Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A big sea of naughty bits in June [Spencer Tunick]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    What the fvck is the big deal here? Why is nudity "pervy"?

Hmmm, I think you missed the 'is it' part of my sentence.... and if you read my later post, you probably could have grasped that I _don't_ think it is. I'd love to go, but I don't think I'd be brave enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Hmmm, I think you missed the 'is it' part of my sentence.... and if you read my later post, you probably could have grasped that I _don't_ think it is. I'd love to go, but I don't think I'd be brave enough.

Never said you did - general comment.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

Looks stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'd actually go to it except I'd be afraid of the inevitable........ y'know.......

Getting an erection.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

The Freaks will have a field day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Thaedydal wrote: »
    just because a person is naked does not mean they have given consent to be touched by anyone.

Damn! :mad:

/tears up application

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Phantasm wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be largely perverts who would sign up to that sort of thing anyways?
    Phantasm wrote:
    You're either for or against.
    Chances are that if you're against, you presume it's for perves.

Safe to assume you'll be the first on the phone complaining to Joe Duffy...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Peleus

cornbb wrote: »

I don't like the look of the smiles on the guys on the left. There must have been a fourteen year old girl taking this picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Edit: The men are scary :(. No gheyness for me thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Didnt he try this here a few years ago and it went down like a [insert willie pun here]

Ah yes, last time he captured a very few pasty Galwegians and some ornaments.
    Hours later, 9/11 happened. Hmm

His feature length film/travelogue/documentary site (from over 5 years ago) docu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Phantasm

There's a baby in there!
    Bringing your child to a nudefest is fairly digusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

The site states everyone taking part must be 18 years and people will be asked for id.

Why is having a child see nude people disgusting ?
    What are your issues with the human body ?

The site states everyone taking part must be 18 years and people will be asked for id.

Why is having a child see nude people disgusting ?
    What are your issues with the human body ?

They're clearly not too strict on that one.

I think having your child/baby naked among a number of naked adults is disgusting, not the human body. I may be old fashioned. Oh well.

I think having your child/baby naked among a number of naked adults is disgusting, not the human body.

Why ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,143 ✭✭✭✭Stark

What about bringing your child into a communal changing room? Is that also disgusting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Why ?

The guy has a lot of hang ups about the human body.

Calm down, it was an opinion, not a fact.

It's just something that I would never expose my child to.

And a changing room is very different.
    You don't have your child on display for everyone.
    And people don't touch eachother, lol.

I'm not saying I'm right or wrong, it's just what I think.

I believe my post was supposed to be in response to;
    "Well, who'd be comfortable revealing their flappy bits for the world (well, the bit of it with access to Google Images) to see?"

Well there you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

A bit bollocks by the sounds of it. The after party could be good though! ;D

FunkZ wrote: »
    A bit bollocks by the sounds of it. The after party could be good though! ;D

Nice pun there :p

Ok so you would not want your child seeing people naked, why ?

Personally I think that it would be good as it means that they would see that people come in all shapes and sizes and lump and bump and then not buy into the body dis morphia that is present when the naked or near naked body is portrayed in the media and advertising.

So you would never have a child of yours naked on a beach or in your back garden ?
    The child would not be on display but just naked like everyone else.

Because if two people are naked and touching what so ever it has to be sexual ?

Thats fine but you are judging other people, if you would not do it yourself thats fair enough but to disparage people who think and do otherwise is not on.
    "Well, who'd be comfortable revealing their flappy bits for the world (well, the bit of it with access to Google Images) to see?"
    Well there you go.

The thing is as the art shows the bodys all blend into each other and it hard to pick people out. There is a big difference in a flat static picture of a person naked and that of a living breathing and usually smiling naked person in front of you.

The whole idea of it is pretty cool. I'm not saying anything about that.
    In fact, I'd probably be the type of person to do it myself. Sure, why not?

I just don't think it's a suitable environment for a child. End of.
    It's hard to explain. I guess I've just been brainwashed into believing that the body is a dirty thing :P

I do agree such an event is not suitible for children but that has nothing to do with there being naked people or the children being naked but due to the fact it is going to be a lot of waiting and standing about and holding still and they will get bored.

Calm down, it was an opinion, not a fact.

And a changing room is very different.

Well there you go.

So where does this leave family naturist resorts? Are the Germans all child abusers?

Children are constantly on display in this country. American's have designer wives, we have designer kids. Look at the **** some people get up to on Communion Day!!

The problem here is that noone sat you down and explained to you what sex is and what nudity is.

Small children aren't mature enough to think of nudity or sex as anything other than dirty (not the best adjective) in today's world.
    And I've no doubt that that is subject to change. Especially with more events such as this.

People always give out about children growing up too fast, and you just proved this point about the Communions. They're getting sexually active at a younger age and I think this would just provoke it unless they are taught it properly.
    When I look at this event I see it as a once off thing. For most people, anyways.
    You could be your average fully-clothed family and then one day they decide to go to this.
    That is very different than being brought up in a nudist family.

This sort of thing isn't a curse. I'm not saying that at all. In fact, if people became more familiar and comfortable with nudity then it wouldn't be as big of a deal.

None of this is really relevant if they only allow over 18s to it anyway.

I'm just not really on either side of the fence right now.
    In a sense, I don't think that I would bring my child to this (which DOESN'T mean I think everyone is a child abuser! It's just an example of what I would do!).
    And in another sense, I think it could be a good thing in the long run.

You're projecting adult hangups onto children who are too young to have opinions on the matter. In my experience, very small children don't even notice when themselves or someone else is naked. I brought up the changing rooms example because at my local swimming pool, it was very common for fathers to bring their young daughters into the men's changing room to get dressed. I was at an international sporting event in Sweden before where they had a makeshift communal shower in a field afterwards and about two hundred odd people showering/changing in the area including children. Again, none of the children even seemed to notice although one or two of the more embarrassed adult members in our group commented: "surely there must be something in the junior squad rules against this" :)

Even in Ireland, most kids will happily streak around the house unless an adult tells them not to.

Small children aren't mature enough to think of nudity or sex as anything other than dirty (not the best adjective) in today's world.

I'm sorry, but that is one of the most insane things I've ever read on boards. Small children do not think of nudity as dirty - most of them quiet happily toddle around in their nip after a bath or on a beach! Older ones would to, if we didn;t project our hang-ups on them.

And I've no doubt that that is subject to change. Especially with more events such as this.

I really, really, hope so, because these are the attitudes that hold us back as a modern European culture.

People always give out about children growing up too fast, and you just proved this point about the Communions. They're getting sexually active at a younger age and I think this would just provoke it unless they are taught it properly.

Agreed. But hiding our bodies and telling them that it's dirty is NOT teaching them properly.

When I look at this event I see it as a once off thing. For most people, anyways.
    You could be your average fully-clothed family and then one day they decide to go to this.
    That is very different than being brought up in a nudist family.

Again, I agree. But I don't see a probelm whether you're a fully paid-up naturist or doing it as a one-off.
    This sort of thing isn't a curse. I'm not saying that at all. In fact, if people became more familiar and comfortable with nudity then it wouldn't be as big of a deal.

None of this is really relevant if they only allow over 18s to it anyway.

I'm just not really on either side of the fence right now.
    In a sense, I don't think that I would bring my child to this (which DOESN'T mean I think everyone is a child abuser! It's just an example of what I would do!).
    And in another sense, I think it could be a good thing in the long run.

It's a pity. Both you and your child aould learn so much. (I'm not suggesting you take part, of course!)

How about taking your child to the National Art Gallery..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Actually, it's the other way around.

Small children don't think of nudity as "dirty" until we tell them it is.

By small I don't mean toddlers. I meant like 8+? Sorry >.<

Fair point, but children of any age will get their impressions of nudity and sex from the society they live in. An 8 year old who is told that nudity is dirty or sex is bad will grow up believeing that nudity is dirty and sex is bad. If they're told that nudity is nothing to be ashamed of, they'll grow up believing that nudity is nothing to be ashamed of.

Yeah I know. That's why I said in today's world it's that way alot of the time.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    It's a pity. Both you and your child aould learn so much. (I'm not suggesting you take part, of course!)

How about taking your child to the National Art Gallery..?

By the way, I don't actually have any children. I was speaking hypothetically, lol.

Ah, the old hypoteticla child!!

If God had wanted us to be naturists, we'd have been born that way! :p

Ha, nice one.
    Life would be much easier without clothes.
    You'd save a hell of a lot of money.
    And you wouldn't have to see Penney's etc. in every town ;O

no, if God didnt want us to wear clothes, he would have given us fur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I do agree such an event is not suitible for children but that has nothing to do with there being naked people or the children being naked but due to the fact it is going to be a lot of waiting and standing about and holding still and they will get bored.

No, gonna have to disagree there. Having kids there would be a showroom for paedophiles.

In any event, it's just not suitable having a child exposed to naked people like that.

Jigsaw wrote: »
    In any event, it's just not suitable having a child exposed to naked people like that.

Can you come up with any argument as to why that is so?

Someone mentioned a baby at one point. At a few months old, they can barely recognise simple shapes, let alone be affected by the sight of people's bodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Stark wrote: »

Do you have any young children or young relatives? Imagine you were looking to employ a babysitter and I apply for the job. So you have checked all my employment history which is 100% perfect, you have carried out a criminal records check which has come back 100% clean, my references are perfect and I seem like a decent person all round. You then say you would like to offer me the position. I respond by saying, "That's great - one thing though, do you mind if I carry out my duties naked?"

You see, it's all very well coming off with all this progressive thinking crap while speaking purely in hypothesis.

for babies its fine, but for children its confusing. Children are growing up and learning. If they constantly see people walking around in clothes, they'll realise that wearing clothes is normal. It would be a bit confusing and embarrassing for a child of 6-10 to be surrounded by a load of naked people. They wouldnt know what's going on. Babies on the other hand is grand cos they're babies and are basically oblivious, but i personally, if i had a kid, wouldnt bring him to something like that. It would be weird IMO.

When i was ten, being naked was just weird, even in dressing rooms i found it weird seeing naked people. This hasnt effected me in any way, cos im fine with being naked now.

If the child is actually embarrassed, then fine, it would be cruel to force it to do so. If the child is oblivious, as many children are when they're very young, then I don't see the problem. Parents in European countries like Germany, Austria, the Netherlands etc. regularly have their children in mixed gender nude settings and the children don't turn out warped. And they don't have people walking around nude all the time either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I'm thinking of going myself.

I wonder should you trim the danglers, and mow the arse cress or should you go just as you are??. Could you get a make over on the site?

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Do you have any young children or young relatives? Imagine you were looking to employ a babysitter and I apply for the job. So you have checked all my employment history which is 100% perfect, you have carried out a criminal records check which has come back 100% clean, my references are perfect and I seem like a decent person all round. You then say you would like to offer me the position. I respond by saying, "That's great - one thing though, do you mind if I carry out my duties naked?"

You see, it's all very well coming off with all this progressive thinking crap while speaking purely in hypothesis.

I think msot employers would have a problem if you carried out your duties naked, children present or not!

And what happens if you take said kid swimming? You make them wear a blindfold and say it's just being healthy?

Exposure to nudity does not harm kids (unless against their will). Exposure to narrow minded ignorance, will.

I'm thinking of going myself.

I wonder should you trim the danglers, and mow the arse cress or should you go just as you are??. Could you get a make over on the site?

Mirkin for you quim, madam?!

Have it styled and braided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Have it styled and braided.
    Nah, pebble dashed, stone clad or thatched for the natural look.
    Alternatively consider selling advertising space (by the column inch)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

ah and I thought the English were prudes but looking at this thread!:eek: I think one of these exhibitions was held in Newcastle a few years back and that seemed to go ok - so no excuses about the cold weather now;)

Oh and for the guys worried about getting an unwanted boner;
    1) It WILL be cold - shoot will probably be done in the early hours, dawn so you might find yourself more preoccupied with keeping warm
    2)Unless you're some hormonally charged teenager you shouldn't have any problems keepin control
    3) Mortification - :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Yeah it's something along the lines of -

- No boners
    - No ****
    - No prolonged staring
    - No groping
    - No 'accidental bumping'
    - No "Look at the rack on her" comments

Sounds a bit too much like where I work to me. :(

If the dude is vetting who gets to be in his photos then the result is probably gonna be 3 Irish dudes, no Irish women and several hundred eastern european females.

Wait a min, where do I sign up again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Where do all the people leave their clothes?
    I mean do you leave them in your car and walk for miles or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 letsgoforit

I'm certainly going. People usually leave their clothes very close to the installation. It's very safe. Many security people are watching the clothes while the session is going on. I've been to 2 installations and it went very well. I never been in Ireland but will go for this but also for other business and art related projects.

I am not a model, but I've learned not to be ashamed of my (modest?) body. I'm male 28. This could be a life changing experience, it certainly was for me the first time I did it.

If anyone else is going, let me know if you want to go with me. I would be sort of lost in the city :) Message me for more info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

This could be a life changing experience,

What? gettin naked changed yor life? in what way? i get naked everyday, im all for not bein oppressed by the auld irish way we used to be, but how did it change your life? pleases tell?

ive been gettin naked for the last decade and ahalf, usually drunk, and all my mates too, but we always got into trouble for it, we even had a naked game of football (boots were allowed) but we were busted by the gards and theyve annoyed us ever since!

whats so special about this? sounds like some american cunty brestard creamin money off feckin eejits that think they are being "rebels" in their mid-life crisis!

get a grip, just strip off whenever ya want and feck the begrudgers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,978 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'm certainly going. People usually leave their clothes very close to the installation. It's very safe. Many security people are watching the clothes while the session is going on. I've been to 2 installations and it went very well. I never been in Ireland but will go for this but also for other business and art related projects.

I am not a model, but I've learned not to be ashamed of my (modest?) body. I'm male 28. This could be a life changing experience, it certainly was for me the first time I did it.

If anyone else is going, let me know if you want to go with me. I would be sort of lost in the city :) Message me for more info.

In other words "if you want to get naked and have a good time call 086*******." Smooth!