Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you give to charity?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Would you give the bitta spare change to charity

No, I do volunteer work instead. The odd bit of very small change goes to the cancer charity box in my local shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Would you give the bitta spare change to charity or would you give the same response as we got??

Yes. takes 10 seconds, you get a sticker and none of the other collectors bother you whenh they see it!

Plus it doesn't involve giving my bank details to a total stranger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

I am really annoyed about this one:mad:

Recently myself and 20 of my college friends have been collecting for two different charities.. We were going around campus and got permision to collect locally also.

What really got up our noses were the people(in their brand new cars mostly)who would look straight ahead and ignore you, heads up..anything to avoid eye contact just so they could avoid giving the few quid..The lecturers were as bad on campus when we asked for change!!! I know now not everyone has money or change on them but i nice or friendly ah sorry wouldn't go astray instead of the replies we got!!

Would you give the bitta spare change to charity or would you give the same response as we got??

You people are annoying as hell. I absolutely hate it when they see you down the street and as you walk closer their arms spread wider. They try to obstruct you walking down the street - what the hell is that about? Get out of my way. They always have a fake annoying "HI THERE, COULD YOU SPARE A MOMENT FOR ---".

I will look below you, above you, to the right, to the left, through you. I will ignore you and I will never ever give you money.

I think it's a terrible way to collect for charity and the means do not justify the end. You piss off a lot of people. How about handing out fliers? You need to spread awareness so that people can make the decision themselves rather than harassing them on the street.

/rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

@ kooli - it's not the fact that people are earning salaries, or that the administrative costs are being covered. It's the amounts involved. If 8 ouf of every 10 euro I give goes to some backpacker chugging his way around the world, then I don't want to contribute. In my view, charitable organisations became a huge industry, concerned rather with providing jobs here, than helping people in the 3rd world. Surely if they cut their administrative costs, they would collect less money, but they could use a bigger proportion of it to actually help someone, so the end effect would be the same.

Also, they way we are constantly being bombarded with their pleas for help - media, chuggers, post etc. - makes it quite easy to become immune to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I don't give to charity much, but when I do I prefer to give to proper charities, Irish ones at that. And more importantly I prefer not to give to charities with religious ties.
    I will certainly not give to any of these charities that have chuggers on the street.

In fact, if I see a chugger approach me on the street I will have no qualms about punching them if they come too close. I've almost done it before. I've had them chasing me and swearing at me too. For no reason other than me abruptly saying "No!".

So, chuggers beware!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Recently myself and 20 of my college friends have been collecting for two different charities.. We were going around campus and got permision to collect locally also.

What really got up our noses were the people(in their brand new cars mostly)who would look straight ahead and ignore you, heads up..anything to avoid eye contact just so they could avoid giving the few quid..The lecturers were as bad on campus when we asked for change!!! I know now not everyone has money or change on them but i nice or friendly ah sorry wouldn't go astray instead of the replies we got!!

jealousy ftl, oh no someone didn't give to charity so they're bad people

you live your life they'll live theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

So I went to my local Dunnes today with my mother - for us both to do our shopping. On the way in a woman shook a bucket at me, and very much so in my personal space. I smiled and said no thank you, and we went in. I got to the check out first and headed for the car with my stuff (so I could run back and help out with my mothers stuff) and on the way out she asked me again. Smiled, no thank you. On the way back in she asked me AGAIN. Smiled, No thank you. On the way out - she tried it again.

This time I stopped in front of her and asked her had she any idea how many times she asked me the same question. Bearing in mind the questions were put to me in a very close space of time. I knew she'd remember me. She just smiled stiffly at me and said Im sorry just thought you would like to donate. But you know when you are getting the smart arse look off someone.. I just said to her that I do like to donate, a couple of times a month to charities I choose and that I cannot be expected to save the bloody world. Stupid smile is starting to fade by this time, and I told her she was lucky I wasnt going to report her.

So off I go to the post office. Now, Id be inclined to believe the majority of people attending the post office do the there to collect their social, or pay a few quid off household bills - so there mightnt be a lot of loose change about. Im not generalising, Im just saying what I sees.. So there is a foreign national playing a tin-whistle or something with his change box out and right beside him there was a woman with a table, also selling something or other.

One over-spoke the other as I approached on the way in, and the way out.
    I dont know how I held it together.

What the hell is it with them today? :mad:

see the attached document here...substitute the relevant Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Go Fu<k yourself I am sick of people hassling me for charity - I donate a considerable sum every year to a charity that means something to me.

Who are you to generalise everyone as inconsiderate.

Oh and I love your "brand new cars" line should we all feel guilty for buying cars - How about you get a job - filthy students

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

muletide wrote: »
    Go Fu<k yourself I am sick of people hassling me for charity - I donate a considerable sum every year to a charity that means something to me.

Who are you to generalise everyone as inconsiderate.

Oh and I love your "brand new cars" line should we all feel guilty for buying cars - How about you get a job - filthy students
    Infracted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I do give rather a lot of money to charity. I sponsor 2 children with World vision, I have standing orders with Central remedial clinic and Temple street children's hospital, and I always put a euro in any bucket that is shaken at me. I also like to sponsor any neighbours or work colleagues (usually their kids) at any sport/event they participate in for charity. At the moment I'm collecting for the mini-marathon which I'm doing for the Irish Cancer Society. As both my parents died from cancer, neighbours relations and work colleagues are approaching me with donations so I don't need to ask anybody which i hate doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

I hate street charities esp this one woman in cork who goes around people when theyre eating/having coffee in an outside part of one of the shops on the main road trying to collect, its playing on making people feel guilty and giving money, I do give my time to charities if I feel its a worthwhile cause/theres something I can do but I ONLY donate to charities, just those who do work which relates to something that has affected someone in my life e.g. Cystic Fybrious

1 - Have you seen how many different charities are collecting on the streets, esp in cork and dublin theres always someone collecting/trying to get you to set up direct debits with them.

2 - I've no idea where the moneys going - ive done some work for some charities in the past and alot of the time the money you give v little of that goes towards the actual cause fair enough companys have to meet costs and i understand that but id appreciate knowing how much of my actual contribution would go towards the actual cause rather than paying someones salary. the person on the street can tell me it goes to all these great causes but how do i know theyre not bull****ting, i know people when i was in college who collected money for "charity" and gone drinking with it!

• Moderators Posts: 52,001 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Don't give anything to anyone asking for bank details. Generally give some change to Irish Cancer Society ,CRC and ISPCC. Also use kiva.org to donate money to people in developing countries starting business or buying stock.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I have a huge problem all right with the making people guilty aspect. It's more prominent coming up to Christmas, and also, did anyone ever notice that those horrible ads about child abuse, cruelty to animals, cancer etc are on during the day - when pensioners, the unemployed, students, disabled people, generally the less wealthy members of society - are gonna be watching? I don't understand it.

And aren't chuggers effectively salespeople? Don't they have to make a target? They angry up my blood... Some silly bint guiltied me into joining Concern a few years ago by being really forceful. A year later, a guy actually called to my house to get me to support Gorta - and asked to be let in. I'm such an eejit for capitulating to both of them but it's just that I didn't realise the full story about them - I thought they were actually volunteering. There are far, far less chuggers in Cork than in Dublin and the Concern one was in Cork, the Gorta one in Dublin when I had just moved up. After that, from being in the Grafton Street/Stephen's Green vicinity, I got wise to them. Can't stand them - and they know how much people hate them so I have no sympathy for them if they get a hard time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Apparently I am suppose to go to Africa(or my alias is) to build houses for a few months. Screw that. I will brew some booze and ship it to the locals. It will do more good. The only reason I signed that thing is because I jump kicked a chugger(he really pissed me off. "How old are you" "Do you have a job" **** YOU!) and did not want to get sued :p. Ah well, they can send letter to Caesar Chavez at my next door neighbors address all they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Easy solution, next time a chugger stops you and asks you for you bank details, just give them the GOAL details:

Name: John O'Shea
    S/C: 93.35.54
    A/C: 04000024

See here for the response I got from the local Super

• I've noticed lately that a lot of people are asking me for 'donations' for what are essentially, holidays. One of my college mates is going to Bolivia for 2 months to do some 'Christian work' and then some travelling. This girl is 24 and has never worked a day in her life, she's fundraising by bagpacking and asking for donations around college. I personally think she has a nerve as she's not doing anything directly related to charity. Why should I fund her trip to Bolivia? I work full time and will need to take a second job to start saving to go to South America - I wouldn't have the nerve to badger friends and family for donations. I've already given her about 40 euro, which is a lot for me to spare at the minute, and she's still hinting for more. I really feel like asking why on earth she can't get a job and save the money herself?? Oh wait, she said her parents were going to make up whatever the donations don't cover :rolleyes: She's a mate and all but I don't understand the attitude of entitlement, "give me money because I deserve to go to Bolivia" as if she's going to be saving the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

[quote=[Deleted User];56294079]I've noticed lately that a lot of people are asking me for 'donations' for what are essentially, holidays. One of my college mates is going to Bolivia for 2 months to do some 'Christian work' and then some travelling. This girl is 24 and has never worked a day in her life, she's fundraising by bagpacking and asking for donations around college. I personally think she has a nerve as she's not doing anything directly related to charity. Why should I fund her trip to Bolivia? I work full time and will need to take a second job to start saving to go to South America - I wouldn't have the nerve to badger friends and family for donations. I've already given her about 40 euro, which is a lot for me to spare at the minute, and she's still hinting for more. I really feel like asking why on earth she can't get a job and save the money herself?? Oh wait, she said her parents were going to make up whatever the donations don't cover :rolleyes: She's a mate and all but I don't understand the attitude of entitlement, "give me money because I deserve to go to Bolivia" as if she's going to be saving the world.[/QUOTE]

Get your money back. Simple as.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

ninty9er wrote: »
    See here for the response I got from the local Super

Thanks for that.

And fair play to you for actually doing something instead of just moaning about it like the rest of us do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Those Barnardos gits are the worst. The amount of them on grafton st is a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

ART6 wrote: »
    The problem I have is what constitutes a charity? At our local Tesco the checkouts are occupied on an almost daily basis by kids and adults with white plastic buckets, insisting on intercepting my shopping as it comes off the belt and stuffing it at random into my bags. Most of them are "charities" I have never heard of -- Ballykillbilly Football Boots for Girls Action Group etc etc -- and when they have rammed in my shopping with the squashables on the bottom I am expected to put my change into their bin. If I do that every time they are there, then I will be adding a significant amount to my shopping bill, and I don't have unlimited funds.

I will and do give to charities (a) when it suits me and (b) when they are ones I respect -- Meals on Wheels, RNLI etc. That's all.
    Most of these kids in Tesco dont get any government help so they pack a few bags and get a few quid that keeps the kids off the street cause they have somewhere to go.Most of the kids know how to pack a bag,i know i work in Tesco,so the money they earn keeps their little club goimg and doesnt send theitr ceo on holiday.So i think their is a difference there.Plus we are talking bout people rattling tins at you i ont think you can put an 11 yr old collecting so he can play a match to the people shaking tins at you on Grafton St

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Charity begins at home, so I just keep all my money tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Shadowless

Obviously they employ chuggers because its a ridiculously effective way of raising money. Seems to me they're putting the starving kids ahead of your feelings.
    Oh no!

Why does everyone get so worked up about it? Just say no and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Bucket type charity workers I'll usually donate somthing to, the typical clipboard chuggers I try sneak past though, I can't honestly say what my financial situation will be a month from now so I'm not going to commit to a charity subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭gibo_ie

I will nearly always give to a local charity (wherever i am at the time and the collection is) but i dislike giving to Crumlin etc.. the whole time. They have enough, give some to the smaller needy charities...