Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newbie - need advice regarding bike

Options
  • 07-04-2008 10:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 32

Hi guys. I intend to take up cycling during the summer. I'm hoping to join a local cycling club. I'm thinking of buying a bike in the next few weeks so that I can cycle on my own for a while to build up my fitness. Anyway I'm totally clueless when it comes to what sort of bike I would need. I'm female, 26 years old and six feet tall. Could anyone recommend a bike that would be suitable, bearing in mind that I'm just beginning and don't have a huge amount of money to spend. Also what other gear would I need apart from the bike? (See, told ya - totally clueless!)
    Thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Freddy687

Best place to start is in your local bike shop.
    Get fitted properly so you know what size of bike will fit. Most of the big bike makers Giant, trek etc make road bikes for women. Shorter top tube and a few minor other changes. Although at six feet you will probably end up with a mans bike.
    Again giant, trek etc will have bikes that start at €700 and go up to the moon.
    Buy the best you can afford, you will be sorry if the cycling bug bites and you scrimped on the bike.
    Buy the best helmet you can afford, after that clothing is each to their own.
    Always hard to tell someone what gearing to go for as it depends on the roads and type of cycling they want to do. A good all round setup would 50/34 (compact) on the front with a 12 -25 cassette on the back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol