Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Checksum for PPs No in Javascript

Options
  • 16-04-2008 12:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭

I am looking for a recommended source to help with writing javascript for a checksum of a PPS NO. I am an evening student & my only resourse are class notes, which are limited to say the least. I have to lodge this assignment shortly. I have tried the library & the recommended books have been swallowed up by the day students!!.
    Any help would be appreciated.

elgan:(

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Google is your friend!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_Public_Service_Number
    Check Character

The format of the PPS number is seven digits plus a check character. A second character may be used. If so it is always a 'W'.

The check character is calculated using a weighted addition of all the numbers and modulus calculation. It therefore checks for incorrectly entered digits and for digit transposition (digits in the wrong order will alter the sum due to weightings).

Calculation

In reverse order, each digit is multiplied by a weight, 2, 3, and so on until the first digit is multiplied by 8. Add up each result. Divide by 23 and the remainder (modulus 23) will indicate the character position on the alphabet.

Thus the PPS number 1234567 will be calculated as the sum of 7*2, 6*3, 5*4, 4*5, 3*6, 2*7 and 1*8. This 112 when divided by 23 leaves a remainder of 20. The twentieth letter of the English alphabet is 'T'. The correct PPS number is therefore 1234567T.

Go code :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭h57xiucj2z946q