Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My turn for steaks

• 30-04-2008 10:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭

I'm going to Shanahans for dinner.....mmmmm

this thread brought to you by The Spelling Assocaition of Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mr Minraise

In before lock.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭mickc

you spelt association wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Idoubtit

I'm in for the Filet Mignon 12 oz

340g Guaranteed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Spelling Assocaition

:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

bops wrote: »
    :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭elmolesto

Im in for Tournedos (6oz / 174g)

Chilled Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
    with Whole Grain Mustard -Tarragon Aïoli.

Crisp Pork Shank and Cracklings
    with Melted Cabbage & Leeks and a Spiced Apple Sauce.

Cookies and Cream Cheesecake
    with an Oreo Cookie Crust and Chocolate & Vanilla Sauces.

TY

bops wrote: »
    Chilled Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
    with Whole Grain Mustard -Tarragon Aïoli.

Crisp Pork Shank and Cracklings
    with Melted Cabbage & Leeks and a Spiced Apple Sauce.

Cookies and Cream Cheesecake
    with an Oreo Cookie Crust and Chocolate & Vanilla Sauces.

TY

bops, have you ever been to Shanahans? You'd need a stretcher to be lifted out of the place after that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Mr Minraise

Are you going there with a big crowd or just for a romantic meal?

If your going there with a crowd, id seriously adivse you to play credit card roulette, it's the only way you can avoid having to dish out for an expensive steak. Things could go wrong though.

The most i've ever done this for was a 'Meal Deal for 4' from Dominoes and i lost. I run bad.

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=189142

bops, have you ever been to Shanahans? You'd need a stretcher to be lifted out of the place after that!

yes, but i'm hungry and it's on you (i'll eat it if it kills me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

20 years with the company last year and I was brought to Shanahans,

The nicest steak ive ever had, and the onion rings, oh my god... they are an art creation in themselves

my Boss who was sitting beside me had
    the Bone-In Rib Eye (24 oz / 681g)

All I can say is that there was enough meat between his teeth to make a shepherds pie the next day, and he ate if rare, shudder shudder.

Crisp snow white napkins, small individual rolled towels in bathrooms, beautiful building, the Company paying for the Bill..... PRICELESS

• Registered Users Posts: 729 ✭✭✭spectre

Tell me Elstuntman, is Shanhans as good as people say?

I was in Argentina a few months ago and I've been bitterly dissapointed at the steak I've had since my return.

Without exageration, I've had steak so tender that the knife was not required. If any of you are going to Buenos Aires, I recommend going to a steakhouse called La Cabrera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

Ah shut up the lot of yiz. Yer making me hungry.

Mrs Arama made me sambo's this morning so I'd stay at the PC and actually do some work rather than wander down to Billy Hill's.

But now I want a steak, medium rare, all de trimmings...

Off to Luigi Malone's first chance FTW!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Please enter me for this tournament, I have polished up the last 5 steaks I've been involved with and left the rail gasping in admiration. I've never played in Shannans tournys before but I hear the fish are especially nice. Also I NEVER leak the chips...get yer own.... Are there normally many waiting at the tables.

spectre wrote: »

honest opinion? no - for the price

it's nice but it's outrageously expensive. I suspect that my frequent trips to South Africa have spoilt me for steak-eating here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Are you going there with a big crowd or just for a romantic meal?

If your going there with a crowd, id seriously adivse you to play credit card roulette, it's the only way you can avoid having to dish out for an expensive steak. Things could go wrong though.

The most i've ever done this for was a 'Meal Deal for 4' from Dominoes and i lost. I run bad.

http://forumserver.twoplustwo.com/showthread.php?t=189142
    lol ehk9yc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I've only ever read about that place in the Aer Lingus magazine..figured if they were advertising there it couldnt be much good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭califano

is all in the temperature they sear the steak to seal in the juices so im told.
    The home made bread actually melts in your mouth. Onion ring aside would fill 3 people.
    New napkin when you come back to your seat. I wouldnt expect you vultures to notice that though(ok i confess i had to be told).

forgetaboutit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

I dream of going there, I'm a big steak fan.

Actually Odessa do a nice steak was there a few weeks ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

DeadParrot wrote: »
    Actually Odessa do a nice steak was there a few weeks ago

Not a fan of Odessa. The steak wasnt great and the side dishes were just plain awful on my last visit.

Borsollino's in Meath/ Drogheda does a fantastic steak, its a bit pricey though, not as pricey as this Shanahan's (made up Oirish name) place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Onion Rings, home made bread and the mash potatoes are world class in shanahans. Steak is delicious but for the price of things I expected more to be honest.

Nicest steak I've ever eaten was in an argentinian restaurant in playa de ingles in Gran Canaria. Was simply unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,420 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

lol, I've been semi-bluffed!

apparently we are going to Hugos instead

bad beat given that I've been starving myself all day...

anyway, please let you all start spelling correctly now. I start getting itchy and nervous when I see words being used out of context

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

shoutman wrote:
    Nicest steak I've ever eaten was in an argentinian restaurant in playa de ingles in Gran Canaria. Was simply unbelievable.
    Same here, except it was in an Argentinian restaurant in the Costa Del Sol, I've actually flown back there with my brother and a couple of friends for a weekend just to go to that restaurant. There's some special kind of side sauce stuff you get with it and it's just amazing!!
    I was in Argentina a few months ago and I've been bitterly dissapointed at the steak I've had since my return.
    I fear you may never be able to eat steak again, if the Argentinian restaurants in the Costa and Gran Canaria (of all places) are anything to go by, I can't imagine how good the real deal in Argentina is.

I've also heard about an amazing Argentinian in Valencia that's meant to be great, (but not as good as the one in Fuengirola (Costa Del Sol) apparently).

Hmmm, mod hat on.

A good point made by ElS in the OP, I can't really leave this thread here, and I don't wanna lock it, so if y'all don't mind I'll just move it to the BB thread... :(

Feck it, I'll leave it here for the day and move it when it dies, I think we need something a little bit more light hearted around here these days.

Now can anyone compare Shanahan's to any of these Argentinian restaurants?? It would obviously be cheaper to go there then to be flying to Spain for a steak. (It's really worth it though!!)

this place has ruined Irish steak for me, watch the vid

can't imagine what Argentinian must taste like. I think we should get Lucky Lloyd to blog his best steak moments on his travels

Ste05 wrote: »
    Now can anyone compare Shanahan's to any of these Argentinian restaurants?? It would obviously be cheaper to go there then to be flying to Spain for a steak. (It's really worth it though!!)

I dunno, im not sure how expensive a flight to the Costa is but id say Shanahan must be more expensive. If its not expensive its not worth it, that goes for Hookers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

We had Argentinian friends over dinner and my wife gave them beef. Bad beat.

Lee Arama - joke for you.

Three guys in canteen with sambos. First fellow opens his says "fcuking ham sandwiches, thats all I get" and fcuks them in the bin. Second opens his says "****ing chicken sandwiches, thats all I get" and fcuks them in the bin. Kerryman (and I'm one btw) throws his in the bin without opening them and says "fcuking jam sandwiches, that all I get". Other lads say "how did you know they were jam sandwiches". He says "I made them myself". Sorry. :o

Killme00 wrote: »
    I dunno, im not sure how expensive a flight to the Costa is but id say Shanahan must be more expensive. If its not expensive its not worth it, that goes for Hookers too.
    It works out at about €250 for flights and a hotel for a weekend, (if you can get cheap flights) then booze and the €40 or whatever it costs for the steak and wine. But I make alot of that back by buying hundreds of cigarettes at less then half the price of over here, so all in all it about breaks even for the steak. Speaking of which I'll have to head back soon, I'm running out of smokes...

Also, a blog of the best steaks around the world would be most welcome from Lloyd.

EDIT: I found the name of the place here

ESTILO CAMPO Steakhouse Tel: 952 664 789
    Situated in the famous "Hunger Street" in Fuengirola, this popular restaurant specialises in Argentinean charcoal grills. Sample the delicious sirloin and fillet steaks and the succulent leg of lamb. To avoid disappointment please reserve your table.
    Open from 18.30 to 24.00 Sunday: 13.30 to 16.30 and 18.30 to 24.00 Closed Tuesday.

shoutman wrote: »

I've been there...
    Steak was HANGING over the side of the plate...
    gorgeous
    Killme00 wrote:
    Not a fan of Odessa. The steak wasnt great and the side dishes were just plain awful on my last visit.

Maybe I got lucky but the steak was amazing, the sides
    of pancetta & savoy cabbage crushed potato, wild mushrooms & red wine shallot butter were homer%20drool.gif

Ste05 wrote: »
    Also , a blog of the best steaks around the world would be most welcome from Lloyd.

it's settled then, someone please register bigjuicysteaks.blogspot.com

wp Lloyd

it's settled then, someone please register bigjuicysteaks.blogspot.com

wp Lloyd
    LOL, I'm loving all the work you've been allocating to Lloyd lately. :D

He leaves work only to be given a different workload by El Stuntman... :pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭califano

I heard Argentina is a kidnapping mecca nowadays so white lads would be a target. Philipe Contopomi's brother got kidnapped there and that sparked the stories i heard. If your living there maybe get sanderson blinds to metal curtain the windows.
    Im not sure id risk it just for the steaks.

I've also heard that Argentinian steaks are riddled with steroids.
    Flavor enhancing ones obv

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Sigh.
    I hope you registered that blogspot name... :D

careca wrote: »
    Lee Arama - joke for you.

Three guys in canteen with sambos. First fellow opens his says "fcuking ham sandwiches, thats all I get" and fcuks them in the bin. Second opens his says "****ing chicken sandwiches, thats all I get" and fcuks them in the bin. Kerryman (and I'm one btw) throws his in the bin without opening them and says "fcuking jam sandwiches, that all I get". Other lads say "how did you know they were jam sandwiches". He says "I made them myself". Sorry. :o

Another one for you, guy walks into a butcher asks him from some rib eye steak, butcher gets a step ladder to get the
    Carcass down from it's lofty hook......guys say. I bet you a tenner you can't get it down without the stepladder.
    Butcher says, naaw the steaks are too high man.

to keep the thread on poker topic, why not have a 50 euro sit n go for a meal in Shannnnnnans....no need to move it now Steo...

I can set up a private tournament on stars for the purpose. I think if you make it $30 + 3 and get 18+ runners the winner will have enough for a fine two course meal.

Sounds delicious

I can set up a private tournament on stars for the purpose. I think if you make it $30 + 3 and get 18+ runners the winner will have enough for a fine two course meal.

I'll have a stab at that, although if someone bought a Shannanaaaa gift voucher at least the money would go on actual feedaments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

lol, I've been semi-bluffed!

Dodgy french portions, stop off at abrakebabra on the way home:pac:

That said I really enjoyed Hugos the times i've gone their. Get the duck for maincourse its gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

i've been to both argentina and shanahan's. what's amazing about argentina is that the beef tastes good everywhere, whether a little parilla hut (grill) on the port or the most expensive restaurant in buenos aires. The thing is though you eat steak or meat everywhere at every meal. I tried 2 things over there which were new and bizarre. In the north of argentina, lama is on all the menus, so had a plate of raw lama one night and it was delicious. the other strangest thing i had was cow udder. the taste was okay but the thought of eating some animals tit was just wrong.

back on topic, i'd rate shanahans higher than most places i ate over there simply because you can get charrollais or aberdeen angus which are better when cut and hung correctly than any argentinian breed

Steaks are for losers
    this is what I want
    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article1077128.ece

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Save yourself ridiclious Irish prices and treat yourself to a flight to England, drive to Berkshire and go to The Fat Duck on Monday and The Waterside Inn on Tuesday... cry and then go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

Without exageration, I've had steak so tender that the knife was not required. If any of you are going to Buenos Aires, I recommend going to a steakhouse called La Cabrera.

Sweet, I'll keep this in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

All-time Top 3:

1. Peter Luger's, Brooklyn, New York
    2. N9NE, The Palms, Las Vegas
    3. Stokehouse, St Kilda, Melbourne

Not been to Shanahan's, Argentina or South Africa yet though.

Trip report please!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

kpnuts wrote: »
    2. N9NE, The Palms, Las Vegas

ah yes the ice cold red vino is an amazing acompliment for the steak, one of the funniset dinners ive ever had. you with the patented panama hat discussing the finer points of the correct serving temperature for red wine :pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

There is a new Argentinian restaraunt opening soon beside the Radisson by Chancery Lane in town.

There's a big picture of a man wrestling a cow to the ground in the window, which bodes well.

ah yes the ice cold red vino is an amazing acompliment for the steak, one of the funniset dinners ive ever had. you with the patented panama hat discussing the finer points of the correct serving temperature for red wine :pac::D

ice cold RED vino :eek: I feel ill.