Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda success

• 27-04-2008 11:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭

It seems to me that the Gardai are making arrests and seizing arms and drugs on a daily basis lately. Well done guys (and girls). Credit where credit is due.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Definitely......if there's even a few less scumbags on the streets then at least we're that much better off....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Couldn't agree more OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

its just a pity it takes 2 murders and some drive by shootings for them to get their finger out!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

vkid wrote: »
    its just a pity it takes 2 murders and some drive by shootings for them to get their finger out!!

Depends on who you choose to blame......the Government promised zero tolerance at one stage to help get themselves elected and didn't follow up on it. They also still haven't put in all the extra Gardai (nationwide, not just in Limerick) that they promised.

The truth is probably somewhere in between those two extremes, but we'll probably never know exactly where.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Harpy

well done to them, its also nice to see them get the praise when its deserved..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Yeah, fair play to them.

Hope they keep it up while they have momentum on their side. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭MonsieurD

It seems to me that the Gardai are making arrests and seizing arms and drugs on a daily basis lately. Well done guys (and girls). Credit where credit is due.

Well said Builderfromhell

They are definitely doing a lot of good. BUT.. I've just made a comment on another thread that is relevant here. What undos all the Guards great work ... the Judges of Ireland. The pathetic and inconsistent sentences handed out are the reason that Ireland has ascended to the current levels of crime that we now live in fear of!

If the judges have not got the balls to dish out sentences, then take away their privileges to determine lengths of sentences.