Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banning - A Childish Activity

• 03-04-2008 5:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭

I recently returned to posting on this site - in the Investments & Markets section - and I went about my business of explaining to readers how to go about learning how to trade the US stock market - based on my own experiences of 9 years.

Alas - I am now banned by the "Moderator" because I called some people idiots, which was a description I used based on their posts and how they portrayed themselves in the very few words that they contributed to the threads that I started.

This banning action is akin to the suffering and censorship forced on people for centuries gone by, by those who held the authority of "Power" - history will always repeat itself for as long as we allow it.

If a person makes an idiotic statement, then they are an idiot!

Here is the transcript of my trial - including the sentencing.

Your ban...
    Article43,

You have been banned for a week for repeatedly attacking other users. You do not appear to have heeded any previous warnings from myself or Ibid. We also did not appreciate you portraying yourself as a Socratic hero. In future please keep your discussions on topic and refrain from attacking other users. If in doubt, use the mantra: attack the post, not the poster.

If you are still banned after a week please private message any of the moderators and you will be unbanned.

If you feel this decision is unfair you are free to voice that opinion in the following forums.

HelpDesk Forum. (Only admins can comment on your post)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=30

Or

Feedback Forum (Anyone can comment on your post)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=82

Regards,

xebec

Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Article43 wrote: »
    Alas - I am now banned by the "Moderator" because I called some people idiots, which was a description I used based on their posts and how they portrayed themselves in the very few words that they contributed to the threads that I started.

You are aware of the rules regarding abuse?:rolleyes:

Posting the contents of a pm isn't the way to go about this.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

You're an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Article43

As a registered user of this "Public Forum", I am now making a formal request to have any thread that I started in the Investments & Markets section deleted.

If this is not done, then I want a full explanation as to why, posted here for all to see - I do not belive in PM's as everything should be out in the open for all to see - there are enough things going on behind closed doors in the world of today, as it is.

Does the last post mean that the moderator will also now be banned - or, like elsewhere, is there one rule for the Plebs, and another for the Gentry:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I recently returned to posting on this site - in the Investments & Markets section - and I went about my business of explaining to readers how to go about learning how to trade the US stock market - based on my own experiences of 9 years.

This banning action is akin to the suffering and censorship forced on people for centuries gone by, by those who held the authority of "Power" - history will always repeat itself for as long as we allow it.

Your ban...
    Article43,

You have been banned for a week for repeatedly attacking other users. You do not appear to have heeded any previous warnings from myself or Ibid. We also did not appreciate you portraying yourself as a Socratic hero. In future please keep your discussions on topic and refrain from attacking other users. If in doubt, use the mantra: attack the post, not the poster.

If you are still banned after a week please private message any of the moderators and you will be unbanned.

If you feel this decision is unfair you are free to voice that opinion in the following forums.

Or

Regards,

xebec

This is going to go nought to cats in record time.

You broke one of the most basic rules of Boards, you may have 70 bajillion years of experience but you didnt read the charter.

Also, the tone of your OP was very funny. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

You're a demanding little git aren't you?

I want i demand i blah blah blah.

Get the finger out, cop on.
    do not belive in PM's as everything should be out in the open for all to see - there are enough things going on behind closed doors in the world of today, as it is.

Best excuse for outdoors sex i've ever heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

From the charter:
    Flaming
    Posts containing personal attacks on another user will be edited/deleted. Attack the post, not the poster. Minor infringements will warrant a warning followed by a ban. More serious infringements and/or intentional flaming will receive an automatic ban.
    You ignored this and abused the posters. End of, IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

çrash_000 wrote: »
    You're a demanding little git aren't you?

I want i demand i blah blah blah.

Get the finger out, cop on.

Best excuse for outdoors sex i've ever heard.
    Like you need an excuse ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

As a registered user of this "Public Forum", I am now making a formal request to have any thread that I started in the Investments & Markets section deleted.

If this is not done, then I want a full explanation as to why, posted here for all to see - I do not belive in PM's as everything should be out in the open for all to see - there are enough things going on behind closed doors in the world of today, as it is.

Does the last post mean that the moderator will also now be banned - or, like elsewhere, is there one rule for the Plebs, and another for the Gentry:rolleyes:

Ah, but this is a privately owned forum, no free speech etc before you go to that old chestnut. If you are so concerned about what you have writ, you can edit them yourself, dude.

I don't think the mod is going to get banned, unless someone follows the proper proceedure...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Your ban...
    Article43,

Or

Regards,

xebec

Loathe as I am to taint my typing fingers with this:

1) If you are incapable of separating the post from the poster then I question your intelligence. In other words, while you may consider a post idiotic, others may consider it ill-informed, and in neither case does it give you the right to call someone else an idiot on a board that has a charter suggesting that personal abuse is considered passé.

2) This is an internet forum. It's not a bucket called I can say whatever I bleeding like. Personally I have a website which while open to comments from omplete strangers, is subject to the sort of censorship that involves not letting anyone flog prescription drugs (real or fake), mortgage approvals, photographs I didn't take myself, videos I didn't make myself via said site.

3) It is entirely possible for most intelligent people to criticise a post which may be inaccurate or plain stupid without resorting to calling the poster an idiot. Are you able to do this?

4) If people make an idiotic statement, it must be seen in the following context; perhaps it is only idiotic from your specialised point of view, and perhaps education is a more valued way forward than calling someone an idiot.

Personally I take a dim view of anyone either online or in real life telling someone else or myself that they or I am an idiot. My past experience is that it generally signals that the person doing the name calling is not worth bothering with.

Quick question: will the world come to an end because you can't post in I&M?

I suspect not but I'll wait for the meteor strike tonight just in case.

Oh dear, I've just seen your latest post. You know, you're really not in any position to go making demands. You get allowed to post here by the grace of a bundle of ubergods who generally stay out of the way on the grounds that you can be trusted with the privilege of posting and privilege is what it is and it doesn't extend to demanding things.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You have no entitlement to request that your posts will be deleted.

The actual reason why we don't delete posts en masse is because it disrupts the flow of older threads and can reduce them to nonsense.

Rules differ from forum to forum. Each forum will have a Charter stickied at the top of it, which sets out the rules for that forum.

The poster who called you an idiot won't be banned because that particular rule isn't applied here. It is however applied in the forum from which you were banned.

Note though that the rules aren't a firm set of guidelines. The general task of moderators is to attempt to keep the peace and ensure that their forum is enjoyable for *everyone* to use. People who abuse others or who are otherwise dismissive or disruptive, tend to ruin it for everyone else and therefore tend to be subject to moderation.

Feedback is a special forum, I think its charter lays it out. If you give Feedback, you can also expect feedback. Because there's no set "topic" on Feedback, you will often be subject to much disruption and dismission.

It appears that the intelligence level of a certain group of posters on this site is starting to spread rapidly; it just so happens that the name of this particular group starts with a Capital "I" :rolleyes:

As I keep saying - History repeats itself over and over :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Your first post. saved By Google

Epic fail tbh
    :pac:....:pac:....:pac:...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Please direct your <Brian Nolan> correctly formatted telex of complaint </Brian Nolan> to the nearest post office, and await due response.

It appears that the intelligence level of a certain group of posters on this site is starting to spread rapidly; it just so happens that the name of this particular group starts with a Capital "I" :rolleyes:

fail_snail.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 14,993 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

çrash_000 wrote: »
    You're an idiot.

Yep I have to agree with Crash, you're an eejit and moaning about it here isn't going to win you any friends. You can't just be allowed to go around calling folks idiots, the site would descend into chaos. Boards is heavily moderated and it's all the better for it. If you don't like it then there are plenty of other places to go.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

*throws scarf behind his head, twirls cane, adjusts tophat and scoffs derisively*

You're not really doing your case any favours here, you know.

I'm getting the impression that your definition of intelligence is "agrees with my world view" which is not really the same as my definition of intelligence at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

What right do you have to insist that content from other users be deleted along with your own?

Had you asked that your content be deleted, I could maybe understand...but no...you want everyone elses contributions to the threads deleted as well.
    or, like elsewhere, is there one rule for the Plebs, and another for the Gentry:rolleyes:

Apparently you think you should be allowed have other users content deleted, because you don't like what was done to you. This would suggest that you think that you have an entitlement to control what happens to their material.

To take such a stance, and then complain about inequality of treatment is nothing short of hypocritical.

eo980 wrote: »
    Yep I have to agree with Crash, you're an eejit and moaning about it here isn't going to win you any friends. You can't just be allowed to go around calling folks idiots, the site would descend into chaos. Boards is heavily moderated and it's all the better for it. If you don't like it then there are plenty of other places to go.

I speak the Truth - if the Truth horts then so be it.

If I were to post idiotic statements, then I would expect to be called an idiot - this is a logical deduction.

Rules are only as food as the people who set the rules - censorship is not the way forward, and being afraid to speak what is on your mind is of no use to anyone.

Say what you really think and then take it on the chin, no matter what the outcome.

Bertie was an idiot to take all that money - but he was a bigger idiot to get caught :rolleyes:, well, that is what most Irish people think, as that is how they have been brought up for decades, although there is a sign that a change may be on the horizion.

Anyway, my demand stays as posted - I do not back down in the face of attach, I stand my ground and fight, no matter what the outcome, for,

One man's plight, is another man's glory!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

It certainly does, especially when you keep re-regging over and over again.

It appears that the intelligence level of a certain group of posters on this site is starting to spread rapidly; it just so happens that the name of this particular group starts with a Capital "I"

Intellegentia?

Indeed. We see people like you week after week....people who ignore the rules, and then complain when said rules are enforced to their disadvantage.

Anyway, my demand stays as posted - I do not back down in the face of attach, I stand my ground and fight, no matter what the outcome, for,

serious.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I like this guy. He's smart, his responses are considered and he is a valuable asset to boards.ie

...... (this is backwards day, right?)

Calina wrote: »
    You're not really doing your case any favours here, you know.

I'm getting the impression that your definition of intelligence is "agrees with my world view" which is not really the same as my definition of intelligence at all.

If you, or anyone else for that matter, take the time to print out my posts - from day one - and then evaluate them, you will easily see what has happened here.

If you need assistance in compiling the texts for logical deduction, then I can assist you here.

You can utilise a very good study method called SQ3R - let me know if you need the sheets, as I have them put aside in the study box and can release a few of them for you.

censorship is not the way forward, and being afraid to speak what is on your mind is of no use to anyone.

Then **** off, set up your own site, with no censorship, and start that trading board that you so desperately crave.

When you're an outstanding success, come back and gloat.
    Say what you really think and then take it on the chin, no matter what the outcome.
    You said what you really think, and are now bitching that you got a good uppercut to the chin in response.
    Your plight...glory for the mod who had enough sense to ban you...sounds about right.

I speak the Truth - if the Truth horts then so be it.

If I were to post idiotic statements, then I would expect to be called an idiot - this is a logical deduction.

Rules are only as food as the people who set the rules - censorship is not the way forward, and being afraid to speak what is on your mind is of no use to anyone.

Bertie was an idiot to take all that money - but he was a bigger idiot to get caught :rolleyes:, well, that is what most Irish people think, as that is how they have been brought up for decades, although there is a sign that a change may be on the horizion.

Attach? Attach to what? Is there a supply of velcro in Feedback that I did not know about?

Here's what I really think: you're deluded. I don't care how good at daytrading you are - I really don't - but I do think you lack the capability of interacting effectively with people as evidenced by this thread. And you seem to think that this - somehow - doesn't matter.

I'm going off to read the Charter for Feedback. I may need to refresh my memory of a few details.

Slow coach wrote: »
    It certainly does, especially when you keep re-regging over and over again.

I am now certain that you picked the nick yourself :D

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I like this guy. He's smart, his responses are considered and he is a valuable asset to boards.ie

...... (this is backwards day, right?)

Read my slogan :rolleyes:

bonkey wrote: »
    Then **** off, set up your own site, with no censorship, and start that trading board that you so desperately crave.

When you're an outstanding success, come back and gloat.

You said what you really think, and are now bitching that you got a good uppercut to the chin in response.

Your plight...glory for the mod who had enough sense to ban you...sounds about right.

A second one who has surely picked the nick himself - I am certain that we will see many more nicks that portray the intellect of the poster :rolleyes:

It is really amazing how a simple word can portray the REAL character of a person:D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I am now certain that you picked the nick yourself :D

As against being anointed in your case?