Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Life in the Garda College

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Haz33 wrote: »
    Surely there was more in his black book?. Surely they dont make you repeat a year over one minor incident? Tell me it ain't so !:(

I hope your right:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 daisey

hey all so whats the story with the weekends down in the college do you have to stay there during the weeknd or do ya get to go home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

daisey wrote: »
    hey all so whats the story with the weekends down in the college do you have to stay there during the weeknd or do ya get to go home?

Off every friday at 4 back at 11:30 sunday

DIfferent if you have a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Dr_MaSoN wrote: »

can you stay down if you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

shakin wrote: »

that i dont know, but why would you want to?

im sure the place is deserted on the weekends and you will be glad to get away from it.:)

that i dont know, but why would you want to?

im sure the place is deserted on the weekends and you will be glad to get away from it.:)

no its just i know people in nearby counties

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 daisey

thanks for the info mason :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Celtic07

you wouldnt want to stay down there the weekends. the place would be a ghost town the weekends. nearly all the population down there are guards. you can stay if you have to or have some reason but you have to let the college know. no one does this maybe one or 2 the most

Celtic07 wrote: »
    you wouldnt want to stay down there the weekends. the place would be a ghost town the weekends. nearly all the population down there are guards. you can stay if you have to or have some reason but you have to let the college know. no one does this maybe one or 2 the most

cheers celtic,

how are you getting on have you been brainwashed yet? hows life in tipp,still in the suit?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Jay112

The place is fine the weekends! yes you can stay there on the weekends, people from our intake have stayed there the weekends for exams and the likes in particular those from far away counties.
    You need to let them know at the college first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭cookie81

Just wondering how are people disciplined for (minor) rule breaking?

I heard (for a fact) that a girl and a fella got kicked out in the first week of Templemore cos she was caught in his room doing things they shouldnt have been doing, use your imagination......BUSTED!
    Try going home and explaining to mammy and daddy why you were kicked out :eek:
    I wont say what intake they were in but I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

cookie81 wrote: »
    I heard (for a fact) that a girl and a fella got kicked out in the first week of Templemore cos she was caught in his room doing things they shouldnt have been doing, use your imagination......BUSTED!
    Try going home and explaining to mammy and daddy why you were kicked out :eek:
    I wont say what intake they were in but I know.

Oh nice. Maybe he thought it was worth it in the end!!!:D

cheers celtic,

how are you getting on have you been brainwashed yet? hows life in tipp,still in the suit?:)

still in suit yes got measured for uniform during the week so have it in 2 -3 weeks so they say anyway. dont think im brainwashed yet give it a bit longer:)

Ive heard that a lot of guards have other jobs e.g. bouncers. Is this true and is it required?

still in suit yes got measured for uniform during the week so have it in 2 -3 weeks so they say anyway. dont think im brainwashed yet give it a bit longer:)

well best of luck with the rest of it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭RichieM.08

Ive heard that a lot of guards have other jobs e.g. bouncers. Is this true and is it required?

the rules say its forbidden to have part time jobs

RichieM.08 wrote: »

Really then i better not start getting ideas.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭EimearMCD

RichieM.08 wrote: »

think they say you cant do anything that would affect your studies so if you did a bit of hairdressing or working in a supermarket one day at the weekend that would be fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭RichieM.08

EimearMCD wrote: »
    think they say you cant do anything that would affect your studies so if you did a bit of hairdressing or working in a supermarket one day at the weekend that would be fine!

I duno bout dat but i doubt id make a good hairdresser anyway. :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Just wondering what sports clubs are in the Garda College?I know they have a hurling team.Is there a rugby team?How does one join these clubs/teams,and are they open to those without previous experience in that sport??

eroo wrote: »
    Just wondering what sports clubs are in the Garda College?I know they have a hurling team.Is there a rugby team?How does one join these clubs/teams,and are they open to those without previous experience in that sport??

http://www.garda.ie/pub/col_yr_bk_english.pdf

chapter 13

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭blue2b

i hear if ya get injured playin sports or anythin .they fail your whole training and ya have to repeat it again in twelve months on. is this true do yis know

blue2b wrote: »
    i hear if ya get injured playin sports or anythin .they fail your whole training and ya have to repeat it again in twelve months on. is this true do yis know

what and you cant do the physical components of the exam:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jake59

Hi.. has anyone any idea how trainees with kids are treated in the college at the moment?. I am thinking of returning to the job and will have to go down to the college and do phase 3 again. The last time I was down there (a long time ago) I was young free and single. Any info is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

jake59 wrote: »
    Hi.. has anyone any idea how trainees with kids are treated in the college at the moment?. I am thinking of returning to the job and will have to go down to the college and do phase 3 again. The last time I was down there (a long time ago) I was young free and single. Any info is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!

you can get a pass..so you can come back on a monday morning instead of sun night..also you can go home on wed and come back thursday morning..is good for people with kids

I was wondering about Physical Training in Templemore..I have heard of circuit training classes and runs but what I want to know is;
    Can you work on your own fitness programme while down there?I know there was a powerlifter down in the college,he even put on a 1 hour display according to the college year book!They hardly told him to work on circuits and aerobic fitness sacrificing powerlifting??The reason I ask is I like my fitness training but I'd rather not do the basics like circuits and 2 milers!Or are they compulsory unless your an athlete?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I was wondering about Physical Training in Templemore..I have heard of circuit training classes and runs but what I want to know is;
    Can you work on your own fitness programme while down there?I know there was a powerlifter down in the college,he even put on a 1 hour display according to the college year book!They hardly told him to work on circuits and aerobic fitness sacrificing powerlifting??The reason I ask is I like my fitness training but I'd rather not do the basics like circuits and 2 milers!Or are they compulsory unless your an athlete?

The evenings are yours to decide what you want to do ... You can train away in the gym yourself; jog around Templemore town; study etc ... If you have your own exercise plan - providing you have the time nobody will say anything to you

kerry4sam wrote: »
    The evenings are yours to decide what you want to do ... You can train away in the gym yourself; jog around Templemore town; study etc ... If you have your own exercise plan - providing you have the time nobody will say anything to you

Thanks!I always thought they did classes with you in the gym!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Yes they do have some organised classes but their are also free times for people who want to do their own thing ...

Any idea when the next open day is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

I supose technically you only work till 5 so the evenings are free for you; Every night there is circuits, fitness or weights, Spinning classes and the swimming pool, You can do nothing aswell if you should choose but it is really hard not to get fit down ere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭punchestown

[QUOTE=gerire;5695850 You can do nothing aswell if you should choose but it is really hard not to get fit down ere[/QUOTE]

Is that fit or fat? Some lads when I was down there must have put on a stone and from being able to run the mile and a half (in the college grounds) in 10 minutes in their first few weeks down there couldnt finish it in less than 14 and a half in the week before they were leaving phase 1!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Is that fit or fat? Some lads when I was down there must have put on a stone and from being able to run the mile and a half (in the college grounds) in 10 minutes in their first few weeks down there couldnt finish it in less than 14 and a half in the week before they were leaving phase 1!

I think there is motivation on phase 1 and 3 to get fit, unless you are not that way inclined or just lazy. I'd say being away from the college on phase 2 is where you really lose your fitness if you're not careful. All the shift work and takeaways when on lates & nights = Garda Fatty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Shurwhynot

Do any of the modules require presentation work? i HATE standing up in front of people and talking (unless im after a couple of pints!)

And yes i realise that if/when i qualify i would have to stand up in court but one hurdle at a time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Shurwhynot wrote: »
    Do any of the modules require presentation work? i HATE standing up in front of people and talking (unless im after a couple of pints!)

And yes i realise that if/when i qualify i would have to stand up in court but one hurdle at a time!
    I would suggest looking at doing presentation work down the college (if it's involved which I'm sure it is) as your first hurdle then.

i think i read in the yearbook that roleplay activities are prctised, so you may have to bite the bullet,and im sure you know gardai at some time may have to gu=ive talks in schools and nearly always there is a few in court, so you may have to get used to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

Plenty of hurdles for you

Public speaking will be part of your job, but you'd get used to it. As you progress you find your capacity to get up there and speak develops as you feel more confident.

In the college they would occasionally get people up in class to talk, read or whatever.
    Everyone will at some point give a presentation or two as part of it.
    MAOS will have you up in front of the class doing various roleplays with irate people who dont want help shouting at you and you have to try and solve thier problem. Phase 3 - mock court with solicitors cross examining you.

But one step/hurdle at a time - builds confidence and you just do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

the locust wrote: »
    Plenty of hurdles for you

Public speaking will be part of your job, but you'd get used to it. As you progress you find your capacity to get up there and speak develops as you feel more confident.

In the college they would occasionally get people up in class to talk, read or whatever.
    Everyone will at some point give a presentation or two as part of it.
    MAOS will have you up in front of the class doing various roleplays with irate people who dont want help shouting at you and you have to try and solve thier problem. Phase 3 - mock court with solicitors cross examining you.

But one step/hurdle at a time - builds confidence and you just do it

Sounds like Brilliant craic.

Ive done plenty of roleplays and presentations in university so its grand. Nothing to worry about as the classmates you are probably giving the presentation to will be up in a few minutes doing the same again. Ive also got cross-examined by lectures in mock court situation. They really rip you apart and make you look like a fool. But best to get it out of the way in a learning situation before the real thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭The Dude 87

When you are out on phase two whats the story with accomandation??? Do they (the college) sort it out for you or do have to sort it out yourself?? And where do you stay?:confused:

Each student is given a mobile home when leaving after phase 1. You drive to where you are stationed and park it up in the grounds of the station. That will be your base for the six months.

What like a little camper van or something??:o:confused: Sounds fun..............

Seriously??

The allowance that is paid for accomadation in phase 1 (which goes to the college for your upkeep) is paid directly to you for phase 2. It is up to you to sort out accomadation unless you intend and are able to live at home/own your own place. There might be a few of you going to the same station, the group tend to rent a place for the 6 months.

Camper Van? shakes head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭madbadger

Ha, brilliant.....
    Sure didnt ya know 90% of halting sites are full of trainee gards.... hahahha!!!

Seriously??

The allowance that is paid for accomadation in phase 1 (which goes to the college for your upkeep) is paid directly to you for phase 2. It is up to you to sort out accomadation unless you intend and are able to live at home/own your own place. There might be a few of you going to the same station, the group tend to rent a place for the 6 months.

Camper Van? shakes head

So let me get this right when you go out on phase 2 they give you " a mobile home" and give you an extra allowance for accomandation eg food and stuff?? But if you want to you can get like a flat or something and share it with others (provided they are some with you) for the six months...if not you you park your mobile home in the station and reside there for the 6 months???:):):D:D

Sounds like fun.............or does it???:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

So let me get this right when you go out on phase 2 they give you " a mobile home" and give you an extra allowance for accomandation eg food and stuff?? But if you want to you can get like a flat or something and share it with others (provided they are some with you) for the six months...if not you you park your mobile home in the station and reside there for the 6 months???:):):D:D

Sounds like fun.............or does it???:confused::confused:

Yeah, If you ever go to a garda station, have a look around the back. Thats where the phase 2 students park the mobile homes. Out of sight tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

Im gonna go one better. Ill buy a wee 2 man tent and camp out in the back field therefore pocketing the accomodation allowance. Beat that... :D

cmcskeane wrote: »
    Im gonna go one better. Ill buy a wee 2 man tent and camp out in the back field therefore pocketing the accomodation allowance. Beat that... :D

All well and good but you better not think your coming in to my camper van "mobile home" on a stormy night when your tent blows away!!!!:p

Yeah, If you ever go to a garda station, have a look around the back. Thats where the phase 2 students park the mobile homes. Out of sight tho.

I did now that you come to mention it see those a few times around the back alright I just thought they where after impounding them..........:o:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

With the cutbacks, sorry the savings, that are being introduced as part of your phase 2 equipment you now only get a 2 man tent and a survival kit they are auctiooning off all the VW combis they used to give to the phase 2's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭lightyear

Awww man
    I'd have LOVED if that had happened