Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Certification help !!??

Options
  • 28-03-2008 1:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 881 ✭✭✭

Where do i start !?
    I've been working as a Network\Systems Admin since i left college, 10 years ago !
    I've decided to bite the bullet and get myself some certification, im 31 now and i'd like to have something beneficial that will future-proof me if i decide to changes jobs\laid off, looking around most jobs now look for some sort of Cisco or Microsoft certification. What is best to do ? I was thinking about an MCSA or maybe a CCNA ?
    I could do a CCNA part-time 3 hours a week for 2 years in a DKIT starting in October, is this maddness ? Maybe between now and October get MCSA ?

Any suggestions ? Help !

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

if your a net admin for 10 years i cant see why you would need a course.

Look at IT find what part IT do you enjoy most, what interests you about it what part would you like to know more about even if you were not being paid to do it.

Once you find which part this is then follow the path for that buy some books and start reading unless work is going to pay for the course there's no real need most of the courses are badly run a teacher reading to you the same book you can purchase and charging you 2k for the pleasure.

Find out what you like and follow it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

ntlbell wrote: »
    if your a net admin for 10 years i cant see why you would need a course.