Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banning - A Childish Activity

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Article43 wrote: »
    This banning action is akin to the suffering and censorship forced on people for centuries gone by, by those who held the authority of "Power" - history will always repeat itself for as long as we allow it.

If a person makes an idiotic statement, then they are an idiot!

Here is the transcript of my trial - including the sentencing.
    I speak the Truth - if the Truth horts then so be it.

If I were to post idiotic statements, then I would expect to be called an idiot - this is a logical deduction.

Rules are only as food as the people who set the rules - censorship is not the way forward, and being afraid to speak what is on your mind is of no use to anyone.

Say what you really think and then take it on the chin, no matter what the outcome.

Anyway, my demand stays as posted - I do not back down in the face of attach, I stand my ground and fight, no matter what the outcome, for,

One man's plight, is another man's glory!
    I am but an individual, who after many years of hard work, many ups and downs, many rights and wrongs, has finally grasped what is required in order to become self sufficient and be in a position to help those that are less fortunate than most.

BUT - and there is always a but, there are very few that attain this level of experience at my relatively modest age ...
    OP, I honestly hope you are less pompous and egocentric in real life than you come across here.
    I speak the Truth - if the Truth horts then so be it.
    Yes, the truth as you see it.

[PontiusPilate] What is truth? [/Pontius Pilate]

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Calina - I can see from your expression of words that you are a level headed and considerate person.

I am but an individual, who after many years of hard work, many ups and downs, many rights and wrongs, has finally grasped what is required in order to become self sufficient and be in a position to help those that are less fortunate than most.

BUT - and there is always a but, there are very few that attain this level of experience at my relatively modest age, mostly due to the very bad education system that has been put in place throughout the modern world - which btw, has been in place now for many centuries, and if I stay around here a bit longer I will be only too happy to provide you with some factual historical documents to support my views.

Frankly from my highly specialised and jaundiced view, this sounds like another feedback come on line. I really would never have thought the place was such a pick up joint.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    That sounds like the intro line to a pyramid scheme speech. Honestly.

That too. I had visions of those google ads that exhort you to earn five thousand dollars in your free time.

Article 43, I have learned and understood many things in my time here on boards. One key one is that if you think the entire community misunderstands you, it's more than likely that you misunderstand them.

If there is one thing you should learn from this experience it is that many people in this community consider other posters who call people idiots to be lacking in the community spirit. If you indeed want to help less fortunate people than yourself, giving them a little respect would go along way. Your education may indeed be superior to the rest of us inadequates but since it has afforded you a grade A in condescension which is hampering your ability in respect of helping those less fortunate than yourself to understand that they are in fact, less fortunate...I feel it too is lacking in some way.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

What you think is of very little use to anyone
    ...just attacking someone because they speak what is on their mind.

...let an idiot create the rules and you will get idiotic activities

Do you not feel it appropriate, that on a board designed to encourage discussion, personal attacks on users are frowned-upon and rightly punished?
    I will be very surprised if anyone will actually support me here

I would be surprised too. Not because of your argument but the condescending, holier-than-thou method you used to put it across.

IMO, from reading through this thread, I feel the banning was just and you should take it on the chin... though we all know that won't happen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

What you think is of very little use to anyone
    By "anyone" you clearly mean "me", but ok...
    why do you guys not post something that people can learn from, instead of just attacking someone because they speak what is on their mind.
    I am now banned by the "Moderator" because I called some people idiots
    Major Derek Lols reporting for duty, sah!
    Rules - do you not think that we have had enough rules in this country that will last us into the year 2222
    Why, are they some kind of renewable energy source now?
    let an idiot create the rules and you will get idiotic activities.
    Nope, not getting it. You mean idiots don't exist until idiotic rules get made?
    I will be very surprised if anyone will actually support me here - as very few actually see what is really happening all around them, until it is nearly too late, and then they get about 2-4 years at best.

But let’s see what happens - we must never say NO - as failure is not an option, which is only for weaklings, and it is survival of the fittest, is it not!
    Oh please sir, please master, please lord guide us to salvation and sanctuary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Article43

Otacon wrote: »

Do you not feel it appropriate, that on a board designed to encourage discussion, personal attacks on users are frown-upon and rightly punished?

I would be surprised too. Not because of your argument but the condescending, holier-than-thou method you used to put it across.

IMO, from reading through this thread, I feel the banning was just and you should take it on the chin... though we all know that won't happen...

Well - at least you got one part of it right;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

@ Article43

There is absolutely no point crusading on this forum ... it will have no effect and you'll just waste time and make yourself look foolish.

Think about the way you've spent your time since your first post here. Was it time well spent? Do you think you have infulenced anyone or changed anyones mind? I would doubt it.

I'm sure you are a fairly decent and successful guy, who has achieved a lot and is proud of it. My advice is to be the bigger man here ... apologise for calling the other poster an "idiot" and let this thread die. Learn a lesson form the fact that you have wasted the last 2 hours of your life, and refrain from personal abuse on this site ... its only an Internet forum, and nothing should be taken that seriously.

Finally, take the ban and learn your lesson. Come back after the ban is up as a stronger and smarter member of the community.

Turn off the computer and go for a walk ... think about what I've said. Its a beautiful evening outside!!! Post back here in a few hours, and be brave and big enough to do the right thing.

G23

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

So they have actually conditiones ye all to think that you can not say what you freely think - just becasue they decide to host a public forum board- what is Ireland becoming, really :rolleyes:

This isn't Ireland. This is boards.ie

They're not infringing on my freedom of speech at all. I do believe I am currently banned from the Gigs and Events forum - you don't see me crying and moaning about it in a pompous fashion and referring to my banning as 'my trial'!!!!!

Nope. I accepted that what I had posted was against the very clear rules of the charter and I took my banning like a man.

You kind of remind me of Walter from the Big Lebowski - going off on one about the First Amendment because a lady asks him to stop swearing outloud in a coffee shop. Sometimes you've got to pick your battles son.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Article43, the term "idiot" was until recently a medical and scientific term used to indicate those who had particularly low IQ, usually lower than 25. Today we prefer the term "profound mental retardation". To apply this term and diagnosis one must perform a long and detailed examination of the patient. You did not do this, therefore you made a medical diagnosis over the internet and should be banned as this is against boards.ie rules. :D:D

In summation...meh! :D

Gandalf23 wrote: »
    @ Article43

There is absolutely no point crusading on this forum ... it will have no effect and you'll just waste time and make yourself look foolish.

Think about the way you've spent your time since your first post here. Was it time well spent? Do you think you have infulenced anyone or changed anyones mind? I would doubt it.

I'm sure you are a fairly decent and successful guy, who has achieved a lot and is proud of it. My advice is to be the bigger man here ... apologise for calling the other poster an "idiot" and let this thread die. Learn a lesson form the fact that you have wasted the last 2 hours of your life, and refrain from personal abuse on this site ... its only an Internet forum, and nothing should be taken that seriously.

Finally, take the ban and learn your lesson. Come back after the ban is up as a stronger and smarter member of the community.

Turn off the computer and go for a walk ... think about what I've said. Its a beautiful evening outside!!! Post back here in a few hours, and be brave and big enough to do the right thing.

G23

Well G23 - as nice as the offer sounds, and I will be off shortly, but on business, I do what I have to do, always, no matter what.

For the umpteen time - if someone posts an idiotic post then the logical conclusion is that they are an idiot - do you aree with this logic or not?

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    This isn't Ireland. This is boards.ie

They're not infringing on my freedom of speech at all. I do believe I am currently banned from the Gigs and Events forum - you don't see me crying and moaning about it in a pompous fashion and referring to my banning as 'my trial'!!!!!

Nope. I accepted that what I had posted was against the very clear rules of the charter and I took my banning like a man.

You kind of remind me of Walter from the Big Lebowski - going off on one about the First Amendment because a lady asks him to stop swearing outloud in a coffee shop. Sometimes you've got to pick your battles son.

You are free to think and do as you like - as I.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

I am now making a formal request to have any thread that I started in the Investments & Markets section deleted

What does this mean? What's the difference between a "formal" request and just a request?
    As I keep saying - History repeats itself over and over :D

I don't remember any instance of boards.ie being in existence prior to this one. Also, the concept of web forums in general existed for fewer than 10 years before the beginning of this one - hardly long enough to be talking about "history".
    Anyway, my demand stays as posted

You're very limited in the range of "demands" you're in a position to make on a privately-owned website.
    KTRIC wrote: »
    All of the posters on this thread that stooped to the OP's level with the childish name calling should be ashamed of themselves

Why? What's good for the goose is good for the gander.
    failure is not an option, which is only for weaklings, and it is survival of the fittest, is it not!

Odd thing to crow about on an internet forum.
    So they have actually conditiones ye all to think that you can not say what you freely think - just becasue they decide to host a public forum board

You can say whatever you want. You just can't post it on someone else's website without being subject to their moderation.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

... if someone posts an idiotic post then the logical conclusion is that they are an idiot ...
    Given some of your posts in this thread, I really would advise you against arguing this point of view, tbh.

For the umpteen time - if someone posts an idiotic post then the logical conclusion is that they are an idiot - do you aree with this logic or not?

That doesn't mean that you get to call them that because it's against the rules.

Do you agree with this logic or not?

You are free to think and do as you like - as I.

I am free to do as I like as you? :eek:

I get to be you!!! In some sort of weird 'Being John Malkovich' way I hope. Brilliant!

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Article43, the term "idiot" was until recently a medical and scientific term used to indicate those who had particularly low IQ, usually lower than 25. Today we prefer the term "profound mental retardation". To apply this term and diagnosis one must perform a long and detailed examination of the patient. You did not do this, therefore you made a medical diagnosis over the internet and should be banned as this is against boards.ie rules. :D:D

In summation...meh! :D

You, my good fellow, are getting very close to the top of that group :D

If I was you I would read my own posts ;)

If I was you, I'd spell check my posts!

I love the way you keep putting in smileys to make it seem that you are taking this all very lightly. I bet you're getting really wound up about it all though. Aren't you?

Bet the blood is boiling.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

As a registered user of this "Public Forum", I am now making a formal request to have any thread that I started in the Investments & Markets section deleted.
    Dude, this is a private forum.
    If I were to post idiotic statements, then I would expect to be called an idiot - this is a logical deduction.
    Actually, no, you'd expect your post to be picked apart, to be shown why they disagree with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

...if someone posts an idiotic post then the logical conclusion is that they are an idiot - do you aree with this logic or not?

Idiotic... in your opinion. Attack what the poster says, disagree, counter, do whatever you like... just don't attack the poster him/herself!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

He is too conceited to learn any lessons, or to apologise for any boorish behaviour, but I'm guessing you knew that.

Calina wrote: »
    Frankly from my highly specialised and jaundiced view, this sounds like another feedback come on line. I really would never have thought the place was such a pick up joint.

That too. I had visions of those google ads that exhort you to earn five thousand dollars in your free time.

Article 43, I have learned and understood many things in my time here on boards. One key one is that if you think the entire community misunderstands you, it's more than likely that you misunderstand them.

If there is one thing you should learn from this experience it is that many people in this community consider other posters who call people idiots to be lacking in the community spirit. If you indeed want to help less fortunate people than yourself, giving them a little respect would go along way. Your education may indeed be superior to the rest of us inadequates but since it has afforded you a grade A in condescension which is hampering your ability in respect of helping those less fortunate than yourself to understand that they are in fact, less fortunate...I feel it too is lacking in some way.

Calina - what a nice name that is, is there not a song that mentions that name ?

I have no interest in picking anyone up - female, or male for that matter:rolleyes:

One woman is enough for any man :D

Now - the facts remain the facts no matter how hard we try to convince ourselves otherwise.

In order to make an honest and fair judgement, all of the facts must be examined in detail.

Many here just jump in an join the ya ya ya:rolleyes:

They do not have the intellect, or cop on, to go and look at the facts and then make a decision - for, as a famous saying goes;

"Tell the truth and you will never have to worry about what you said"

How true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭portomar

im a regular over at investments and markets, and find it unfortunate that article43 has been banned. i got a week ban myself before, only explanation being "you posted below me when i had just said dont post off topic" or something to that effect, followed by a link that didnt work so couldnt even find where i posted it!

article43's posts have ranged from condecending to insulting however. he began by opening a thread on daytrading, which started promisingly, and then started shooting down people for not knowing as much on the subject as he claimed, it soon degenerated into bickering. this has gone on for months, and the only valid points raised were about money management, a huge area of daytrading but theres more to it.

there is no free speech, rule 1 of charter, this is a private site.

Nice way to avoid all the concrete arguments people have made there son.

What's that??? It sounds like the sound of an argument being lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Now - the facts remain the facts no matter how hard we try to convince ourselves otherwise.

In order to make an honest and fair judgement, all of the facts must be examined in detail.

The facts which you appear to skate over are as follows:

1) personal abuse is expressly banned in most fora here.
    2) you engaged in personal abuse.

Personally I'll all for the cats now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭portomar

They do not have the intellect, or cop on, to go and look at the facts and then make a decision - for, as a famous saying goes;

a typical example from the article43 style of posting

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

portomar wrote: »
    im a regular over at investments and markets, and find it unfortunate that article43 has been banned. i got a week ban myself before, only explanation being "you posted below me when i had just said dont post off topic" or something to that effect, followed by a link that didnt work so couldnt even find where i posted it!

The site database indicates you've never been banned from Investments & Markets.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Posh Cat approves!

sirpussofposhpants-inhat.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Irish_Nomad

I don't agree with this logic. There are very few people that have not made idiotic statements at some time or other; that does not mean they are all idiots. To draw a parallel it's like saying that if someone loses at a sport a single time they are a 'loser'. Using your logic Tiger Woods, Michael Jordan, Michael Schumacher, and every other top sportsperson are all losers. Would you argue that is true ?

And by the way the 'loser' example is more clear-cut than the 'idiot' example since winning/losing is clearly defined while 'idiotic' depends on the knowledge and perspective of the observer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Many here just jump in an join the ya ya ya:rolleyes:

"Tell the truth and you will never have to worry about what you said"

How true.

Well the facts ARE that simple.

Abuse is not tolerated in the forum you posted in.
    You abused the poster not having the intellectual wherewithall to deal with the post.

So the truth is: you were banned fairly.
    You are also lost somewhere in the ether of your own mind that you cannot see this.

So in fact all of the above applies to you yourself not to the others posting here.

The reasons were given early on, yet you have now gone off onto some weird subspace of your own devising, secure that yes you ARE a legend in your own mind.

All your continued posting is doing is reminding us how small and silly self important people really are.

So of course its providing hours of endless entertainment watching your posts get stranger and sillier as the night wears on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

Well G23 - as nice as the offer sounds, and I will be off shortly, but on business, I do what I have to do, always, no matter what.

I just believe its not appropriate to sink to personal abuse on boards.ie. Remember, this is the Internet ...
    Slow coach wrote: »
    He is too conceited to learn any lessons, or to apologise for any boorish behaviour, but I'm guessing you knew that.

Lets see if he is.

Article43, I ask you again to turn off your computer for a few hours. Get away from the heat of this thread, and think about the bigger picture here. You have now wasted 3 hours of your life fighting an argument you will not win.

Take the ban like a man, and refrain from personal abuse in future. I'm sure all here will welcome you back as a good member of the community this time next week.

@ everyone else ... please refrain from the lolcats for a while ... lets see what happens, give the guy time to cool down and think. If he does not see the light then by all means release the felines ...

I just believe its not appropriate to sink to personal abuse on boards.ie. Remember, this is the Internet ...

Lets see if he is.

Article43, I ask you again to turn off your computer for a few hours. Get away from the heat of this thread, and think about the bigger picture here. You have now wasted 3 hours of your life fighting an argument you will not win.

Take the ban like a man, and refrain from personal abuse in future. I'm sure all here will welcome you back as a good member of the community this time next week.

@ everyone else ... please refrain from the lolcats for a while ... lets see what happens, give the guy time to cool down and think. If he does not see the light then by all means release the felines ...

He's gone.