Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Year in Kerry's First Fulltime Martial Arts School

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Dave Joyce wrote: »
    I know I've definately seen lads come on here (and I think they're perfectly RIGHT to do so BTW!!!) without previously posting ANYTHING and advertise shows (funnily enough MMA shows) AND not get the same amount of Sheet that Orile has for doing what everyone

Who?
    and if its a show that is of interest to the people on the board then whats the problem?
    lots of the people on this forum fight on the shows so there is defo an interest in this.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

cowzerp wrote: »
    Who?
    and if its a show that is of interest to the people on the board then whats the problem?
    lots of the people on this forum fight on the shows so there is defo an interest in this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

...people not posting much because most non MMA OR Combat Sport related threads are by and largely ignored.

thats interesting, why do 'non MMA OR Combat Sport' people that post here ignore those threads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Mind ya its interesting that most of the fuvking moaners have ignored Liam's point about people not posting much because most non MMA OR Combat Sport related threads are by and largely ignored.

You don't sell copies of Fisherman Monthly in the Sahara.

If threads are ignored then maybe it is because the readership is not there?

That just kind of smacks of someone giving out about thread content but never starting the threads they want discussed to be honest.

Just playing Devils Advocate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

Ah for fuvks sake lads, a bit of honesty here at least. I know I've definately seen lads come on here (and I think they're perfectly RIGHT to do so BTW!!!) without previously posting ANYTHING and advertise shows (funnily enough MMA shows) AND not get the same amount of Sheet that Orile has for doing what everyone (AND yes I've done it too plenty of times) here has done at times.

Have you tried reading the first page of this thread? No-one complained that Orlie posted an ad, just how the ad was written (none too subtle, very few parents check boards.ie for MA's so testimonials pretty pointless)
    Mind ya its interesting that most of the fuvking moaners have ignored Liam's point about people not posting much because most non MMA OR Combat Sport related threads are by and largely ignored.

How is it anyones fault if there aren't many people on this forum interested in non-MMA threads? In general only people interested in a particular topic are going to post in a thread about it. If these people don't post in a thread about a topic they are interested in, then they are ignoring it too. Do you expect people with no interest, experience or (in some cases) the first clue about what happens in the minority arts to keep threads alive for people who couldn't even be bother to post anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Charlie3dan

How is it anyones fault if there aren't many people on this forum interested in non-MMA threads? In general only people interested in a particular topic are going to post in a thread about it. If these people don't post in a thread about a topic they are interested in, then they are ignoring it too. Do you expect people with no interest, experience or (in some cases) the first clue about what happens in the minority arts to keep threads alive for people who couldn't even be bother to post anymore?

Absolutely a fair point.

I would say that there is another contributing factor. Some TMA guys may feel if they post something purely TMA, it always seems to end up being a tired old TMA vs MMA arguement due to the number of MMA practitioners.

I've found that's not entirely fair, I posted about a shotokan karate tournament here recently and no such thing occurred. But I could still see why that perception is still there, and I still think there's a number of posters on the board who enjoy nothing more than bad mouthing TMA's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

I would say that there is another contributing factor. Some TMA guys may feel if they post something purely TMA, it always seems to end up being a tired old TMA vs MMA arguement due to the number of MMA practitioners.

I would never comment on a thread about TMA unless i felt they where making false claims, ie, some karate coach saying he'll teach you how to compete and beat ufc fighters! or that they will make you a great grappler or anti grappler..etc..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

yeah wouldnt even look in thead that had something in the title that intrested me, like if someone says TKD or Bujinkan or whatever u call it i wouldnt even look at the thread because it simply doesnt intrest me, if you dont want to read about MMA then just dont go into the thread simple as that..if you want to read about TMA's only then click into them, if there are no thread title with TMA's that hardly MMA lads faults as it people who do TMA's own choice not to post a thread on here........

No arguements with anything there lads all I'm doing is pointing out something which is also a factor. As I say, I don't think the perception that exists in entirely fair, i'm just pointing it out.

I'm not suggesting it's the main factor, but it's there. Doesn't bother me, might bother others.

No arguements with anything there lads all I'm doing is pointing out something which is also a factor. As I say, I don't think the perception that exists in entirely fair, i'm just pointing it out.

I'm not suggesting it's the main factor, but it's there. Doesn't bother me, might bother others.

it also isnt our fault that people perceive they will be linched if they post about TMA's, i genuinely couldnt give a rats if they do(and im usually first to start an arguement on here :D) so if they post something about there MA that doesnt intrest me i just wont read it, simple as...

Just to be clear I'm not saying there's blame to be placed on anyone. But fair enuffski

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

There can be discussions between tma and mma groups, mindsets or whatever.

Like the development of a triangle choke, its origions, how it changed, where its at now etc.

But i have nt seen much of that stuff on here. Besides if you post here you have to expect a certain amount of lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

First things first, EXCUSE ME for the typo in saying "non" MMA and Combat Sport, obviously the "non" shouldn't have been there. And for all the sensitive souls on here, that was NOT a slant at MMA, I AM involved in Combat Sports (as well as been very active in the early days of MMA in this country, much as that might be uncomfortable for some people). As for the replies, well if you guys can't see the usual typical reaction in what you posted (and I could nearly have predicted who would have responded)..... As far as I'm concerned MOST of the time forums will be used to promote/push/sell whatever by people and if they don't normally post but just come on here to do their pimping.....Wow big fuvking deal, a little forward/rude but no one's died!!!

As regards the "who" comments, I couldn't be bothered posting most of the time on here anymore, due to this very type of CRAP!! as its usually a case of same shet, different day/thread, except in a few notable exceptions.

If you people who are so quick to dismiss that there is NOT an unfair tint AT TIMES, repeat, AT TIMES, on this forum, then you are either so biased you're blind or .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

so easily annoyed our dave is

:):):) OMG, if you think that responce was annoyed, you obviously don't know me:rolleyes: That was what I would class as a bored as shet responce actually:cool:

You a Star Wars fan, Yoda sorry Nothing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,792 ✭✭✭Mark Hamill

First things first, EXCUSE ME for the typo in saying "non" MMA and Combat Sport, obviously the "non" shouldn't have been there.

Wait, so you meant to say:
    Mind ya its interesting that most of the fuvking moaners have ignored Liam's point about people not posting much because most MMA OR Combat Sport related threads are by and largely ignored.
    What are you talking about? Liam said
    silat liam wrote:
    Every conversation which doesnt promote mma, either disappears as no one responds or usually within 24 hours or less breaksdown into the usual mma v tma tired old war.
    So he was talking about "non" MMA threads, what where you talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

First things first, EXCUSE ME for the typo in saying "non" MMA and Combat Sport, obviously the "non" shouldn't have been there.

so

should be
    Mind ya its interesting that most of the fuvking moaners have ignored Liam's point about people not posting much because most MMA OR Combat Sport related threads are by and largely ignored.

?? just trying to figure out your point as surely those threads are not ignored? :)
    (as well as been very active in the early days of MMA in this country, much as that might be uncomfortable for some people)

that is certainly true, sure didnt we have a wee scrap at the first '8-man tournament' in ireland :) i dont understand why would that be uncomfortable for anyone??

Well posting in a hurry or when you're tired is not always a good idea and what you'#re trying to say doesn't come across right but who give a sheeeet anyway. Can#t remember and don't care what I was origninally trying to say to guys that aren't interested anyway. Mind you posting slightly inebriated (after watching fantastic Munstter beat Toulouse in teh pub is probley worse especially when it probley kills most Leinster shi-ites to see them win. We're not like that in Connacht:D:D:D)

Anyways the impportant thing is that Jon, Dave and Liam were very right and ther rest of ye were wrong and full of sheeeeeeeeeeeeet so feck it anyway. Come on MUNSTERllllllllllllllll tHANK GOD FOR BULMERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Orlie wrote: »
    Sensei Orla O Sullivan

Your ignorance of appropriate use of the Japanese language hurts my brain.

Well posting in a hurry or when you're tired is not always a good idea and what you'#re trying to say doesn't come across right but who give a sheeeet anyway. Can#t remember and don't care what I was origninally trying to say to guys that aren't interested anyway. Mind you posting slightly inebriated (after watching fantastic Munstter beat Toulouse in teh pub is probley worse especially when it probley kills most Leinster shi-ites to see them win. We're not like that in Connacht:D:D:D)

Anyways the impportant thing is that Jon, Dave and Liam were very right and ther rest of ye were wrong and full of sheeeeeeeeeeeeet so feck it anyway. Come on MUNSTERllllllllllllllll tHANK GOD FOR BULMERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

you really arent making any sense in any of your posts, maybe you should do what you say you do and very rarely post on here....would be best for all of us as reading pointless things(like the OP) is time consuming and could be time used to a much greater effect :D:p