Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to judge the size of land needed for a home build.

Options
  • 10-04-2008 2:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

Guys, I'm really new to all of this, but am learning, and hopefully will be looking to invest in a few years. I have some rough plans though.

One of my main plans is to buy a small amount of land, just exactly on the edge of the city (in a small strip of rural houses, about 200/500 metres past the last city housing estate in a good area) and build two cedar homes on it.

It's from an Irish company that imports Canadian homes modified for Irish weather, (and FYI I have absolutely no connection with them ) but I like the big impressive north American style homes, and think it might be a great selling point for some buyers.

Having absolutely no money, I thought I would try to mortgage just enough for the land and the two homes, hopefully to sell both. I wanted to get a rough idea of how much land would be needed, so that the two houses and a bit of garden would fit adequately. I mean, I don't want to ruin their value by shoving them too close together, either.

Here's a URL to one of the houses I considered: Sierra Model - 1911 sq ft.. I'm told it costs about 100-120k for each of the houses themselves, including construction, and 20k to furnish each one, but I can't calculate what the land will cost, because I don't know how to judge how much land each house needs.

So, How much of an acre would I need to build each house?

Many thanks!!

Emmet

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭hedgeh0g

What a beautiful house - best of luck with it.