Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best cover ever?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

Mark Ronson - Just (Radiohead) Absolutely love it!

+1 for Beatles' Twist and Shout

Faith - Boy Least Likely (George Michael)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Machine Head - Message in a bottle

• Registered Users Posts: 7,247 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Wild Is The Wind; Here Today, Gone Tomorrow; Across The Universe; Friday On My Mind - David Bowie
    Because - George Clinton
    The Man Who Sold The World - Nirvana
    Love Rollercoaster - RHCP

• Registered Users Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

setanta5 wrote: »
    OneRepublic - Mercy (Duffy)

I thought you were talking about their own song Mercy for some reason, and I was thinking it was NOTHING like Duffy's song, either lyrically or musically..

Then I went to youtube and checked out their cover of her Mercy..

D'oh!

+1 for the Johnny Cash covers, Mark Ronson's version of Just, and anything Clash related! :D Actually, quite a lot of the covers on this thread are pretty good..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

johnny cash covering the band

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=S_Xk8Cp09aM

• Registered Users Posts: 16 setanta59

"Goodbye" by Emmylou Harris
    "hallelulah" Jeff Buckley (there's also a great version by KD Lang)
    "Dirty Old Town" Pogues
    "Stairway to Heaven" Rolf Harris
    "Psycho" Elvis Costello
    "Powderfinger" Cowboy Junkies
    "Sleigh Ride" The Ronettes
    "Trampled Rose" Alison Krauss/Robert Plant...
    .......................to name but a few that spring to mind

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Cannot believe nobody has mentioned Roxy Music's version of John Lennon's 'Jealous Guy'!!

Anyone who can sing it better than the master himself deserves alot of recognition. And what a splendid job Bryan Ferry does with it. Simply the best cover version ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Helper_Monkey

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Devo - Satisfaction
    I dunno what it is about this that I like, I just really like it.
    + 1. Apparently MIck Jagger's Fave version (apart from their own i assume).

Joe Cocker - With a little help from my friends

http://youtube.com/watch?v=6FMq0iDX1yE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭b_beep

Finally someone said it Joe Cocker With A Little Help From My Friends,

so incredibly better than the Beatles..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

moby covering new dawn fades by joy division is deadly (heat soundtrack i think)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

This ones for Nightwish... :)

Not the best covers ever, but certainly ones you wouldn't hear being done often, and I like that in a cover.

I just love her-eh-voice.

FNM are great, they can play anything.

Great video, don't know the film... Further Faith No more awesomeness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 TeaNotWar

rufus wainwright - hallelujah
    the vandals - don't stop me now
    rise against - anyway you want it
    screeching weasel - blitzkrieg bop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I like the version of Joy Divisions "Shadowplay" by The Killers, its on the soundtrack to the Control movie, also on their bsides album Sawdust....they also do a good version of Kenny Rogers "Ruby Dont Take Your Love to Town"...

Billy Corgan doing the Bee Gees "To Love Somebody" on his solo album...it sounds naff but is actually very very good.....he does it in a Cure style and even has Robert Smith on the backing vocals

My faves:
    1 - Jeff Buckey - Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen)
    2 - Billy Corgan - To Love Somebody (Bee Gees)
    3 - David Kitt - Dont Go Back To Rockville (REM)
    4 - BellX1 - Heartland (U2)
    5 - U2 - Helter Skelter (Beatles)
    6 - Manic Street Preachers - Rock N Roll Music (Chuck Berry)
    7 - Nirvana - The Man Who Sold The World (Bowie)
    8 - Travis - Lovely Rita (Beatles)
    9 - Foo Fighters - Keep The Car Running (Arcade Fire)
    10 - Divine Comedy - My Lovely Horse (Fr.Ted & Fr.Dougal):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭rebeldiamond

There really are some great covers out there, here are a few of my favourites!!

1. Smashing Pumpkins - Landslide (Fleetwood Mac)
    2. The Killers- Shadowplay (Joy Division)
    3. Billy Corgan- To Love Somebody (Bee Gees)
    4. Nirvana- The Man Who Sold The World (David Bowie)
    5. Roxy Music- Jealous Guy (John Lennon)
    6. Smashing Pumpkins- Isolation (Joy Division)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The pumpkins do a cover of Isolation!? Jesus, two of my fave bands how did i never uncover that....live version i presume....i know they do a good acoustic version of dancing in the moonlight (not the toploader song!:p)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭GioSosStavros

Oasis's version of Wonderwall is brilliant imo, much better than the Mike Flowers original

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

LOL :D

Another brilliant cover of Isolation is by Therapy? They also did a fantastic version of The Police's Invisible Sun from the early 80s (about Northern Ireland, vid banned by the Beeb).

The Rolling Stones' cover of It's All Over Now Baby Blue (one of my fave Dylan tracks) is just beautiful and heartbreaking.

And then The Sundays' cover of the Stones' Wild Horses is similarly breathtaking.

The Pixies' version of The Jesus and Mary Chain's Head On is miles better than the original - in my opinion.

But really... the OP is asking what is the best cover ever? The answer is indisputably... Ronan Keating featuring Moya Brennan - Fairytale of New York.

Case closed. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

dead air wrote: »
    Ah, without a doubt... All Along the Watchtower by Jimi Hendrix (Bob Dylan).

I also like these:

Smashing Pumpkins - Dancing In The Moonlight (Thin Lizzy)
    Johnny Cash - Hurt (Nine Inch Nails)
    Sinead O'Connor - Nothing Compares to U (Prince)
    Ryan Adams - Wonderwall (Oasis)

i know prince wrote it (nothing compares to you), but never heard him perform it, if an artist never performs the song they wrote, does it count as a cover

as for my favourite, one of them is kate bush' running up that hill performed by placabo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭rebeldiamond

The pumpkins do a cover of Isolation!? Jesus, two of my fave bands how did i never uncover that....live version i presume....i know they do a good acoustic version of dancing in the moonlight (not the toploader song!:p)

Hi there!

Yes, they are my 2 favourite bands too! Smashing Pumpkins do the cover of "Isolation" on the album "A Means To An End- The Music Of Joy Division", its an album of artists doing versions of Joy Division songs. However whats even more interesting is The Smashing Pumpkins are under the name "Starchildren" on this album so thats why many wouldnt know it. Its an awesome version though- and its studio, not live!!
    I think you would LOVE it!! :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

But tell me, is there a better cover version out there than Ben Fold's cover of Dr. Dre's "Bitches Ain't ****"?

Simple answer.... No.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

irish-stew wrote: »
    i know prince wrote it (nothing compares to you), but never heard him perform it, if an artist never performs the song they wrote, does it count as a cover

Prince brought it out as a single *after* SOC's version AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Bren_M.Records

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=ChUcvfDTojg

I'll probably get dog's abuse for this one but I just love The Jam.
    Get yer head out of your arse Weller and do a feckin reunion tour for the love of god!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah

Johnny Cash - Hurt

Fall Out Boy - Beat It

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭dead air

SP have done some great covers in their time, exactly 200 according to spfc.org, well mostly just teases though. Landslide is great, as is dancing in the moonlight.

I saw U2 at croke park and bono sang repeatedly, i think during electric co., "despite all my rage I am still just a rat in a cage"... for a huge pumpkins fan like myself, that was great to hear :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Smells Like Teen Spirit - Ukelele Orchestra
    I Hung My Head - Johnny Cash
    Tom Traubert's Blues - Rod Stewart
    Hurt - Christy Moore (If you haven't heard it, find it!)
    No Surprises - Luka Bloom
    Run - Leona Lewis
    Umbrella - McFly
    Life On Mars? - Seu Jorge

Mostly radical interpretations of the originals which is mainly what I look for in a cover version!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

I love McFly cover of cover of The Faces "Stay With Me"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XTxvgV0Cahw

• Registered Users Posts: 10,599 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

dead air wrote: »
    I saw U2 at croke park and bono sang repeatedly, i think during electric co., "despite all my rage I am still just a rat in a cage"... for a huge pumpkins fan like myself, that was great to hear :)

Yeah, for a lot of the tour, he threw in that lyric from Bullet With Butterfly Wings as well as excepts of The Who's I Can See For Miles.

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭The Swordsman

Ponster wrote: »
    Prince brought it out as a single *after* SOC's version AFAIK.

He wrote the song for a band called The Family and this is what Sinead covered. He only recorded a (live) version of it himself after Sinead had a hit with it.

Prince's version is a duet with Rosie Gaines (who was in his band). IMO his version is a millions time better than Sinead's.

I've never heard the original so I can't comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭p to the e

The Killers - Romeo and Juliet (Dire Straits)
    Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen)
    Metallica - Whiskey in the Jar (Traditional Song)
    Guns and Roses - Knockin' on Heavens Door (Bob Dylan)

I also got hold of a bootleg Queen CD and there was a live cover of "Immigrant Song" that was pretty rocking