Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thunderdome: purely tongue-in-cheek?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

6th wrote: »
    Ok well times change and it needs to be looked at. For one you can create threads there now - I know I can!

What goes on in there stays in there
    And yet Degsy's dual account followed rb to AH and got banned. Well the dual account got banned an no punishment for Degsy. What about DeVore's line "Your account will simply be completely suspended", Degsy broke one of the few rules of the dome and has done before - he goes unpunished and yet calls for punishment for others? Crazy

How do you know i had a dual account?I've never had a dual account.And if i did i wouldnt be the first to have one.I can think of six people of the top of my head including a couple of moderators using two or more accounts.You're nothing but a troll and a squealer,if it wasnt for the sigpo thread you'd have nothing to do with your time.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Dudess wrote: »

Everyone knows she's pregnant, "love"? My god, you come across as heartless.

yes but alot of the feedback was coming from her having already lost a baby which very few posters would of known about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

irishbird wrote: »
    yeah, you might think that i come across as a bitch

Nah, I don't think many could disagree with anything you've said tbh. Specifically not regular TT users anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Exactly. Nobody has the right to hurt other people. And I hate the way that's seen as somehow all right here. I don't give a fukk if it's in the Thunderdome. I've seen since my last post that the Thunderdome is also for those who have a feud - fine. Once it's on a level playing field. And you can have a massive argument - fight even - without resorting to hurting people.

Well.... its a case of personal morality to be a bit ghey about it, but i don't think he should be banned. What he did was distasteful and the worst thing imo written in TD. Still i don't think he should be banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Exactly. Nobody has the right to hurt other people. And I hate the way that's seen as somehow all right here. I don't give a fukk if it's in the Thunderdome. I've seen since my last post that the Thunderdome is also for those who have a feud - fine. Once it's on a level playing field. And you can have a massive argument - fight even - without resorting to hurting people.
    so how does one know their insult doesnt hurt people?
    listen,if people have such a problem with the dome, start ideas on a new charter or make it private.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

This is annoying me. I wish peole would quit jumping on the moral band wagon. If two people are fighting in the thunderdome, then let them, it's a no holds barred cage match. If somebody says something that inadvertantly cuts close to the bone then so f***ing what. You go in there, you deal with the consequences.
    If on the other hand somebody uses prior knowledge to deliberately offend somebody then they should go. That's below the belt imo.
    /my two cents

• Registered Users Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Degsy wrote: »
    You're nothing but a troll and a squealer,if it wasnt for the sigpo thread you'd have nothing to do with your time.

Ok, go find a grown up who can count and get them to help you see how many sigs I've reported in the last year. As for me being a troll ... funnily that one of the few things I dont get called on here.

Don1 wrote: »
    This is annoying me. I wish peole would quit jumping on the moral band wagon. If two people are fighting in the thunderdome, then let them, it's a no holds barred cage match. If somebody says something that inadvertantly cuts close to the bone then so f***ing what. You go in there, you deal with the consequences.
    If on the other hand somebody uses prior knowledge to deliberately offend somebody then they should go. That's below the belt imo.
    /my two cents

My prroblem in particular was that he wasnt playing the thunderdome game ie everybody tops everybody else no hard feelings.He came in and started reporting posts(in TT ffs),calling for people to be sitebanned and putting people on ignore.The only reason he was there at all was to stalk rasberry untill he could gether banned.If you want to through insults around,keep your cowardly finger off the report button and stop being a self-righteous nob.He wants everybody to play by boards.ie rules,i say there's precedence for banning for overstepping the mark and he richly deserves it.

Degsy, I had to look at this latest post after your last one attacking 6th.

Could one of the mods please confirm I did not report a single post in TT? The only thing I reported were your duplicate accounts; Knuckles, TheAlternative and rbiesmom as they're against the site rules. If you've a problem with that and can't adhere to one of the main rules on Boards.ie, then I'd suggest you go elsewhere.

It is literally hysterical that you're asking for another user to be banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

funny-pictures-dr-phil-seal.jpg

6th wrote: »
    Ok, go find a grown up who can count and get them to help you see how many sigs I've reported in the last year. As for me being a troll ... funnily that one of the few things I dont get called on here.

So what are you doing in this thread?You werent involved in the original spat,you rarely are when threads come to feedback,you just loiter behind admin coattails waiting to stick your oar in.Trolling i call it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

irishbird wrote: »
    I meant regular users of the 'dome. i dont understand can people can come here and complain about it. If you dont post regularly in the dome, you wont understand it. Okay you might not like what happens in there but that doesnt give you the right to complain about. I dont like the......, oh i know, some other forum but i dont come here complaining about it.
    yeah, you might think that i come across as a bitch, probably but a poster said something really really nasty to me, now i didnt bring it up because it is something is/was happening in my personal life and they wouldnt have known about it. that is the risk you take with the dome. i walked away, yes, i was upset by it but its the dome FFS
    Fair enough irishbird and sorry for being heavyhanded with you. But the person who insulted you didn't know they had hurt you... rb_ie knew Quality is pregnant. However he has gone to a huge amount of trouble to explain himself and that's commendable, to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

to be honest, it was set up to allow people to be morons and insult each other.
    hence the name.

if you go in there and play, dont look for kid gloves. it may be all fun and games, but it can also be nasty.

QFT.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,220 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Dudess, I should state I left you another post in the Thunderdome on the matter.
    To be fair, rb_ie is admitting he was at fault and is going to a huge amount of trouble to explain himself.

Good on him. He bloodied another kid's nose and he is accepting responsibility for it.
    I think it is. I hate this sh1t of "where do you draw the line?" Stop playing fukking innocent here. Everyone knows very well when a line is crossed.

The line varies with location and context. Theres plenty I could talk about here in Ireland and have it considered craic - but in practice if I take those sentiments elsewhere it can often get misconstrued. In this case the context is the Thunderdome.
    Yes she should [expect an apology] she is pregnant. It's a shame if you think it was naive of her to assume that people would have at least a tiny level of decency - even in the bloody awful Thunderdome.

I'll refer you to my TD post to you on that one.
    No it really, really isn't.

Innit? It's "The Back of The Bike Shed" Dudess; you're saying you never once in your life threw a vile comment at someone? Consider when you're being bullied. And Rb was. 6x40+ posts of abuse - even I threw a little cheek his way. Were you never bullied as a kid? Its not fun. You don't see how he could have possibly made the post, having gotten himself backed into a corner? Its not AH: at least there, for instance, I know if I get tired of listening to someone's racist tripe I have a report button that will get responded to (thanks btw). TD is unmoderated. I stand by what I said: I can see how the post got concocted.
    So did someone actually say "Hey! I've a great idea! Let's set up a forum where people can be very nasty and personal and bullying to others" rather than "Hey! I've a great idea! Let's set up a forum where people can throw crazy insults at each other but obviously it will be tongue-in-cheek and a good laugh at the end of the day"? If it was the former than that's really disappointing... It's very easy to tell when someone is having a laugh and when they're getting personal. That's where the line should be.

Well there seems to be 2 schools of thought on the Thunderdome: gloves and no-gloves. At the end of the day its up to the contenders how they want to play. Clearly that causes issues but thats how its done. None of us complained when rb got his own damn thread to be bullied in; but woa - one post to a pregnant woman and suddenly its the apocalypse.
    Everyone knows she's pregnant,

I didn't. I've read a fair number of her posts (I think they were from PI actually) to date but only after this thread was made did I ever take stock that Quality was both a) female and b) pregnant.

rb_ie wrote: »
    Degsy, I had to look at this latest post after your last one attacking 6th.

Could one of the mods please confirm I did not report a single post in TT? The only thing I reported were your duplicate accounts; Knuckles, TheAlternative and rbiesmom as they're against the site rules. If you've a problem with that and can't adhere to one of the main rules on Boards.ie, then I'd suggest you go elsewhere.

First off,the three of them werent me asd anybody with abrain will tell you.
    Secondly,you're not supposed to be reporting threads in TT at all are you?You're not in the spirit of TT at all and i suggest YOU go elsewhere.You can stick "site rules" up your arse,you only hide behind them when it suits you.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

My prroblem in particular was that he wasnt playing the thunderdome game ie everybody tops everybody else no hard feelings.He came in and started reporting posts(in TT ffs),calling for people to be sitebanned and putting people on ignore.The only reason he was there at all was to stalk rasberry untill he could gether banned.If you want to through insults around,keep your cowardly finger off the report button and stop being a self-righteous nob.He wants everybody to play by boards.ie rules,i say there's precedence for banning for overstepping the mark and he richly deserves it.
    so youre giving out that 6th reported posts (in tt ffs???!!)
    yet you want Rb banned for a post in TT.... hmmm ffs.

the ironing. delicious it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Quality wrote: »
    Excuse me, As I pointed out I have taken this badly due to the history involved.

I did not report this post, I did not make a song and dance about it. I just pointed out my feelings on it. I never once said this is out of order..

It did hurt and it was hurtful, I am obviously not an ice queen like you Irish Bird.

The damage is done. I am upset and hurt, I understand that it is the thunderdome and that yes I have taken it seriously, YES I HAVE FÚCKING LOST.

I am onlly human, The memories of having to have my last baby cut out of me are still very fresh in my mind.

I wish I could get over myself, I wish this didn't hurt me as much as it does now.

Anything I have said in the Thunderdome in the past was to either defend myself or tounge in cheek, I dont think there is one regular poster in there that thinks that I am deliberatly malicious towards them.

At least I leave my malicious posting for the thunderdome, You seem to spread your poison everywhere. What is your problem?
    Firstly, I didn't know your history, nor can I or anyone else be expected to. While I'm sorry for your previous loss, you were quite happy to join the mob and bully rb_ie. I'm sorry but just because rb_ie has in the past been a bully does not mean that it's okay to bully him. You didn't deserve the comment but you seem quite happy to be a bully yet not like it when someone bullies you...

/Aside, I wish you well during this pregnancy. Good luck :) If it's a boy, name him r3nu... no, maybe not! :)
    Quality started posting in quickly another thread about rb when the original ones was locked by an admin. If it was locked by an admin it was locked for a reason.

It looked like singling a user out to me. He's previous posts were checked, his picture album linked and mocked, insults about his girlfriend, etc. There was 6 pages of this mob mentality.

When rb retorts with a joke, that imo is no worse then the talk of raping people's sisters in dome, the mob grabbed on to the "ZOMG Quality is a mother... BAN RB!!" and ran with it.

Its like a kid being bullied in school by a gang. A teacher steps in to stop a part of it (the locked thread), but the gang continues in other ways. The kid lashes out and smacks one of the ring leaders of this bullying crew aka Quality. The ring leader goes running to principal trying to get the kid expelled.

Maybe if you hadn't tried to reopen a thread insulting him, you wouldn't have received a insult that touched a sensitive issue for you. You reap what you sow.
    Excellent post. Well said.

I posted this elsewhere but it's worth repeating imo.

In this case, provoked or not, rb_ie was being bullied. Just because the bully gets bullied does not make it right.

I would find it very difficult not to be nasty to people who were attacking me carte blanche as I'm sure a lot of us would. I wouldn't go as far as he did and would probably take direct action to ensure the admins were aware of how I felt about the thread in question but then, that's the benefit of age and experience I suppose...

I also think that instead of punishing rb_ie for his comments the Admins should instead take the opportunity to have a look at how the Thunderdome is or (in my opinion) isn't working. Why not look at having T'Dome operate in a better way, either private, which unfortunately doesn't allow automatic right of reply to any attacks against individuals so is a non-runner imo, or publically but with very light moderating where the mod only steps in if something particularly nasty starts happening.

If it were to be moderated I'd think that tbh would be an excellent candidate. he knows the ropes, knows the posters and at least any bans would be forum bans rather than sitebans (barring the usual reasons for sitebans).

Once again, this all comes back to cyber-bullying. In the past I remember a brief mention of the Thunderdome in a Newstalk article on cyberbullying. The article didn't focus on boards.ie or the T'Dome but it was mentioned (No, I don't have a link but wish I did). Admins, do you really want boards.ie associated with cyber-bullying?

Again, Degsy, I didn't report any posts. A mod can quickly confirm this. I merely dropped the Smods a pm saying that duplicate accounts had been set up solely for the purpose of abuse.

I could give a f*ck about the "spirit of TT", it's a site wide rule to not be making alternative accounts. As is not posting porn, links to porn or other NSFW material in threads, which you got banned for previously. There may be a "spirit" in TT but that doesn't give any regular user of TT the right to break site rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

The Thunderdome is basically the "back of the bike sheds" for Boards. If you are having right old ding dong battle with someone and its p|ssing off the rest of the forum, the mod can move the thread to the Thunderdome and you can continue your "debate" there.

Be warned. There are NO RULES beyond the state's common law in there. Anything goes that is legal. The site's standard civility rules are not in play. It will be unmoderated except for the admins and there will be no warnings for transgressions of the law. Your account will simply be completely suspended.

You cant *create* threads there you (and others) can only reply to them. They dont count towards post count and they dont show up on the front page. Basically if you want to have a right old barny with someone then take it somewhere that the rest of us arent annoyed by it. Then rip into each other as you see fit.

CuLT, the front page of boards.ie is clearly in violation of the rules set out above.

FrontPage.bmp

Please ban it.

Again, Degsy, I didn't report any posts. A mod can quickly confirm this. I merely dropped the Smods a pm saying that duplicate accounts had been set up solely for the purpose of abuse

You're a creeping Jesus.

Degsy, why do you feel you have the right to throw insults at people outside the dome?

Didn't report any posts though. So stick it.

I second the Tbh for thunderdome mod suggestion btw, or 6th would be good too. Both very level headed and down with the site rules/how things work on Boards.

Didn't report any posts though. So stick it.

Oh thats okay then,you stuck a whole load of people on "ignore",had a thread closed and squealed to the mods about people using dual accounts.You remind me of 6th in many ways.Here years and still a virtual nobody,they have to curry favour with the admins in the hope that one day they'll be made mod of something worthwhile..sad really.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

if there has to be a mod, TBH but for the love of god not 6th

And yet, someone just couldn't stand being on ignore, now could they?

Didn't request the thread to be closed either, as Ruu and Gordon can confirm, that'd be you and your dup accounts that had it closed, or the fact that I was being literally mobbed. Whatever, I know the truth of the situation anyway.

Mod of something worthwhile? I've started my own little forum with a good purpose, I'm much happier to have it and watch it grow than to just start modding a pre-existing forum. It's a nice little project which is growing at a good pace and I'm quite proud of that and the help it'll bring to it's members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

No it is not 'purely' tongue and cheek!

How can anybody can defend what was said to Quality? :confused:

Didn't a certain Mod tell Rb_ie to stay out of the Thunderdome?

Quality is not the only poster Rb_ie has made a vicious attack against. The Thunderdome is not about telling people to hang themselves or wishing that a pregnant woman will lose her unborn baby. That is sick regardless of the victim's history. Why can't he keep it to the typical Thunderdome style of "Yore ma and her syphillis"??!! That can be amusing, wishing death on an poster ***(due to the fact that there is already a negative history between him and said poster)***, that's just sickening. :mad:

I wonder why he has not been banned yet? I really, really wonder why!
    I've seen bans handed out for far less offences. It's not like his comment was an isolated slip up, trouble has been brewing with him for a while now and that needs to be looked at.

Thank you Dudess for giving us the opportunity to speak about this. I had spoken to Quality last night and I know that she is very hurt.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Ron Burgundy: Boy, that escalated quickly... I mean, that really got out of hand fast.
    Champ Kind: It jumped up a notch.
    Ron Burgundy: It did, didn't it?

And now, to top this thread off and for the irony to really hit the roof - this thread should be moved to the Thunderdome!

You remind me of 6th in many ways.Here years and still a virtual nobody

HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa

Ruu advised me that I should stay out of the "ban rb_ie" thread, which I was already doing hence my "this is my last post on the subject" post.