Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could ban one sport...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,517 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Agamemnon wrote: »
    American "Football". Then I'd make all the players take up rugby. The padded pussies would all be dead in a week and their organs could be harvested. This in turn would lead to a reduction in transplant waiting lists and do so much good in the world.

Ah the age old "who's harder" debate. I'll leave it alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭strawberryb0y

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Out of jealousy no doubt...
    Of what.
    I find gaelic and rugby to be very boring sports and i also dislike sports where physicality counts for more than skill does.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Boxing.
    Because most boxers are either extremely arrogant or downright thick. (In some cases, both)

I appreciate the skill, fitness and concentration levels the sports men need to achieve world titles in boxing. The arrogance is a by product of the state of mind and front they adopt. I've never heard Muhammad Ali called thick...
    Soccer. A bunch of overpaid sissys
    A lot of negative comments about soccer and its fans, seems to be targeted at the English leagues i guess. But its as much a spectator sport as par-taking.
    You wont find too many overpaid in the Eircom League;)....

I cant think of any sport i hate, not mad on golf, cricket or american football, cos i dont understand the rules! Banned - maybe the bull fighting or anything cruel!

• Registered Users Posts: 869 ✭✭✭cbreeze

'spose u can scratch the back of your head (and other bitz) wid ur foot though ....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

brim4brim wrote: »
    soccer just to p*ss the overly involved people off TBH. Those guys that can barely kick a ball that feel the need to buy the jerseys and wear them to the pub to watch soccer and scream at the tv when the team they support loses even though they have no connection with that club whatsoever, they just randomly choose to support that club.

You must mean soccer outside of Ireland, you dont really see much Eircom League on tv, you actually have to go to the game:eek: and so it would be a little unfair on those fans to ban it alltogether...:p
    I'd love the eircom league to have random supporters! Wow imagine what all those monnies could do....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Football. I cannot see how it is entertaining. I cannot appreciate the overpaid idiots that seem to make up a good proportion of the premiership. Put any of them on a GAA pitch and they'd be dead by half time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I also suggest that in all current sports teh teams have their players replayed by hot women. I might switch on the tv then.

Tv on, pants off!
    lalala

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

janeybabe wrote: »
    Definitely cricket. It goes on for way too long for me to even try to understand the rules.

I'll watch pretty much anything else though. I just wont play!

+1 (or however many it is now - I'm not reading all the pages - pfft)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I also suggest that in all current sports teh teams have their players replayed by hot women. I might switch on the tv then.

Tv on, pants off!
    lalala

More water!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Dinkie wrote: »
    horse jumping and that sport where they plait the horses mane.

totally pointless

And chasing a ball around a pitch isnt?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Ruu wrote: »
    *does sweeping brush motion* Curling as well.

Indeed. I recall a few years ago, winter olympics I think, when a team of (iirc) mostly Scottish women* with butch truck driver haircuts briefly became national heroes because of their ability to mop a floor at the Winter Olympics.

As for banning, UFC cage fighting is a joke. It is essentially WWF for slimmer people, and appeals to burberry cap types who "read" Max Power and still think Schooter tunes are only rapih. (well, Posse is classic cheese in fairness :D And I did have 3 of their CDs. But thats waaay back man :p )

I wouldnt ban any sport bar that, as if someone enjoys it let them. However, Ive never got

Baseball. Watched 15 mins of it late one night, jesus christ, from films you assume most batters manage one out of three strikes. I was watching for 15 mins and there wasnt one bat :confused: As Homer Simpson said if you arent drunk it is a boring sport (and I was drunk!)

Rugby. Again, wouldnt ban it, but I fail to see how people get a rush of national pride watching them beat England in Croker in a match where we dont even get to play our national anthem. If the WC 2010 qualification means we are second placed and have to play England over two legs, if we beat them and progressed at their expense I wouldnt be off the piss for 5 days, it would be such a historic victory (and would prove that when there were Italians to be bought we got the best, fuk Capello :D ). But playing England in matches were we cant play our anthem so as not to offend some bigoted folk up north, doesnt do it for me tbh. It is too slow for me as well. In football, a match can be decided by a single, beautiful strike on goal. Or a peno shootout. In rugger there is just too much chance of a comeback to make it tense.

*: not representitive of Scottish women in general of course. From spending one of the best weekends of my life in Glasgow I learned that they are all completely nuts, often gorgeous, crazy cute accent, love the Irish and have the largest chests in Europe.

Just a bad batch the curling crowd :)

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭apoch632

UFC for a start is real. Thats one thing it has over WWE

Many of the fighters in UFC come from an amatuer (Real) Wrestling background. Many other disciplines are involved including some Boxing, Kick Boxing, Ju Jitsu, traditional Martial Arts. It is the first time that many of those people that compete in combat sports besides Boxing have had a chance to make a career out of it. I defy anyone to tell me that an olympic calibre wrestler as Randy Couture is doesn't have a right to make a living in combat sports.

Just as Boxing is the sport and art of punching ,UFC (and MMA in general) is the sport and art of fighting.

If you think its boring or dont like fighting that's your opinion and fair enough. But don't call it a joke.

And as a soon to be graduate(hopefully). I am probably as far removed from the Max Power types as you can get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Soccer, then any form of Gaelic sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

shane86 wrote: »
    As for banning, UFC cage fighting is a joke.

try spend some time with UFC fighters. i guarantee you will not come away thinking that if you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

cbreeze wrote: »
    'spose u can scratch the back of your head (and other bitz) wid ur foot though ....

+1 - and I used to be a rhythmic gymnast! But I'd ban it not because it's not difficult, but because the scoring system is completely fcuked. It's a complete joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Watched about 10 minutes of UFC the other night for the first time.

Jaysus, knackers in a cage!

I'm torn between not banning UFC because of the irony of the homoeroticism involved in alot of big jock fratboy guys watching two mostly naked oiled up guys hump each other for 25 minutes versus banning it because of the homoeroticism involved in alot of big jock fratboy guys watching two mostly naked oiled up guys hump each other for 25 minutes.

True story, I once accidentally broke the collar bone of a guy in a taijutsu sparring class. He's now fighting welterweight UFC.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Watched about 10 minutes of UFC the other night for the first time.

Jaysus, knackers in a cage!

Keeps them off the streets at least!!!

And for me to ban a sport, i'ld say Soccer/Football.
    Then people would have something interesting to talk about!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

PSI wrote: »
    I'm torn between not banning UFC because of the irony of the homoeroticism involved in alot of big jock fratboy guys watching two mostly naked oiled up guys hump each other for 25 minutes versus banning it because of the homoeroticism involved in alot of big jock fratboy guys watching two mostly naked oiled up guys hump each other for 25 minutes.

You mean the guys that go,

"Yeah, you stick it to him, dog! You go, dog! Oh yeah, you cream his ass!"

:p A fine, manly sport indeed!:p

True story, I once accidentally broke the collar bone of a guy in a taijutsu sparring class. He's now fighting welterweight UFC.

Really? Accidently, eh? I'd hate to see you do something on purpose. Yikes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

Nightwish wrote: »
    Football. I cannot see how it is entertaining. I cannot appreciate the overpaid idiots that seem to make up a good proportion of the premiership. Put any of them on a GAA pitch and they'd be dead by half time.

:confused: People say this a lot. But at the end of the day (just a quote to annoy an earlier poster :D:D), if you got people who play soccer and showed them how to play gaelic they'd do as well as someone else just shown gaelic.

I'd ban rugby.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

UFC is the best fight sport on the planet ,
    knackers in a cage ,there extremley talented athlethes,
    its proven to be safer than boxing,

ban boxing actuly its unsafe ,8 rounds of being punched in the head yeah how entertaining

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

And then stick those GAA lads on an Aussie Rules pitch and see how they get on.....oh wait now! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

here's an idea take some cheating scumbag GAA players who idea of fair play is knocking somebody out ,then throw them upaginst the aussie rules players , winner of that fight go on to the UFC to fight in the octogon against real fighters and watch them cry in pain watch the ball boys cry foul then

• Registered Users Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

In football, a match can be decided by a single, beautiful strike on goal. Or a peno shootout. In rugger there is just too much chance of a comeback to make it tense.

This comment just doesn't make any sense whatsoever. You can go for 70mins without so much as an on target shot then someone scores then the send there entire team into there own half a sit on the goal. Or worse an opening few minutes goal and then 80+ minutes of nothing. You call 80+ mins of knowing exactly whats going to happen Tense.

Where as in Rugby it's much harder to defend than to attack so if you try to sit on a score line chances are your team will get knackered and concede. There is none of this passing back and forth between your defenders doddling around in there own half. You doddle in rugby and some big hairy Maury will dump you on your head and probably break something.

It's the very fact that you can come back that makes it tense and means the intensity of the game never stops til the final whistle.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Gatling wrote: »
    here's an idea take some cheating scumbag GAA players who idea of fair play is knocking somebody out ,then throw them upaginst the aussie rules players , winner of that fight go on to the UFC to fight in the octogon against real fighters and watch them cry in pain watch the ball boys cry foul then

I certainly wouldn't like to get a clout from Paul Galvin.;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,678 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Overheal wrote: »
    Anything I can do to piss off the GAA :)

I'd love to thump the GAA with a banstick again and again....and again:pac:

Golf would be a distant second.

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭apoch632

I wonder why ;)

It is next year Shamrock Rovers are moving to Tallaght isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

Cricket is incredibly boring. Can we ban that please. Would anyone even notice.

Cricket.I ruddy hate it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

As for banning, UFC cage fighting is a joke. It is essentially WWF for slimmer people, and appeals to burberry cap types who "read" Max Power and still think Schooter tunes are only rapih. (well, Posse is classic cheese in fairness :D And I did have 3 of their CDs. But thats waaay back man :p )

After reading this I have come to the conclusion that the whole post is either ignorance or a poor attempt at trolling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

I think that's a load of rubbish actually.
    GAA = 15 players per team = less running than football (11 players per team)
    GAA = 70 minute matches = again less running than football (90 minute matches)