Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kidney appointed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

If you thought EOS was boring what till you see Kidney..... absolutely no backline play. Use only the forwards and kick away possession.

watch and learn and you see as rest of anti-kidney fans here:D
    the irish team are a joke at moment with so called class player who if in a regular job would be sacked

wixfjord wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks the Lenister thing should be/was/will be a factor in Kidneys apponitment/success/failiure is deluded. People can criticitse all they want about leaving Leinster in the lurch, not improving skills etc. but the simple fact is he is the right man for the job at this moment in time. Players like O Driscoll, who indirectly criticised Declan in his book should look at their own performances over the last couple of years if they think Kidney is below them. I also dont agree with this thinking that Kidney has only got Munster where they are by "chip on shoulder" GAA club mentality. Sure that may have been true for the first few years but these are intelligent professional sportsmen at the peak of their game, do you really think this is the case? I really find it amazing that people are against this appointment. Where is the viable alternative? In all honesty Jake White was never coming near us, Bradley has done badly at Connacht in my opinion, Elwood is still at the beginning of his managerial career and as for guys like Meyer, had many of you guys slating Kidney ever heard of him before or watched South African rugby? Lets get behind the man and give him a chance before we slate him. I, as a die-hard Leinster fan with a somewhat anti-Munster bias will be.
    agree
    with good back room staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

If you thought EOS was boring what till you see Kidney..... absolutely no backline play. Use only the forwards and kick away possession.

Ermmm.... have you watched Munster play lately?You're way, way wide of the mark. Its not a glittering, all-singing, all dancing, backline on a par with say Toulouse but they're no slouches...Kidney knows his way round a rugby field in terms of both forward and back play...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

He did that when the back-line at his disposal wasn't a great attacking force, and the pack was very dominant. It's playing to your strengths. He's got a better backline now - albeit not very Irish, and the tactics have changed to reflect this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Well, beginning to reflect it. Still a long way to go but it has started to shift. Still think it'll be a good bit into next season before it finally starts to really fire, but its definitely beginning to shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,973 ✭✭✭✭phog

I'm amazed at the anti-Kidney posts in this thread. Most of the people involved in rugby that were asked for an opinion on who should be the next coach went for Kidney and some of these were saying it before the SH coaches ruled themselves out.

I wish him and the National Team well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

phog wrote: »
    I'm amazed at the anti-Kidney posts in this thread.

Its understandable that a lot of Leinster supporters have little time for him, the way he treated the Leinster players in build up to HC QF was disgraceful and if a Leinster bred coach did that to Munster I'm sure you'd get same reaction from them.

Having said that he is unoubtedly the best Irish coach around and deserves his shot at national team, I don't have to like him to respect him and support the team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

jackbhoy wrote: »
    Its understandable that a lot of Leinster supporters have little time for him, the way he treated the Leinster players in build up to HC QF was disgraceful and if a Leinster bred coach did that to Munster I'm sure you'd get same reaction from them.

Having said that he is unoubtedly the best Irish coach around and deserves his shot at national team, I don't have to like him to respect him and support the team.

Lads, batten down the hatches - there is going to be some moaning coming out of Munster. Imagine, Kidney is leaving Munster and they are facing a European Cup Final in a couple of weeks.

Kidney is some traitor ;)

Lads, batten down the hatches - there is going to be some moaning coming out of Munster. Imagine, Kidney is leaving Munster and they are facing a European Cup Final in a couple of weeks.

Kidney is some traitor ;)

we dont moan as we win the cup:D again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,973 ✭✭✭✭phog

What bothers me about that is that few of that crop of Leinster players has publically said that Kidney wasn't right for the job in fact most of those that made any kind of statement have advocated or agreed with the appointment of Kidney.

Also there is one thing not liking him but some of the comments on here seem way beyond that, in fact I wouldn't be at all surprised if some of the posters on here are waiting in hope for his first loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

fnj wrote:

"This is the right decision, he is the second most successful coach in Heineken Cup history, (behind Guy Noves). How anyone can suggest he doesn't deserve a shot is beyond comprehension.
    What would it say about the IRFU if they appointed anybody else? Declan Kidney is an outstanding domestic based candidate, he has to be given the job. What incentive would there be to other Irish coaches if they watched him passed up for this. Would you prefer the job to be handed to a second rate Southern Hemisphere coach? I'd love to hear better suggestions?

Bad coaches don't consistently take teams into the knock out stages of the Heineken Cup,
    Bad coaches don't have almost perfect home records.
    Bad coaches don't motivate teams time and time again to pull out the big performances when they're really needed.

Everyone talks about the Munster/ Thomond park factor as if there's some mythical fairy dust floating in the air and even Steve Staunton could get a performance out of the players. Unfortunately this idea was formulated by someone very high on fairy dust.
    The Munster mentality starts from the coaches and filters down through the players. Sure the fans contribute a lot home and away but it takes a good coach to make the players understand and feed off that that. Look at how Munster's imports have bought into the entire mentality down there, make no mistake about it that starts with Declan Kidney.

I really hope he does well as it will be a fantastic testament to the development of rugby in Ireland if he succeeds
    ."

I agree completely, and would add that DK's ability to network with other coaches will probably result in a better chance for exiles to be included.

The obvious downside is Munsters' loss, who fills his shoes there will be very interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

What annoys me is they have immeaditely signed a four year contract with him.

Why not a 2 or even a 3 year contract. That way, if we do abysmal with Kidney in the six nations, then we can replace him for a world cup campaign, unless the IRFU just break another contract which is an awful waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Oilrig

Unless the IRFU are a total shower of t*ts (nobody answer that...) they will have agreed "performance indicators" in the contract, allowing for disaster scenarios.

Traditionally, the 6N has been the IRFU focus in terms of results - because it pays the bills - we may need to take a longer view on things if we are to remove the stain the last RWC left on us. Be patient, we're at rock bottom right now and it will take a while to build up & extricate ourselves.

What annoys me is they have immeaditely signed a four year contract with him.

Why not a 2 or even a 3 year contract. That way, if we do abysmal with Kidney in the six nations, then we can replace him for a world cup campaign, unless the IRFU just break another contract which is an awful waste of money.

Think about it - if you give someone a one or two year results-based contract, do you think he is going to blood new players and look at the long term goals (e.g. RWC 2011), or is he going to stick with the slightly ageing and creaky squad and try and scrape out another semi-decent season or two?

Giving EOS a 4 year contract was crazy, because he already had enough time at the helm, and because he was at the stage where he was ultimately to be judged on his performance. The RWC was his performance benchmark and he failed.

Kidney has been given the job to build towards the next RWC, so it's only right that his contract brings him up to then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

oh my god people will ye shut it with the abuse on kidney, he is a fantastic coach! And as for his so called 'boring' style of play and 'kicking away possession'...a load of cognac to be honest, he has beaten the best in europe with this style of play including leinster. And the people that call playing it in the forwards and up the jumper rugby boring obviously have never played rugby or were a fancy winger...the style is magnificent to watch, such an example of the 30 odd phases munster did against scarlets in the pissing rain! when it comes to the big games kidney rarely gets it wrong and ye are in no position to bitch and moan, unless ye could do better then leave the abuse and encourage the staff and team of our nation or f*ck off somewhere else!:cool:

d-gal wrote: »
    oh my god people will ye shut it with the abuse on kidney, he is a fantastic coach! And as for his so called 'boring' style of play and 'kicking away possession'...a load of cognac to be honest, he has beaten the best in europe with this style of play including leinster. And the people that call playing it in the forwards and up the jumper rugby boring obviously have never played rugby or were a fancy winger...the style is magnificent to watch, such an example of the 30 odd phases munster did against scarlets in the pissing rain! when it comes to the big games kidney rarely gets it wrong and ye are in no position to bitch and moan, unless ye could do better then leave the abuse and encourage the staff and team of our nation or f*ck off somewhere else!:cool:

well said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

except Ireland dont have an good enough pack to do that as effectively on the international stage.So maybe old deccie will have to think up a new plan:)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,138 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I don't think many people have abused Kidney. I do think that some people (myself included) have questioned his appointment as head coach of Ireland. There is a not completely unwarranted desire for complete change in the set-up, and Kidney feels like more of the same, and more of what the players are used to when they clearly need a fresh voice. Its fairly easy to compary Kidney's one HEC and consistent competitiveness with Ireland consistently coming second in the 6N. Yes, I am being overly critical and somewhat factitious, but the point still stands. Much of the valid criticism of Kidney is based on the very fact that much of the problem with EOS was the staleness factor. I don't think EOS was a bad coach, just there too long and with too much power, and I don't see how appointing Kidney fixes that. I wish him well and hope Ireland perform well under him. However, the notion that any reservations about his appointment are due to nothing but Leinster paranoia is just plain wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

oh my god people will ye shut it with the abuse on kidney, he is a fantastic coach! And as for his so called 'boring' style of play and 'kicking away possession'...a load of cognac to be honest, he has beaten the best in europe with this style of play including leinster.

Actually he lost to Leinster, twice this year. Once Leinster beat them up front they couldn't do anything. Are you saying that Ireland have a good enough pack to dominate other countries because we don't and if Kidney tries this one dimensional game plan with Ireland we will lose. [We all remember what happened when we tried it against Wales...]

And the people that call playing it in the forwards and up the jumper rugby boring obviously have never played rugby or were a fancy winger

Played for years actually. It is boring and negative and with the talent in our backline we should be using it not hiding them away.

when it comes to the big games kidney rarely gets it wrong

4 finals, one win with a team made up of 10 payers in the Irish squad who have the added advantage of having played together for years.

and ye are in no position to bitch and moan, unless ye could do better then leave the abuse and encourage the staff and team of our nation or f*ck off somewhere else!:cool:

As a supporter and 10yr ticket holder I am allowed to voice my disapproval and concern about an appointment if you have a problem with that maybe you would be best suited moving to a country where you are not allowed to voice opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

I think some people in this thread are going a bit far with there critism of Kidney. Yes, he left Leinster in the lurch a couple of years ago, but we all know there were personal reasons for that.

If you look at it like this,

A) All the other viable candidates ruled themselves out (Howard, White)
    B) He is definitely the most qualified Irish candidate for the job
    C) He has gotten Munster to four HC finals (this time playing some fairly decent attacking rugby

Some people seem to be viewing this appointment through blue tinted glasses. What do you want, Cheika appointed?

IMO, Kidney is the right man for the job and if gets a good staff behind him it could be a great thing for Irish rugby

Just to add, I am a Leinster fan!

What bothers me about that is that few of that crop of Leinster players has publically said that Kidney wasn't right for the job in fact most of those that made any kind of statement have advocated or agreed with the appointment of Kidney.

TBH none of them said anything bad about kidney and BOD said he was the right man for the job and said he was a brilliant coach,then when he was appointed BOD said he was pleased and would do a good job.

I think people who are saying the Leinster players dont want him are talking out of their arses tbh.(I know you didnt say that,just to add to what you said)

As far as Kidney playing boring rugby,I think he will have alot more options with Ireland.Munster have improved their backs and back play immensly in the last year,but for the couple of years before Mafi and Tipoki he hadnt had a good backline,now he will.

And as we have seen,Munster do use their backs alot more now.
    He will now have the benefit of playing a back line that play and train with each other every day,for the last couple of years.I would imagine he will make good use of it.

Its all about balance,he wont be able to do a Munster on it because our pack isnt good enough but a nice mixture will be key.He knows what people like to see.His first game is against Canada and I expect he will want to rack up a huge score on them.

So if against Canada he doesnt use his backline then we will have an indicator that he probably wont,in saying that I expect he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Actually he lost to Leinster, twice this year. Once Leinster beat them up front they couldn't do anything. Are you saying that Ireland have a good enough pack to dominate other countries because we don't and if Kidney tries this one dimensional game plan with Ireland we will lose. [We all remember what happened when we tried it against Wales...]

well done ye bet them in the magners league, do it on the big stage and then ye can talk. All in all, leinster have never shown anything special in the heineken cup (big stage). Thats besides the point, kidney has proven he can play more than 1 game hence having the best centre pairing in the HC with tipoki and mafi and munster are now not 'one dimensional', he invested brilliantly and showed a eye for talent and centre partnership, hopefully he can get rid of the done and dusted partnership of bod and d'arcy. BOD and fitz would be nice, just like mafi and tipoki, fitz the quicker younger explosive man with an old head solid in defence beside him

Kidney to get us back on track!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

well done ye bet them in the magners league, do it on the big stage and then ye can talk. All in all, leinster have never shown anything special in the heineken cup (big stage).

Whats that got to do with anything :confused: Are you trying to say Munster don't try in the Inter Pro games or something because that is completely ridiculous anyways I was merely pointing out that when Munster are matched up front they crumble as shown with the two Leinster victorys. Kidney's Munster despite having texcellent backs in Tipoki, Mafi and Howlett rely on their pack to a ridiculous degree.

Why has one of the world's best wingers Howlett scored so little tries :confused:

kidney has proven he can play more than 1 game hence having the best centre pairing in the HC with tipoki and mafi

Then why doesn't he use them more. Why does he rely on O'Leary to do box kicks and O'Gara to constantly kick away possession [How many times did Munster kick to the Sarcacens back 3 despite them being a serious threat] We saw with Leinster how the backs developed under his tenure

hopefully he can get rid of the done and dusted partnership of bod and d'arcy.

I wouldn't say that BOD seems to be back on form and whose to say D'Arcy wont follow suit

Kidney to be EOS with less backline play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Blured

Kidney to be EOS with less backline play

You really are a glass half full person aren't you Ricky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Anybody who doubts DKs competence isn't grounded in reality. The man's record - Munster as Europe's top seeded team - speaks for itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Phaetonman

well done ye bet them in the magners league, do it on the big stage and then ye can talk
    These were two highly contested games in front of full houses. If they were HCup pool games the result would have been the same.

well done ye bet them in the magners league, do it on the big stage and then ye can talk. All in all, leinster have never shown anything special in the heineken cup (big stage). Thats besides the point, kidney has proven he can play more than 1 game hence having the best centre pairing in the HC with tipoki and mafi and munster are now not 'one dimensional', he invested brilliantly and showed a eye for talent and centre partnership, hopefully he can get rid of the done and dusted partnership of bod and d'arcy. BOD and fitz would be nice, just like mafi and tipoki, fitz the quicker younger explosive man with an old head solid in defence beside him

Quit while you are ahead.You dont have a clue.

You said
    "he has beaten the best in europe with this style,which is magnificant to watch"

the fact is,he doesnt have the players to do this on the international stage.

Your points have all been proved to hold no ground.

What has this got to do with Leinster and Munster?

Bod and Darcy in form against Mafi and Tipoki in form and you think mafi and tipoki are better,can I have some of the stuff you are smoking?

Bod and Darce are widely regarded as the best international centre pairing in the world,Tipoki and Mafi dont even play for their countries!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I think its a good appointment and wish him the best, I honestly think he will take a fresh look at things and pick players based on form, not reputation.

But anyway, I'm more concerned with who's going to be coaching Connacht once Bradley takes over at Munster... ;)

Played for years actually. It is boring and negative and with the talent in our backline we should be using it not hiding them away.

4 finals, one win with a team made up of 10 payers in the Irish squad who have the added advantage of having played together for years.

As a supporter and 10yr ticket holder I am allowed to voice my disapproval and concern about an appointment if you have a problem with that maybe you would be best suited moving to a country where you are not allowed to voice opinions.

you do more than voice a opinion,dont think you be happy who ever was coache,you seem to have a chip

dc69 wrote: »

Bod and Darce are widely regarded as the best international centre pairing in the world,Tipoki and Mafi dont even play for their countries!

BOD was great a few years ago, but Darcy?!?!
    Go onto the silverfern with that opinion and you'll be laughed off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I noly hope he is given a fair crack of the whip. There seems to be plenty of knockers out there waiting for things to go wrong from what I can see. Its not fair to say hoping for problems but their finger is on the proverbial trigger all the same :p

BOD was great a few years ago, but Darcy?!?!
    Go onto the silverfern with that opinion and you'll be laughed off it.

ask Ma Nonu,he is one of there biggest fans.Seeing as All NZ'ders think any team or player that isnt theres isnt worth mentioning,I wouldnt waste my energy.
    Why anyone would care for their opinions is beyond me,their countries world cup record speaks for itself:)

I was simple making a point,they are in different leagues when both partnerships are firing.

you could keep up the bitching all day as it seem to be here but wait and see what he does and see what happens at 6 nations,then you have gravy to give out about,but dont think so;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

d'arcy is undergoing surgery so he's out for the NZ matches. i dunno about him anymore though, was unreal a few seasons ago but seems to have faded a bit in attack recently. hopefully his time out this season will rejuvinate him cause i really don't rate trimble.

bleg wrote: »
    d'arcy is undergoing surgery so he's out for the NZ matches. i dunno about him anymore though, was unreal a few seasons ago but seems to have faded a bit in attack recently. hopefully his time out this season will rejuvinate him cause i really don't rate trimble.

yeah,that lad is in bits.He broke his arm in 7 places.Apperantly he was on Ireland AM during the week after undergoing more surgery and his arm was looking pretty ruined.

ask Ma Nonu,he is one of there biggest fans.Seeing as All NZ'ders think any team or player that isnt theres isnt worth mentioning,I wouldnt waste my energy.
    Why anyone would care for their opinions is beyond me,their countries world cup record speaks for itself:)

Quote please? Silverfern is a fairly big internationally, it's a lot more than just Kiwis.

Go on, register and state your case. Let's see if your contention that they are widely regarded as the best international centre pairing in the world holds up.

There's some chance for BOD - he's finally lost the excess weight by the look of him - and maybe taking the captaincy off him will refocus him. Darcy's day is long over though.

Quote please? Silverfern is a fairly big internationally, it's a lot more than just Kiwis.

Go on, register and state your case. Let's see if your contention that they are widely regarded as the best international centre pairing in the world holds up.

There's some chance for BOD - he's finally lost the excess weight by the look of him - and maybe taking the captaincy off him will refocus him. Darcy's day is long over though.

Il leave the Silverfern to you.Darcy is younger than BOD,so how you can say his days are over is beyond me?

Watching him play, that's how.

Pick another international forum then, it's time for a dose of reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Joy of more Leinster vs Munster boll*x on this forum, forms such a discussion doesnt it *sigh*

I am one who doesnt want Kidney for the Ireland job. Why do you ask? I cant see what fresh ideas he will bring to a team that looks completely clueless.

That said im not going to rant about him and people here shouldnt the fact remains he hasnt even coached Ireland through one match and people already are going mental over it.

Let the man do his job then after his first few performances we can go into a rant mode if it's all gone to ****.

Watching him play, that's how.

Pick another international forum then, it's time for a dose of reality.

So by your logic a player can never regain form?

where have you come from,this is discussing Irish rugby.If your gona bad mouth the team then piss off,the silverfern is calling.
    I said arguably (or I meant to say,arguably)the best centreship partnership.

Beloved NZ arent exactly graced in that department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭jackbhoy

Also there is one thing not liking him but some of the comments on here seem way beyond that, in fact I wouldn't be at all surprised if some of the posters on here are waiting in hope for his first loss.

I agree, a lot of the bile is down to Leinster/munster bollox that has developed in recent years, alot of which (in my experince) is thrown around by bandwagoners on both sides that actaully attend fook all games. As I said I am not his biggest fan and I am not convinced that he can translate his munster/dolphin success to bigger stage but there is only one way to find out and that is to give him his shot, he's earned it and is way ahead of any other Irish coach out there. With AG as backs coach (if he is) should help to freshen that area up anyway as EOS was totally out of ideas in that dept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

As I said I am not his biggest fan and I am not convinced that he can translate his munster/dolphin success to bigger stage but there is only one way to find out and that is to give him his shot, he's earned it and is way ahead of any other Irish coach out there

Unusually measured for this hilariously nonsensical thread, absolutely right, 100% agree...let's judge him on the only thing that matters to anyone with half a brain and an interest in Irish rugby, his record on the field. I've no interest at all in the partisan, provincially biased, rambling bollocks thats endemic here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

I agree, a lot of the bile is down to Leinster/munster bollox that has developed in recent years, alot of which (in my experince) is thrown around by bandwagoners on both sides that actaully attend fook all games. As I said I am not his biggest fan and I am not convinced that he can translate his munster/dolphin success to bigger stage but there is only one way to find out and that is to give him his shot, he's earned it and is way ahead of any other Irish coach out there. With AG as backs coach (if he is) should help to freshen that area up anyway as EOS was totally out of ideas in that dept.

You forgot to mention his U19 World Cup (our Brian was talking to the BBC this morning about how DK got a team, up against teams that had much better players won the U19 World Cup). I think he also might have one or two Under Age triple crowns/grand slams as well in the trophy cabinet. ;)

On the Munster v. Leinster stuff - One or two Leinster posters who would give Munster a run for their money on their renowned 'bitterness' factor. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

any more leinster munster shite and there will be permanent bans from this forum. This is my last warning on this. It is beyond tedious.

Oafley Jones, I don't give a **** about other rugby forums nor what is said there. Want to argue what's said on them... post there not here.
    jackbhoy wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Aye I'd agree, i've said previously I didn't really have him that high up in my list of people who could get the job, but he's a competent coach. And he's our coach now, the least he deserves is a good shot and the fans behind him.

RuggieBear wrote: »
    any more leinster munster shite and there will be permanent bans from this forum. This is my last warning on this. It is beyond tedious.

I agree totally... Now, who's up for an Ulster v Connaught row?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Looking forward to seeing DK get his deserved chance at the Ireland job.If he can replicate his ability to mould a team which is better than the sum of it's parts at international level we stand a chance of seeing some good times ahead for Ireland.I hope he can be successful and deliver a grand slam which I think we all deserve after the recent near misses.I would also like to say good as he is he's not a miracle worker and if he takes two years or more to achieve a grand slam so be it.There will be no point in calling for his head straight away if we have one or two disappointments early in his tenure.That is after all a disease the IRFU have been infected with.This attitude must change both at IRFU and fan level.Obviously in saying this I want to be able to clearly see the work in progress as leading to this future success.

Shan75 wrote: »
    I would also like to say good as he is he's not a miracle worker and if he takes two years or more to achieve a grand slam so be it.There will be no point in calling for his head straight away if we have one or two disappointments early in his tenure.

I agree with what you have said but in reality everyone would be happy with just 1 grand slam in the whole 4 years.The players aint getting any younger and he has the quality there.I expect big things from him in the next 6 nations.Hopefully he will deliver.

With Eddie a team had to be built over however many years and it just never really worked.Kidney will have a team and a bloody good team at that.He has the tools to win a 6 nations,so it will be a true reflection of his coaching abilities.

He will undoubtedly be compared to warren gatland,who arguably has worse team than the team Kidney is inheriting and its a hard act to follow.I dont know if that a good thing or a bad thing.

Just saw this in the independant,

"Ireland, ranked eighth in the world, have five Tests before the December cut-off point for the IRB's rankings-related World Cup draw, New Zealand (2), Australia, Argentina and Canada.

Only the Canadians represent a guaranteed victory and a worst-case scenario of four defeats from five could have disastrous consequences for Ireland's 2011 World Cup challenge."

Thats not good news:(,realistically we are looking at 1 win in 5,which according to his will put us in an extremely tough world cup group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 DannyMach

Anybody who doubts DKs competence isn't grounded in reality. The man's record - Munster as Europe's top seeded team - speaks for itself.
    Exactly, plus some of the Munster teams he's coached have been limited in comparison to some opponents which makes it even more of an achievement. He's put a strong squad together at Munster this season and has got to another final and it's about time people got behind the man.