Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Soccer Board Beers

• 28-04-2008 3:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

OK.

After a comment in a thread a few days ago, I'll try this once again.

Would you be interested in going for a few beers with the people who post on the Soccer Forum?

The English Season is nearly over, and the Euros are on this Summer, so I was thinking we could meet for one of the games in that.

A Group Match? A Quarter Final. The Quarter Final England are most likely to feature in?

I think a Friday or Saturday would probably be best, Friday works well for BGRH, as everyone just comes in after work, and them beers have become pretty good nights out.

Anyway, this is just a simple poll to see if there is interest, so if there is enough interest, if enough people want to do this, I'll volunteer my organising skillz. Get a place booked etc etc.

Anyway, have a think, then vote.

1. I'd Definitely go, tell me where and when.
    2. I'd go if the Date and Venue suited me.
    3. Prpbably would go, I'll decide when it's announced.
    4. No - I wouldn't drink with you bastards.

Would you go to a Soccer Board Beers? 45 votes

I'd Definitely go, tell me where and when.
    0%
    I'd go if the Date and Venue suited me.
    13%
    Pepe LeFritsIrishMike_blank_ROCKMANkryogenMIN2511 6 votes
    Probably would go, I'll decide when it's announced.
    66%
    PHBThanx 4 The FishBounty HunterBKtjeSeanehkaimeraHelixtherecklessoneIago20 Times 20 TimesKingp35ziggyarbeitsscheuerThE_IVIAcIVIAIVMr.Nice GuyJonny Arsonchopperbyrneemc2~Rebel~Nunu 30 votes
    No - I wouldn't drink with you bastards.
    20%
    roar_iebohsmanBernsChardee MacDennisJazzyeZe^DSBpatrickcOhNoYouDidn't 9 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,056 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Would a proper poll not have been better Des?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

No- I wouldnt drink with you bastards (especially that Mr Alan fella...:p)

In all seriousness, Dublins a long way to go for a pint!
    The Quarter Final England are most likely to feature in?

Eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Would a proper poll not have been better Des?
    Yes, it would.

It's weird, Boards posts the thread, then you have to make the poll.

It's there now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Eirebear! I'm ****ing sound! :(

Fúck sake.

England ain't in the Euros.

Bollix.

:o:o:o:o:o

So anyway, dum-di-dum, beers...you want to go?

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Eirebear! I'm ****ing sound! :(

Im only kiddin with ya Mr A........honest.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

I work about 130 miles away from Dublin so it's unlikely that a regular Friday evening would suit me. But if i was on hols or in Dublin for the day, i would be up for it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Yes purlease!

I'll get Neil1984 to this too if it happens......:)

European Championships

Friday, 13 June 2008
    Italy v Romania, 17:00
    Holland v France, 19:45

The quarters are the following weekend.

That'd be a perfect night!

or maybe a tasty spain game! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

European Championships

Friday, 13 June 2008

Lightweight...What about the Champs League final, If Manu and Liverpool qualify? :D first round on me......

The prospect of being the Gooner meat in a drunk and rambunctious Man United - Liverpool sandwich fills me with dread...

As does the midweek hangover!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

YES... WELL UP FOR THIS
    A night on the beer in Dublin ,:D
    Just need when and where, plus one week's notice
    When location is decided may need help(pms ) ie good B&B's or Hotel's nearby

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Wouldn't drink with you bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

People with very strong soccer opinions, mixed with drink - what could possibly go wrong :)

Thing is, right, that In Real Life most people aren't as aggressive (or opinionated or whatever) as they would be on here.

Anyway, I'll see how the voting goes, we already have a decent suggestion for a game to go and watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Ah sure, long as I'm around I'll probably head along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,913 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Where's the the "I would drink with you bastards if you pay my air fare" option?

kaimera wrote: »
    Ah sure, long as I'm around I'll probably head along.
    You can go, as long as you don't mention the gah. :)
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    Where's the the "I would drink with you bastards if you pay my air fare" option?
    You think these bastards would pay your air-fare? :p

Im not sure, but i dont think this is the first time theres been a soccer beers?

Anyway most people on here come across as decent normal human beings who generally arent going to go and get into a scrap over a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

yeah i'll go , i'm coming home next week first time in 26months . . . Just in time for dundalk vs shels. . . Now i'm sure i speak for everyone saying that a match would not suit. .. . . Yeah so count me in . . If i drive i have no problem driving a few of the louth people down . . . Pighead maybe

Eirebear wrote: »
    Im not sure, but i dont think this is the first time theres been a soccer beers?
    In four years of posting here, I've never known of a Boards.ie Soccer Beers tbh.
    Anyway most people on here come across as decent normal human beings who generally arent going to go and get into a scrap over a game.
    lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

DesF wrote: »
    You can go, as long as you don't mention the gah. :)
    Now there's rules?

I thought this meet would be like Pats v Linfield? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

no one has mentioned a veue yet (i think) so ill mention one-the woolshed parnel street its the sports baa and grill-brilliant place for beers and especially during big sports games-the atmosphere is always savage!!

Yeah, the Woolshed is decent, can an area be reserved.

I was in Sinnotts on the Green on Wednesday evening for the ManYoo/Barca match, and that was good craic too.

Don't know about reserving an area though.

We can talk about venue/date if the interest is good.

At the moment there are 3 Deffo :), 7 if it suits :) and 4 wouldn't drink with you bastards :mad:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

:D C'mon, name and shame... who's not in the "most" category?

Is it me? Is it me? :cool:

Should be a public poll. Name and shame the bastards!

It is a public poll.

Well, I can see who voted for what...you bastard.

It is a public poll.

Well, I can see who voted for what...you bastard.

It is? All I can see is results and percentages.

EDIT: Problem solved. I just had to click on the poll. And yep, I'm a bastard. Seeing as you won't fund my trip home.

i would prefer to go somewhere that we can chat . .

It is? All I can see is results and percentages.
    Hmmm.

If I click the numbers, I can see the voters.

Sarge wrote: »
    i would prefer to go somewhere that we can chat . .

Ya big ghey!!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

If it suits +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Yeah, the Woolshed is decent, can an area be reserved.

yeah you can, if theres enough of us they open up a back room upstairs which is amazing (my friend had a 21st there) otherwise they'll just reserve some tables (probably the slightly raised area upstairs)

In four years of posting here, I've never known of a Boards.ie Soccer Beers tbh.
    Fair enough, i must have imagined it!
    PauloMN wrote: »
    :D C'mon, name and shame... who's not in the "most" category?

Is it me? Is it me? :cool:

Nah, your alright Paul....most of the time:p
    I dont think naming and shaming is a good idea...ill just say If the cap fits....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

European Championships

Friday, 13 June 2008

As for venue suggestions. Maybe O'Neills if an area there can be reserved? Woolshed's pretty good but can get a little too jammers like. Great sportsbar tho.

My preference would be a place called The Living Room, just off O'Connell st. Great pub, lotsa screens, bags of room. Quality. Dunno if an area can be reserved there tho...

Well I really hope this does happen and is a success. I'll be home for three weeks in Feb so wouldn't mind getting one sorted for then as well.

Guest appearance for Boardeaux on the cards?

Ah now don't know if that'd be fair on the lads who play week in week out. Let's just say if you're short I'll be very interested.....

I'll definitely be down at all the games I'm in the country for anyway.

So can you bring me some timtams please . Love you long time . . . Oh oh the caramel one's

Sarge wrote: »
    So can you bring me some timtams please . Love you long time . . . Oh oh the caramel one's
    You can buy TimTams in Dunnes/Tesco now :)

Will YOU bring me some Burger Rings, please.

And some Cherry Ripes.

Cherry Ripes? You sick f**k

You can buy TimTams in Dunnes/Tesco now :)

Will YOU bring me some Burger Rings, please.

And some Cherry Ripes.

Oh thats good news , love them coles burger rings. . On a side note you goin to the dundalk shels game next week ? And where can i sign up to the boards team . I'm home soon and have some man bombs to get she of

bloody using n95 so text is not my strong point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

pepe picked a good one there, im sure he considered EL fans and checked that it was the summer break :D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,198 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Id have no problem with travelling to Dublin for the night, once im in the country (and ideally if someone could put me up?), but theres a decent chance ill stay over here till after the euro's, place to be and all that. If it gets a bit delayed till July, Im there though! Still some chance i might be back early, all depends on cash really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,066 ✭✭✭BKtje

Holland v France, 19:45#
    Hup Holland Hup!

Can probably count me in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

No - I wouldn't drink with you bastards.
    i would go but unfortunately i cant drink for the next 3 months :/ pain in the ass