Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Predict Kidneys first team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

15. Dempsey
    14. Horgan
    13. O'Driscoll
    12. D'Arcy
    11. Fitzgerald
    10. O'Gara
    9. Reddan
    8. Heaslip
    7. Wallace
    6. Best
    5. O'Callaghan
    4. O'Connell
    3. Hayes
    2. Flannery
    1. Horan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭gjim

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I think he decides upon his best/favourite players and largely picks them even if/when they are off form most of the time.
    You think, eh? Could you give us a few examples of such players?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

RuggieBear wrote: »
    Maximus82 is banned. Coherent arguments please.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Podge_irl View Post
    Well that's complete nonsense.

Ruggie, what do you think - another coherent argument?

I wouldn't ban Podge though:) and hopefully you won't ban either of us :D

Oh right so because 2 players are in a team that got further in the H Cup they should start over two players that are playing better than them

Great logic.

Well, its one way of measuring how good they are by how much they win (which is what competitive sport is about). In fact, I'd guess that is how most people's logic would work. Since you seem to think that POC was playing all season, it would seem you didn't see too much of DOC and MOD to evaluate.
    The only thing hilarious is you completely misreading my post. I said he is kept out of the backline because of it's quality BUT I dont agree with that

My interpretation of what you wrote is that youth must come before anything else. Anyone over 28 should be sent to the knackers yard if there is any 20 year old that looks capable of being any use to take their place.
    That wasn't BOD's influence that was common sense. ROG was playing better than Humphreys. Are you trying to say that EOS wanted to start Humphreys but decided against it because BOD wanted ROG instead :confused: because that is RIDICULOUS.

Well that is the message you get from any of the Ulster rugby message boards. We all seem to know what GOD's opinion on pretty much everything. ;) Perhaps you didn't notice, but there was huge ROG v. Humphs debate a couple of years ago.
    It's all BODs fault. BOD is spoilt. BOD was the cause of the bad WC. BOD, BOD, BOD - get a clue.

No, its not all BOD's fault.

So tell me if BOD had such an influence where was Cullen surely he would've wanted Cullen in the squad so where was he

After all as you said 'What BOD wanted, BOD used to get'

Why would he want Cullen in the national squad. Just because they both play for Leinster? BOD & DOC won an U19 world Cup together. Maybe BOD thinks that POC & DOC are better locks than Leo. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Well, its one way of measuring how good they are by how much they win (which is what competitive sport is about). In fact, I'd guess that is how most people's logic would work.

So if a player's team wins regularly then they should automatically gain their place ahead of better players playing in a team that isn't doing as well :confused: that is completely absurd. You measure how good a player is by how well they play not how well their team plays.

Since you seem to think that POC was playing all season, it would seem you didn't see too much of DOC and MOD to evaluate.

Could you post where I said POC was playing all season otherwise I would like an apology from you for making stuff up to discredit me.

My interpretation of what you wrote is that youth must come before anything else. Anyone over 28 should be sent to the knackers yard if there is any 20 year old that looks capable of being any use to take their place.

Jesus that was quite an assumption to make seeing as all I said was that I believed Cheika was wrong in not starting him

Well that is the message you get from any of the Ulster rugby message boards. We all seem to know what GOD's opinion on pretty much everything. ;) Perhaps you didn't notice, but there was huge ROG v. Humphs debate a couple of years ago.

And you believe it. I did notice the debate but I also noticed that near the end of it many of the pundits and the vast majority of fans I spoke to settled on ROG and he seemed a dead cert to be picked.

No, its not all BOD's fault.

I think BOD is the victim in most of this. A lot of people questioning his ability as a captain when the ENTIRE team was misfiring.

Why would he want Cullen in the national squad. Just because they both play for Leinster? BOD & DOC won an U19 world Cup together. Maybe BOD thinks that POC & DOC are better locks than Leo. ;)

Maybe, Possibly, Perhaps I was merely responding to your ASSUMPTIONS [cause that is all they are] with another assumption you assume he had a say in the team, I assumed that if that was the case then why didn't he want a player he has already stated he regards very highly in his squad and now once again you have made the assumption that he prefers DOC ahead of him.

Honestly do you have any proof or do you just enjoy discrediting BOD on hear'say and unfounded rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Since you seem to think that POC was playing all season, it would seem you didn't see too much of DOC and MOD to evaluate.
    see, there is one slight problem with that combination is that you need POC and ... of the above, simply because while you can have either DOC or POC as a leader within the pack, neither DOC or MOD can call a solid lineout on a regular basis. Its where you need players like Cullen coming into the team.

Definitely agree with you on this (and not directed at anyone in particular, but the drive in the last while under EOS from fans was to get some of the young players caps and started into positions - unfortunately, reading some stuff this has gone in some cases too far, with people not realising the healthy balance that needs to be there for a successful team.
    Some Ulster lads clutching at past straws to justify the fact that only a small number of players (and some great up and comings, like Ferris and Pollock) are getting picked for the Irish squad. ROG suited the developing play that Ireland went for more than Humphs, even if he was better in certain areas.

Argument could be even made that if BOD is as pushy as everyones saying, he wouldnt want leo there as a potential usurper ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

So if a player's team wins regularly then they should automatically gain their place ahead of better players playing in a team that isn't doing as well :confused: that is completely absurd. You measure how good a player is by how well they play not how well their team plays.

Not much point having players with individual brilliance on a team if their not prepared to play with and as a team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Abercrombie Dud

15.G.Murphy
    14.Dowling
    13.BOD
    12.D'Arcy
    11.Kearney
    10.ROG
    9.F.Murphy

8.Heaslip
    7.Leamy
    6.Quinlan
    5.POC
    4.Donnacha/Bob Casey
    3.Buckley
    2.Flannery
    1.Healy

If he wants to go all the way in 2011, gotta go wit dis team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

15.G.Murphy
    14.Dowling
    13.BOD
    12.D'Arcy
    11.Kearney
    10.ROG
    9.F.Murphy

8.Heaslip
    7.Leamy
    6.Quinlan
    5.POC
    4.Donnacha/Bob Casey
    3.Buckley
    2.Flannery
    1.Healy

If he wants to go all the way in 2011, gotta go wit dis team

Flannery?
    donnacha and casey ahead of cullen?
    Murphy over reddan?
    rog ahead of sexton?(considering its gona be 2011)
    Dowling ahead of fitzgerald?

wtf

dc69 wrote: »
    Flannery?
    donnacha and casey ahead of cullen?
    Murphy over reddan?
    rog ahead of sexton?(considering its gona be 2011)
    Dowling ahead of fitzgerald?

wtf

Reddan i suppose ill giv u dat 4gt bout him. Bt cullen u av 2 b kiddin me, dat lad is as useful as sand in the sahara,casey would anilate him in the lineout,which is cullens only decent area of the pitch.

rog is still years ahead of sexton and i dont see it moving.

fitzgearld no chance!dowling is a much smarter player and better ball carrier.fitzgearld has a step and versatility.

your obviously a leinster boy and wat wod u put dat bag of crap jackman in hooker for flannery?

Reddan i suppose ill giv u dat 4gt bout him. Bt cullen u av 2 b kiddin me, dat lad is as useful as sand in the sahara,casey would anilate him in the lineout,which is cullens only decent area of the pitch.

fitzgearld no chance!dowling is a much smarter player and better ball carrier.fitzgearld has a step and versatility.

your obviously a leinster boy and wat wod u put dat bag of crap jackman in hooker for flannery?

Id have best and jackman ahead of flannery,how you can put dowling ahead of fitzgerald is bordering on ridiculous.Dowling is pure muck

Set up a Dowling V Fitzgerald poll and see how many votes dowling gets?

He hasnt played for Ireland for a reason

I agree with you on sexton but rog will be well old by 2011,so thats why i put him in.

Bt cullen u av 2 b kiddin me, dat lad is as useful as sand in the sahara

Obviously you don't watch much rugby he has been one of the best players in the ML this season

Sexton is only 22 and has been excellent. He has progressed so much in the past 2 years and has shown himself to being on par with ROG on many aspects of his game but also better than ROG in his ability to tackle and make breaks. I have no doubt that by 2011 he will be ahead of ROG. It's not easy for someone to be a regular starter at no.10 at 22 but Sexton has not only stepped up he has IMO cemented his place in the Leinster squad.

Fitzgerald despite being 5 years younger than Dowling is streets ahead of him. Not only that but he is one of the most exciting developing talents in Northern Hemisphere rugby. And to say Dowling is smarter player is a joke, Fitzgerald manages to find and exploit gaps that seem non existant and runs lines that are simply brilliant, he is a genius on the field and that will only improve as he gets more experienced.

Oh come off it this has nothing to do with Leinster vs Munster its to do with playing the best team. Trying to stir up Leinster vs Munster rivarly and calling Jackman a bag of crap?

Enjoy your ban.

best!jackman!you are f***** kiddin me!those 2 idiots would lose their lineouts in the school cups!

dowling i alot smarter than fitzgerald atm bt 2 b fair by 2011 fitzgearld will be on d wing or in full back

I cant understand you.

best!jackman!you are f***** kiddin me!those 2 idiots would lose their lineouts in the school cups!

Flannery is solid in the lineout but his off the ball play isnt as good.Thats why we have coaches,they will evaluate the players the days before.If Jackman nails his throwing,which is specifically why I have Cullen in the lineout,he is a far superior field player to Flannery.

im not from munster im a connacht man.

gman very mature.

i couldnt care less if munster and leinster joined together and held hands, bt i tell u somthing the munster fans make you lads look like a bunch of high school cheerleaders.

im not from munster im a connacht man.

Then why did you get so angry at even the suggestion of Munster players being replaced by Leinster players.

It just looks like your trying to start a Leinster vs Munster thing...maybe not

Oh wait then you made this comment....
    i couldnt care less if munster and leinster joined together and held hands, bt i tell u somthing the munster fans make you lads look like a bunch of high school cheerleaders.

Then why did you get so angry at even the suggestion of Munster players being replaced by Leinster players.

Im sure abercrombie will be gone by 7 lol

i didnt get angry i jst dont think leinster lads look outside the box because i go to a leinster school and all they talk about is how great they are and why they are so going to win the HC nxt yr and why each leinster player is better than each munster player.

yea i did make that comment because munster are the best rugby supporters in the world and you just have to take lansdowne road 2006 for an example.

and no one can argue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Off topic anyone? Yet again maybe drop the my teams better then your team and actually discuss the main theme of the thread?

i didnt get angry i jst dont think leinster lads look outside the box because i go to a leinster school and all they talk about is how great they are and why they are so going to win the HC nxt yr and why each leinster player is better than each munster player.

I can see you don't like Leinster, your posts, your name and general attitude towards Leinster were a dead give away. But surely you must see that fitzgerald is better than Dowling.

And I'm sure if you went to Munster a lot of the kids would say the opposite.

But for god's sake just because you don't like a few lads in your school from Leinster doesn't mean that they aren't right on some of the players.

Judge the player on how well they play not where they're from.

yea i did make that comment because munster are the best rugby supporters in the world and you just have to take lansdowne road 2006 for an example.

and no one can argue with that.

As much as I want to im not even going to reply cause anything I say is just gona result in a ban lol

I think your name suggests your agenda

RuggieBear will not be happy with the way this ones gone :D

I can see you don't like Leinster, your posts, your name and general attitude towards Leinster were a dead give away. But surely you must see that fitzgerald is better than Dowling.

And I'm sure if you went to Munster a lot of the kids would say the opposite.

But for god's sake just because you don't like a few lads in your school from Leinster doesn't mean that they aren't right on some of the players.

sorry bout the name its suppose to be dude nt dud (my fault).

i like leinster, they play a good brand of rugby that is excitin bt i jst dnt lik the general buzz about it!you know it yourself there are some (not all) big heads up in donnybrook.

well i do go to boardin skool with munster lads aswell but their nt as one dimensional about players and are talking bout premiership,ulster connacht etc

sorry bout the name its suppose to be dude nt dud (my fault).

i like leinster, they play a good brand of rugby that is excitin bt i jst dnt lik the general buzz about it!you know it yourself there are some (not all) big heads up in donnybrook.

well i do go to boardin skool with munster lads aswell but their nt as one dimensional about players and are talking bout premiership,ulster connacht etc

Look your taking this completely off topic. How this has anything to do with who gets picked for the international squad is beyond me.

I don't know any coach that picks players based on their fans

Absolutely I find it astonishing how Abercrombie Dud dislikes Leinster players because a few lads that happen to be from the same province as them are gob****es not only is it immature it is completely ridiculous.

IMO he set up the account with the sole purpose to have a go at Leinster players and supporters even the name is a give away.

Bloody hell its suppose to be dude bt u cant change it!even check out my bebo user name.... -abercrombie-dude-.bebo.com

so u think there are no big heads in leinster!absoulutly none!ridicoulous!ive played leinster skools cup rugby and the attidudes of lads frm most dublin skools is almost as if they think they are God's greatest gift to rugby!

im gonna take dowling ovr fitzgearld at this moment and time and if you dont like it tough. bt in 2 or 3 yrs time fitzgearld will be startin no problem for ireland and will be a world rugby star.

thats wat i think.happy ricky?

Bloody hell its suppose to be dude bt u cant change it!even check out my bebo user name.... -abercrombie-dude-.bebo.com

so u think there are no big heads in leinster!absoulutly none!ridicoulous!ive played leinster skools cup rugby and the attidudes of lads frm most dublin skools is almost as if they think they are God's greatest gift to rugby!

I actually deleted that comment because I addressed it in one line above.

WHAT HAS THIS GOT TO DO WITH WHO DESERVES TO BE IN THE SQUAD

WHAT KIND OF COACH PICKS PLAYERS BASED ON THEIR FANS

god you are infuriating, I really, really hope you are banned, now please stop posting in this topic you are ruining it.

im gonna take dowling ovr fitzgearld at this moment and time and if you dont like it tough. bt in 2 or 3 yrs time fitzgearld will be startin no problem for ireland and will be a world rugby star.

thats wat i think.happy ricky?

No because you have ruined the thread with your anti-leinster bull**** now go away.

i am sick of you and your crap.

i acknowledge your player is going to be one of the best in years to come. i tell you my username is nt anti-leinster, and that it was a mistake. i tell you your team plays an excitin brand of rugby. so if you could ever wipe the bull**** in your eyes away you could mayb see im nt anti-leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

i am sick of you and your crap.

i acknowledge your player is going to be one of the best in years to come. i tell you my username is nt anti-leinster, and that it was a mistake. i tell you your team plays an excitin brand of rugby. so if you could ever wipe the bull**** in your eyes away you could mayb see im nt anti-leinster.

Cn u pleze stop wit de txt spk...it's incredibly freakin' annoying..I assume you've got a functioning QWERTY keyboard at your disposal....use it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Abercrombie Dud banned.

The rest of you need to report the posts and not respond to that sort of drivel

Sexton is only 22 and has been excellent. He has progressed so much in the past 2 years and has shown himself to being on par with ROG on many aspects of his game but also better than ROG in his ability to tackle and make breaks. I have no doubt that by 2011 he will be ahead of ROG. It's not easy for someone to be a regular starter at no.10 at 22 but Sexton has not only stepped up he has IMO cemented his place in the Leinster squad.

Agree with you that Sexton is a great prospect, but he has some catching up to do with ROG. At the age of 22, ROG was playing in a H. Cup Final (as well as playing the 8 games to get there). Contempomi is still doing all the kicking and Sexton has been left out of H Cup games. ROG also had 7 caps for Ireland at that stage.

Fitzgerald despite being 5 years younger than Dowling is streets ahead of him. Not only that but he is one of the most exciting developing talents in Northern Hemisphere rugby. And to say Dowling is smarter player is a joke, Fitzgerald manages to find and exploit gaps that seem non existant and runs lines that are simply brilliant, he is a genius on the field and that will only improve as he gets more experienced.

Dowling is a rugby league convert - he only started playing RU when he went to college in Limerick. By the way, he is from Leinster. And the only Leinster born player to have a Heineken Cup medal, which he won 2 years ago. Hopefully, he might have a 2nd shortly. ;)

Traitor

And the only Leinster born player to have a Heineken Cup medal, which he won 2 years ago.

I believe a certain Trevor Brennan has a few H-cup medals lying about.

Traitor

I believe a certain Trevor Brennan has a few H-cup medals lying about.

Actually you are right ... but he was a Leinster reject :D

I doubt T Brennan gives a **** though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Geordan Murphy has two!

zAbbo wrote: »
    Geordan Murphy has two!

You can see the how the most successful players were screwed out of it.....

Well, yes I suppose (which I said at H Cup level which would be close enough to International standard). They say winning (and losing) can become a habit.

Could you post where I said POC was playing all season otherwise I would like an apology from you for making stuff up to discredit me.

You are touchy! What you did say was that Leo & Mal were playing much better than DOC, POC & MOD. Being out injured and not playing is hardly a level playing field on comparing form, now is it (now that you tell me that you know POC was injured for the first 5 months of this year).

What should my apology be for?
    Jesus that was quite an assumption to make seeing as all I said was that I believed Cheika was wrong in not starting him

So who should be dropped to the bench to accommodate Fitzgerald?
    And you believe it. I did notice the debate but I also noticed that near the end of it many of the pundits and the vast majority of fans I spoke to settled on ROG and he seemed a dead cert to be picked.

Actually, I think David Humphreys was treated badly by EOS - he could have been used better - i.e., a lot more substituting at around 60 mins. We could have done with DH at the RWC when ROG was completely off form.
    I think BOD is the victim in most of this. A lot of people questioning his ability as a captain when the ENTIRE team was misfiring.

Well, instead of throwing a wobbler at Stringer, he might have been better off doing a Mafi on Peel - and lead by example.
    Maybe, Possibly, Perhaps I was merely responding to your ASSUMPTIONS [cause that is all they are] with another assumption you assume he had a say in the team, I assumed that if that was the case then why didn't he want a player he has already stated he regards very highly in his squad and now once again you have made the assumption that he prefers DOC ahead of him.

Honestly do you have any proof or do you just enjoy discrediting BOD on hear'say and unfounded rumours

Sorry, I use my own eyes. Actions speak louder than words. BOD is a great player, but he is not a great captain.

I doubt T Brennan gives a **** though:)

Having read his book, I think he does give a **** that he was rejected by Leinster. He is very grateful to ST though for the opportunities they gave him.

Sorry, I use my own eyes. Actions speak louder than words. BOD is a great player, but he is not a great captain.

Are you involved with the team?Are you on the pitch?
    Then you cant question the mans leadership.
    the only player who showed leadership or who did anything in the world cup was Bod.

If He wasnt a good captain,the man would retire the captaincy.He knows

You just said it yourself,"actions speak louder than words",thats how the man leads
    Having read his book, I think he does give a **** that he was rejected by Leinster. He is very grateful to ST though for the opportunities they gave him.

I read the book aswell,I was asleep for half of it though.Had nothing about him bashing the Ulster fan,which was the only reason i bought it .lol

zAbbo wrote: »
    Geordan Murphy has two!

A bit of a common theme here about where Leinster born rugby players should ply their trade if they want to win a H Cup medal ;)

btw, I thought that Geordan was angling for a move to Munster last year.

A bit of a common theme here about where Leinster born rugby players should ply their trade if they want to win a H Cup medal ;)

btw, I thought that Geordan was angling for a move to Munster last year.

A choice between Leicester or Munster?,the man did the right thing staying put.

IMO one of the top 3 teams in europe(didnt show it this year)

no my top 3 doesnt have munster:),my top 4 does:)

Are you involved with the team?Are you on the pitch?
    Then you cant question the mans leadership.
    the only player who showed leadership or who did anything in the world cup was Bod.

If He wasnt a good captain,the man would retire the captaincy.He knows. You just said it yourself,"actions speak louder than words",thats how the man leads

Well how do we know that Anthony Foley is a great captain. Always keeps the head, calms everyone else down, tactically knows what to do (like putting the ball up the jumper and run the clock down). BOD as captain made some bad decisions during Leinster v. Toulouse to lose the bonus point and indeed, I don't know how he gets away with some of the back chat he gives to refs in the Magners (he is much better for Ireland in this respect though).

Last but not least, I watch the video of Reaching for Glory and by far the most inspiring person in the dressing room was Paul O'Connell (and I don't think he would make a great Ireland captain either, btw).

As regards actions speaking louder than he leads - I have never seen anyone preferring to castigate the player who made the error (FFS it was an intercept, i.e., a lot of luck involved) before actually making some effort to get back and try and win the ball back (a la Mafi).

Well how do we know that Anthony Foley is a great captain. Always keeps the head, calms everyone else down, tactically knows what to do (like putting the ball up the jumper and run the clock down). BOD as captain made some bad decisions during Leinster v. Toulouse to lose the bonus point and indeed, I don't know how he gets away with some of the back chat he gives to refs in the Magners (he is much better for Ireland in this respect though).

Last but not least, I watch the video of Reaching for Glory and by far the most inspiring person in the dressing room was Paul O'Connell (and I don't think he would make a great Ireland captain either, btw).

As regards actions speaking louder than he leads - I have never seen anyone preferring to castigate the player who made the error (FFS it was an intercept, i.e., a lot of luck involved) before actually making some effort to get back and try and win the ball back (a la Mafi).

Paul oconnell in that video "did you scare anyone,did you put the fear of god into anyone"

Inspiring stuff alright.
    I have never seen anyone preferring to castigate the player who made the error (FFS it was an intercept, i.e., a lot of luck involved) before actually making some effort to get back and try and win the ball back (a la Mafi).

Whatever about BOD being the best centre anymore,he is certainly the best defending centre in the world still,mafa only dreams of making turnovers and being able to defend like BOD

Anyway,what has mafi got to do with Declan Kidneys first team or his choosing of the captain?
    I think I see the route you are taking here.....

A choice between Leicester or Munster?,the man did the right thing staying put.

IMO one of the top 3 teams in europe(didnt show it this year)

no my top 3 doesnt have munster:),my top 4 does:)

Duggie was probably in the pipeline for Munster - I only made the point about Geordan (who I really like) would have preferred a move to Munster rather than Leinster ;)

Paul oconnell in that video "did you scare anyone,did you put the fear of god into anyone"

Inspiring stuff alright.

Well, what does BOD say?

Whatever about BOD being the best centre anymore,he is certainly the best defending centre in the world still,mafa only dreams of making turnovers and defending like BOD

I certainly would have no quarrel with that statement. Then Mafi is still quite young ;)

Well, what does BOD say?

"We are great i give you that but we could be better" boooooreeee

Well, what does BOD say?

I say it goes something along the lines of

"If you all play half as good as I can we will win,then we can go for a few scoops in 92"
    "dont worry Donnacha,I have a spare set of dubes in the motor,youll be ok"

Anyway,what has mafi got to do with Declan Kidneys first team or his choosing of the captain?
    I think I see the route you are taking here.....

I merely made the point that BOD was far more interested in having a go at one of his team mates rather than trying to defend the Irish try line. I wouldn't think that was great time management or good prioritising :D

As to who will be Captain ... BOD will remain captain. Leinster fans wouldn't be able to cope with life otherwise. :D Hopefully Declan will straighten him out as to how he should behave as a captain.