Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice on getting rid of a car

• 02-05-2008 12:02pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭

Looking for some opinions on this:

I have a 00 Ford escort that doesn't have an NCT and has some damage to the bodywork. (Tore the side off it in my first week driving it a couple of years ago, damage to left rear door mainly, quite bad) It was also reversed into a lamp post (cracked the bumper and smashed the right rear lights. Couple of other dints/scratches but it's still going well. Descendant from a Sherman tank I think. NCT was due in september 06 and I just never bothered with it

I'm buying a car from the UK, so I'm not trading it in.

What are my options? Mileage is fairly average, i think (55000 miles) and it's still running without any bother, despite the damage. Should I clean it up and try and sell it? Sell it for parts? Scrap it? Take off the number plates and burn it out on the M50? Get the repairs done on it and then sell it?

I reckon it's worth around 3k without the damage... what should I be looking for for it? 1000?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

The way the market is at the moment, I would reckon that a banged up Escort (00 Escort ? did they still make them then?) without NCT is worth exactly ....nothing ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

peasant wrote: »
    00 Escort ? did they still make them then?

Yeah, it was the last year they did AFAIK. They pimped them out with Alloys, a spoiler and a tape deck (WOOHOO!) and got rid of the last of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

It's scrap, drive it to the breakers and hope they don't charge you to take it off your hands...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Put a few pics up on www.adverts.ie. Surely someone will be willing to pay/take it off your hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

biko wrote: »
    Put a few pics up on www.adverts.ie. Surely someone will be willing to pay/take it off your hands.

+1, it might even pay for a full tank in your new car;)

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

I reckon it's worth around 3k without the damage... what should I be looking for for it? 1000?

Without the damage it's worth less than a grand. Not a hope is it worth a sniff of 3k, unless you got it gold plated. No 00 escort is worth anything, as they're a forgotten car that sold long after it should have.
    Sell it to some foreign national who has feck all money and wants wheels for €200 and be shut of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I flogged a 95 Corolla with damaged bodywork for €100 on adverts.ie. But it did have a year NCT left. Worth a try in your case though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

Are there any "banger" racing clubs in your area? Maybe you can donate it (or sell it very cheaply) to one of their members for them to use to race or for spares.

As a lot of other guys on here have said, you wont get anything substancial for it but at least a banger racer wont charge you for taking it away.

Just make sure they are genuine and not some skanger who will burn it out at the end of your road.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

55kmiles isn't too high, its worth putting it in the parts/spares section of the buy and sell, someone might want a replacement engine or gearbox, you'd get a few hundred for it in that case. Otherwise it is worthless and you aim should be to to get rid of it with as little expense as possible to yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭The_Rev

you can bring the car to your local scrap dealer or car dismantler and they will give you cash alright. Just make sure you remove tax/insurance disk etc and get them to sign over the car. They will give you cash for the car.
    Or else just bring it to a metal recycling center and they will take it from you for free. Again remember to sign over the car or else the tax man will be looking for money for next years tax off you!
    Send me a PM & i'll send you a list of yards in your area.