Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

St Pats vs Linfield

• 16-04-2008 1:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭

1st time playing the best team in ireland :o so i shat myself wondering what would happen to pats.

What did happen was us completely destroying them 2-0 (mad that) having 14 openers and really could have been 5 at at half time and 10 at full time. Linfield played their part at any stage i reckon they could have scored and won the game cos they just like that.

But we kept on and got the second whereas it should have been the 10th.

Aside from the destruction was the biggest police operation i ever seen in richmond/inchicore we could not get home till linfield fans were on the buses home. The big thing was us somehow annoying them or the usual celtic fans showing to start a fight, what happened was all 3. Celtic fans showing up and singing our national song, linfield singing songs about yer wan and our fans getting caught up in it.

Dont mind singing as it hurts noone, but found it odd celtic fasn with nordie accents trying to start fights with them and then us as they couldnt near them.

Anyway 2-0 GTFI should have been 10.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Just as expected.

i was hoping you would get a 2nd. It was much the same as the semi last season between Cork and Linfield. All the possession but did not put their superiority on the scoreboard.

The only way they were going to score was from a goal-mouth scramble or set piece.

Pats are in a different league!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Heard O'Neil scored a peach.

Any video?

/edit

Waiting for the "they weren't "Celtic" fans brigade to arrive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

5 arrests all linfield fans, Indo doing a cracking job of ensuring noone goes to a pats match again :(

2 pages with pics of a bloodied linfield fan and teeny match report on the most convincing defeat of the best team in ireland.

The Sundependant!

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

Yea i was vey disappointed with the coverage in the Indo this morning. went looking for the match report and it was 200 words stuck down on the bottom of the page, meanwhile a few bloody pics make it to front and back page.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

KdjaCL wrote: »
    5 arrests all linfield fans, Indo doing a cracking job of ensuring noone goes to a pats match again :(

2 pages with pics of a bloodied linfield fan and teeny match report on the most convincing defeat of the best team in ireland.

The Sundependant

Indo goes OTT on Irish hooliganism shocker. :eek: Don't recall much sympathy from you when it was other clubs the Indo was going to town on....

All the coverage I have seen lays the blame squarely at Linfields feet, so I don't know why you are getting all angsty. They kicked it off, cops dealt with it with ease, 4 billyboys in court this morning. Pats don't feature.

The Indo has done the same towords overhyping the tiny hooligan culture as a Pats fans putting hooliepórn on youtube!

Indo goes OTT on Irish hooliganism shocker. :eek: Don't recall much sympathy from you when it was other clubs the Indo was going to town on....

All the coverage I have seen lays the blame squarely at Linfields feet, so I don't know why you are getting all angsty. They kicked it off, cops dealt with it with ease, 4 billyboys in court this morning. Pats don't feature.

The Indo has done the same towords overhyping the tiny hooligan culture as a Pats fans putting hooliepórn on youtube!

Try read and understand the post before posting, it helps.
    teeny match report on the most convincing defeat of the best team in ireland.

Mainly that part.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I've seen all the coverage in todays papers about the trouble. Even Today FM said the match was marred by violence.......eh, no it wasn't!
    All i seen was about 7 or 8 Linfield fans trying to break through the temporary fencing and were quickly pushed back by stewarts and police. That lasted about 40 to 60 seconds and that was it. Not many people even paid it attention. No way should that incident get more attention than the match itself
    I think there were reporters and photographers there ready for riots and were probably disappointment with the lack of action off the pitch. In fairness, lessons were learned from the Glentoran match. Both sets of fans entered the ground at different ends of the stadium. There was a strong garda presence inside and out. At the end of the match, it was the Pats fans who were made stay behind while they got the Linfield fans out and onto the coaches. It all went off fairly well i thought. The coverage today in the media is ridiculous!!
    The match itself was superb. Definately the best performance i've seen from Pats all season. Ryan in goal was a bit dodgy, but apart from that, everyone did their bit. The only criticism i would have is that we should have won by more and i mean literally another four goals.
    Keith Fahey was superb in midfield, but whoever gave him Man of the Match (probably someone from Setanta) was wrong in my opinion because i think it should have went to Stephen Paisley who was immense in defense.
    Gary O' Neill's goal was a cracker! It was one of those situations where Pats had dominated so much, i really expected Linfield to equalise. Thank God for O' Neill's goal. He picked the ball up on the edge of the box, cut inside and whacked one into the top corner. The keeper was rooted to the spot! Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

5 arrests all linfield fans, Indo doing a cracking job of ensuring noone goes to a pats match again
    I have to say, I actually stayed away from the game and watched it on the box for fear that something might kick off. My initial reaction when I saw the Indo this morning was that it was a good decision, which was obviously the idea. The crowd was small enough last night without that kind of media coverage.

djpbarry wrote: »
    I have to say, I actually stayed away from the game and watched it on the box for fear that something might kick off. My initial reaction when I saw the Indo this morning was that it was a good decision, which was obviously the idea. The crowd was small enough last night without that kind of media coverage.

I know a lot who did the same cant argue with it really its a high security game and the gardai did very well handling it.

The Times has a good review of the game :eek:

kdjac

Try read and understand the post before posting, it helps.

Mainly that part.

The match report was the same size as every setanta cup report in the Indo.

What you are complaining about is the inordinate level of coverage the Indo stable give to any incident (real or imaginary) in the LoI while ignoring routine violence at, for example, Gah games. That I agree with.

My point is that I have never heard Pats fans complain when it was Rover or Bohs on the receiving end of the exaggerations and hyperbole and that you have personally contributed to the hype with your youtube offerings. You have a point, but your credibility is not the best on this.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

The big thing was us somehow annoying them or the usual celtic fans showing to start a fight, what happened was all 3. Celtic fans showing up and singing our national song, linfield singing songs about yer wan and our fans getting caught up in it.

Dont mind singing as it hurts noone, but found it odd celtic fasn with nordie accents trying to start fights with them and then us as they couldnt near them.

Damn Celtic fans. Always their fault. There'd have been no tsunami had it not been for the bloody Hoops. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

PauloMN wrote: »
    Damn Celtic fans. Always their fault. There'd have been no tsunami had it not been for the bloody Hoops. :rolleyes:

Nah, there would have been.....it just wouldnt have been as bad! :D

In all seriousness though, these guys arent "Celtic" fans, in the same way the troublemakers on the Linfield side arent "Rangers" fans.

They are simply arseholes looking for trouble, im pretty sure you wont find many of them at Parkhead or ibrox on a saturday, and its all too easy to blame them as being someone theyre not.

That said, im sure theyre not Pats or Linfield fans either, the Linfield manager was speaking last night about how there were people he had never seen at Windsor park before, let alone away games causing the trouble.

TBH, i doubt he knows EVERYONE that goes to their games....but you get the drift.

St Pats wrote:
    ST PATS THANKS FANS FOR PATIENCE & CO-OPERATION AT SETANTA CUP
    Last night St Patrick’s Athletic hosted over 800 travelling Linfield fans to Richmond Park. This travelling fan base, one of the largest to visit Richmond Park in recent years behaved impeccably over the night and gave their team great support.

One incident where two Linfield fans were ejected from the ground following a scuffle with gardai was captured by the press and the resulting images shown in the national media may have given the impression of more widespread trouble occurring at the match which was simply not the case. The match night arrangements ensured that fans were successfully segregated at the game itself and also when leaving the stadium.

While St Pat’s fans were maintained in the ground Linfield fans were escorted directly to their buses. A small group of Dublin youths did appear in the area as the match finished, these were not supporters of the club and had not attended the game. With the home support being kept in the ground and the street outside the ground clear this group was easily identifiable to the gardai and were ordered to move on. One of this group was subsequently arrested for criminal damage to a wing mirror of a car. No further arrests or instances of match-related trouble are understood to have been reported to the gardai in the area.

St Patrick’s Atletic Football Club would like to thank both sets of fans for their patience and co-operation as well as our match night security teams and local gardai for their excellent work on the night.

Club statement.

ONYD check out the Times match review.

kdjac

Any chance someone can post the Times match review here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

From the BBC website. Seems to me that Linfield are taking the blame as entirely there fault.
    Trouble flares at Linfield match

Scuffles broke out at the Setanta Cup match
    Six people have been arrested at Linfield's match in Dublin against St Pat's Athletic following a number of crowd trouble incidents.

Gardai said the arrests were connected to isolated incidents at the Setanta Cup match, which Linfield lost 2-0.

Four of those arrested come from Northern Ireland while two are from the Republic. Gardai said minor scuffles broke out at the ground in Inchicore.

Dog units, mounted officers and gardai brought the trouble under control.

Linfield chairman Jim Kerr said he "utterly condemned" the behaviour and added that "the name of Linfield Football Club had been dragged through the gutter".

"Some fans with far too much to drink had tickets that were not sold to them and I don't know where they got those tickets and whether they were forged or genuine.

"Alcohol was the problem and there were people here who were spoiling for a fight.

"Some people whom I have never seen at Windsor Park were being aggressive towards fellow supporters, safety officers and the Garda.

"Should we continue in the Setanta Cup next season, we will have to look at transporting our supporters from Windsor Park and make sure they get to the ground without incident. There will be no unorganised travel.

"Everything will be organised by the club but we will have to look seriously at whether we will continue in the Setanta Cup because I don't want the name of Linfield being dragged through the gutter as it has been tonight."

The Setanta Cup is an All-Ireland football tournament, which is contested by four clubs from both sides of the border.

It is in its fourth year and Linfield have played in the competition on each occasion, winning the event in its inaugural year and losing in the final last year.

On the matter of the game, fantastic result for Pats...well done!

Club statement.

ONYD check out the Times match review.

Good statement from Pats, lets hope some in the media pick up on it.

Haven't seen the Times yet, won't for a while. Whats worth catching in it?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Eirebear wrote: »
    From the BBC website. Seems to me that Linfield are taking the blame as entirely there fault.

Ah FFS. Can we not just apportion some blame to Celtic fans? It's outrageous that there could be football related trouble not caused by Celtic fans. This is boards.ie after all. ;)
    Eirebear wrote: »
    On the matter of the game, fantastic result for Pats...well done!

Great result indeed, and was a great game to watch also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Front page of the Herald has that horrible rag practically **** themselves into a tabloid frenzy over these so called 'hooligans'. If they only gave half the ammount of coverage they give to minor scuffles like these to the on-pitch action, then the league would be in better shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Once against the Indo shines, the only time anything is in that paper is something to do with their Bebo intelligent surrounding Bohs and Rovers.:rolleyes:

As for the Herald, again never ceases to pick out the bad stuff from the League.

It's annoying because it was such a good game with great goals to boot.
    I went down to the shop to have a read of it in the herald (ain't buying that sh!te), and the front page report was how there was riot squads with dogs on the street outside etc etc. Yeah, they were there for the Glentoran match as well, but there was no report on that!!
    It's just sensationalist crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭soccerc

One small incident blown out of all proportion.

I've uploaded some pics (51) from last nights game.

St Pats V Linfield Photos

I've uploaded some pics (51) from last nights game.

St Pats V Linfield Photos
    Some cool shots in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

I have never heard Pats fans complain when it was Rover or Bohs on the receiving end of the exaggerations and hyperbole and that you have personally contributed to the hype with your youtube offerings. You have a point, but your credibility is not the best on this.

Exaggeration and hype? :eek:

You did enough of that yourself a little while back when you wanted to discuss anything but the football, so you might have some issues in the credibility department yourself.

Daniel McDonnell has done a slightly more objective piece in today's Indo. Not sure I agree with the title, but he certainly sets the record straight regarding the Pats-Linfield game:
    THERE'S a theory in domestic football circles that the game here will only ever grab the front pages when it's a bad news story and espousers of that doctrine will feel justified in that assertion this week.

Those who attended Tuesday night's Setanta Sports Cup game between St Patrick's Athletic and Linfield have been surprised and angered by the publicity and photographs that have emerged in the aftermath. Inside Richmond Park, fans enjoying the game were largely oblivious to any skirmishes.

I've just read that article. It's a good read

SectionF wrote: »
    Exaggeration and hype? :eek:

You did enough of that yourself a little while back when you wanted to discuss anything but the football, so you might have some issues in the credibility department yourself.

But I am a hypocrite. :D

Still no response to what bits were myth I note....

monkey9 wrote: »
    I've just read that article. It's a good read

Not sure.

He knows he made a serious error of judgement with yesterdays artice and that was an attempt to justify it.

The first two paragraphs are completly self serving. "I know I was factually wrong but the people need to know that loads of cops were on duty". Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

djpbarry wrote: »
    Daniel McDonnell has done a slightly more objective piece in today's Indo. Not sure I agree with the title, but he certainly sets the record straight regarding the Pats-Linfield game:

Must say fairly play to himself and Con Murphy for both defending the league over the last 2 days. Credit were it's due.