, left hook & takedown.

2 x rounds of light sparring, MMA gloves, with takedowns & submissions.

Summary:
    Good session, I had a lot of trouble with the wrestling shoot and double leg take down the last few times I tried it, no problems at all with it last night.

Tuesday 11/08/09:

Training:
    Rest day

Summary:
    Was in BITs after Monday's training, shoulder is very sore Yesterday & Today...

Wednesday 12/08/09:

Training:
    Rest day

Summary:
    Done fecked my shoulder up, still killing me...
    Will try for a run tonight.

Thursday 13/08/09:

Running:
    40 mins: Tempo run - race pace.

Summary:
    Had some Physio done on my shoulder, looks like it wasn't mt R.C. but a trapped nerve or something, I'm gonna try do some light training with legs only tonight, have another physio appointment on Monday morning.

Friday 14/08/09:

MMA - BJJ:
    Drills:
    Arm bar.
    Half guard, arm drag to taking the back
    Passing guard.
    Passing butterfly / half guard.

2 x rounds of sparring, MMA gloves, light striking -> working on takedowns.

Summary:
    Good session, shoulder held up well enough. Don't think the running is doing feck all for my cardio so will work out a program over the next week or so to change it up.