Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

GerCPM wrote: »
    How did yiz do Hitman? we beat Old County 6.5 - 2.5.Any other results u know?

Ger there is only 5 teams in our group

We won 6.3 at home, i beat skinner 3&2 in the singles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Dromcill

All clubs got the timesheets last week for it, the tee offs are for session 1 is 9.30 and 12.30 and session 2 11.00 and 2.30 in lucan and rgsc

There was talk on Sunday that there was a gross prize i wonder how that works any ideas
    Based on your experience of playing Scrambles and the Lucan R.G.S.C courses what do you think the Nett cut off will be to make the final 36 of the Scramble so as to play on the Sunday

Dromcill wrote: »
    Based on your experience of playing Scrambles and the Lucan R.G.S.C courses what do you think the Nett cut off will be to make the final 36 of the Scramble so as to play on the Sunday

I say ur looking for 30 under and over depends on the conditions, i played against lucan yesterday and they said there greens are in great nick and that they will be like lighting on the day we play, did u find any accomodation yet

We have not looked at accomodation yet. Thinking of doing a day trip on Saturday with one of the lads on the team for the Lucan Scratch Cup. Will enquire about accomodation then from the locals. What are the tee times on Saturday for the Lucan Scratch cup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

davey180 wrote: »
    I know the boys from Fermoy and they are playing well at the moment.Robbie is back after a long time i hope he and the cahills do well.Whats the next draw for this lads?:D

Nice to Robbie back playing again.Good friend of mine.Thought we'd lost him to the golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Nice to Robbie back playing again.Good friend of mine.Thought we'd lost him to the golf.
    robbies popular alright.do see much of him,plays golf hmm,first i heard of that! must have a chat with him about that.(as i dont get invited hmm!) good for you that you know him wigertoods and all the way from dublin!

Dublin Northside League results from last night

cy 5 Portmarnock 4
    shandon 4 Ierne 5

Dublin Northside League results from last night

cy 5 Portmarnock 4
    shandon 4 Ierne 5

Do portmarnock have new players this year seem to doing better than last year

How did ur match fair out 5.4 looks a tight result

robbies popular alright.do see much of him,plays golf hmm,first i heard of that! must have a chat with him about that.(as i dont get invited hmm!) good for you that you know him wigertoods and all the way from dublin!

Yeah met him a long time ago down in fermoy at the open.Kept in contact and still make the trip to fermoy every bank holiday in August.

Do portmarnock have new players this year seem to doing better than last year

How did ur match fair out 5.4 looks a tight result

No same team as last year.
    We won all three doubles.Thought we were on for a big win.played badly in the singles.I played pretty poor in the singles and was beaten on the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Chonaic

Hi lads, looking to go out for a game tomorrow, is there any courses that let you play without having to become a member?? If so, how much would a round be?

Chonaic wrote: »
    Hi lads, looking to go out for a game tomorrow, is there any courses that let you play without having to become a member?? If so, how much would a round be?

Where are you from?
    There are plenty of public courses around the dublin area.Cost is usually around the €5 mark and some of them will provide clubs as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Chonaic

I'm out in the dun laoghaire area, went down to loughlinstown today about half 1 and it was closed. :(

Chonaic wrote: »
    I'm out in the dun laoghaire area, went down to loughlinstown today about half 1 and it was closed. :(

U better off joining mate i can do u a deal for the summer just let me know or for the year

We dont take green fees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Well men, apologies been off the airwaves for a little while, sick buachaill at home that needed attention.
    Anyway so much to give my opinion on, so little time!

First up, Ger - how are ya! Welcome, and a little advice don't moan about anyone here regardless of how valid it is, I know better than most how stuff sticks in this small sport of ours! Plus it would be my intention to use the example of this forum to eventually get a proper PPUI forum or maybe to set up myself. Either way more people on here the better and if we could get more of the lurkers to post even better.
    Anywho back to the good stuff.
    The Scramble. As far as I'm concerned the NEC hijacked it. As a novelty set of competitions at the end of the season they were fantastic. The stories over the years were legendary. I couldn't see how the NEC could administer the competition fairly and I've yet to see this could be done. I know groupings that would play the Grip and Short Grass broke up and took on a high capper just to try and qualify. How can that be right? As an NEC member said to me a few weeks ago, there is little enough room in the calender, without this comp taking up another two weekends (Qual + Finals).

The Provincials.
    Well done to all how qualified. Hard Luck Hitman, it was narrow I believe.
    This is how it was in offaly, the qual was on in Tullamore.
    Anthony Galvin 94
    Joe McGrath 95
    Larry Maher 95
    Paul OGorman 96
    Patsy Reams 97
    William Kennedy98
    Mick Sullivan 99
    Mick Hogan 99 (back 18's). Mick glued the last two to qualify.
    Tullamore was in decent nick, tidying up the maintenance work, conditions were perfect and lads, I'll say it now, if the weather stays anyway similar, it will be a brilliant National there.

No same team as last year.
    We won all three doubles.Thought we were on for a big win.played badly in the singles.I played pretty poor in the singles and was beaten on the last.

Wiger I hear Paddy is gone this week due to an unhelpful administrator? That will give Bren a clear run through I would think.
    Wiger, am I right in thinking you had a good run in Glenville in 98?

thanks Dromcill,I heard that ESB has a fine course.Any website on the ESB club?

I dunno about it being a fine course, I would have it down as probably the worst course to have a National Mens championship in the times I've been an adult.
    I would never berate a course on the quality of its greens. i was down there for that tournament, and a friend of mine who competed that day was rather disillusioned after.

Hi Doylers08, welcome to the Pitch and Putt stickie. Good to see another Cork man on board. You were unlucky with the qualifying missing by just one shot. From what I hear none of the qualifying courses in Cork (Newcestown, Ballineen or Pfizer) were in great nick which is a pity. Most courses are just after doing their maintenance work so they should be in good condition now. I guess conditions are the same for everyone but missing by one shot is hard to take as there are always one or two putts that you would have missed that just lipped the hole.

Still the good thing is that at this time of year there is another competition just around the corner. Being a senior are you playing in the Cork section of the Matchplay qualifiers next week?

Dromcill did you play in the Munster Juniors?

Also some of the cork lads might be able to advise me of this, what are the likes of Newcestown Ballineen and Pfizer like? Cork is the one county I've played little p+p in. I think its great that the newer clubs or smaller clubs with little seniors have the prestige of hosting what is without doubt the strongest section of seniors in the country. this way they get more exposure, which can only be good for the game.

doylers08 wrote: »
    Well i must say i cant complain with my preformance in newcestown.I finished with 4 twos in the last 6 holes.
    Playing wednesday evening in collins.Playing colin ahern from st.annes.Very confident,i always score well there.Darren collins is in my section as well so if i'm going to qualify i'll have to beat him i say.Collins have their scratch cup monday so that will be good practice from wednesday.Dromcill are you playing in the matchplay qualifiers too???

Doyler I see you're from Elton. Where is that course and what is it like?

Kingdom wrote: »
    I dunno about it being a fine course, I would have it down as probably the worst course to have a National Mens championship in the times I've been an adult.
    I would never berate a course on the quality of its greens. i was down there for that tournament, and a friend of mine who competed that day was rather disillusioned after.
    really?As last year i was told by members of the p+p that esb is a great coarse?Funny that as i havent been there yet and im hoping to play away this year to a few opens around the cork areas.As i never go away so i thought i need to start some where to get a bit of experince.Im from the fermoy p+p so wheres the best place to start?(cork area)

Its just an opinion davey, I'm no presenting it as fact. I love CYMC but its commonly thought of as a kip.
    I can't stand Fermoy, but its widely regarded as one of the best courses in the country.
    In terms of getting experience, I'd stick to the local club competitions first then moving onto the opens. If you were a complete beginner I would advise to stay away from the scr cups for a while. At least being in cork you have loads of options of opens. The leagues were invaluable to me in dublin.

whats the CYMC? What is it you dont like about the fermoy P+P?As for the rest of the post i agree with that thanks.Im off 11 handicap and enjoy the whole thing of P+P.Yes loads of opens.Im trying find the easy one first!:o

CYMC LC is a club in Fairview. Wigertoods is a member, the longest hole is 52m the shortest is 23m. Lots of bukers small tight course. I love the place. but lots of seniors don't.

I think the greens in Fermoy are ridiculously sized in proportion to the length of the shots. There is one green that has to be 30 ft long and its only a 40m hole or so.
    Plus I've always underperformed there.

I think the greens in Fermoy are ridiculously sized in proportion to the length of the shots. There is one green that has to be 30 ft long and its only a 40m hole or so.
    Plus I've always underperformed there.
    do you mean that greens are to big in your opinion as over the years i have noticed they have gone a bit too big alright as i think is that we are mowering the greens not in line with the old size so id say we are cutting them oversized?I could make them smaller alright if that solves the problems.As for the short shot what do propose?

Wiger I hear Paddy is gone this week due to an unhelpful administrator? That will give Bren a clear run through I would think.

Yeah spot on both counts.Paddy was due to play on wed but has a football match.His opponent was willing to play on tues but when Paddy rang the office to notify them of this he as refused point blank.Can't see how one match would make a difference on tues considering all the walkovers over the years.

Last time out in glenville had quite a good run.Would love to qualify again and give it another go.

Played in the National s/p here a few years ago.Can't say it left any lasting impression on me either.Course was in good condition but didn't have the characteristics needed to hold a National Final imo.

Its just an opinion davey, I'm no presenting it as fact. I love CYMC but its commonly thought of as a kip.
    I can't stand Fermoy, but its widely regarded as one of the best courses in the country.

Kip is probobly a bit of an exaggeration !(at least I hope so)
    I think most seniors don't like cy because it's too short for them and they can't get the "feel" for so many short holes.(The longest hole is actually 53m.If you only hit it for 52 you'll be in trouble as you well know).
    must admit that I love the course in fermoy,even if the greens are huge.

Well men, apologies been off the airwaves for a little while, sick buachaill at home that needed attention.
    Anyway so much to give my opinion on, so little time!

First up, Ger - how are ya! Welcome, and a little advice don't moan about anyone here regardless of how valid it is, I know better than most how stuff sticks in this small sport of ours! Plus it would be my intention to use the example of this forum to eventually get a proper PPUI forum or maybe to set up myself. Either way more people on here the better and if we could get more of the lurkers to post even better.
    Anywho back to the good stuff.
    The Scramble. As far as I'm concerned the NEC hijacked it. As a novelty set of competitions at the end of the season they were fantastic. The stories over the years were legendary. I couldn't see how the NEC could administer the competition fairly and I've yet to see this could be done. I know groupings that would play the Grip and Short Grass broke up and took on a high capper just to try and qualify. How can that be right? As an NEC member said to me a few weeks ago, there is little enough room in the calender, without this comp taking up another two weekends (Qual + Finals).

The Provincials.
    Well done to all how qualified. Hard Luck Hitman, it was narrow I believe.
    This is how it was in offaly, the qual was on in Tullamore.
    Anthony Galvin 94
    Joe McGrath 95
    Larry Maher 95
    Paul OGorman 96
    Patsy Reams 97
    William Kennedy98
    Mick Sullivan 99
    Mick Hogan 99 (back 18's). Mick glued the last two to qualify.
    Tullamore was in decent nick, tidying up the maintenance work, conditions were perfect and lads, I'll say it now, if the weather stays anyway similar, it will be a brilliant National there.

Well played Kingdom, u must have played well

Dromcill did you play in the Munster Juniors?

Also some of the cork lads might be able to advise me of this, what are the likes of Newcestown Ballineen and Pfizer like? Cork is the one county I've played little p+p in. I think its great that the newer clubs or smaller clubs with little seniors have the prestige of hosting what is without doubt the strongest section of seniors in the country. this way they get more exposure, which can only be good for the game.
    Kingdom, I played in the Junior qualifiers in Pfizer. I qualified so am playing in the finals in ESB in two weeks time. Pfizers is a fine course with two very tough finishing holes where you would be more than happy to walk off with two 3's. The greens were a bit bumpy but were nice and fast (some scary fast). The reports from Newcestown and Ballineen were positive too. Good to see the qualifiers going around the county. A lot of clubs are slow to host these qualifying competitions due to the workload involved in getting the courses ready

Kingdom, when was the last time you played the ESB course?. I have played there 4 times this year in leagues and scratch cups. It has the best greens in Cork and you have no excuses for missing any putt there. They have two full time people looking after the course and I am delighted the Munster strokeplay finals being played there. The only drawback to the ESB course is that it cannot hold up to heavy rain and is closed a lot of the time due to this.

I would agree that the greens in Fermoy are a little on the big side but it is a superbly maintained course.

Was playing in the Collins club open week today. The course is in great nick. Geens in great condition and wicked fast. Chris Scannell carded a -14 for 18 holes which included 10 dykes in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Im grand Kingdom.And yea regret that nw, didnt tink you were showing it to the ppui and thought nobody really would see it (havnt so far anyway) - didnt tink was gona become so popular..I think most people knew we werent best m8s anyway..Yea a PPUI forum is a gr8 idea, go for it.If u can post results of sratch cups around Leinster this weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Hi lads didnt no der was p+p forum on boards! Graet to see it.Just back from scratch cup in lucan and well i think a next week wont be suited to a high handicapped team as ya may tink the greens are like lightning out der an a lot of high handicappers may struggle! The cut was a massive 104 for qualification for last 12!!!!! Fair play to skinner malone absolutely destroyed the field to win by 10 shots on 143(47-51-45) super shooting i think darren kane and steven keegan were 2nd - 3rd not sure though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Great weekends weather should have plenty of us enjoying our pitch and putt. We had a 36 hole club competition in Shandon this weekend, was happy to score well and should get my official handicap in the next few days.

How did everyones weekend P+P go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 doylers08

Hi kingdom,The course is in cobh,its a good course,well maintained but the problem is its only 9 holes.

do you mean that greens are to big in your opinion as over the years i have noticed they have gone a bit too big alright as i think is that we are mowering the greens not in line with the old size so id say we are cutting them oversized?I could make them smaller alright if that solves the problems.As for the short shot what do propose?

Davey,
    I think I've created a bit of confusion. I've no problem with Fermoy, its a fine course, always in immaculate condition and always extremely presented. Add to that the hospitality is good, considering its in Cork, it is one of the best exponents of everything that is good about pitch and Putt. I just don't like the place. I can never score there. I've played there twice in Nationals and both times have been horrible experiences for me where I didn't do myself justice.
    I wouldn't advise to change anything. I prefer courses that have smaller greens, doesn't mean all courses have to be like that. Its just my opinion. :D

Yeah spot on both counts.Paddy was due to play on wed but has a football match.His opponent was willing to play on tues but when Paddy rang the office to notify them of this he as refused point blank.Can't see how one match would make a difference on tues considering all the walkovers over the years.

Last time out in glenville had quite a good run.Would love to qualify again and give it another go.

Wiger,
    I think if this was any other person than Paddy then the request could/would have been granted, but unfortunately Paddy has history on this count. The incident with Skinner a few years back could have stood to him here.
    I've spoken to a few people about it, some regular Joes and some officers of clubs, boards, etc. and the responses I got were completely divided and in some instances surprised me.
    One pointed out that with the nature of our season overlapping football and running concurrent to the GAA season, its impossible to not have some conflict. However we've a small enough playing pool and all avenues should be considered.
    If this was a southside match I'd say it was correct that he not be allowed play the earlier night as the course would be packed. However, its on the north and with their smaller field, and the fact that both parties are in agreement, I think it should have been accomodated.
    This leads me to another issue I have. With travel across the city and people living further and further away from where they play is the notion of the midweek qualifying for the Matchplay out of date? Should it be over a weekend? Next weekend would be perfect, after all its reserved for a National "competition" already!

Kip is probobly a bit of an exaggeration !(at least I hope so)
    I think most seniors don't like cy because it's too short for them and they can't get the "feel" for so many short holes.(The longest hole is actually 53m.If you only hit it for 52 you'll be in trouble as you well know).
    must admit that I love the course in fermoy,even if the greens are huge.

As I said I love the place. Its great for a confidence booster at the start of the year. Its 4 yrs since I played the place for different reasons, I'll be there next Easter come hell or high water!

Well played Kingdom, u must have played well

I did well, the start I got to both rounds got me through. 6 after 6 in the first and 4 after 5 in the second. I hadn't played for a bit before that so I was quite surprised!

Kingdom, I played in the Junior qualifiers in Pfizer. I qualified so am playing in the finals in ESB in two weeks time. Pfizers is a fine course with two very tough finishing holes where you would be more than happy to walk off with two 3's. The greens were a bit bumpy but were nice and fast (some scary fast). The reports from Newcestown and Ballineen were positive too. Good to see the qualifiers going around the county. A lot of clubs are slow to host these qualifying competitions due to the workload involved in getting the courses ready

Good stuff Dromcill, the work they put in will stand to them in the long term. Well done on qualifying. Best of luck in the finals.

Kingdom, when was the last time you played the ESB course?. I have played there 4 times this year in leagues and scratch cups. It has the best greens in Cork and you have no excuses for missing any putt there. They have two full time people looking after the course and I am delighted the Munster strokeplay finals being played there. The only drawback to the ESB course is that it cannot hold up to heavy rain and is closed a lot of the time due to this.

I would agree that the greens in Fermoy are a little on the big side but it is a superbly maintained course.

Was playing in the Collins club open week today. The course is in great nick. Geens in great condition and wicked fast. Chris Scannell carded a -14 for 18 holes which included 10 dykes in a row.

Dromcill I wasn't slighting the ESB club in any way, shape or form. I'm just saying when you compare the place with the other courses that have held the Matchplay or strokeplay in recent years, in my opinion it doesn't compare. Wiger has probably phrased what I was trying to say better, sorry if you were offended.

Also good scoring by Scannell.

Wiger,
    I think if this was any other person than Paddy then the request could/would have been granted, but unfortunately Paddy has history on this count. The incident with Skinner a few years back could have stood to him here.
    I've spoken to a few people about it, some regular Joes and some officers of clubs, boards, etc. and the responses I got were completely divided and in some instances surprised me.
    One pointed out that with the nature of our season overlapping football and running concurrent to the GAA season, its impossible to not have some conflict. However we've a small enough playing pool and all avenues should be considered.
    If this was a southside match I'd say it was correct that he not be allowed play the earlier night as the course would be packed. However, its on the north and with their smaller field, and the fact that both parties are in agreement, I think it should have been accomodated.
    This leads me to another issue I have. With travel across the city and people living further and further away from where they play is the notion of the midweek qualifying for the Matchplay out of date? Should it be over a weekend? Next weekend would be perfect, after all its reserved for a National "competition" already!

True on all counts.I think past events don't cover paddy in glory.I also think that the Dublin board have made a bit of an issue in their annual convention about the lax attitude to qualifying events and proper time keeping so this might be their first decision on such.Hopefully they will be consistent throughout the year.I seem to remember a certain person getting a phone call from an official in Lucan a few years back and then going on to win in Dublin strokeplay.Will have to wait and see how the year unfolds.

Anyway on another note,was in Lucan on sat for the scratch cup.Didn't play particularly well but I think they deserve a mention as the greens were immaculate.Best i've played on in a few years.

As I said I love the place. Its great for a confidence booster at the start of the year. Its 4 yrs since I played the place for different reasons, I'll be there next Easter come hell or high water!

Yeah can have that effect on people when scoring is not difficult.Anyway it will be good to see you back.You know you're always welcome Kngdom.

True on all counts.I think past events don't cover paddy in glory.I also think that the Dublin board have made a bit of an issue in their annual convention about the lax attitude to qualifying events and proper time keeping so this might be their first decision on such.Hopefully they will be consistent throughout the year.I seem to remember a certain person getting a phone call from an official in Lucan a few years back and then going on to win in Dublin strokeplay.Will have to wait and see how the year unfolds.

Anyway on another note,was in Lucan on sat for the scratch cup.Didn't play particularly well but I think they deserve a mention as the greens were immaculate.Best i've played on in a few years.

Consistency is the key in this game alright;) I didn't hear about that other thing though, perhaps a pm? I heard Lucan was superb, Bridgets was lovely but the greens were a bit slow. They'll be perfect for the Leinster.
    if you're gonna big up Lucan, then I'm bigging up Clara! The place is in super condition. even when the greens aren't cut there is a smooth coat of grass on them. Leinster Matchplay is there and i'd love to get in. It should be a good year for the championships up this side of the country anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 DugOut

I have to say lads, I played Lucan on Saturday and the greens are awesome. This is the standard all clubs should be aiming to achieve with there greens. Also a great score by Skinner in the last round considering the conditions were probably the worst of the day in the last 18.

Best of luck to everyone in the matchplay qualifiers this week.

A few little notes
    The green keeper in Lucan also works in the heritage golf club, heard he is a fantastic green keeper and has put alot of work this year, i was talking to on of the lads from my club about the scramble next week, he said it might suit lower handicaps with the greens so fast in lucan, im not sure to be honest.

Does anyone know who won the bridgets scratch cup?

I played skinner the other night in my course in the leagues so it nice to see that he won he played really well up in loughlinstown and he never knows when to give up, but i beat him on the 17th.

Does anyone know when the leinster matchplay draw been done?

Im looking for directions to D.CB.S i know u get off liffey valley exit and head towards the shopping centre but not sure after that.

A few little notes
    The green keeper in Lucan also works in the heritage golf club, heard he is a fantastic green keeper and has put alot of work this year, i was talking to on of the lads from my club about the scramble next week, he said it might suit lower handicaps with the greens so fast in lucan, im not sure to be honest.

I played skinner the other night in my course in the leagues so it nice to see that he won he played really well up in loughlinstown and he never knows when to give up, but i beat him on the 17th.

Im looking for directions to D.CB.S i know u get off liffey valley exit and head towards the shopping centre but not sure after that.

I'd imagine the matchplay draw will be soon enough sure aren't the qualifiers on in two weeks time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

A few little notes

St Bridgets -Murphy 23, DJ Lynch 22, O Brien 21.D O Reilly got last 18 wit a 48.Gary u cant miss it, its across the way from liffey valley retail park, rite besidle liffey valley gym big white building

GerCPM wrote: »
    St Bridgets -Murphy 23, DJ Lynch 22, O Brien 21.D O Reilly got last 18 wit a 48.Gary u cant miss it, its across the way from liffey valley retail park, rite besidle liffey valley gym big white building

Cheers mate, ill watch out for it so

Does anyone fancy predicting the winners of some of the groupings?
    I'd fancy these in Dublin (South)
    Gr1 Redmond (Old COunty)
    Gr2 Frank Ryan (RGSC)
    Gr3 Harkins(RGSC)
    Gr4 Can't call it, anyone of Fitzpatrick, Byrne, Hayden, Kane, Walsh could go through.
    Gr5 George Mcgreal (old County)
    Gr6 O'Reilly/Gallagher
    Gr7 Can't call it, anyone of Murray, O'reilly, Healy could go through.
    Gr8 Skinner/Lowe
    Gr9 Junior Smith (RGSC)

As for the north side...

Gr1 Collins(CYMC)
    Gr2 Nolan (E/Isle)
    Gr3 Hoey/Coady
    Gr4 Edwards (cymc)
    Gr5 Rowe (Ierne)