Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Alias B

Totally agree bluebelle! This government has ran us into the ground with greed, overpayment of 'fat-cats', and mis-management of the public sector to name but a few!!!!! Like what are all those futile dáil committees sitting for? ANd all these reports which cost millions to research that collect dust on shelves? ANd the millions upon millions of junior ministers and aaaaaaall their 'entitlements' .......?????? FF has created a monster which was concealed in the good times because accountability wasnt needed, now that it is - you'd imagine Bertie is sitting in some holiday home somewhere thanking his lucky stars he got out when he did!!!!! COWBOYS!!!!!!!!!!

I hope the moratorium doesnt mean a total hault on recruitment for EVERYONE's sake!!!!! :mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

This moratorium is only temporary. Finances will improve in time and everyone here who either wants to apply or is in the system already will see Templemore one day - just a little later perhaps than what you would have wanted.

Keep focused on the wider picture though. Keep focused on your own daily lives. Keep focused on building your credentials and ensure you are both ready & able to succeed in your new role once your opportunity arises.

I have every faith in the people who post here supporting and helping each member of this online family we have built here. Keep positive, however tough that may be :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

kerry4sam wrote: »
    This moratorium is only temporary. Finances will improve in time and everyone here who either wants to apply or is in the system already will see Templemore one day - just a little later perhaps than what you would have wanted.

Keep focused on the wider picture though. Keep focused on your own daily lives. Keep focused on building your credentials and ensure you are both ready & able to succeed in your new role once your opportunity arises.

I have every faith in the people who post here supporting and helping each member of this online family we have built here. Keep positive, however tough that may be :)

Right you are kerry4sam, just hoping that the tumbleweed wont arrive here?:eek:

dkhill47 wrote: »
    Right you are kerry4sam, just hoping that the tumbleweed wont arrive here?:eek:

:) Oh I'd say over the next year or two the odd tumbleweed will roll through here. The traffic won't be an intense as it has been to date. In saying that though, people will still be receiving news and updates and will be posting here to inform everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Would ye stop being so negative! No1 knows the full story yet. Recruitment hasn't stopped. It clearly states that recruitment can continue once the minister is informed and says "work away". Wait till Monday till the full story is out.

The people who are worst hit are the people in the system, who have invested time and money into this process. To be left in no mans land.

All I'm saying is to keep that glass half full till more is known.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭glhoran121

if they stop full time garda recruitment will they stop the reserves ?????i am sure the money the spend on the reserve running costs a year if cut could result in another two years ful time recruitment for us guys !!!!!:confused:

glhoran121 wrote: »
    if they stop full time garda recruitment will they stop the reserves ?????i am sure the money the spend on the reserve running costs a year if cut could result in another two years ful time recruitment for us guys !!!!!:confused:

The reserves is very cost effective. Have you already applied to the guards?

i was talking to the head quaters and they still may be recruiting till the end of this year no i was waiting for the next campaign !!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

sorry to be changing the subject, but can somebody tell me of the physical fitness requirements for the different stages in the recruitment and college stages, i have a copy of the physical competency test video from youtube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

glhoran when were you talking to HQ?

was talking about a half hour ago it was the garda college i rang

Thank you so much, thats a glimmer of hope anyway. Sorry it doesnt help you very much :(

oh it helps me surely he said they may even be havin another campaign as it was all ready secheuled for may

He said that!?!:eek: Take it with a pinch of salt

Oh I honest to God hope you're right :). I knew they had the money set aside for one drive this year, but gave up on that after the news yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Oh I honest to God hope you're right :). I knew they had the money set aside for one drive this year, but gave up on that after the news yesterday.

Your not the only one!

My advice, take it that recruitment wont be going ahead.. that way if it doesn't happen you wont be dissapointed.. again!

eroo wrote: »
    Your not the only one!

My advice, take it that recruitment wont be going ahead.. that way if it doesn't happen you wont be dissapointed.. again!

yeah that's exactly what I'm doing, but it does leave a glimmer of hope though

Ok I think we're all getting ahead of ourselves here, I can see this getting out of hand.. It's quite possible the guy in the college was wrong, or hasnt heard updates since yesterday's announcement. This is good news because it's some hope but let's not take this as gospel and just wait and see what happens.. Cautious optimism is the theme of the day people!!! :)

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Ok I think we're all getting ahead of ourselves here, I can see this getting out of hand.. It's quite possible the guy in the college was wrong, or hasnt heard updates since yesterday's announcement. This is good news because it's some hope but let's not take this as gospel and just wait and see what happens.. Cautious optimism is the theme of the day people!!! :)

too true blue_belle, too true :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Your not the only one!

I agree. Lads, you can't spend your life waiting. Get on with things, whan you are called, you will be called. It isn't worth putting your life on hold for, trust me.

Go out now and do all the things you won't be able to do as a member of an GS:D

He meant to add in the word 'legal';)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

He meant to add in the word 'legal';)

Or... don't get caught:D

guys tink bout it no point panicing we can do nothing about it whatever will be will be unless someone wants to organise a big protest but aint going to happen:cool:

Is their anyone who posts here able to remember back to before the increased recruitment began, back before the days of the 1000+ candidates entering Templemore?

Was their a moratorium on recruitment in the 80's? When returning to recruitment, was it at a slow pace as predicted it will be next time round now?

Everyone is different and I'm just curious and wondered if anyone who posts here actually went through similiar experience before? and if it helped or hindered their determination?

Is their anyone who posts here able to remember back to before the increased recruitment began, back before the days of the 1000+ candidates entering Templemore?

Was their a moratorium on recruitment in the 80's? When returning to recruitment, was it at a slow pace as predicted it will be next time round now?

Everyone is different and I'm just curious and wondered if anyone who posts here actually went through similiar experience before? and if it helped or hindered their determination?

There was an embargo in the 80's.

A Garda I know who joined in '94 said AGS used recruit every 2/3 years before 'the Boom'. It was quite tough with lots of numbers applying for it. But back then Templemore didn't have the capacity it does today, so if it does return to recruitment every 2/3 years then I'd imagine each Phase would be at full capacity in the future.

any one know is there a garda reserve thread, surly they wont stop recruiting the reserve, sure they dont cost anything after training do they. O well by the end of 2010 we will be all so syked up the interview board wont know what hit them. lets take it that there is no hope for now because we will only be disappointed. :)

dkhill47 wrote: »
    any one know is there a garda reserve thread, surly they wont stop recruiting the reserve, sure they dont cost anything after training do they. O well by the end of 2010 we will be all so syked up the interview board wont know what hit them. lets take it that there is no hope for now because we will only be disappointed. :)

take a look here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055178746 for the Reserve thread

It sucks that the Garda Recruitment forum is going to become very quiet:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭spudz21

Hi lads,
    I've been following this thread the last few months, it's definitely been a great source of information. Thanks to everybody:)

While the recent announcement is v.v.v disappointing, we have to keep the heads up and get on with life in the meantime:)
    As somebody said earlier, now is the opportunity to go do things you won't be able to when you are in AGS:P Increasing your life experience and skills etc
    Hopefully we won't be waiting too long for the next drive!
    Best of luck to everyone:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jypo

Hey guys lets keep an ear to the ground. Keep an eye on the sunday papers and keep checking those emails. There may be money for a competition, but no money to start there training. Who knows. Is there anyone still going to the open day. I am , if i here anyting interesting i will let you all know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

Well I suppose there was good news 2day in the papers.
    The whole thing about "No Recruitment" in the public sector
    seems only to not replace the outgoing servants and use
    the existing ssrvants to fill the void!.And this is welcome
    the Government spends E10,000,000 on surveying the public
    sector and find that there is over 8,500 servants not needed.
    I think 8,000 extra Gardai would serve the country better
    than 8,000 spare pen pushers!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭StreetAngel

jypo wrote: »
    Hey guys lets keep an ear to the ground. Keep an eye on the sunday papers and keep checking those emails. There may be money for a competition, but no money to start there training. Who knows. Is there anyone still going to the open day. I am , if i here anyting interesting i will let you all know.

ýeah I'm still going to the open day too! :D Who knows what we might hear!! I'm planning on not getting my hopes up too much, but its definately worth a look around Templemore anyway! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

Ruairi88 wrote: »

No, they are halting all recruitment until 2010. Gardai count as public servants :(

i-digress wrote: »
    No, they are halting all recruitment until 2010. Gardai count as public servants :(

true i-digress and its was very clear, the word Gardai was mentioned. I know we dont like it but there is noting we can do about it. false hope is no hope. having said that i have hope, because it something i have wanted for a long time, i can wait till 2010, wont be easy but its not impossible, iam going to the open day and trying to stay positive but realistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

I'm disappointed too. But I think it's better to know, because I hate uncertainty. I'm still going to try in 2010, this is what I definitely want. But you can't wish your life away, you have to live for the moment. So I'm going to keep up my volunteer work and enjoy myself until then :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Nick85

Wow almost 24 hours, this must be a record.. I hope the tumbleweed wont hang around here for too long!!
    The open day should lift out spirits. Id say we have a long wait instore..:(

Nick85 wrote: »
    Wow almost 24 hours, this must be a record.. I hope the tumbleweed wont hang around here for too long!!

Chin up!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 275 ✭✭jonas7

Nick85 wrote: »
    Lookin forward to this open day too. Does anyone think we'll be able to get some answers as to where people stand with medicals and how many intakes there wil be this year and next?

ya looking forward surely will be good and was well timed toot o answer all our worryin questions !!!!!!
    i say this open day wil breal a record with most questions asked about recruitment :p

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Audi2008

ya looking forward surely will be good and was well timed toot o answer all our worryin questions !!!!!!
    i say this open day wil breal a record with most questions asked about recruitment :p

Hi when is the next open day??

Is it 2mrw??

Audi2008 wrote: »

Is it 2mrw??

Wake up man, it's Thursday ;):D

• Registered Users Posts: 45 Audi2008

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Wake up man, it's Thursday ;):D

Awh thanx a mill... I haven't been clued in lately with college and work!!!

Are you going??? Do you know where i can find details about it? please. :D;)

Not going this time round I dont think.. I was at the one in October so unless I change my mind at the last minute Im gonna sit this one out.

www.garda.ie

There will be an open day at the Garda College, Templemore on Thursday 2nd of April 2009 from 10am to 2pm. The day will consist of tours of the College and its facilities and a chance to meet some of the Specialist Units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Ruairi88 wrote: »

Is it 2mrw??

Folks will ye watch the auld text speak please

in the words of miley form Glenrow, o holy god. open my in box and got an email from PAS. and it said :eek:
    You registered to be notified when new jobs were posted under the category: Security/Emergency Services.

A new position is currently advertised and can be viewed by selecting the link below.

heart stopped, thought for a minute this moratorium was some kinda joke, or some one change there mind. :confused:

no, it was a position for a
    Emergency Medical Controller in the Health Service Executive

nearly fell of the chair with excitement. live in hope......:rolleyes:

Hey guys and gals, just a quick question. Are children welcome in the college on thursday. Can they just stroll around with you. My partner is going aswell and the plan is for her to stay outside a room when there doing a presentation etc. Are they relaxed about it or should bambino stay at home? If anyones been to an open day before and could advise. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

jypo wrote: »
    Hey guys and gals, just a quick question. Are children welcome in the college on thursday. Can they just stroll around with you. My partner is going aswell and the plan is for her to stay outside a room when there doing a presentation etc. Are they relaxed about it or should bambino stay at home? If anyones been to an open day before and could advise. Thanks.
    Oh god yes bring the kids with ye. I saw plenty of children at past open days

TheNog wrote: »
    Oh god yes bring the kids with ye. I saw plenty of children at past open days
    Thats deadly. Thanks.

ya same here that email had me on a high till i seen it :D