Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sligo town accent

1235»

• Registered Users Posts: 7,995 ✭✭✭DenMan

The guys accent is pretty awful alrite. However the girls is worse imo. One of my friends from college, lovely girl, but when she opens her mouth I can't understand her. She speaks so fast. She's from the country too, not the town. They all sound the same tbh. (I'm a Dub, softly spoken one at that btw)

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭blackiebest

Good mate worked on teh door of Toffs for a rew years, chatting him one night re best Sligoisms and his best one was one night, about 1:45am some very dolled up 'town' bird came out the first double doors from club closely followed by some buff/roaster who was upset and confused as to why she was leaving. He was shouting in thick buff accent "where are you going, I've been buying you drink all night?" to which came the classic heavily town accented " Ya bought me sh1te now f*ck off or I'll pull the head of ya!"

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Try1ng

Good mate worked on teh door of Toffs for a rew years, chatting him one night re best Sligoisms and his best one was one night, about 1:45am some very dolled up 'town' bird came out the first double doors from club closely followed by some buff/roaster who was upset and confused as to why she was leaving. He was shouting in thick buff accent "where are you going, I've been buying you drink all night?" to which came the classic heavily town accented " Ya bought me sh1te now f*ck off or I'll pull the head of ya!"

Quality - reminds me of all the years i spend in that town!! "right boyee"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭fillefatale

Its awful, I shudder everytime i hear it, therefore avoid the town as much as possible. I've had friends visit and the looks of horror on their faces when they encounter the accent. Thank god I have managed to avoid the accent despite attending school in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,738 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Sligo Slang!!

Cmere= Excuse me

I will yeah! = not a hope in hell

Sup- how are you?

Hows she hanging?- What is the craic

You would yeah! = you wouldnt have the balls

State a him/her = he/she looks bad or unattractive..

Wha?- What

Pure = very eg. ah boi hes pure sound..!

give a ****- dont worry or be freting about it.

Couldn't give two ****s = I don't care

Like = the most common work in any sligoian sentence..!! eg. ya know like.

Do ya see him/her/them- do you know the person Im refering to

Doing laps / going for a lap - driving around town in circle..!! ya know boi!

You know it.. Yes

Ehhhhh- used at the start of every SHAM sentence..!!

Bate = to harm someone

Mill- also to harm someone.. eg.. Ill mill ya.!!!

Sketch- run as fast as you can, someone(usaly the guards) are coming.

Dry Buzz = unintresting..

Free Gaff = house where the parents r absent (party at the gaff)

Minker Drinkin = Used by the underage of the town for illegal drinking usaly in tree or in an ally..!!!

Steamboats!! = intoxicated...aka locked, lushed, steamed, ****ed

Sweating like a pedo in a cresh.. - Im warm/hot

Out lushin = gone drinking

Al right boi-- Hello

Mint, minter = very good

Savage- Thats cool..

She nice- I like it

Ah here! = Im unimpressesd by this

ChatAya - Goodbye (pronounced-- Chat-aaa-ya!!!

ahoii- usally muttered not really pronounced. used between two people to agree with each other.

Such a hole/ dive-- this place to which im referring is not nice...
    Such a hole that school is..

Bootin it-- a term used too describe something moving at a fast speed..eg..
    I was bootin it through the town at ehhhhh like 500 miles an hr in my yoke..bootin i was..

My yoke-- my car or van

Im gunna fly..-- Im going too leave or move on..

Ill make a bursht..-- also ill move on or leave

Vexshed- (pronounce Vexsh'd) angry or upset..

Me dolly-- my girlfriend

the 'rents-- my parents

Me Gaff-- my home/ house

ah now.. this term can be used in many diferent ways.. - thats alful.. im not telling you.. I dont believe you...

The Lights- The four lanterns

The Carpark- the carpark in winestreet.. Where after dark.. is full of the "boi racers"...!!!!

What r ya on about-- can you repeat that please.

Me- My

Muder-- Mother

Fadder- Father

Brudder- Brother

Beans- Euros..

I hate the word boi!!! If another person call's me that again in Sligo I'll go mad!!!:D

DenMan wrote: »
    I hate the word boi!!! If another person call's me that again in Sligo I'll go mad!!!:D

no problem boi

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭Janine87

join the club!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭Janine87

Thanks for giving us the meaning of those words! ;)
    I have to say I am using some of them! WOOP!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

I'm taking over 'like' like!! I hate myself for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I'm taking over 'like' like!! I hate myself for it!

same :(

Xiney wrote: »
    same :(

Yep, me too. That's the only one though.....like :D. Think I picked it up from some Galway friends too!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

Yep, me too. That's the only one though.....like :D. Think I picked it up from some Galway friends too!!!

Crustie friends:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Crustie friends:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Crusties in Galway? Never. Crusty rolls, maybe....

crusty%20bread%20loaves.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

What the hell does "Howaya Horsebox?" mean?

I love hearing Sligo people name this popular stoodent drinking establishment ...ahem....

"ShennaaAAAAAAAaaaaanigans!"

I love hearing Sligo people name this popular stoodent drinking establishment ...ahem....

"ShennaaAAAAAAAaaaaanigans!"

Yes, I've been there the last year or so. Think we need to rename it to Sheno's. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭teddy_303

Here's a few golden oldies I remember from growing up there :

I'll thump the tonsils off ya!
    I'll kick the kidneys off him!
    What colour grapes do they like? We'll know which ones to send them. (in hospital, that is)
    One lady once said to another on O'Connell St one day:
    "I'd kick ya in the c*t, only I'd lose me shoe!
    I'll beat ya good looking!
    To top it off, my personal favourite:
    Some one was being beaten up by a knacker on x mas eve, and the dirt bag was saying " I'll give ya Christmas!"

Class place..

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭shellyriver

Re Teddy's Tale

I'm sure there are many examples of classic neukism from Sligo. One I like to recall whilst sitting my a yule tide log fire, toasting my new Christmas socks by the crackling heat, originates from Harry's.

Some along the lines of two girls had a row in that particularly popularly hostelry -- after a disagreement, over a man apparently, and having wigged each other for a while, the victor noted [to all those within hearing distance], 'Afder all I did for you. I gave you money ta to ta Englaned, ta have an ab***ion, and you go of with my fella, -- I thought you were a ladeeeeee'.!!!!!!!!!!:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I'll destroy ya with sidekicks - we'll fight and I'll win.

I'd ruin her - I'd like to have sex with her.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭orlaxxx

tubbercurrry is the best accent in sligo!
    hate the sligo town one!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

Zombie thread. Thread closed.