Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you happy to see Bertie go?

I'm raging that he won't be there to face up to mess that he and his goons have created.
    He should sink with the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

bleg wrote: »
    right to go now. he has limited damage to his historical legacy. he'll go out on a high as the first irish leader to address the us congress. his dodgy dealings will only be a footnote.

"Ahern will become only the fifth leader to ever address both a joint session of Congress and the British Parliament in Westminster, where he spoke on May 15 of last year.

Other Irish leaders who have addressed a joint session of Congress are President Sean T O Ceallaigh (1959), President Eamon de Valera (1964), Taoiseach Liam Cosgrave (1976), Taoiseach Garrett FitzGerald (1984), and Taoiseach John Bruton (1996)."
    from http://www.irishabroad.com/Home/Articles/Ahern-for-Congress-in-April230208.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Glad to see the back of him. Not a moment too soon, and several hundred million in tribunal fees too late, tbh.

What irritates me is that historically, people are going to see an economic boom during Bertie's time in power, and a slump just as he leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭doubtfir3

Quality wrote: »
    Bertie for President!!

I would actually think that's not too far off.. Bertie would make a great President.

Even though I completely disagree with his (unconfirmed) dodgy dealings, I can wholeheartedly say that Bertie has been a refreshing leader for this country and has excellent charisma and presence which will certainly see him go far in Europe or other retaining a position of prestige and/or presence.

I think its almost impossible that Bertie hasn't done something wrong, its highly likely that he accepted a range of gifts/bribes/whatever in his earlier political career and there are certainly some irregularities in his financial affairs but lets not stone the guy.. he has (with plenty of help from others) helped to lead this country and build it through the early years of the Celtic Tiger.

OK, so things aren't as good right now and the government in my opinion have made some pretty poor decisions over the last while but on the whole, I feel his time has Taoiseach has been positive for this country.

But, it is time for him to go.

Enda
    --

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

I'm ecstatic. He was a liar, plain and simple. He had to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭stooge

No.

2 million unemployed before he took office. 2 million employed now. The Good Friday Agreement. The Celtic Tiger (admittedly it was on its way when he took over).

Yes, he possibly took some brown envelopes, but Id rather a leader who did this and got the results he has over the past ten years than a gobsh!te like Enda Kenny.

It'll be interesting to see what people think of his departure in 5 years time when half the country will be emigrating for jobs again.

Some people are so naive.....

1) The Celtic Tiger ecomony which you have admitted was well under way before Bertie took over was the reason for the low unemployment. The work of development boards in the past set the foundations for the economic growth.

2) The Good Friday agreement had a lot more influential and hard working people involved in it than Bertie. I'd say that his bumbling about and meanigless actions actually prolonged the peace process.

The thing is, Bertie struck it lucky by coming into power when Ireland was going through the most successful era in its history. He didnt take advantage of this and has gauranteed the future of the country/economy is bleak. He has achieved this by looking out for himself and his rich mates. The rich get richer, the builders/estate agents etc are happy but the health system/ transport network and the average Joe is fcuked.

It's the biggest missed opportunity and in future years we will live to regret voting him in when someone else may have looked toward the good of the country and not the builders pockets.

Good riddance , I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭lennox1

No but I'm not surprised as the real government of this country i.e the media were not going to concentrate on any other business of this country until he was gone.

How very convenient (see red underlined bits).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Bertie Aherne was the face of the government at a time when the country was doing better for itself. This prosperity was inevitable, and not, as some so idiotically claim, down to Bertie Aherne. Now, I've never been a fan of the guy, and I think he's a lying little **** who's shown arrogance that borders on contempt for the Irish people. The current government are a useless shower of wasters and he was and is, until May, their leader. Am I glad he's going? I wouldn't say glad. What I would hope though is that justice will be served and he'll be held accountable for his shady dealings. But then, that's akin to hoping world peace will be achieved in the next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Silent Partner

ordinarily i would. except that none of those who will potential replace him inspire full confidence either. What worries me further however, is that the rest of his cabinet have been defending the indefensible so much of late that they clearly are not able to stand up for themselves, they are too used to living under Bertie's shadow. They've been led by him for so long, and gotten so institutionalized by this that i dont see anyone of leadership quality in the current cabinet.

Well, what I think you have to look at is that in order to minimise instability in the country at what is already a turbulent time, present a united front and remove the risk of undermining both Fianna Fail and their junior partners in Government, the rest of the cabinet and the party had no choice but to stand behind Bertie Ahern.
    Now that he's out of the picture, it's a chance for Fianna Fail and, more particularly, Brian Cowen to prove what they're made of and how they can take the country forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

how many billions did we get from the eu, that is what kickstarted the ecomomy, with that kid of a push, it would have rooled on its own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I think there are an awful lot of begrudgers on here that are glad just for the sake of it.I think it was unacceptable what Bertie did and agree he had to go but I wouldn't take any delight in it for like or dislike of the guy.

In fairness,Fianna Fail are the lesser of the "evils" and I admire them for the way they have handled controversies within their own party and led the country (for the most part).

However,I'll never praise them for the Health Service which will probably take years and years to get up to standard.The funding for The Spire should have gone into the Health Service or Nurses Wages Fund and how about extra resources for schools who need more buildings etc.

Bertie was a good leader and unlike Enda Kenny (who can talk the talk but not walk the walk) was well respected by most of the inhabitants of this country.

I think the main question or issue now though is will Bertie still get into Croke Park and Parnell Park for free.:D:D Being an avid Dubs supporter myself,should I expect to see him on Hill 16 from now on?:D:D

I suppose he better take a few trips in the private jet and start learning to drive again before he goes completely.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

if he was a poor politician then why was he approached to become president of the eu commission?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭kizzyr

garthv wrote: »
    Naa, thats ridiculous, he never should have had to resign,
    He did a sh*tload for this country, its about time you idiots realised it.

That was his job though. As Taoiseach it was his job and responsiblity to run the country properly and when economic opportunities presented themselves to the nation to take them. He wasn't doing it out of altruisim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If Bertie was the warm-hearted man of the people it's claimed, how comes he's done nothing for the State services? 11 years in power, we stioll have gridlock, **** hospitals, over-crowded schools....

As I said, if you're rich, greedy and don't give a **** about anyone else, of course you're sorry to see Bertie go. the probelm is, will Cowan (or whoever takes over) be any different?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

Fremen wrote: »
    What irritates me is that historically, people are going to see an economic boom during Bertie's time in power, and a slump just as he leaves.

I am DELIGHTED to see him go in one way, but its a double edged sword because the fact that he goes when the economy is slowing down, no matter who replaces him and or how good of a job they do, the good ol paddies will attribute the slowdown to the fact that good old Whiskey nose himself is no longer at the helm.

I voted anything but FF in the last election as i DESPERATLY wanted change, but i was also happy in a way to see FF back in so they could be held accountable when slow down in the economy starts effecting people's pockets, and also the fact that they didn't put the correct measures in place to 'make hay while the sun shone' on the country. No country has sustained a natural 'boom' time for longer than 10 years, its economic cycle!

Basing the countrys whole economic structure on the construction industry will SURELY go down in history as one of the single most short sighted decisions ever taken by the leader of a country.

Wholly agree Fremen, people are only able to judge goings on by the amount of spare change they have in their pockets.

Bertie did ONE good thing and that was HELP in the 'peace' (if you can call it that) process in NI, the celtic tiger booming economy and falling rates of unemployment was going to happen anyway. I would even go as far as to say that 60% of the ground work for the celtic tiger was done back in the latter part of the 80's under FG rule.

Its about time the people of this country opened their eyes and had a view of the bigger picture, not just the one on their Widescreen 52inch Flatscreen TV with subwoofer and surround sound.
    That wont be much good to you in 20 years time when your scraping to make ends meet, infact you'll probably still be paying off the high interest loan on it that the bank shoved down your neck the time you went in with the intention of opening that high yielding savings account! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Load cheers in the staff room today when I announced that Bertie was gone!

Then everyone realised that Cowen will probably get the job.

I'm glad he's gone, but I'm not sure it's going to make anything better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

No.

2 million unemployed before he took office. 2 million employed now. The Good Friday Agreement. The Celtic Tiger (admittedly it was on its way when he took over).

Yes, he possibly took some brown envelopes, but Id rather a leader who did this and got the results he has over the past ten years than a gobsh!te like Enda Kenny.

It'll be interesting to see what people think of his departure in 5 years time when half the country will be emigrating for jobs again.

As I said on the other thread. I will give you a few mins to redeem yourself before rubbishing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Blackpitts wrote: »
    that's the end of the celtic tiger era then....
    You posting from 2002? Could you buy a Euro Millions ticket for me? Maybe some Google shares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Alot of people got rich off his back for the right reasons too.

The celebrity status is just a crazy reason to be glad he is gone. I dont get the celebrity thing either, he goes to a few sporting events and he is a celebrity. Not his fault his daughters have a celebrity lifestyle, whats he supposed to do turn his back on them.

No, but he could have the common sense to have made a little distance from the westlife crowd. I mean come on, about two months ago he came forward and said that he enjoys nothing more at the end of a hard days work than to relax with the boys from westlife. Who the f*ck does he think he is? Tommy Mattola? Ps - and lets not forget the whole excuse for the pay increases, sure he doesnt live in the white house like george w now does he!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Jesus i had a Nostridamus moment @ 12.05am on April 1st When i phoned my gran as a april fool joke !! i fortold Berti had resign does that mean i have The Gift?? I am glad to see him go and to think if Ben Dunne had not done all that coke and went slightly bonkers we would never have had these triburals!! Thanks Ben :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I am not happy to see him go,no matter what he did for himself ,our country grew a lot under his leadership.
    Ah yes our country grew with Bertie including house prices and scandalous private nursing home fees. Glad to see the back of these Fiana Fail Gangsters that feather their own nests. What was hidden will always be exposed to the light. Charlie Haughey had his day now its Berties turn to face the music.

ballooba wrote: »
    As I said on the other thread. I will give you a few mins to redeem yourself before rubbishing you.
    Seeing as PullMyFinger! didn't have the capability nor qualification to correct his fundamental error I will do so for him.

There were 159,000 persons over the age of 15 unemployed in 1997.

There are currently 2,095,000 in employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

I am not happy to see him go,no matter what he did for himself ,our country grew a lot in spite of his leadership.

Fixed your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Happy to see the back of him tbh. Too long in office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Social structure remains the same under Cowen. Upper and lower layers do not pay.

Politician Tycoon Politician Tycoon Politician Tycoon Politician Tycoon
    Regular Guy Regular Guy Regular Guy Regular Guy Regular Guy Regular Guy
    Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

yeah glad to see him go - its soooo frustrating being treated like a complete eejit by someone v cute acting the eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Can't see what's going to change. We're swapping on incompetant bumbling goombeen man for another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

stevoman wrote: »
    Im over the moon. Personally im sick of looking at his head and its time this country deserved a real Taoisach and not a celebrity one!!! What do you think?

I agree. What we need is a slick, sexy Taoiseach who makes the girls go weak at the knees and the guys sigh and wish that they could look the same. Is that man Brian Cowen? I believe it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

topper75 wrote: »
    Social structure remains the same under Cowen. Upper and lower layers do not pay.

Politician Tycoon Politician Tycoon Politician Tycoon Politician Tycoon
    Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag Scumbag

Love that one Topper-says it all really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Tago Mago wrote: »
    I agree. What we need is a slick, sexy Taoiseach who makes the girls go weak at the knees and the guys sigh and wish that they could look the same. Is that man Brian Cowen? I believe it is.

Brian Cowen is the lovechild of Angelina Jolie and Bernard Manning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Lmao :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

The rain has stopped, the sun comes out.. Bertie announces resignation. This is a turning out to be a good day.

The man is mumbling fool. Eh.. Eh.. Eh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭punchestown

fianna fail dont seem to think so and he's very well educated and a great talker

Even the man who holds the top job in the country has had his difficulties over inconsistencies in his CV. While there is no suggestion that the Taoiseach deliberately lied or misled the public about his qualifications, in November 2001 the Fianna Fail website listed Bertie Ahern's third-level education as: "Rathmines College of Commerce, University College Dublin and London School of Economics."

That same month the Taoiseach was quoted in a new book, My Best Advice, as saying: "I obtained my accountancy qualification (in the College of Commerce, Rathmines) and later completed further diploma courses through the London School of Economics in taxation and business administration."

Sharp-eyed observers noted that the Taoiseach failed to make any mention in the book of his time at UCD. When a spokesman for Mr Ahern was asked to explain the omission, he said: "He has never claimed to hold degrees from UCD or anywhere else. I don't know what he got (after Rathmines College). He remembers doing the courses, but not what they were."

Attempts by reporters to trace Mr Ahern's attendance record at UCD or the London School of Economics proved unsuccessful. The reference on the Fianna Fail website to his studies at the LSE was subsequently deleted

As for the great talker suggestion, I tink dat bertie was gud at deh talkin an deh speakin buh dat dozint meen he shud be feted for jus dah alown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

So he's a sexy racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

No, but he could have the common sense to have made a little distance from the westlife crowd. I mean come on, about two months ago he came forward and said that he enjoys nothing more at the end of a hard days work than to relax with the boys from westlife. Who the f*ck does he think he is? Tommy Mattola? Ps - and lets not forget the whole excuse for the pay increases, sure he doesnt live in the white house like george w now does he!!!

So is he not supposed to go see his daughter and her husband. Thats just such f**ked up thinking, if your biggest concern about politics is who Bertie socialise with after he is finished work then you should have no right to vote.

Everyone knows the pay increase were ridiculous, no because of his lifestyle or any other matter but for the simple fact they are cutting other budgets yet increasing there own.

So is he not supposed to go see his daughter and her husband. Thats just such f**ked up thinking, if your biggest concern about politics is who Bertie socialise with after he is finished work then you should have no right to vote.

Bertie gone and thats all i care about. The poll clearly states that the people are happy to see him go, definitly me included so, way hey!!!!! :D

Fortunately you didnt write the constitution so i have my right to vote for whatever reason i like. Freedom's great isnt it!

Even the man who holds the top job in the country has had his difficulties over inconsistencies in his CV. While there is no suggestion that the Taoiseach deliberately lied or misled the public about his qualifications, in November 2001 the Fianna Fail website listed Bertie Ahern's third-level education as: "Rathmines College of Commerce, University College Dublin and London School of Economics."

That same month the Taoiseach was quoted in a new book, My Best Advice, as saying: "I obtained my accountancy qualification (in the College of Commerce, Rathmines) and later completed further diploma courses through the London School of Economics in taxation and business administration."

Sharp-eyed observers noted that the Taoiseach failed to make any mention in the book of his time at UCD. When a spokesman for Mr Ahern was asked to explain the omission, he said: "He has never claimed to hold degrees from UCD or anywhere else. I don't know what he got (after Rathmines College). He remembers doing the courses, but not what they were."

Attempts by reporters to trace Mr Ahern's attendance record at UCD or the London School of Economics proved unsuccessful. The reference on the Fianna Fail website to his studies at the LSE was subsequently deleted

As for the great talker suggestion, I tink dat bertie was gud at deh talkin an deh speakin buh dat dozint meen he shud be feted for jus dah alown
    I was talking about cowan.....

Bertie gone and thats all i care about. The poll clearly states that the people are happy to see him go, definitly me included so, way hey!!!!! :D

Fortunately you didnt write the constitution so i have my right to vote for whatever reason i like. Freedom's great isnt it!

I wouldn't pay to much attention to a boards poll. If we did then FG would already be in power.Thread Link

Off course you have the right to vote for whoever you want freedom is great. The people of irealnd voted FF and Bertie in for a full term so he should have been left to finish his full term instead of being hounded out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Delighted he's gone. The unfortunate thing is that there's too many in this country willing to put up with dodgy sh*t.

Gordon Brown wouldn't have lasted anywhere near as long.

Bye Bertie. I won't miss you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I wouldn't pay to much attention to a boards poll. If we did then FG would already be in power.Thread Link

All the more reason why we should pay attention to a boards poll. We seem to be the ones with the most sense. Maybe if the country had voted like those in that thread then we could have avoided the embarrassment of the past few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Meh, I'd rather him than that other guy, Endy Kiteflyer or something.

All the more reason why we should pay attention to a boards poll. We seem to be the ones with the most sense. Maybe if the country had voted like those in that thread then we could have avoided the embarrassment of the past few months.

The only thing I've been embarrassed about is both the oppositions and Medias refusal to concentrate on any political agenda that you know might actually help the country. Instead of this constant barrage about Berties finances from years ago, that even if he is found guilty of any crime, won’t affect anybody’s life apart from Berties, and the people selling the newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

I had my fill of him and Fianna fail when they decided that a neutral country like us should allow Shannon airport to be used by the US army. And to be honest the usual thing happened in that there was some public outcry for a while and then people forget about it and just complain about something else for a while.

If they had a reason for allowing Shannon to be used, such as squeezing the balls of the US on their policy towards Illegal Irish immigrants in return for allowing use of our land, people would have at least been able to weigh up the pros and cons. But no, we just hand it over in exchange for breakfast in the white house in March every year.

The funniest thing is when people complain about Fianna Fail now, after voting them in in May!! Well, at least i don't have that on my conscience..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭Phil01

Its a sad day, Bertie was a great Taoiseach, look at the vid of enda kenny on RTE, 2 boys laughing at the back, i just hope that Fianna Fail stay in goverment. And i bet the people saying that they are glad that Bertie is gone will be the ones moaning about the state of our country in a few years.
    How people are unhappy with our country and Bertie is crazy, maybe its because im more mature and i remember when Fianna Geal were in goverment, they never gave us anything. Bertie has created the Ireland we see today.

Phil01 wrote: »
    And i bet the people saying that they are glad that Bertie is gone will be the ones moaning about the state of our country in a few years.
    That is definately going to happen.
    when Fianna Geal were in goverment, they never gave us anything.
    Heh, I remember my Dad on the day, "because they're not Fine Gael".

I don't think anybody else in any other party could've done much better to be honest. Frankly all the parties are shít. Fianna Fáil is just slightly less shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

Come on, with the amount of money which was coming into Ireland a blind monkey would have done a better job than bertie.

THAT money was the result of political moves before berties time.

He's got no credibility as far as I'm concerned, he just happened to preside at a time when there was a phenomenal swelling of the coffers.

What saddens me is that because we're hitting (in the middle of?) a downward economic slope his fan club will be very shortly heard to exclaim that "We bet you wish Berties was in power now, we'd never have had this problem with good oul Bertie running the show".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Phil01 wrote: »
    Its a sad day, Bertie was a great Taoiseach, look at the vid of enda kenny on RTE, 2 boys laughing at the back, i just hope that Fianna Fail stay in goverment. And i bet the people saying that they are glad that Bertie is gone will be the ones moaning about the state of our country in a few years.
    How people are unhappy with our country and Bertie is crazy, maybe its because im more mature and i remember when Fianna Geal were in goverment, they never gave us anything. Bertie has created the Ireland we see today.

He has done a fantastic job with the country. The health service for example is one of the best in the world.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    He has done a fantastic job with the country. The health service for example is one of the best in the world.

In before somebody doesn't get the joke.