Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Grand Theft Auto IV - 39.99

• 29-04-2008 8:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭

Grand Theft Auto IV - 39.95

Heads up on this lads

All tesco's are selling this for 39.99 - i could not believe it when i got to the til.

Not sure how many of each version they had, but it was 39.95 for both xbox 360 and PS3

EDIT - Actually only 39.95

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,164 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Ditto in limerick Tesco. I have it on my desk and was only €39.95

It is a promo of some sort if you look at the receipt, maybe launch day, maybe by the numbers, Get it while it's good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,054 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Yep, great value alright.

Have ordered my copy from a crowd online for about €47, but gonna have the better half check when she's on her way to work if there's any left in Sligo.

Doubtful but worth a shot!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The Tesco's anywhere near me either have a rubbish games selection, think it took them about 3 months after release before I ever saw Halo 3 on their shelves and they certainly didn't have any copies of GTA today, or the other Tesco don't do any games at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

robinph wrote: »
    The Tesco's anywhere near me either have a rubbish games selection, think it took them about 3 months after release before I ever saw Halo 3 on their shelves and they certainly didn't have any copies of GTA today, or the other Tesco don't do any games at all.

What Tesco's did you check?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭johndoe77ie

Jervis st sold out

Good few left in Sligo.. got my copy! :D

Must sell my copy I ordered online so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,583 ✭✭✭savemejebus

A mate was looking for one and called the Roxboro centre in Limerick. They wanted €59.99 for the 360 version :eek:

Must me a mistake savemejebus.. tell him to go to the store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,583 ✭✭✭savemejebus

I already did :) and told him to wear his arguing shoes too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Anyone check in Galway ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

checked tesco in Dun Laoghaire SC and they don't sell games and the one in Bloomfields have none left.....

According to another GTA thread, there's none left in:
    • Baggot St Upper and Lower
    • Rathmines
    • Jervis St
    • Bloomfields
    • Ballybrack
    • Clearwater
    • Maynooth
    Will update this post as I hear of other branches selling out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,954 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Smiley012

bought mine in game for 65euro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

Useless articles in Tesco Galway hadn't opened the electrical section when I dropped in this morning at 8:30 :mad:. Hopefully there should be a few copies left for a while, not many will be there later when word gets around on this price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

I think I got the last one in Tesco in Ashbourne. They've a small games selection and I couldn't see it at first as it was overshadowed by other boxes being 3 deep.

Didn't see any PS3 ones - not sure if they do PS3 games, they don't do Wii games anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭TakeTheVeil

Anyone know how much Xrtavision and Smyths are charging. They're usually the next cheapest option after Tesco.

(Have Gamestop ever had an offer on anything?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,954 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭thenobody

All gone in Tesco Maynooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

65 in Smyths, think its the same in XtraVision.
    Got it in Harvey Norman for 56, only 1 left there in Blanch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

all gone in tesco Wilton cork, also the xtravision :(

69euro in golden discs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,495 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

reminds me of them selling super mario galaxy for 39.99. that game is only showing up on shelves again now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Lister1

Any Tescos in the city centre with copies left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

rang up Tesco Bray where was told they were sold out and they believe everywhere else is 2.

anyone know is the 39.95 price only for today???? or should i just wait it out and pick it up for that price when they net get stock in?

bigslick wrote: »
    or should i just wait it out and pick it up for that price when they net get stock in?
    Think it's only a promotional price for the day bigslick..

EDIT: Actually, an ad in The Metro said:
    Offer valid until 6/5/08

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭cj2007

tesco stillorgan havnt got them in yet coming in the afternoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Hmm i bought 3 copies in Tesco Lucan last night at 1215,

59.95 each,

What do you think my chances are of going back with the receipt and trying to claim the difference back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

cj2007 wrote: »
    tesco stillorgan havnt got them in yet coming in the afternoon

Any particular time? :p and is it ps3 or just 360? if its ps3 ill race up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭Soarer

Was 2 left in Tesco Midleton while ago, and I took one of them.

On display for €59.99, the girl scanned it and said "That's 59.99 so please". I said, "you sure?", and she came back with " oh wait, there's €20 off, so that'll be €39.99 so".:rolleyes:

Don't know if she was trying to pull a fast one or what.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Weaselator

Sold out in Clarehall, Santry and Ballymun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,960 ✭✭✭Soarer

WellyJ wrote: »

59.95 each,

What do you think my chances are of going back with the receipt and trying to claim the difference back?

Should be no bother.

Even if they don't want to refund the difference, return them for a full cash refund, and then re-buy them from yer wan before she puts them back on display.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭cj2007

bigslick wrote: »
    Any particular time? :p and is it ps3 or just 360? if its ps3 ill race up there

no idea just went in and asked and they were like sometime in the afternoon and im looking for both and app they have both coming in later..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭TheCaveman

Anybody knows if Dundrun have any ?

Or Stillorgan ?

Cant phone them till after lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭ninty

TheCaveman wrote: »
    Anybody knows if Dundrun have any ?

Or Stillorgan ?

Cant phone them till after lunch

Think u can forget about tescos, next best bet is harvey norman €56 and their guaranteed lowest price argument. Bought one there myself but was'nt up to the fight(only for the true bargain hunters),pc world €60 and they have same price promise plus 10% of difference.€65 euros smyths and 5% back on loyalty card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Called into Tesco in Roxboro in Limerick, and it is scanning at 59.99 on the tills there for the 360 version.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭johnnyboy08

Think Tesco in Ardkeeen, Waterford were out of 360 version, didn't see PS3 version anywhere

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

WellyJ wrote: »
    That's why there wasn't any when I went in there this morning then.

Got one reserved in Argos in Stephens Green now though, they just hadn't opened their delivery yet when I went in a few minutes ago so have to pop back in a while.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

anyone know if there's any left in Tesco Mahon Point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dohboy

Sold out in Wilton, Mahon Point, and they got none into Paul Street according to some Tesco lady I just called on the phone there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Paul St. is the worst Tesco store ever, they never get anything new in, i think theyre still selling Xbox1 games!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

basquille wrote: »
    Good few left in Sligo.. got my copy! :D

Must sell my copy I ordered online so!

Feck sake.
    I went to Gamestop but they were sold out.
    So instead of lumping my fat ass to Tesco I took the easy route to Xtravision. €60. Bulling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Lads there is about 15 Xbox 360 copies and 20 or so PS3 left in Tesco Nenagh for anybody close to it. JUst got myself a copy for the 360 and i know the merchendiser fairly well, he said they have about 5 of each left over in the back and put about 20 on the stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭mgsrocks

Weaselator wrote: »
    Sold out in Clarehall, Santry and Ballymun!

Who told you that? im just after coming from clarehall, none on the shelfs, you have to go the electronics desk at the back. Got mine for 40 but they said its only one per customer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Anarking

I was gonna swing by Santry on my way home from work, anyone have a number for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

None left in Dundrum

• Registered Users Posts: 7 tooler10

none left in athlone - delivery thurs morning they think

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Weaselator

mgsrocks wrote: »
    Who told you that? im just after coming from clarehall, none on the shelfs, you have to go the electronics desk at the back. Got mine for 40 but they said its only one per customer.
    Ahh ffs, I rang em rather than taking the 5 minute spin over to see.
    Was there many left for the 360?

Edit; just been into Clarehall and they're all out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Mikey23

None in Tesco Galway. Good thing I'd prebooked in HMV - scarcely any to be found anywhere around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Dont GAME and Gamespot price match ?

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭philbee

just got mine in tescos nenagh branch :D, 4 left for 360