Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buildings/areas of interest in Sligo!*

• Registered Users Posts: 46,095 ✭✭✭✭muffler

We dont like trolls here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭il gatto

What Your Fav Building Or Place To Look At??? Lol

Ye Must Be Really Stuck For Topics Here Lads.

Yes...Yes we are. Still, it's a step up from the one about regional variations on garden gnomes:p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

mcgowan.b wrote: »
    As far as I know, the design of the Glasshouse is meant to be a ship, with the glass to be the front of it. It looks a bit odd at the moment as the flats are still being built at the back of it, but once its finished completely it should make sense, and not so wierd.

That's true.
    The idea is if you stand in the upstairs bar and look out at the river it seems like your on the deck of a ship.
    Very clever really

What Your Fav Building Or Place To Look At??? Lol

Ye Must Be Really Stuck For Topics Here Lads.

Aw gee wizz your right mister!!
    Be we just so stopid round these here parts!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

muffler wrote: »
    We dont like trolls here.

I got a scarily realistic image of Muffler sitting on a veranda in a rocking chair with a shotgun, chewing tobacco. :eek::p

sueme wrote: »
    I got a scarily realistic image of Muffler sitting on a veranda in a rocking chair with a shotgun, chewing tobacco. :eek::p

I wouldn't say your miles off!
    _1964397_gun300.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 steve staunton

in fairness..... buildings or things we like to look at!!!? such a joke.:D

You will learn plenty about this forum with a week off.

Oh and sending me PMs with lots of little ***** in them doesnt exactly help your case.

Goodbye muppet

Gillie wrote: »
    I wouldn't say your miles off!
    _1964397_gun300.jpg
    I never knew you took that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

<SNIP>

Are you sure you're Steve Staunton? You sound a lot more like Roy Keane.

The bell in this building reminds me of our now departed poster

Yeah!
    What a spanner!:rolleyes:
    Good riddence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

how does boards attract people like that and why did this thread set him off?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

JIZZLORD wrote: »

must be the quality of the buildings and the areas of interest in sligo, maybe he's jealious

I never knew you took that ;)

Course you didn't.
    You thought I was a mormon appraising your porch!;)

irish-stew wrote: »
    must be the quality of the buildings and the areas of interest in sligo, maybe he's jealious

Yeah.
    he's probably from Leitrim
    *hides*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tuppence

Gillie wrote: »
    Yeah.
    he's probably from Leitrim
    *hides*

Ah now Gillie for **** sake no need to bring Leitrim into it! :D:D

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    At this stage I have forgotten what is left up for public viewing and what is let for mods only but 3 accounts have been site banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

The railway station combines the loveliness of provincial Irish railway architecture (which makes railway journeys here such a pleasure), with a utilatarian monumentality that if it was not for the loss of its roof in the civil war woukd make it the finest railway building in Ireland. The aspect as you leave the station is particularly pleasing dominated by the two Cathedrals close by with Summerhill collge in the background.

Forgot about the railway station (I usually get off at Ballymote) but I agree, its lovely. I quite like ballymote for that matter, has a nice rustic slightly twee feeling off it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭il gatto

It's only twee if it's a pastiche. It's an authentic victorian piece of railway architecture. Keep telling yourself that. Ballymote doesn't have alot of architecture to go around:rolleyes::D

The courthouse at the top of the town is very nice. The churches are also very good. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

Don't forget the castle, its a great place.

Jaysus, how did I forget the castle, one of the best examples of 16th century castle building in Connaught!!!