Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why are you single?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Why are you single?

Because me and my life are usually far to strange and weird for most people.

At last, a bit of honesty in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

FruitLover wrote: »
    You're absolutely right, I'd probably lump everyone of the opposite gender into the same cateogory, just like you. That would be the sensible thing to do.

no, if you read my post you'll see that i said i didnt want to risk something similar happening, ie it is a risk, not a definite. however, its not a risk im prepared to take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Overheal wrote: »
    Another man-hater is born every day.
    If its a problem for you; make a thread in PI and it can be discussed constructively.

am not a manhater at all. as ive just posted in response to someone else, ive weighed up the risks and benefits of a relationship, as i see them, and made a decision based on those.

and its not a problem for me, i'm quite happy being single and free.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭Phoole

I believe you can have the best of both worlds. I'm in a relationship almost 4 years, getting married next year. I can come and go as I please, spend my money as I please, hang out with who I please but best of all, I have someone to share all of this with. I have a life outside of our relationship and a great one in our relationship. And the same goes for my better half. She's away on holidays as I type. I believe it's about striking a balance between individuality and companionship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

ahh nobody really needs to be in a relationship , a good series of one night whooooorees will sort ye well, works out cheaper too, and you dont have to buy them birthday or christmas presents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

But thenyou don't get Christmas or birthday presents, and isn't that the real reason anyone gets into a relationship?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Phoole wrote: »
    I believe you can have the best of both worlds. I'm in a relationship almost 4 years, getting married next year. I can come and go as I please, spend my money as I please, hang out with who I please but best of all, I have someone to share all of this with. I have a life outside of our relationship and a great one in our relationship. And the same goes for my better half. She's away on holidays as I type. I believe it's about striking a balance between individuality and companionship.
    Similar to my situation. Couples who have to do everything together are pains in the hole...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Dudess wrote: »
    Similar to my situation. Couples who have to do everything together are pains in the hole...

We have all seen the two eejits with the matching Arran jumpers.
    Vomit vomit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

cause I'm not seeing anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 scaradhg

To Dudess,

my family and friends are not in my relationship.my life is completely seperate with my boyf .i understand what u are saying,and believe me my family and friends do come first-he is one of my best friends too,but my relationship with my family is completely different to what my boyf and I have-wouldnt it be wierd if it were the same?thank you for giving me your opinion,it is appreciated.

and in reply to all this,as alone as i feel lately-majority of my "poor me" syndrome is due to hormonal imbalance or so i hope to think so..i do have a great relationship and friendship with him,we dont do everything together,we dont wear aran jumpers,or leather pants and jackets...we're more the opposites attract couple(laid back casual with a bit of classy trends)...and it works quite well when im not hormonal and extremely overtired....I love him and being single isnt an option now but hey! theres nuthin wrong with it...u shud be able to seperate ur life with ur other half,and ur "single" or "alone time" life...its important to have more then one person to revolve around! im a bit screwed up 2day-Im wrecked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

just saw this thread now

im single coz when i see a girl i really like i freeze up and probably even ignore them.....when im around girls im not thinking about in that way im fine very confident etc and it usually ends up with me kissing them or whatever but seen as im not that into them it dosnt go anywhere.....its a vicious circle and its on my to do list to change asap

scaradhg wrote: »
    To Dudess,

my family and friends are not in my relationship.my life is completely seperate with my boyf .i understand what u are saying,and believe me my family and friends do come first-he is one of my best friends too,but my relationship with my family is completely different to what my boyf and I have-wouldnt it be wierd if it were the same?thank you for giving me your opinion,it is appreciated.
    I just said it since you felt unappreciated and lonely. What I meant was maybe you shouldn't be channelling SO much into your relationship, then you might not have as much cause to feel unappreciated. The impression I got was you were letting your friends and family take a backseat, otherwise you wouldn't feel so lonely. In my experience, it's important, no matter how crazy you are about your partner, to never stop appreciating your friends and family - unless you have no friends and your family are assholes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,182 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

caoibhin wrote: »
    We have all seen the two eejits with the matching Arran jumpers.
    Vomit vomit.

tourists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

I know 2 fat americans who have matching Aaron Sweaters with an American flag emblazoned across the front of them. They wear them ALL the time.

tourists?

No, these are home-grown freaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Why are you single?

Because me and my life are usually far to strange and weird for most people.
    What? Do you build furniture out of dead animals or something? I'm sure it can't be that bad, maybe you're just not very interesting. :pac:
    Lulz, only messing with you.

i know and i understand and thank you for replying...my friends mean a lot to me,and so do my family,and so does my boyf....i make time for them all..and thanks again for the reply
    I just said it since you felt unappreciated and lonely. What I meant was maybe you shouldn't be channelling SO much into your relationship, then you might not have as much cause to feel unappreciated. The impression I got was you were letting your friends and family take a backseat, otherwise you wouldn't feel so lonely. In my experience, it's important, no matter how crazy you are about your partner, to never stop appreciating your friends and family - unless you have no friends and your family are assholes...

Why are you single?

Because me and my life are usually far too strange and weird for most people.

*whip crack* :pac:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I'm single because I just can't be bothered. I'm the type of guy that likes to do my own thing most days. Being tied down would mean I'd HAVE to be in a certain place at a certain time and to be honest I have to put up with that enough with work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I'm single because my boyfriend dumped me. (after cheating on me- the pr*ck!)

And I simply haven't gotten back out there yet.. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 26 freezer502

i have been single for the last year and i have to say i would love to get into another relationship now after that break but i dont want to be in a relationship just for the sake of it as was said in previous threads.it aint that easy to meet a person that you click with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

No idea really. I just am. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

I'm in the can't be bothered league! out of a 6 and a half year relationship i really like my own space and think i need time to heal! I'd hate to bring baggage in to a new relationship ! There has been the odd few guys there but none of them has had that spark i've been trying to pinpoint why i haven't been bothered and all i can come up with is the ex liked to get the old crack and sack free of any fluff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,648 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

MizzLolly wrote:
    I'm single because my boyfriend dumped me. (after cheating on me- the pr*ck!)
    You know, I'm great for rebounds. In fact, I'm so good with rebounds, my friends call me the human springboard

*pees own pants*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

You know, I'm great for rebounds. In fact, I'm so good with rebounds, my friends call me the human springboard

Revenge first, then she can talk rebounds. One of his friends should do the job. Then she'll talk.

/Escorts MM out

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

why? Because I haven't been able to pick up chicks lately to save my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I havn't had a girlfriend since moving back to Ireland in the summer.

Sigh.

Nearly a full year.

I guess it's time for me to start buying cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭curiosity

OMG, if there's one question to get me all nervous and staring at the floor, this is it. "Why are you single?" translates to "Sum up the reasons for your failure in relations with the opposite gender" in my head......

Spitting out the answer, 35, never had what other posters refer to as "game". Have become rather inward in my 30's. I honestly can't think of any available women in my life I would possibly go for (not a single "single" you might say!). I know they're out there, just to save ppl posting "there are tons of 30-something single women out there". Living in a small country town 30 miles from where I work doesn't help either. 90% of the time I'm fine with being single. Shave when i wanna, wear what I want, the lack of a need to compromise with a partner etc. But the other 10%....wandering around the supermarket doing my singleton weekly shop and bumping into a girl I once liked, her with her kids and other half....the base need not to be alone in bed sometimes....

Jeeney mac, must read this again in the cold light of day (and edit it!!). Now, what shall I call the cats??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

will probably end up being single when im old. im 38, lots of relationships, some long some not so long, 5 years live-in was me record, got almost to the buying of rings and we both dodged the bullet in time,
    i enjoy being single..meh.. i have a f*ck buddy at the moment, always have had f*ck buddies in between relationships.
    then again i liked being in relationships too, not a conscious choice of opting to be in or out of a relationship, more of a matter of going with the flow, take it as it comes.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i'm single cos girls scare me now, genuinely. That and if i choose one, i can't keep pokin the others :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

this, except replace chicks with guys. I think I've lost my touch :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I'm single because my girlfriend broke up with me for no real reason, and I'm still in love with her (and her with me, even though she's gone off with someone on the rebound :( ).

Kinda sucks. Just a teensy bit. ;)

Also, whenever I've been interested in someone lately I just feel wrong because it's not her...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

Being able to pick up chicks is not the same skillz set as being able to have and sustain a 'relationship' with a person of your sexual preference.

*whip crack* :pac:

/shrug

My life works for me, I'm happy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Being able to pick up chicks is not the same skillz set as being able to have and sustain a 'relationship' with a person of your sexual preference.
    QFT. I've a mate whose skills in the the chatting up dept. is truly beyond belief. I mean lock up your daughters, girlfriends and wives time. I've seen him chat up a woman at her engagement party and within hours she was following him around chomping at the bit. :eek: He did it because he suspected she wasn't the loyal type and he knew the fiance soo. Morally highy dubious but anyway. He's got a face like a badgers arse too so that's no excuse. He can't sustain a relationship beyond 6 months. He stops his slapper ways when he's seeing someone too. that's not it. He just has no clue about the reality of a partnership.

/shrug

My life works for me, I'm happy.
    Best way to be single or not and if you're in that zone and you do meet someone(and they're the same) it's more likely to last too.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Best way to be single or not and if you're in that zone and you do meet someone(and they're the same) it's more likely to last too.

It does until they run screaming. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

It does until they run screaming. :D

Maybe you don't have the right "skill set"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

cornbb wrote: »
    I've been single since Monday. Bleargh, it sucks. Anyone who thinks that being single is better than having someone is kidding themselves.

You're just missing someone. There is absolutely nothing wrong with a bit of singledom at the right time in your life.

For example right now would not be a good time for me to be seeing anyone, so i'm not. I have no desire to and wouldn't be able to keep up my end of a relationship anyway.

ntlbell wrote: »
    Maybe you don't have the right "skill set"

You are so right, I need to spot if sooner and get more efficient with my kosh
    or failing that the sling shot to hit them on the back of the head as they flee and knock them out so that I can retie them to my bed.

so that I can retie them to my bed.
    Ah now your makin me horney....

Best way of doing things. ;)

cornbb wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks that being single is better than having someone is kidding themselves.
    Just because you're going through a bad time now doesn't mean you can speak for all single people out there. I'd hate to be that freaked out at the idea of being single. We all have to go through break-ups.

Well I know it's bad of someone to generalise about single life, but if you've just gone through a break up it's a pretty tough adaptation. I speak from bitter experience. :o

Being single works for some people, I always preferred to either be single or in a very meaningful relationship, I've never been much for casually going out with someone. Currently struggling mightily to get over someone, but she and I both need time to see how we feel about each other, as in, yes, we still clearly have feelings for each other, but are we over the issues that led to breaking up, and so on. The period of waiting is very stressful, and that'd be why I'd be unhappy being single, but the actual life of a single person isn't bad at all if it's what you want, in fact lots of people would be much happier that way.

Well I know it's bad of someone to generalise about single life, but if you've just gone through a break up it's a pretty tough adaptation.
    Oh absolutely. And I'm not minimising it - I've been there too, it is so painful. But it distorts your view on single life somewhat. You have this idea that the feeling you have after the break-up is what you'll always have while single.

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭apoch632

I am an ugly ****er, many women have told me this even without me going near them. They walked over to tell me this unprovoked

Probably one reason why I am

Lack of confidence is another but no idea how to get it. If i did that wouldn't be a problem

Oh absolutely. And I'm not minimising it - I've been there too, it is so painful. But it distorts your view on single life somewhat. You have this idea that the feeling you have after the break-up is what you'll always have while single.

Yeah I know.

Sure I was happy as anything until I met the girlfriend, and we were happy together until the end. Being single's not unhappy, being dumped is, but that'll pass. Or who knows, you might fix it... :p:)

good on ya Darko.

To tell truth ive had luck calling her back 5 minutes later :p it all really depends. I say text her in the next day or so, personally; but do whatever feels right to you.

Just after texting her there, so fingers crossed. Decided to go with the rather generic "Hey, how are you" stick. Simple, easy and above all it reads well.

i said calling >_>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Faith wrote: »
    Because it's really hard to meet men where I am. Literally all of my friends are single, and have been throughout uni. I don't understand why, but I think a lot of it is to do with the complete absence of a community in my university. There's no class parties, no balls, no nothing. It's all work.

Second time I've discussed this today... I must get back to studying!

Is Edunburgh that bad? (Assuming your in uni there)

I know a few people there and they're finding it grand so far.

As for my own relationship history, I'm not the best at them. I've dumped everyone I was ever with in a relationship mostly due to the fact having someone that close to me unsettles me somewhat. Feels kinda....stifling, y'know? Usually about 2 days into it,I'm working out how to get out of it.

If I'm honest, it's all my responsability etc.

i said calling >_>

NOOOOOOOOOO:eek: