Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ive got a bit of a semi....(Uefa Cup)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Ok then Ste. Why is a Tallaght man cheering on Rangers?

Honestly?
    Ste is half-german.:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Honestly?

Interesting. Des is right though at the end of the day Rangers are in the Final. They do deserve it but people clearly saying ''yay rangers'' is nonsensical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Honestly?

I like to see (some) British teams do well and offer a bit of support to their supporters on here.

Why should a Tallaght man be cheering on Celtic?

Honestly?

Ad as Des says. I'm half German , I'll support who the **** I like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,346 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

DesF wrote: »
    Ste is half-german.:D:D

Understand the affinity then as you will always hear GSTQ at Mordor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭gary the great

Fair play to Zenit, I really hope they win it, they've been the best team in the competition this year.

I was in St Petersburg earlier in the year and caught a game while i was out there ever since I love them, we all bought jerseys and made them our 2nd teams to support.

They play great football, the fans are crazy, none of this diving crap and they have some top quality players, i mean look at Skertl, came form Zenit and walked straight into the liverpool team and has been immense.

Such a pity Prognaback will miss the final, hes been outstanding this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Babybing wrote: »
    Love all the "congrats rangers" b0llox to show how sphisticated we are in celtic Ireland (or just plain to rile up celtic fans).:rolleyes:

No fan of football should be congratulating that shower of **** tonight. If it was a continental team no one would be saying congratulations.

Fvcking sickening. :mad:

The SH1TE some people go on! What reason do you have to be against Rangers tonight!

This Celtic boll*x that people go on with is just plain stupid and immature!:mad:

Stekelly wrote: »
    I like to see (some) British teams do well and offer a bit of support to their supporters on here.

Honestly?
    Irish connection obviously.

Just like that relatively non-successful Edinburgh team, called after Ireland, who nobody supports.

Tis a bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

Interesting. Des is right though at the end of the day Rangers are in the Final. They do deserve it but people clearly saying ''yay rangers'' is nonsensical.

Exactly. They played to their strengths and it worked.

But a: Its awful to watch and b: this Rangers love in is infantile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Ad as Des says. I'm half German , I'll support who the **** I like.

Ah here

You should know by now the clubs you follow are decided by certain boards.ie members

Honestly?

kmart6 wrote: »
    The SH1TE some people go on! What reason do you have to be against Rangers tonight!

This Celtic boll*x that people go on with is just plain stupid and immature!:mad:

because they have a rabid right wing, anti catholic history and support and a policy of not allowing your fellow Irishmen to play for them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

i liked seeing rangers win tonite.
    we get more mainstream coverage of scottish football so its good to see a team that is close to our shores and speak the same language in a big final...
    god knows that will be missing come Euro 08
    spose we are spoilt now then wat with chelski and utd in the CL final :p

because they have a rabid right wing, anti catholic history and support and a policy of not allowing your fellow Irishmen to play for them?

YES!! and they are EVIL!! wasnt hitler a massive gers fan?
    and wat does religion have to do with liking a team? isnt that one of those things that if u dislike a team cos of religion that u are no better then the set of "rabid" fans doing it in the first place. tis a matter of principle.... ahh doesnt matter, OhIDidntSeeWhoIWasReplyingTo

Has this ever affected you personnaly to such an extent that you couldn't play for Rangers?!?!

Are you trying to say that Celtic doesn't have any anti-prodestant history and support?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Whats wrong with congratulating a team making a final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

This is ****in hilarious.......

I congratulated Celtic on their results in the CL group stages.
    DOes that mean i took part in a "Celtic love in"?
    Does it hell as like.

Fans of a certain club on here, might want to grow up a litle.

Oh by the way? did i say YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS!?:D

Unearthly wrote: »
    Ah here

You should know by now the clubs you follow are decided by certain boards.ie members

No, but I have yet to hear a reasonable explaination for Irishmen to support a team with Rangers previous in terms of their anti-Irish and catholic traditions other that trying to get a reaction.

Its like 10 year olds drawing swastikas in art class. trying to get any reaction they can.

No, but I have yet to hear a reasonable explaination for Irishmen to support a team with Rangers previous in terms of their anti-Irish and catholic traditions other that trying to get a reaction.
    If people didn't react, then perhaps it wouldn't happen then, eh?

Its like 10 year olds drawing swastikas in art class. trying to get any reaction they can.

Or making up stories about murdered children? :eek:

Has this ever affected you personnaly to such an extent that you couldn't play for Rangers?!?!

Are you trying to say that Celtic doesn't have any anti-prodestant history and support?!

You have no problem with no Irish people being allowed play for the club?

Whatever about elements of the support, Celtic FC have absolutely no 'anti-protestant' history.

Stein, Dalgliesh, Larsson were all what religion?

Lads relax with all the Rangers loving, it is a bit ghey, if you wanna discuss that crap start a new thread.

this is for discussing the games tonight.

Rangers V Zenit in manchester, can see Zenit attacking quite a bit. 2 tough teams with no Drogbas should be a good game.

I think Zenit have to much class for them tbh but will miss Prognaback really bad, hes scored 10 in the Uefa cup this season, why oh why wasnt he taken off earlier. Will be such a shame that probably the best player of the tournament will miss the final.

Quite a bit of potential for trouble that night, both sets of fans would be rough enough customers, sure the Zenit fans were celebrating by ripping the seats off, in their own stadium after winning 4 nil :-)

Whats wrong with congratulating a team making a final?
    Seems that it's just cause it's Rangers,and people on this are so 'hardcore' bout Celtic that ya can't be doing that!

Eirebear wrote: »
    heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

because they have a rabid right wing?

Dont care for politics

anti catholic history

I'm about as active a Catholic as Ian Paisly
    and support and a policy of not allowing your fellow Irishmen to play for them

They dont seem to have an active anti German policy.

The anti Irish poilicy is understandable. The good ones play in England. hy buy the rest of the ****e to be politically correct. :)

Lads relax with all the Rangers loving, it is a bit ghey, if you wanna discuss that crap start a new thread.

But Celtic loving is all manly and straight?

Made up?

It was an innocent error on the age and retracted in full. However, Rangers fans did kill a Celtic fan this weekend.

Yet Des still thinks its 'cool' to provoke a reaction. Would he get away with it on here if it were an English fan murdered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

In fairness if you were amongst their supporters and let it slip that you were German I wouldn't expect them to react too kindly...

You are so wrong about Celtic as a club. Try to educate yourself. There are muppets in the Celtic support just like supporters of all other clubs

Dont care for politics

The anti Irish poilicy is understandable. The good ones play in England. hy buy the rest of the ****e to be politically correct. :)

Catholic in a cultural sort of way, just like Jews in the US.

The opposite in fact, as evidenced by the, ahem, 'red hand salutes' in Tel Aviv...

You have no problem with no Irish people being allowed play for the club?

Whatever about elements of the support, Celtic FC have absolutely no 'anti-protestant' history.

Stein, Dalgliesh, Larsson were all what religion?
    No I don't really,it doesn't affect me!

Sur what reason do you to have anything against Rangers!?

In fairness if you were amongst their supporters and let it slip that you were German I wouldn't expect them to react too kindly...

What? Dont be so ****ing stupid.

As celtic have with ST Pauli, Rangers fans have massive relations with fans of Hamburg, who travel regularly to ibrox....last time i checke they were german.

Yet Des still thinks its 'cool' to provoke a reaction. Would he get away with it on here if it were an English fan murdered?
    I wasn't trying to provoke a reaction because of a murder.

The first I'd heard about it was when you made up the stuff about the murdered kid.

See, I don't frequent Celtic MBs, strangely.

That smilie is so relevant for that post.

Catholic in a cultural sort of way, just like Jews in the US.
    The opposite in fact, as evidenced by the, ahem, 'red hand salutes' in Tel Aviv...

Once again it is the Celtic "fans" who take it all back to religion.

Move on

Dont care for politics

No im not saying that, i dont really give a toss for Celtic or rangers and whether an irishman can play for rangers blah blah blah has nothing to do with tonights games. I love Zenit and want to talk about their win. If i could do that on another froum I would, but unfortunatly all the active Zenit forums are in Russian!

You are so wrong about Celtic as a club. Try to educate yourself. There are muppets in the Celtic support just like supporters of all other clubs
    Yeah exactly,like every other club! Your saying every Celtic fan ain't like that,but neither would every Rangers fan,but yet that can't be accepted on this forum!

1: As an Irishman I object to the way their club treated the Irish diaspora in west Scotland.

2: As a socialist I object to the bigotry and employment bias at club level and the racism and fascism on their terraces

3: As a football fan on the basis of their negativity and cynicism.

That enough?

As celtic have with ST Pauli, Rangers fans have massive relations with fans of Hamburg, who travel regularly to ibrox....last time i checke they were german.

Don't be so ****ing ridiculous. I wager the majority of them would react to a German the way they'd react to an Irishman - with utter disdain. Their idea of 'Britishness' is right-wing xenophobia.

1: As an Irishman I object to the way their club treated the Irish diaspora in west Scotland.

2: As a socialist I object to the bigotry and employment bias at club level and the racism and fascism on their terraces

That enough?

4. Your just a little bit bitter......

Yeah exactly,like every other club! Your saying every Celtic fan ain't like that,but neither would every Rangers fan,but yet that can't be accepted on this forum!

But you claimed Celtic as a club had an 'anti' bias. Thats innaccurate.

4. Your just a little bit bitter......

Not in the least. I would prefer if you werent in the final for a number of reasons, but I won't lose any sleep over it.

But feel free to contradict any of the other 3.

That enough?
    The racism and negativity can be said about Celtic as well! Your just been blinded by this whole 'I'm Irish I have to support Celtic till I die,and Rangers are a shower of Cu*nts' crap that it seems is never going to disappear!

Don't be so ****ing ridiculous. I wager the majority of them would react to a German the way they'd react to an Irishman - with utter disdain. Their idea of 'Britishness' is right-wing xenophobia.

Get a frickin grip.
    Theres plenty of racism to be found in Ireland, just take a look at the AH board 90% of the time youll find it.

And of course celtic fans are all proud of their affinity to Ireland.......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

in fairness, OhNoYouDidnt is the last person whos opinion id take in regards to fans of clubs.

But do Rangers have the friendship with Hamburg simply because Celtic started being pals with their rivals or is it because of their ferocious right wing support?

Or a bit of both?

The racism and negativity can be said about Celtic as well! Your just been blinded by this whole 'I'm Irish I have to support Celtic till I die,and Rangers are a shower of Cu*nts' crap that it seems is never going to disappear!

What racism is there to be said about Celtic? Seriously?

Not in the least. I would prefer if you werent in the final for a number of reasons, but I won't lose any sleep over it.

But feel free to contradict any of the other 3.

As ive said before.
    YOU are one of the people who brought this all down to religion i havnt seen any person on here congratulating Rangers speak about it.

Move on

Get a frickin grip.
    Theres plenty of racism to be found in Ireland, just take a look at the AH board 90% of the time youll find it.

And of course celtic fans are all proud of their affinity to Ireland.......

I never said there wasn't racism in Ireland. I've been to matches at Lansdowne and been annoyed to hear the SF/IRA crap. I just object to the idea that Rangers FC should be held up as a pinnacle of virtue when it is clearly anything but.

As ive said before.
    YOU are one of the people who brought this all down to religion i havnt seen any person on here congratulating Rangers speak about it.

Move on

So we are expected to discuss Glasgow Rangers without reference to religion?

Move on my swiss, your club had a discriminatory policy against people of a certain religion for longer than they havent and in the context of why people dislike your club its to be brushed over?

Sorry mate, and I get the feeling you are a thoroughly decent guy, but you arent getting off that hook so easily.

What racism is there to be said about Celtic? Seriously?
    Right well sorry I only said racism since that's what you seemed to want to call it! Sectarianism is what you were looking for,and that's there between both clubs! If you try to deny that everyone may as well stop posting in response to you!!!

Right I'm off to bed, I have half an office of smiling gits to face tomorrow.

Anyway, the biggest reason I am so hacked off tonight is the fact that the SPL have ruined the end of the season now as they have wrecked my plans to bring my brother to Tannadice for the last game of the season. Feckers

Right well sorry I only said racism since that's what you seemed to want to call it! Sectarianism is what you were looking for,and that's there between both clubs! If you try to deny that everyone may as well stop posting in response to you!!!

Football rivalry is a classic form of sectarianism