Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Sayings!! Please Add your favourites...

• Registered Users Posts: 494 ✭✭dcukhunter

Howz she cuttin

Ya cudnt hit a cows arse with a shovel

Fcuk ya, ya fcuking fcuk fcuk. ( To a taxi driver that wouldn't bring us home after a night out)

and one of my favs

Tis a brave man that will piss inta the wind. (or stupid depends where ur standing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Go On

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭newmills

Go On

Fierce

Deadly

She'd ride like a new bike

(Cr*p) Must go and tip the cart

He's that tight he wouldn't give a door a bang

He's as tight as two coats of paint

Ask me hole

You've a head on you like the back of my bag

It's a great country

It'll be a great country when they get the roof on her

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Hoagy

Usually referring to apprentices -

'The best part of that fella ran down his mother's leg'

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

As tight as a ducks arse.

As tight as a frogs hole. (and a frogs hole is water tight)

I'll see you bye and bye.

Goodmorrow.

I think I'll hit the hay.

A relation of mine would say either of the following if you told him some news : you could be half right or you could be three quarters right or you could be two thirds right. (theres no way you could be fully right)

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭manster

She'd suck the chrome off a ball hitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

stick it up yer brenda/swiss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭fillmore jive

as sick as a small hospital?

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

"That's some day out there" - It's snowing

"That's some day out there" - It's pouring rain

"That's some day out there" - The sun is splitting the stones

Obviously context is all-important.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

Meanness/Dislike

"He wouldn't piss on ya if ya were burnin'"

Hunger

"I'd eat a farmers arse through a hole in a hedge"
    "I'd eat the crotch off a low flying duck"
    "I'd eat the hind leg off the lamb of God runnin' backways away from me"

Never Satisfied

"If all that grass was gold she'd want silver"

Hangover

"There's a little man in my head doing the dance of the seven snotty orphans"

Guy calls in sick to work...

"How sick are ye?" "I'm in bed with me sister!"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

Sam Kade wrote: »
    As tight as a ducks arse.
    As tight as a frogs hole. (and a frogs hole is water tight)

I would have presumed that a ducks arse is also watertight. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2 smashling

I'm so hungry I'd eat the crotch of a low flying emu

I'm so hungry I'd eat the scabs off a tinkers fanny through the spokes of a bicycle wheel.

I'm so hungry I'd eat a scabby baby between two p*ss stained mattresses

I'm so tired I'd sleep on the back of a galloping hedgehog

I'd crawl backwards through nettles to w*nk in her shadow

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

smashling wrote: »
    I'd crawl backwards through nettles to w*nk in her shadow

ROFL! Love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 TradLad

Hoagy wrote: »
    Usually referring to apprentices -

'The best part of that fella ran down his mother's leg'

Class!!!! Heard it years ago!! Favourite so far!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

for have sex:
    Give her the beef injection

or

throw a mix into her

and for a one night stand:
    dump the load but dont sign the docket

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

"He could milk a goat standing up"

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭Frelance

on hoping to find a good time girl.

hopefully there's some heffers with their tales up.

your arse in a bambox.. (not to sure about what that means tbh)

jesus, i wouldn't piss on her if she was on fire

Look at the chest potatoes on that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭danh789

great job for a country job

lovely hurlin'

on a loose woman:
    it would be like throwing a sausage down o'connell street

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

in and out like a fiddlers elbow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

On an ugly/strange-looking person

S/he's a rare lookin c*nt.

Ya Blaack baaastard! - colloquial term referring to protestants
    Black as yer boot - same as above

He's an ohjus whuar - not a very nice person
    He's some c*nt - A bad person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I'm sure it's been mentioned before (sorry if this is a duplicate)....

For a lazy person:

"What did your last maid die of......"

Or for the one where you don't really give a darn what the person is saying...

"well, big shwing on the spit...."

Granny used to use them. Unsure if they're just local to Tipp or she made 'em up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭Lizard Queen

Somebody whos ugly
    she wouldn't get her hole of a polo
    cudnt score on a football pitch

A girl whos a slut
    her name is flora cause she spreads like butter

A mad person
    Bleedin tulip
    she lakes

Classics
    Sweet mary magdelen and the 7 shaven headed lepers
    Christ on a bike

• Registered Users Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭rgiller

A skinny girl:

There's more meat in a rat's ****e

After a night out on Guiness you get a daggin' the next day.

(For those who don't know, a dagging is a procedure preformed on sheep where the ring of matted wool around their bumhole is shaved.)

• Registered Users Posts: 766 ✭✭✭mkdon05

when someone is trying to make a point in an argument and says " IF that happens etc...

You say " IF me aunt had balls she'd be me uncle"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 martinm167

'GobSh!te'
    classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭hippychippy

'Divil a bit'

'A face on her like a slapped arse'

'I will in me hole'

'Stall the digger'

'Is it yourself that's in it?'

'Were ya ever up a downpipe?'

'Were ya ever in a barrell with a goat?'

'Up ya boya'

'Up she flew and the cock flattened her'

'Right she said and she never wrote'

'Will ya have a cup of tae?(scald)'

'Get outa that garden'

'I've seen more meat on good friday'

'Sickens me tits'

'Bite me bollix'

'I wouldn't get up on her to get over a wall'

'He'd get up on a cracked plate'

'That lad is two ends of a prick'

'She aint no oil painting'

'Will ya go way an ****e'

'For the love of ****'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Stephen90

G'way

Will you g'way ya big feckin girls blouse

Whisht

Lovely hurlin

Ye bleedin amadán

Ya feckin ludramálin

Awh me ****in stones

I will in me sack/hole

That fella's so mean he wouldnt pay attention

I wouldnt ride yer one if she had pedals and a frame

Jaysis lads I wouldnt be long about givin' yer one the aul one two Uniflu wha?

When your told a piece of information:
    'I see - said the blind man. Who couldnt se a'tall.'

A favourite of mine which was recently pointed out to me by a mate is the absolute abuse of the word Again by muck savages down here in Wexford. It takes on a whole new meaning:

'Jaysis now again ya get down there, pop in n out, and again yer back up here sher jaysis it'd be near half six'

Love it,
    crackin thread. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 martinm167

for being drunk:
    arseholed
    balubas (from the tribe in the congo who killed irish soldiers in the 60's!):confused:
    banjaxed
    Bollixed
    buckled
    fluethered
    mangled
    langers
    lushed
    Paralytic
    pished
    Plastered
    Scuttered
    steamboats
    twisted
    stocius

the list goes on.................

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Sam Kade wrote: »
    It would freeze the balls off a brass monkey.

I heard a story about the origins of this, probably not true, but sure here it is anyway:

Back in the times of pirates and sailing the 7 seas etc., a brass monkey was a metal plate with indentations in it to hold canon balls. They would be stacked in a pyramid fashion. And when it was really cold, as in near the antarctic or something, the "brass monkey" would shrink (as we all know metal shrinks when cooled) and the canon balls would pop out of the indentations and fall off, hence the term "Freeze the balls of a brass monkey". :D

Anyway, back to funny sayings, this one probably aint Irish but sur what the hell:
    Referring to two intellectually challenged people:
    "If they had a braincell between them they're heads would be lob-sided"