Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stilo spontaneous combustion?

• 16-04-2008 10:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭

Anyone see the Stilo that had spontaneously combusted half way up Captain's Hill in Leixlip today at about 12:30? The fire brigade were there when I was passing... Looked like the fire had started in the engine bay as the front half of the car was toast and the back half was ok-ish.

Is this a known problems with Stilos? Jeez, I knew Fiat were bad, but...

[OTOH, the owner might have fitted a set of cheap and tacky Chinese HIDs...]

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

In fairness it could be any number of things from FIAT related issues to dodgy alarm/car kit/mod installation etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Stekelly wrote: »
    In fairness it could be any number of things from FIAT related issues to dodgy alarm/car kit/mod installation etc.
    Ok, fair enough. But I've seen one Fiat and one Renault burn themselves out, but never a Toyota, Mazda or Honda. Or a German make. Suspicious....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

F ix
    I t
    A gain
    T omorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

F ix
    I t
    A gain
    T omorrow

Now it's

F ire Brigade
    I ncoming
    A bandon
    T he car!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,456 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Feck it's all torched!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

F ound
    I n
    A
    T ip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

F uck
    I t's
    A
    T inderbox

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

I had an Astra it happened to and a mate of mine had a Fiesta with the same problem so it's not confined to the Fiats although catching fire is probably the best thing a Stilo could do :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Lmao probaby not a Bad Thing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

JHMEG wrote: »
    Ok, fair enough. But I've seen one Fiat and one Renault burn themselves out, but never a Toyota, Mazda or Honda. Or a German make. Suspicious....

Had a 05 Merc E Class go up in flames near me in a car park a few months ago! Started in the engine bay and burnt through the bonnet

• Registered Users Posts: 7,151 ✭✭✭10-10-20

I put out a Punto engine-bay fire on the little bridge over the M50 at Sandyford one day.
    I was in a little Alfa and I had the fire out before the owner could even say a word.

I laughed at him and said "Italian cars, eh...?"

Funny thing was, he didn't seem all that impressed with my efforts...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I've seen a Golf, a Mondeo and a Mazda 323 go the same way over the years. I've a Stilo myself and haven't had a problem with it yet...apart from the way the dealer tries to scalp me everytime I go for a service :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Worst I've seen was a Testarossa in Luxembourg many years ago (How I laughed... :pac:)

But I've seen plenty enough over the years all over the place (Europe, US, Middle East) to know that it's got nothing to do with the brand as it's usually component failure, and these days most European (and US, and JP, and...) manufacturers use squillions of sub-contractors all over the place for every little bit that makes a car, so... it's all to do with bad fortune (AFA owner concerned) and mech faults (AFA investigators are concerned) :cool:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

10-10-20 wrote: »
    He was hoping on the insurance payout and you reduced the claim to a repair job! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,665 ✭✭✭maidhc

I know of a 520d that went up.

Fiats have something of a history of going up in flames though, in particular the Mirafiori.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,848 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Going on fire was about the only thing that *didn't* happen to the auld lads 02 Stilo in the time he had it, although the fuel line detaching meant it was probably only a little while away...

Late 04 on their fine cars. Wouldn't touch an 02-mid 04. They re-engineered the car heavily at that time to the point where it was re-NCAPed (with a higher grade).

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Last year the Peugot 307 underwent a recall to fix a 'fire-risk'. Link.

The recall only happened in the UK after BBC's Watchdog program received a huge number of complaints from 307 owners, saying their cars had combusted. I remember how most owners said that at first the dealers denied any knowledge of the problem and some dealers eventually admitted there was a problem and told the owners it was their fault 'for not keeping it in a garage' because humidity was an issue :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭jayok

I regularly see Hondas and Toyota go up in flames - particularly the Jap Import ones. Once the joyriders are done they just torch them. :D

jayok wrote: »
    I regularly see Hondas and Toyota go up in flames - particularly the Jap Import ones. Once the joyriders are done they just torch them. :D
    You need to move house!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Aren't Volvos notorious for self combusting too? Goes very well with a company that is a world leader in safety:rolleyes:.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Built in obsolescence gone mad :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭kmb

Well i know of a mini 06 which caught fire.And a cousins escort also went up!!

And i love my 2003 stilo and would change it only for the new bravo.

As for reliabilty never had a problem with my fiats down through the years except the odd battery.

Started with the 850(who remembers that?)then 128,escort,uno,brava and now stilo.
    What people dont know is that the stilo has tons of safety features and a high encap rating and also has sliding back seats handy for the holidays!!
    And the sky roof is something people are amazed at.
    I could change tommorow if i wanted too but see no point.
    Why buy a bmw,audi or merc and watch the depreciation and service costs.

So all ye doubters do some research!!!

I noticed today that the road is all burned.. wonder will the council fix that?

Based on the burn damage on the bridge over the M4 in Maynooth from a hay truck going on fire - no. Not in the short term anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Me too, cant avoid driving over it either!
    MYOB wrote: »
    Based on the burn damage on the bridge over the M4 in Maynooth from a hay truck going on fire - no. Not in the short term anyways.

3 weeks on and still no sign of a cleanup. Sure the partially burned hay is just over the fence too!

ciarsd wrote: »
    3 weeks on and still no sign of a cleanup. Sure the partially burned hay is just over the fence too!

Theres more down oppposite Lidl - they moved the truck there to damp it down after they got the fire out.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

10-10-20 wrote: »
    I put out a Punto engine-bay fire on the little bridge over the M50 at Sandyford one day.
    I was in a little Alfa and I had the fire out before the owner could even say a word.

I laughed at him and said "Italian cars, eh...?"

Probably cos he was after throwin a fivers worth of petrol over it.:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Bloody Do-Gooders! :D Same happened when my Astra blew some bus driver appeared out of nowhere with a fire extinguisher - instead of a handy claim I had to pay 2 grand to get a new engine put in!