Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

friendships in poker

• 28-03-2008 3:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭

This is coming from a topic that was half-explored in my well thread and someone suggested we should start up a separate thread on it.

I think Smurph's opening question is a good starting point: I'd be interested in everyone's contributions!
    smurph wrote: »
    Have you met any people through poker that you would call "good friends"?

Interesting question.

I've met a lot of very sound people that I am always very happy to see at my table, that I consider to be good fun and that I'll always enjoy having a beer with and shooting the breeze with. That would include quite a few Boardsies. On occasion, I will leave a profitable but boring PL table and go and play in the NL game if some of these individuals are there as I know I'll have more fun there.

Do I ever meet up with these people outside the hermetically sealed world of poker? No. Make of that what you will, I think it means they probably aren't 'good friends'. They probably could become so but this would involve a big leap from the artifical world of poker out into the real world with spouses/girlfriends etc etc. Interesting, wonder what other Boardsies thoughts are on this?

smurph wrote: »
    Yeah, it's something I thought about a while back. I got to know alot of Boardsies from posting here. It has been interesting watching players "improve" over time.....

At the Irish Open I was really hoping a Boardsie would go deep, there was a real community feel going on. I was absolutely delighted for Vera Duffy getting 7th in the Ladies Event, she is a very very genuine person who has to deal with alot of pain on a daily basis....

I actually saw a guy trying to get a loan of money off her in the S.E. the other day and I found it quite upsetting to be honost.

The poker circle so to speak is a strange vacumn, but I have no doubt that there a some good friendships made from it.

I think the poker/boardsies relationship is a lot like a work relationship. There's plenty of folks I'll talk to at the poker tables or during breaks, but outside of the cardroom it's rarely more than a friendly greeting.

Like an office group, we all have similar interests (or A similar interest) and will tend to moan about the same thing (beats/workload) or people (the chief/your co-workers).

I can't think of a boardsie i've met that i disliked, but any of the boardsies i'd ever spend any time with away from a card room are people i used to work with rather than any friendship developed dirctly from playing poker with them.

ollyk1 wrote: »
    I think this is a topic worthy of a separate thread. I wonder if a mod would be so kind....

Shame to clog up whats turning into a great well with OT stuff.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Good post. Plus there is the simple fact that people like to keep poker as a private thing. It is often a difficult topic of conversation with family members or friends because of the general public perception people have with all forms of gambling.

DocO wrote: »
    with most its sort of an unspoken rule that although you can chat for hours at a table, realistically there'l be no invites going out for a sunday brunch!
    but to agree with smurf - when i heard a story about one of the SE regs getting ripped off about some greyhound story- i was nearly tilting (lifes new word for wanting to pound the fook outa a scumbag)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

some disjointed thoughts of my own:

is it possible to be friends with someone who you are trying to relieve of their money on a regular basis?

If someone is a friend, are you likely to softplay them? I've seen blatant softplaying from friends at the tables before (no names mentioned) and I was kind of disappointed in them. I would not want to softplay anyone, friend or not and would hate to think that anyone was softplaying me on the basis of friendship. imo, it's a form of second-level collusion

On a similar vein, I was chatting wth one Boardsie during a cash game recently. A big hand came up (we were both out of the hand) and another Boardsie, who I've always considered to be a 'poker friend' was involved. He stuck in a big raise and the other player went into the tank and eventually called him down and was good with a marginal hand. I commented in a 'whisper behind the back of the hand' kind of way to Boardsie 1 that Boardsie 2 had a massive tell, it was painfully obvious when they were bluffing, and I wondered aloud should I tell him? Boardsie 1 looked at me as though as I was nuts! Maybe I am:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

I'd probably tell someone I became friends with through poker about a tell in a private conversation, just like you'd run through hands say where you felt they went wrong or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Yes i have forged 1 or 2 good friendships through Poker and would socialise with them outside of work.

EDIT in relation to soft playing whilst at the same table it is probably the exact opposite in my case as we want the bragging rights of who got the better of it. A good example would be the final table of the GJP Deepstack ME, Baz and i were stealing each others blinds and coming over the top of each others raises frequent enough, could not let that ****er finish above me :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

I've met Bob Battersby, the Chief and the General through poker, ..., we 4 amigos frequently go to copperface jacks and break for the border, and click the culchie nurses,

Bob is a little jealous of me as I score more women than him, he says I'm not better looking just luckier.
    this is true , however I pick my tables wisely and usually head for the ones where there are a lot of empty goldschlager glasses.
    He just grins at the women . He is the dude though, he never leaves alone, as I frequently see him talking out loud as he walks out the door

The General's chat up lines usually crack me up though, he is such a Fr Jack...I WANT ASSES, ASSES, he roars as he bangs his 2 euro on the table. THe bouncers make him leave the socks outside though. Why I don't know...must be static or something.

The Chief is a real 'joey the lips', he tells the ladies tall tales and they lap it up. The wimin are convinced he is Roy Schnieder and he uses this to his advantage but worryingly he had befriended the toilet room attendant and they smoke in the jacks together frequently...I'm sure of it...

So thank you poker for my friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

YULETIRED wrote: »
    I've met Bob Battersby, the Chief and the General through poker, ..., we 4 amigos frequently go to copperface jacks and break for the border, and click the culchie nurses,

you very clever man,,,,,,lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

This is something Ive thought about a good bit actually. I think its wrong to say softplay is second level collusion, it is blatant collusion!!! In saying that I've done it myself and I know its wrong but its just human nature to not want to take chips off a friend.

In regards to making friends solely from poker I dont think its something that happens an awful lot, certaintly not with me. Sure there are alot of people in poker I get on with and have a chat and a bit of banter with but away from the tables they wouldnt be people I would meet up with for a night out. I think "friendships" with players are based on mutual respect for eachothers games more than anything else.

The nature of the game is to take money off eachother and this environment is not one you would expect to breed strong friendships between once strangers.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

There are plenty of people here that it would not be hard seeing becoming good friends with away from the poker table, but to date it has not happened yet really, although I get on with most poeple that I know from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

There would be alot of people i get on with have drinks at the break bit of banter during the night as for outside of the poker room i probably would do something be just havent gotten around to it yet (i cant leave the place im a sicko)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

is it possible to be friends with someone who you are trying to relieve of their money on a regular basis?

If someone is a friend, are you likely to softplay them? I've seen blatant softplaying from friends at the tables before (no names mentioned) and I was kind of disappointed in them. I would not want to softplay anyone, friend or not and would hate to think that anyone was softplaying me on the basis of friendship. imo, it's a form of second-level collusion
    :

To be honest, the people I consider to be friends are the ones i want to bust the most. If anything i'd tend to needle the people i like more than anyone (i don't really needle anyone at all).

As DocO said, it's sort of an unwritten rule that boardsies will be chatty and friendly in and around poker but not have much contact outside. There's no boardsie i've met that i wouldn't buy a pint (or tom collins) for in keoghs, but I don't see any being invited to our home game in the near future.

Like Lloyd said, it can also be a bit of a private thing. At this stage my close friends are aware that i play poker, but that's only come about recently. None of the people i go drinking with or go to clubs with play poker, and none of them seem to have any interest in learning. Which is a good thing. I think it'd be pretty detrimental to me if my social life revolved soley around poker, despite liking a lot of the people i play with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

5starpool wrote: »
    There are plenty of people here that it would not be hard seeing becoming good friends with away from the poker table, but to date it has not happened yet really, although I get on with most poeple that I know from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

Im not sure about this subject but i'll give it a try and give my take on it. I thing yuletired's post sums it up to some extent. The Bob Battersby, Chief and General story was very funny but it elludes the op's question entirely. I dont mean to single out willy but i think he is a good example. In real life i feel we often subconsiously use this type of smoke screen have a larf type thing to keep distance more than amuse for whatever reasons.

Ive always got the feeling there is like an unsaid rule that whoever your friends are between 18-25 years old either stay your friends or they drift away but after that and regardless of how many or few friends we have left we generally dont allow any room in our lives for new friends because there seems to be some defensive chasm of fear in us to take someone into the 'friend-zone'.

I feel i actually fall into this bracket too and ive found that i am friendly with my poker pals and even people i know outside of poker but i dont let myself get taken into the friend zone or let anyone into my friend zone and i see this in other people too. Im not sure why this is but i think a large % are in this same bracket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Ive made loads of friends here, im really grateful to boards for a few reasons, but mainly because of the positive relationships its allowed me to develop - too many to mention. I'm very fond of all the posters here, even the ones I didnt get along with at one stage or another. There may be hope for me and R4ad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

i've made a good few friends through running the poker soc and getting to know other poker dealers. i'd still only see most of them in a poker context i guess. and lloyd sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

There is a fundamental distinction to be made between being "friendly" and being "friends", with other Boardsies.

I am friendly to (and with) all boardsies I meet, but I can't count any of ye my friends. That is not to say I would not or would not like to call any of you "my friends".

The reality is that the older and wiser we get the slower and more cautious we are when it comes to counting someone a new friend. It takes a hell of a lot more, in terms of trust, to allow one's defences be lowered sufficiently to form a true friendship.

And lets be honest, who is stupid enought to trust a poker player ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

I would consider some of the guys freinds-definitley. In some ways though its a little artificial and poker obvioulsy plays a huge role in conversation/banter etc.

The punters who I would assocaite with outside the tables are those whom these conversations go beyond cards. I think that if you spend a lot of time at the table its natural that you will become good freinds with some. I dont think I have ever let being on freindly terms with someone alter how I would play a hand against them however,if anything scooping a decent pot against them is all the more rewarding-the needle obv.

Ive gone on the piss with boardsies/players I would consider freinds and its almost always good crack-as an added bonus theres no need to explain your mysterious disapperance at about 2 that night. There are times when its great to be able to talk nonsense about a hand or whatever but at the same time Im grateful that my "normal" freinds have less than 0 intrest in it.

I remember when I was going bananas last year it was well known I was getting mauled at the tables. Someone who I had considered just a "poker" freind slipped me an envelope with money to cover my rent for the next month. He just said pay it back when you can thats it. It was a gesture that really suprised me and I certainly consider some of these people proper freinds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Actually, thinking about it again, there probably are a couple of people I would consider friends, but I am terrible at keeping in contact with people anyhow, so inevitably if I stopped playing poker I would rarely see anyone from here again.

I have a few key friends that are conduits for organising nights out with wider circles etc. Without these I would be acquaintance rich but friend poor. Maybe I should examine the model I use closely (not that type of model sadly).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Roundy you psycho analysed me and I feel violated....however there is a ring of truth in what you say.....humour for me is fun though, I've always been a extreme bullshttr and I quite enjoy it (even if many don't) it's a family thing I'm afraid....10 offspring/siblings and not one single conversation doesn't end up in some banter of some sort. As for friendships, I have made many friends through work;/sport/music etc over the years I mainly have beers with them and go to house parties etc. I don't believe you can have enough friends though, I've made some great new friends in 2004 in the US for example . (superb cajan folk, )
    I don't really know a lot of the people in the poker world outside of it but it doesn't mean I wouldn't buy them a pint or enjoy their company, so to relate to the ops question. It is in fact difficult for me to want to beat somebody at cards, take their money and still look them in the eye and call them a friend....I feel a hypocrite.. I've only one friend who plays poker and he is woefully spewey , I will never play him. I feel diff about tourny though for some reason... So stunty has hit on something there alright. ie taking cash from people you like...
    I would not ever rule anyone out of a friendship due to some bias of my own. ......however I'll be glad to buy any of you a pint during the break in Lukes monthly game..(If I can swing it tonight)

btw, this forum has as many interesting charachters as any forum I've visited .in the last 10 years...

I mention the general, the chief and Bob as I have a strange fondness for them.....(what does that say about me I don't know)

* I have even fixed my fonts for you.....IS THIS NOT LOVE??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭DocO

very interesting topic. a few points of my own.

One poster mentions, about not being invited to home games, or people you wouldnt invite. personally i dont play poker with my friends outside poker, mainly because i only know two ways of playing poker, deadly serious and having a laugh - and the latter isnt worth the hassle. Also friends think your hustling them, and so thats why i live this mysterious seperate life to most my friends.
    On home games, i generally dont enjoy them, unless there is some profitable way of making money, ie ive a big edge. Inviting a boardsie or someone from a casino to the home game, is counter productive to you trying to make some money (and if its not money your trying to make, ie small game, many wouldnt bother playing)

As regards pints during the break etc . . . there are alot of guys who have drinks during the break, and before - but personally drink and poker dont mix well with me. im well aware of this, and dont try and fool myself, and as such, i dont have any drinks when trying to play poker. Also id have no problem playing a tournie, and then if knocked out, going for a few drinks with one of 5-10 people who you'd normally get along with - but the problem lies that at 12 or 1 (when we're all awake) the bars are shut/shutting and a heavy night/nightclub is the only other option. And hence the problem. So although there are people i would go drinking with, the main reason i dont is that its about arranging it away from poker - our comfort zone.
    Ive probably talked more with alot of poker friends then i have with people id merely meet up with (friend of friend sort of thing) on a social basis - but i guess its just a case of the opportunity actually presenting itself more often. (weekends away for big tournies, boards session, sponsored nights etc). So personally its not that i purposely seperate the two lives, as there are def alot of people i would consider a friend and would socialise with, its just the opportunity doesnt seem to present itself as easily.

As regards soft play - my fingers hurt, may attack the point later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

DocO wrote: »

One poster mentions, about not being invited to home games, or people you wouldnt invite. personally i dont play poker with my friends outside poker, mainly because i only know two ways of playing poker, deadly serious and having a laugh - and the latter isnt worth the hassle. Also friends think your hustling them, and so thats why i live this mysterious seperate life to most my friends.
    On home games, i generally dont enjoy them, unless there is some profitable way of making money, ie ive a big edge. Inviting a boardsie or someone from a casino to the home game, is counter productive to you trying to make some money (and if its not money your trying to make, ie small game, many wouldnt bother playing)

The home game i was referring to involves people i currently work with, or used to work with. All of whom play poker (with a couple being very good players and the rest being at least competant) and are people i like. Some of them happen to be boardsies aswell.

My point was not specifically to do with home games, but more to do with my interaction with the people i know from boards and play poker with on a regular basis. It's just a case that there's a distinct barrier between friendly aquaintances for me and actual friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

i would like to think that i have made many friends through playing poker and boards

if that's not the case, i have no friends because i don't socialise with anyone other than you crowd of degenerate bastards tbh

god i'm a friendless reject - who the fk started this thread??

if anyone/thing would like to be my friend (besides kelly) pm me plz and ty

have a good weekend friends and see some of ye in cork later :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,967 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I have met lots of friends through poker, some of whom have I become really great with and socialise with outside of poker.
    The only problem with mixing these friends with those you have had for years is that poker becomes a topic of discussion which takes up far too much time.
    My really good friends(poker friends) and I now have an understanding that if we are in the company of our non-playing poker friends we do not discuss the game.
    We just discuss sport, drink, the fair sex and of course cracking looking birds and we also talk about sluts.

bops wrote: »
    i would like to think that i have made many friends through playing poker and boards

if that's not the case, i have no friends because i don't socialise with anyone other than you crowd of degenerate bastards tbh

god i'm a friendless reject - who the fk started this thread??

if anyone/thing would like to be my friend (besides kelly) pm me plz and ty

have a good weekend friends and see some of ye in cork later :)

When I was adding El Stuntmans thread to the list of good threads, I reread the 'Bops comes to boards' thread. Very entertaining :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,440 ✭✭✭califano

YULETIRED wrote: »
    Roundy you psycho analysed me and I feel violated

lol i read your soul eh:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

some of my best friends I met because they play poker and post here.
    These days we all still play poker but it would be extremely rare for us to play in the same game. We don't even talk much about poker for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭rag2gar

What about relationships in poker?

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I have met a lot of people I would be "friendly" with through poker (and through Boards). I would also say I have made some friends through poker too... people I would go for a beer with without discussing or playing poker during the evening. Just about all of those people I have put bad beats on, sucked out on, called light and was good or speechplayed horrendously and its never been an issue off-table (apart from some amicable teasing!).

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

I've met a number of people i consider to be really good friends through poker. I think you can get to a persons true character by playing with them which is a bit of a paradox given its a game of deception and manipulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Ive lots of freinds through poker.

When you become heavily involved in the game it can be very easy to become very good freinds with people you otherwise would never get on with.

Its funny, I have had the same circle of about 20 or so freinds since I was 12 years old and although we all know each other inside out we are very different people to when we were kids and I often wonder if we are only freinds through habit ands laziness as Im sure with some of them I probably woulndt like them or be liked for that matter if we just met out of the blue today. With some of the people Ive met through poker the ones I get on with best I generally have a similar outlook on life and level of intelligence and in alot of cases I prefer socialising with them than my old freinds. My life would be an awful lot poorer if some of the people I know through poker werent in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

I have met a couple of good friends through boards/poker. notably themadchef whom I visited in February and spent 5 days with her and her kids along with my two. It all started with the "why dont more woman play poker" thread and we got in touch from there and I would count her as one of my closest friends.

Im pretty new to the poker circuit, but hope to meet more people and make more good friends as its a great way of getting to talk poker as my other friends just arent interested!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

I wound tend to be friendly with a large number of the regulars that I play poker with and would like to think that I would count on a number of them as friends. As to letting this affect my game and slowplay against them I have been in this situation recently. In tournaments I have no qualms about stacking a mate but in cash it can be a little harder - especially if you can see they are on a bad run. Often I have found myself reraising with the nuts in a situation where I would otherwise slowplay to extract more value.

I need to develop a more mercenary outlook, take the money and give them some good advice afterwards - like the Chief! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Ive made loads of friends here, im really grateful to boards for a few reasons, but mainly because of the positive relationships its allowed me to develop - too many to mention. I'm very fond of all the posters here, even the ones I didnt get along with at one stage or another. There may be hope for me and R4ad!

My feelings about poker and boards are identical to this and I couldn't have phrased it any better.

I'd have much fewer friends without poker and a lighter wallet without boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Does anyone here not go out of their way to actively put a bad beat or outplay their mates at the table?

I find this proper banter and a great laugh? In fact I believe slowrollers should be shot EXCEPT for doing one of your mates. AKQJ10 is by far and away the best friendly slowroller I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

true, slowrolling mates is pretty funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I think this is quite a good subject actually, Ive met lots of people I wouldnt have been friendly with had poker not been involved. Valor and I were in the same class but hardly spoke until we started playign poker, its nice to be able to tell stories etc when your starting off to get them off your chest and watch how the others are getting on.
    I think the trip to Vegas this year really brought home to me the uniting factor of poker between many of us, like for example nicky Power there I doubt Id ever have met unless he was going out with one of my grannys mates of whatever...
    there are only really 2-3 people who Ive met through poker whom I am really good mates with, but onyl because we have things outside poker in common too.
    P.S. AKQJT`s slowrolls are very funny. He`s never done it to me as he is always behind, but Ive seen him do it to albert a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭mormank

all of my closest friends that i have right now i have met over a poker table!! i am sharing a house in letterkenny with two guys that i met through playing poker. if poker was ripped away from my life right now we would still be good friends regardless at this stage. in fact i am planning on going to oz soon and the guys im goin with are almost all 'poker friends'. although i just call them friends

Im not sure how the action went, but it was at showdown.

I also think it was Mark and Ross, or Maybe Mark and Peter. Anyway, Speech went this way. Its all very blurry.

Mark "One pair"

Peter/Ross "one pair"

Mark "which one?"

Peter/Ross " dueces"

Mark "its good"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

On a similar vein, I was chatting wth one Boardsie during a cash game recently. A big hand came up (we were both out of the hand) and another Boardsie, who I've always considered to be a 'poker friend' was involved. He stuck in a big raise and the other player went into the tank and eventually called him down and was good with a marginal hand. I commented in a 'whisper behind the back of the hand' kind of way to Boardsie 1 that Boardsie 2 had a massive tell, it was painfully obvious when they were bluffing, and I wondered aloud should I tell him? Boardsie 1 looked at me as though as I was nuts! Maybe I am:confused:

I find it hard play against friends and/or people i like a lot (and that includes strangers who are just very likeable at table). e.g. you're playing in Fitz and a friend raises your bb from button and you have A6 and against a random player might tank it in but against a friend it's "ah ill give you the benefit of the doubt im folding an ace ya jerk!!!!".

The thing about poker is it interests a whole spectrum of people, so whilst you may share a common interest in poker with a fellow boarsie, it's less likely to share a load of interests outside of the game. Also, boardsies are spread far and wide around the country thus not that easy to develop outside-of-poker friendships.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

AKQJ10 is by far and away the best friendly slowroller I know.

My favourite slowroll was recently to local jackpot degen ste chambers, He was spinning his last 80 quid. I raised it up with JJ he raised allin and i called, asking him did he have a pair. He said "yeah tens". I said "your good" as it was a boring game so me and a mate had a sidebet on who could felt him for 50 quid, then we had another on if you could slowroll him fora bonus 50.

He begged "please dont slowroll me"
    I said "dont worry, ive only one overcard"
    flashed him the jack and said "jack high any good?"
    Flop comes Q36
    I say "ur still good"
    Turn was 7
    He banged the table with excitement and said "cmon, no jack"
    River slowly comes a 2 I say "nice hand"
    And the dealer starts shoving the pot,
    I chirped up" oh sorry, jacks"
    He went bright red and started giving out, the reason i thought it was so funny was the look on my mates face in disgust trying to make the whole table kill me, "thats digusting"

In terms of mates from poker, i get along with many of people away from the table. We've probably more fun when we're not playin poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

As Gill said, we've become very good friends through boards and poker........but here's the thing. AS a female of the species, we can make more than just friends :D, the odds are in our favour. Must be at least 10/1 men to women players if not more.

No doubt there are lots of little poker love affairs floating around.......dam this wedding band and my vows :D, although divorce would probably cost me less than my fishy poker :(

AKQJ10 wrote: »
    My favourite slowroll was recently to local jackpot degen ste chambers, He was spinning his last 80 quid. I raised it up with JJ he raised allin and i called, asking him did he have a pair. He said "yeah tens". I said "your good" as it was a boring game so me and a mate had a sidebet on who could felt him for 50 quid, then we had another on if you could slowroll him fora bonus 50.

Flop comes Q36
    I say "ur still good"
    Turn was 7
    He went bright red and started giving out, the reason i thought it was so funny was the look on my mates face in disgust trying to make the whole table kill me, "thats digusting"

In terms of mates from poker, i get along with many of people away from the table. We've probably more fun when we're not playin poker.

He wasnt a mate of yours. That was horrible. AND after the poor guy getting his stack robbed by a fellow players at the table an hour previous.

tl:dr marc is a horrible person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,816 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Im not sure how the action went, but it was at showdown.

I also think it was Mark and Ross, or Maybe Mark and Peter. Anyway, Speech went this way. Its all very blurry.

Mark "One pair"

Peter/Ross "one pair"

Mark "which one?"

Peter/Ross " dueces"

Mark "its good"

Yea saw him doing this before - ifs good craic - when everone knows each other...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

themadchef wrote: »
    As Gill said, we've become very good friends through boards and poker........but here's the thing. AS a female of the species, we can make more than just friends :D, the odds are in our favour. Must be at least 10/1 men to women players if not more.

No doubt there are lots of little poker love affairs floating around.......dam this wedding band and my vows :D, although divorce would probably cost me less than my fishy poker :(

You are prob hiding some random boardsie in your loft..... I saw your house, easy done.. spill it!

Divorce IS cheaper, I plan a 90 quid quickie divorce in August.. thats better than a buy in at some card rooms! and oh so worth it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Always great fun slowrolling cardshark, he knows its allowed, he knows its going to happen to him but hes still pissed off every time it happens.

Got Al with a great one playing mythical a while ago, he asks me am I nearly up, Im on a dip but give it the whole depressed Im in for loads, he slowrolls me and says bonus, I go mad and start looking at my hand as if trying to figure out where to start, eventually throw down 2 aces, then 3 fours, then the third ace, followed by my mythical set and he gets me for 2 points.

Friends from poker? A few, suppose it depends on how much time your putting into it, for anybody treating it as a job with antisocial hours you end up not seeing a lot of your non poker mates a lot.

Pm oscar, sorry.

back on topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Flop comes Q36
    I say "ur still good"
    Turn was 7

lol I like this one, well done.

Some of my good friends I met through poker and boards. They're all winners or small losers though. I think I'd find it hard to make friends with a huge fish.

Except cardshark202 obv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

bohsman wrote: »
    Always great fun slowrolling cardshark, he knows its allowed, he knows its going to happen to him but hes still pissed off every time it happens.

Lol you always say this, totally untrue though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Lol you always say this, totally untrue though.

I did it to you a few times in Vegas, although it wasnt really much of a surprise though I guess after a whil as you always got it in behind against me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

Flop comes Q36
    I say "ur still good"
    Turn was 7

Definitely the funniest slowroll I've ever seen although he did look like he was about to cry afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

Im not sure about this subject but i'll give it a try and give my take on it. I thing yuletired's post sums it up to some extent. The Bob Battersby, Chief and General story was very funny but it elludes the op's question entirely. I dont mean to single out willy but i think he is a good example. In real life i feel we often subconsiously use this type of smoke screen have a larf type thing to keep distance more than amuse for whatever reasons.

Ive always got the feeling there is like an unsaid rule that whoever your friends are between 18-25 years old either stay your friends or they drift away but after that and regardless of how many or few friends we have left we generally dont allow any room in our lives for new friends because there seems to be some defensive chasm of fear in us to take someone into the 'friend-zone'.

I feel i actually fall into this bracket too and ive found that i am friendly with my poker pals and even people i know outside of poker but i dont let myself get taken into the friend zone or let anyone into my friend zone and i see this in other people too. Im not sure why this is but i think a large % are in this same bracket.

just reading through this now, good post and very true

your friends zone reminds me of the circle of trust in 'Meet the Parents'