Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I lock in a decent profit?

• 13-04-2008 1:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭

I backed 10 for the masters at €4 each to win all on betfair

Luke Donald 60 €4.00 €236.00

Sergio Garcia 70 €4.00 €276.00

Fred Couples 110 €4.00 €436.00

Mike Weir 140 €0.98 €136.22 140 €3.02 €419.78

Paul Casey 100 €2.75 €272.25 110 €1.25 €136.25

Justin Leonard 210 €4.00 €836.00

Scott Verplank 300 €4.00 €1,196.00

Bernhard Langer 520 €4.00 €2,076.00

Steve Flesch 910 €4.00 €3,636.00

Mark OMeara 1000 €4.00 €3,996.00

So now, Casey and Flesch are well up there, Casey now 8/1 and Flesch 10/1.

Any way I can lock in a decent profit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Define what you consider to be decent? You can lay Flesch at 11/1 and Casey at 8.2/1. You're in a nice situation and if i was you I'd let the bets ride as the profit you could lock in isn't really worth the bother. For example, you could lay Flesch at the 12.0 (11/1) there for €150 which would produce a liability of €1650. As Flesch would already be a winner for €3600 for you (let's ignore commision), you would then be in a position where Flesch winning would pocket you €1950 (3600 minus 1650) and Flesch not winning would pocket you €146 (the 150 lay minus your initial 4). As you see, unless you really need the €146, it's really worth your while. It would be a similar situation for Casey. My advice would be to buy 6 beers, tell the wife to shut up* for 5 hours and sit back and enjoy the golf!!

* this is probably not advisable in reality

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭twerg_85

You could lock in about 300 EUR on Flesch and about 44 EUR on Casey, so just shy of 350 in total (ignoring commission).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

pwhite587 wrote: »
    As you see, unless you really need the €146, it's really worth your while. It would be a similar situation for Casey. My advice would be to buy 6 beers, tell the wife to shut up* for 5 hours and sit back and enjoy the golf!!

* this is probably not advisable in reality

Has been done ..... let it ride !!!!! (the money that is;))

Ideal situation would be Immelman drop a couple of shots, Tiger keep quiet for first 5 holes, and if Flesch drops to 3/1 or so, I've got to consider pocketing a grand or so.

Hedged my bet on flesch .... €1300 if he wins it, €300 if he doesn't. Only 9 holes left.

Culchie wrote: »
    Hedged my bet on flesch .... €1300 if he wins it, €300 if he doesn't. Only 9 holes left.

T'was a good move that:pac: