Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda arrest 12 Romanian's for ATM fraud.

• 28-03-2008 3:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhojojauauau/

Gardaí have arrested 12 people today as part of a crackdown on organised thefts by a Romanian gang in Dublin.

More than €30,000 worth of property, including mobile phones, cameras, clothing and cash, was also recovered when officers raided six houses in Tallaght and on the North Circular Road shortly after 5.30am.

Gardaí say the gang specialised in distraction thefts at ATM machines and in pubs and clubs around Dublin city centre.

Nine men and three women - aged between their teens and mid-40s - were detained in this morning's raids.

Gardaí say they are all of Romanian origin.

Thank god I've never been bothered by or scammed by Roma gypsies at an ATM but jeeze I wish someone would do something about the feckers at traffic junctions all over the northside.

First off I've This guy;

mr-mcgreg_002_1196470926.jpg

With an arm for a leg and a leg for an arm at Clare Hall/Hilton hotel junction daily - bleed'n turns my stomach.

Then all the other gimps hitting me up for cash at junctions all over the place - then last week a Roma child opened my passenger door and asked for money :eek:

Where is the worse location in Dublin for them?.

I find both ends of the N32 to be pretty bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,440 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Mairt wrote: »

Gardaí have arrested 12 people today as part of a crackdown on organised thefts by a Romanian gang in Dublin.

More than €30,000 worth of property, including mobile phones, cameras, clothing and cash, was also recovered when officers raided six houses in Tallaght and on the North Circular Road shortly after 5.30am.

Gardaí say the gang specialised in distraction thefts at ATM machines and in pubs and clubs around Dublin city centre.

Nine men and three women - aged between their teens and mid-40s - were detained in this morning's raids.

Thank god I've never been bothered by or scammed by Roma gypsies at an ATM but jeeze I wish someone would do something about the feckers at traffic junctions all over the northside.

First off I've This guy;

With an arm for a leg and a leg for an arm at Clare Hall/Hilton hotel junction daily - bleed'n turns my stomach.

Then all the other gimps hitting me up for cash at junctions all over the place - then last week a Roma child opened my passenger door and asked for money :eek:

Borderline racistr thread already in AH (and only slightly more snesible than yours!)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Borderline racistr thread already in AH (and only slightly more snesible than yours!)

I don't use AH, and you can stick your racist remarks where the sun don't shine kiddo.

Btw, are you calling me a liar?.. Is there not a problem with Roma beggars on various traffic junctions all over Dublin, are most of these people not exploiting some sort of affliction?.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,478 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Will they be remanded in custody, or will they be let out on bail (what a joke)? 90% of the Romanians here are here illegally - you are only supposed to be here on a work visa, or on holidays. Any Romanian found begging should be immediately deported - that's what would happen in a proper country with a functioning administration.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I don't use AH, and you can stick your racist remarks where the sun don't shine kiddo.

Btw, are you calling me a liar?.. Is there not a problem with Roma beggars on various traffic junctions all over Dublin, are most of these people not exploiting some sort of affliction?.

You gotta use AH!! COME ON!!!

I didn;t call you a liar, I called your post "borderline racist".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

odyssey06 wrote: »
    90% of the Romanians here are here illegally - you are only supposed to be here on a work visa, or on holidays. Any Romanian found begging should be immediately deported - that's what would happen in a proper country with a functioning administration.

I presume you mean Roma people. Well, if you are correct then no European country is proper or has a functioning administration. They have been all over Europe since way before the ottoman empire.

They were the first to come under the radar by the nazis!

Like Mairt, I have never been bothered or scammed by the Roma people. Touch wood....

Deformities don't really bother me.

Its good this lot were caught, fair play to the gardai.

EDIT... Just saw the after hours discussion. The moderators have a full time job there, talk about ignorant bigotry.

lightening wrote: »
    I presume you mean Roma people. Well, if you are correct then no European country is proper or has a functioning administration. They have been all over Europe since way before the ottoman empire.

Unless you're being sarcastic quite obviously I'm referring to Romanian people??? You know, people with Romanian passports? Do you think those people begging at traffic lights have Irish ones?
    Here's some breaking news, we are not Romania's social welfare department.

A functioning administration in Ireland would be doing something about people who are not even entitled to be here begging at traffic lights. Like deporting them. Or taking their children into care as their parents are obviously negligent, and then deporting negligent parents. What do we do? SFA.

Unless you're being sarcastic quite obviously I'm referring to Romanian people??? You know, people with Romanian passports? Do you think those people begging at traffic lights have Irish ones?
    Here's some breaking news, we are not Romania's social welfare department.

I know plenty of Romanian people, two of whom earn over 80K a year. That is a lot of tax ;)
    What do we do? SFA.

Yep, your right. You do SFA, except pipe off and jump up and down in front of your computer screen...

I know plenty of Romanian people, two of whom earn over 80K a year.

Tell them to drive their shiny cars to a busy Dublin junction during the day then. Some of their fellow Romanians could do with a hand out. And it might make them less homesick.

Yep, your right. You do SFA, except pipe off and jump up and down in front of your computer screen...

Could be worse. I could be out in the rain at a busy junction, putting on a sad face, hoping to scrounge some money and worrying about getting a car wheel over my foot...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Roma People : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romani_people ....Gypsies; Indian origin.

Romanians : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romanians ....People from Romania.

There is a difference. Just so you know.

I could be out in the rain at a busy junction, putting on a sad face, hoping to scrounge some money and worrying about getting a car wheel over my foot...

I doubt that could happen with your privileged background. Anyway, if things get bad for you, you can always move back in with your folks. (that is if you ever moved out)
    Tell them to drive their shiny cars to a busy Dublin junction during the day then. Some of their fellow Romanians could do with a hand out. And it might make them less homesick.

How many junctions in Dublin are there? How many are manned by Roma? How many are manned by Romanians? I think your over-reacting. There are a lot of worse things they could be doing than begging to be honest with you.

Goodshape wrote: »
    Roma People : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romani_people ....Gypsies; Indian origin.
    Romanians : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romanians ....People from Romania.
    There is a difference. Just so you know.

There is a difference and there is also an overlap. One can be a Roma and not a Romanian; A Romanian and not a Roma; and a Romanian Roma. What percentage of Roma here are on Romanian passports? What percentage of people here on Romanian passports are Roma?

What percentage of Roma here are on Romanian passports? What percentage of people here on Romanian passports are Roma?

Go and find out if your that interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

There are a lot of worse things they could be doing than begging to be honest with you.

like robbing at ATM's

dancor wrote: »
    like robbing at ATM's

Exactly... or stabbing Polish people in the head or killing their wives...etc

• Registered Users Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

First off I've This guy;

Don't know where in Dublin is the worst for people begging at traffic lights, but it was becoming a joke in parts of Limerick at one time. At lot was happening at Punches Cross, where there would be up to eight beggers in action, and they would be quite aggressive when they had a woman on her own stopped at the traffic lights. Normal tactics included trying the doors to see if they were locked, rocking the cars, banging on windows, and spitting on windscreens. There were also similar guys offering to clean windscreens, and funnily enough were just as aggressive to lone female drivers.

There was an incident there about twelve months ago that involved a few of those guys going at the car of a woman in her 60's and pulling her out of it, and a local ex boxer getting involved. It got a small amount of publicity at the time, but he handed out a right hiding to them after one threw a punch at him as he tried to help the woman up and he held onto two of them until the cops got there.

Kess73 wrote: »
    Normal tactics included trying the doors to see if they were locked, rocking the cars, banging on windows, and spitting on windscreens.

Jaysus... no wonder it was called Punches Cross! I'd say a few beggars got their heads punched in!

(Mairt, don't go to Punches Cross!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    You gotta use AH!! COME ON!!!

I didn;t call you a liar, I called your post "borderline racist".

Your post, and general attitude in this thread, is borderline retarded.

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Your post, and general attitude in this thread, is borderline retarded.

Eh... that was my ONLY post... and he was borderline racist...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Romanians are generally rather like the Irish: hard-working, ambitious, intelligent, with a peasant lust for education.

Most Roma are getting by as best they can.

There are some criminals who run distraction scams and pick pockets. *Some* of these are Roma.

The Guards (well done!) have picked up a bunch of these criminals; this particular bunch are Roma.

We can't really extrapolate a lot of other ideas from these basic facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

luckat wrote: »
    Romanians are generally rather like the Irish: hard-working, ambitious, intelligent, with a peasant lust for education.

Most Roma are getting by as best they can.

There are some criminals who run distraction scams and pick pockets. *Some* of these are Roma.

The Guards (well done!) have picked up a bunch of these criminals; this particular bunch are Roma.

We can't really extrapolate a lot of other ideas from these basic facts.

Romanians are a separate race from Roma (Gypsies). I would wager that in excess of 90% of Ireland's Roma are criminals and/or beggars.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 babu9124

i am romanian and i'm proud to be romanian.i have been living and working in ireland since 2002.at my work place all the office jobs are taken by the polish, romanians and chech people,there is only one irish girl in charge of the fileing(and she doesn't do it right,can't make the difference between an invoice and a statement); the hard work in the warehouse is done by irish people....that says a lot. no matter what your opinion of eastern europeeans is the truth is that we are by far more educate than you guys, our bad luck was to de dominated by russians and comunism and ofcourse Romania on top of that has to put up with Roma people as well.
    Regarding the Roma people :we know exactly what we are dealing with:the nastyest,most horrible people on earth.The situation is very hard to be controlled especially when Romania was acused by the Europeean Union as being racist twords them; our hands are tied ; when i see them begging at every junction it makes my blood boil, but in a way i'm glad you are getting a bit of your own medicine, to see what we have to put up with and why we are racist when it comes to them.
    anyway talking about the 13 romanians arrested, you should not make such a big deal about it, because at every ATM in Dublin there is an irish person begging for money...what is the difference between them and Roma people? NONE
    and by the way you should stop for a moment and think about the 2 polish guys brutally killed a month ago by some irish scumbags....that is a real problem not the fact that a few gyspies robbed 30 k....
    and another thing EU means that people being part of it have the same rights no matter of what nationality they are, and you should understand and get used with that.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭innisfree

There is a difference and there is also an overlap. One can be a Roma and not a Romanian; A Romanian and not a Roma; and a Romanian Roma. What percentage of Roma here are on Romanian passports? What percentage of people here on Romanian passports are Roma?

I feel I'm in a better position to guess this than most in Ireland (I know plenty of Romanians in Ireland, have been there quite often and have talked to Roma people), though I could be wrong here. I'd imagine that the majority of Roma in Ireland have Romanian passports, as any Roma children born here recently will take Irish passports and use them over the next few decades when they migrate (that is if they can obtain Irish passports in the way I believe they're entitled to). In the same way we wouldn't be feeling, "Ah sure they're on of us now", Romanian people tend not to like it all that much.

I think the minority of people here on Romanian passports are Roma. Most Irish people don't recognise Romanian's as being Romanian as they assume they're Polish, Czech or Lithuanian. They're out there working and paying taxes. I know some I think are wonderful and some that hurt my head - the same same as any nationality I meet, including Irish obviously.

I'll emphasise that last paragraph for when you read crisstyna81's comments. There are plenty of Irish working abroad who think little of the people in the country they're working in. I think it's silly to generalise a whole country, but there you go, I guess that's what this whole thread keeps doing.

It's sad that the majority of ATM trouble seems to be Roma based these days in Ireland. Roma people who want nothing to do with that are ashamed to mention their heritage because of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 babu9124

ireland acused romanians as being racist against the roma people...that was before they came over here....well now u know why....

• Registered Users Posts: 13 ken_goldwing

I think it's time for you to go home maybe you will not have to work with Irish idiots that cant file you fuc kin numb nut fu ck..Let me tell you before 1922 when the british ruled Ireland nobody helped us we done it ourselfs. Cheap scab labour thats all you are lets call the kettle black..
    :mad::mad:

I think it's time for you to go home maybe you will not have to work with Irish idiots that cant file you fuc kin numb nut fu ck..Let me tell you before 1922 when the british ruled Ireland nobody helped us we done it ourselfs. Cheap scab labour thats all you are lets call the kettle black..
    :mad::mad:

At least his English is better than yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 VickyPollard

they should be deported straight away..

• Registered Users Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭Stark

All along the Naas road coming from town towards the N7/M50 junction. And a few on the junction itself wherever there are temporary traffic lights. Another welcome benefit that freeflow will bring...

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭RICARDO1982

i am romanian and i'm proud to be romanian.i have been living and working in ireland since 2002.at my work place all the office jobs are taken by the polish, romanians and chech people,there is only one irish girl in charge of the fileing(and she doesn't do it right,can't make the difference between an invoice and a statement); the hard work in the warehouse is done by irish people....that says a lot. no matter what your opinion of eastern europeeans is the truth is that we are by far more educate than you guys, our bad luck was to de dominated by russians and comunism and ofcourse Romania on top of that has to put up with Roma people as well.
    Regarding the Roma people :we know exactly what we are dealing with:the nastyest,most horrible people on earth.The situation is very hard to be controlled especially when Romania was acused by the Europeean Union as being racist twords them; our hands are tied ; when i see them begging at every junction it makes my blood boil, but in a way i'm glad you are getting a bit of your own medicine, to see what we have to put up with and why we are racist when it comes to them.
    anyway talking about the 13 romanians arrested, you should not make such a big deal about it, because at every ATM in Dublin there is an irish person begging for money...what is the difference between them and Roma people? NONE
    and by the way you should stop for a moment and think about the 2 polish guys brutally killed a month ago by some irish scumbags....that is a real problem not the fact that a few gyspies robbed 30 k....
    and another thing EU means that people being part of it have the same rights no matter of what nationality they are, and you should understand and get used with that.....

If you are far more educated than us Irish will you at least learn
    Grammar and how to spell properly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

If you are far more educated than us Irish will you at least learn
    Grammar and how to spell properly...

He's doing a fairly decent job for someone whose first language isn't English.