Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

cape cod J1-hyannis

• 06-04-2008 9:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

hey! heading over to cape cod, hopefully Hyannis area for J1 this summer. Just wondering has anyone out there been before? If so was it hard to get accommodation/jobs etc? Wev been looking on craigslist but not much luck yet. Any reccommndations of where would be good to work appreciated! Or other tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Hi
    Had the best Semmer of my life there in 2003 (God it was THAT long ago!). Got a place to live with 5 other lads, most people around just found somewhere in a house, not easiest but could be worse. Accom in general isn't great but sure its a J1!
    Work is also hard enough to find, through a contact we ended up working in the local cinema p/t, got a f/t job in a lumber yard (big hardwear store) - until we got fired that is, then got another job as busboys for the last few weeks. Other lads got work in Sears and as a pest control technician, he was small though and could fit into all the gaps in the walls to get to the bugs!!!!
    Place in general is brilliant, great atmosphere, depends on the group but the craic was mighty our Summer. Just make sure there's a good group of you going over, and get fake ID's if under 21!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 layladylay

thanks for that. were ye in hyannis? iv heard thats the best place to live for social life etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Yeah Hyannis, its a cool little spot. Certainely the best place on the Cape. If you have any waitressing experience the cash can be quite good, although its almost a profession over there. Try to arrive as early as you can to give yourself the best opp to get a job, and its a good idea to sort out accom before go too.
    And make sure you check out the Red Sox at least once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Mygsy

best summer ever last year although i was in west yarmouth but hung out in hyannis...wed nite puffer bellies class!! lotz of the lads in hyannis cycled to west yarmouth 4 jobs as they're harder to find in hyannis just try everywhere and anywhere!
    pleasant street seems to b da spot all da irish stay not the nicest but livable ther was some class parties there:)
    irish village 4 work in yarmouth?? lotz of da lads worked there, google it and email a job application to get ahead of the posse haha!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Empsey

My friends went to Hyannis they loved it!! They got brill jobs on a boat made a packet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 krazeekra

a they any liquor stores on cape cod that wont card you? I have a fake ID but im just curious. Are they any stores that are easy to buy stuff in with a fake?