Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Garda supposed to carry picture ID

• 22-04-2008 8:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

Im presuming the answer to the above question is yes? I know that the Garda's county and number is on his shoulder but do they need to carry ID that shows a picture of themselves and the likes. something to just verify his/her status and if asked have they got to produce it for verfication reason.

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Elstemed wrote: »
    Im presuming the answer to the above question is yes? I know that the Garda's county and number is on his shoulder but do they need to carry ID that shows a picture of themselves and the likes. something to just verify his/her status and if asked have they got to produce it for verfication reason.

thanks
    id imagine they do, anyone can put on a uniform!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭source

Answer: yes a Garda must carry his/her official identification at all times, whether they are working or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

foinse wrote: »
    Answer: yes a Garda must carry his/her official identification at all times, whether they are working or not.

Handy for getting into niteclubs free :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

They would have their ID/warrant card on them but whether they have to produce it to members of the public for verification purposes would depend on the situation...i.e knocking on someones door and asking for information about something that happened in the area then yes someone could ask to see some ID before opening the door fully, but I would imagine walking up to a Garda and asking to see their ID would be met with a confused look and refusal.

I remember once being stopped by a motorcycle garda who was really rude to me (just a random stop, not in bus lane or speeding or anything) and he had a flourescent jacket over his leathers with no shoulder flashes on it so I asked for his number and he said something like "123A" (i.e. it sounded made up) so I asked to see his card and he told me in no uncertain terms to f*ck off!

Mairt wrote: »
    Handy for getting into niteclubs free :p

and buses/darts/concerts/sporting events......I remember my Dad used to get us all into funderland for half price when we were kids by showing his garda ID !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

have one, have to carry it at all times. In plain clothes should produce it but not a requirement, in uniform only required to produce it if asked.

More importantly, only has too produce to a person directly involved with us. You cant just walk up and demand it but people do try. :p

so they have to carry it when on duty, surely its not compulsory when off-duty?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭source

shakin wrote: »
    so they have to carry it when on duty, surely its not compulsory when off-duty?

on and off duty, technically a garda is never off duty just not working,

foinse wrote: »
    on and off duty, technically a garda is never off duty just not working,

serious? surely thats not enforced i mean how could they? what if you were goin on the lash for the weekend, you might get a bollocking for losing it!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Elstemed

Reason for asking is that i was stopped last week in the local village while driving. I got the impression that the garda was one that was going to be a nit picker. so after checking everything a finding everything , he then looked for my licience. I didnt have it on me as I drive 7 vehicles and it impossible to have it on me at all times. so he proceeded to right in a aggressive manner and told me it was a €250 fine offence and penalty point offence. All i could do was put up and shut up but i was not happy with the manner that he dealt with the case so asked him for his name and number which he gave me and then i asked for his picture ID to verify it was him and he got really annoyed and he couldnt produce it. Found it ironic that i was being fined for not having my licence and he wasnt able to produce ID that he himself was supposed to be carrying.

Where and who should i address a complaint to about this Garda?

Reason for asking is that i was stopped last week in the local village while driving. I got the impression that the garda was one that was going to be a nit picker. so after checking everything a finding everything , he then looked for my licience. I didnt have it on me as I drive 7 vehicles and it impossible to have it on me at all times. so he proceeded to right in a aggressive manner and told me it was a €250 fine offence and penalty point offence. All i could do was put up and shut up but i was not happy with the manner that he dealt with the case so asked him for his name and number which he gave me and then i asked for his picture ID to verify it was him and he got really annoyed and he couldnt produce it. Found it ironic that i was being fined for not having my licence and he wasnt able to produce ID that he himself was supposed to be carrying.

Where and who should i address a complaint to about this Garda?
    garda ombudsman, maybe if you left your licensce in your wallet anymore? sounds like your pissed off at being caught.
    anyway maybe it was an old picture and he was embarrassed, i think they are allowed feelings aswell!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Elstemed

not pissed off about being caught at all. the law is there for a reason. its unfortunate but its impossible for me to carry it around as I cant carry a wallet or anything else because of work reasons so have now where to put it safely. dont even know if i will get a summons anyway, it was just his attitude. at the end of the day i pay his salary :D I didnt rate my money being well spent hiring this gentleman

ya and nurses and every other public servant, but ya dont tell them that!

oh btw thanks for the roads and everything else YOU paid for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

. at the end of the day i pay his salary :D I didnt rate my money being well spent hiring this gentleman

HAHAHHAHAHAH

Maybe YOU shouldn't have hired him in the first place

I think you should invest in a wallet.. and carry your licence with you

To Quote Alexander the Great “There is nothing impossible to him who will try.”

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

OP's question has been answered.