Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Devil08

thanks for the advice! I already have my licence and first aid.so will probably do the study course for the aptitude test and practice swimming

Yes it all looks well but to be honest all you need is the basic requirements that they set out. But with so many expected to be interested in the next campaign it will look impressive the more qualifications and strenths that you have that are relevent to the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sarahjane91

I am coming 20 this year, and i am a single parent. I have recently applied to the gardai recruitment and, i am wondering if i do pass the tests in order to get in, how stationing people work? will i be stationed miles awy from home? if anyone could help m on this topic i would be very greateful, thanks. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

I am coming 20 this year, and i am a single parent. I have recently applied to the gardai recruitment and, i am wondering if i do pass the tests in order to get in, how stationing people work? will i be stationed miles awy from home? if anyone could help m on this topic i would be very greateful, thanks. :)

i'm a mum too, and am on panel waiting for the call. The general rule is that you must be stationed 30km from family etc on your background checks. However hr have informed me that parents are given special consideration, and that when you're being stationed you're given more flexibility. Shifts however are the same as those without children so be prepared for late nights and early mornings and overtime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sarahjane91

C-J wrote: »
    i'm a mum too, and am on panel waiting for the call. The general rule is that you must be stationed 30km from family etc on your background checks. However hr have informed me that parents are given special consideration, and that when you're being stationed you're given more flexibility. Shifts however are the same as those without children so be prepared for late nights and early mornings and overtime.
    Thank u very much for getting back to me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2011-01-12.2071.0&s=garda+recruitment#g2072.0.q

It appears they are reviewing entry requirements now, after the recommendations were made last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Steviewonder

eroo wrote: »
    http://www.kildarestreet.com/wrans/?id=2011-01-12.2071.0&s=garda+recruitment#g2072.0.q

It appears they are reviewing entry requirements now, after the recommendations were made last year.

Good find eroo.

What positon are you in at the moment?

are u waiting on a panel or just waiting for the next recruitment like myself?

regards

Stevie

Guys you can get these alerts sent to your email from kildarestreet.com.
    Just enter garda recruitment as your keywords.
    That will keep you up to date with what is going on.

Waiting to apply myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Well, hopefully he'll start reviewing entrants...not requirements.

What is that supposed to mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

What is that supposed to mean?

i.e. they will recruit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Hey everyone,need a bit of help.
    What should be researched and known when applying to join the Gardaí?Do you have to know each branch and section etc....?
    And where do you get your application forms or where do you apply?

Id suggest you read the FAQ on joining AGS thread

All you need to know is there.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055681811

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭adrian2

hi all im new to this, just thought the title of the page was a little funny yet sad, AGS recruit often, this sentence must have been wrote pre recession! hoping and praying that recruitment starts sometime soon like 2012, or im outa this country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Iceman aka Bobby Drake

adrian2 wrote: »
    hi all im new to this, just thought the title of the page was a little funny yet sad, AGS recruit often, this sentence must have been wrote pre recession! hoping and praying that recruitment starts sometime soon like 2012, or im outa this country!

HAH just noticed that there... Recruit often my ba!!'s. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Back on topic please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Waiting66

Raider190 wrote: »
    Dermot Ahern (Minister, Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform; Louth, Fianna Fail)
    I am reviewing the current entry requirements into An Garda Síochána in consultation with the Commissioner. This review will of course take into account the recommendations of the Report referred to by the Deputy.

This may be an attempt to upping the quality of candidates applying and as in other professional police forces the possibility of introducing an accelerated promotion process for graduates similar to the Metropolitian Police ,is somthing that the powers that be, may be considering for the future in order to try and fill mamagerial gaps created by retirements at senior management level

Yeah,I'm on the panel and I'm a graduate.The report recommended that applicants have a minimum of 150 CAO points no mention of accelerated promotion for graduates.GRA have stated that promotion will be alot harder acquired in the future,perhaps because of financial constraints they wont be filling all vacancies.

As per Forum Charter Personal Abuse will not be tolerated on this forum. Please use the Report Post function, and do not reply on-thread to posts you have an issue with. This causes arguments on-thread and drags the thread off topic.
    Warnings issued to offenders, and infraction given to user who had been warned yesterday to read the Forum Charter.

On another note, it disappoints me to see people posting that they do not care if the receive a warning. If you are not willing to abide by the rules of this forum then do not post here. As I have said before, this forum is in place to help each other in Applications to AGS, to seek help with Applications and for healthy discussion on the topic. Arguments and slagging matches have no place here.

No further comment on this matter.

Back on topic please

Sooo.. how is all our fitness training going folks?

Your on about the full time or reserves, well the full timers if they recruit again in the coming months/years, they tend to not base you in your home division, ie im from cork north so would not get that division, so what i guess im saying is that if AGS is for you hope for the best location possible, but prepare for the worst i.e. Donegal if your from the south, any location is possible.

I hear that the increment rise for applicants to AGS with degrees is disappearing in the new recruitment when it soes start again, anyone know anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

I hear that the increment rise for applicants to AGS with degrees is disappearing in the new recruitment when it soes start again, anyone know anything?

Was never a fan of that myself, i wouldnt be sad to see it go.

I probably wouldnt join TBH if they got rid of the increments for having a degree. I did a college course knowing that when I joined AGS I would be rewarded that little bit extra for going to get further education and a bit of life experience. I would have joined AGS straight out of school if id have known going to college would have been a waste of time in terms of joining AGS.

Devil08 wrote: »
    I probably wouldnt join TBH if they got rid of the increments for having a degree. I did a college course knowing that when I joined AGS I would be rewarded that little bit extra for going to get further education and a bit of life experience. I would have joined AGS straight out of school if id have known going to college would have been a waste of time in terms of joining AGS.

it'd be very disappointing if it was gotten rid of. I've always had ags in my head but decided to go down the uni route first, it'd be a shame to think that there'd be no bonus there. I busted my ass in my leaving in order to get my course as well as fighting for honours in my degree, when i could end up on same pay now as someone with very bare minimum requirements. Don't get me wrong it's not all about the money but it was nice having the increment there as a little bonus.

For me, the money is very important. Especially with the current climate and Gardai reported to be in such debts..I will need to be making decent money and enough to support my family if im to take a position with AGS. Im not gonna get screwed by anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭Ruairi88

I don't see how anyone could support the abolishment of Increments based on you're educational qualifications. C-J is 100% right She busted her ass off and hard work should be rewarded no matter how small the reward is. I'm not money motivated and it's easy saying this at 22 with no ties as opposed to Devil08 who's probably a family man. You're completely correct Devil get everything you are entitled too!

And again I have to agree with C-J anyone could of walked in out of school but Life experience will stand to them further down their career paths. This off coarse nothing against people who joined the Gardai straight from school. People who go that little bit extra should be rewarded that little bit extra.

Im not a family man yet but i do plan on starting a family in the coming years. I will need to be on enough money to allow me to do this. You should also be looking to get as much as you can Ruairi. You will one day want to buy a house, a car, start a family, get married etc. you need to be making a decent living to do all these things. Lets face it, being a Garda should be seen as a very very good job to have. One of the most respected and probably toughest jobs in society. You should be well paid for it, no question. To think that some Gardai are really struggling to get by is outrageous.

i'm not married but may as well be, one child and lots of bills. The only good thing is that my partner has a good job and is willing to take control of the bills when i get called, to be honest i don't think i'd be able to go to templemore otherwise simply for financial reasons! I feel so sorry for friends and cousins of mine who joined during accelerated recruitment, have high mortgages and various loans and are killing themselves working to pay the bank manager. The things you see and come across as a garda, as well as the absolute abuse you take should be rewarded. Damien mccarthy is v interesting whenever he talks as you can tell he's a family man who loves his job and is just fed up to the back teeth of the whole lot

i agree completely with everyone in the smae boat as myself, ive wanted the guards since i was about four and even now when i have an insight into the organistion throug the resreves it just shows me that i want it more, i went to college and got a degree, and i would have happily gone in last sept if it was on the table, but alas it wasnt and now im doing a masters, i appreciate the feeling from those who may not have a degree that its a wasted concept to pay those who have more, but it definitely did give me that drive i needed to stay with my course! What all of our positions will be in a year or whenever recruitment starts again may be completely different to now but i tell you thsi, if i have to move out of ireland and try get a policing job somewhere else because of what some stupid eejits have done to this country, i will be more than a little peeved. i think its a disgrace that the people who do one of the most challenging jobs in society cannot be protected in some form when crises like these occurs, i say let them blu flu again, and let the nurses pull out too, lets see what arrangements are made then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

Thats all good and well, but why should someone get more money than a colleague doing the same job, just because they went to college? Thats hardly fair. I can see why you would be aggrieved if you were expecting it going in and now it might be taken away, but what good is a degree to a regular garda on the beat? SFA i'd imagine.

any idea why it was ever introduced?

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭Geansai

shakin wrote: »
    Thats all good and well, but why should someone get more money than a colleague doing the same job, just because they went to college? Thats hardly fair. I can see why you would be aggrieved if you were expecting it going in and now it might be taken away, but what good is a degree to a regular garda on the beat? SFA i'd imagine.

any idea why it was ever introduced?

The reaon is was introduced was to attract more highly educated candidates to apply for the gardaí.

A more highly educated work force is better for the force overall and will in time lead to more effective leadership within the force.

Also, a number of degrees have a direct relevance with the job, such as law or sociology. (This is without getting into specialised roles such as the GBFI or the IT side of things).

However, given that you only get the extra credit for having a degree before you join the AGS, and not if you attain if whilst working with the Gardaí, I can only assume the reason is for attracting these candidates to the force.

Gotta admit i agree with shakin... was never a fan of it! Shows peoples true colours tho.

Source?

Blue Belle wrote: »
    Source?

Probably from where the rest of peoples sources come from on this... Someone's Cousin's friends older brother's friend who has a friend who's uncle's cousin is in HQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭itsallgood

The increments rewards people for going to college to a certain extent.

I also burst my ass off for 4 years to get my trade, also college in the evenings to advance in my trade and other areas.
    But can you tell me why spending 4 years in training and college you should be paid less than someone than someone who spent 2-3 years in college, some doing completely irrelevant courses that are of no use to the AGS but think they deserve more money than others. (This isnt a personal attack on any individual, but we all know people that waste years in college and they shouldnt be rewarded more then someone who worked hard).

Trade qualifications are overlooked for increments which is ridiculous. Not only are you studying for exams but you can be working 10-12 hours somedays and at times 7 days a week.
    If i was to go into the prison service I'd be paid a lot better than others for having a trade.

I know I wont be getting any increments and it won't stop me whatsoever or change my opinion of joining AGS nor should it affect anyone else's attitude toward the job.

Probably from where the rest of peoples sources come from on this... Someone's Cousin's friends older brother's friend who has a friend who's uncle's cousin is in HQ

The source is the government 4 year plan. P63.

"Additional pay savings will be achieved through an immediate 10% reduction in the pay of all new entrants to the public service leading to a further sustainable reduction in public service pay costs over the medium term. In addition, all new entrants will start on the minimum point of the scale. "

It might be worth your while have a read off it. For anyone who is planning on joining the Gardaí it lays out the present Goverments plan on future employment in the State. It is extremely unlikely that any future Governemtn would change this. Tough decisions have to be made. Why would any Government reserve these decisions only, only to cut somewhere else, and thereby they too will become unpopular.

Geansai wrote: »
    Thanks for the sarcasm. The source is the government 4 year plan. P63.

"Additional pay savings will be achieved through an immediate 10% reduction in the pay of all new entrants to the public service leading to a further sustainable reduction in public service pay costs over the medium term. In addition, all new entrants will start on the minimum point of the scale. "

It might be worth your while have a read off it. For anyone who is planning on joining the Gardaí it lays out the present Goverments plan on future employment in the State. It is extremely unlikely that any future Governemtn would change this. Tough decisions have to be made. Why would any Government reserve these decisions only, only to cut somewhere else, and thereby they too will become unpopular.

i have actually had a look at it ... take what i said as the jokeit was suppose to be... get a sense of humor ! if u read over past posts according to people's sources the ags should have recruited about 4 times by now! Sorry but coming on here most days and seeing what people have said in the past.... its built up in me! need to get it out!

Also guys,

This thread seems to have gone quite confrontational over the last few months. It's obviously due to the frustration being felt by everyone, at all stages of recruitment.

Instead of arguing with each other over whether the applicants who join the reserves should get some preference in the application process, or whether candidates with degrees should be remunerated more, we should be using this time constructively.

For people who have yet to apply, how best to improve your application.
    1. Do a first aid course
    2. Learn to swim
    3. Get a full driving license
    4. Perhaps join the reserves
    etc...

For people who are on the panel but waiting for "the call", how best to make Templemore as easy as possible
    1. Perhaps swimming lessons would help
    2. Increase fitness to a certain level
    3. take Irish lessons. etc etc...

I think these are the things we should disuss more here. We do need to look forward and help each other improve, not bicker over things we have no power to change anyway.

That's my opinon.

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭sitja

I second that buddy!! Trades are hard work and to complete one shows great ability and effort and we also spend time in college but there is no graditude towards that, So i dont think its very fair for people going to college to get increments and disclude others that also applied themselves in different walks of life who also have a qualifications. To be honest im amazed at the carry on i seen in the college... that being how fridays were like a ghost town because students were out with sick heads and the ones that did come in, it was clear to see they were not going to learn anything on that day! oh and the fact down here tuesday seems to be the new thursday and all the students go out then to! So that really gives 3 good days that students are willing to give there all being monday, tuesday and thursday (saying that monday can be tricky to). Obviously that doesnt apply to all students but i was shocked at the amounts it applied to! So when i read post like the ones above saying the people who go to college deserve the increments, im not saying i disagree im just saying other people that work hard and complete qualifications deserve it to. So dont think of how bad it will be if they take it away think of how look you were (and others who got it) and how unlucky others with qualifications were not to get it.

This thread seems to have gone quite confrontational over the last few months. It's obviously due to the frustration being felt by everyone, at all stages of recruitment.

I did think that a few days ago... lol if this was like a social club id say we would have started killing the competition off
    :P:P:P

The source is the government 4 year plan. P63.

I already corrected you on this quote some time ago. All new entrants to the Gardai already start on the minimum point of the scale. Everyone starts off on point 1. After two years probabtion you are entitled to extra increments for having a degree. So the increments will not be affected at all.

Bluebelle asked for the source. I was just providing it.

I remembered that there was something alright, but couldn't remember what exactly someone had said, and I couldn't find the reply. Thanks for clarifying (again).

Devil I'm a qualified social care practitioner I have my full license I'm with the civil defence so we are trained up on 1st aid etc and I'm starting my Law degree in September! Thanks for the advice though. I know all about pressure just not Family pressure! I work with Kids but by God do I want 1 myself...Hell no!

And I know you were offering advice on getting what you're entitled to but to just get into Templemore at the moment I'd gladly go in on €100 a week You wouldn't need to ask twice! I suppose once you're in you can fight for you're entitlements then.

And you're spot on with the Increments it does not count while you are in training but once you gain attestation you will then be entitled to you're increment(s) based on you're educational Achievements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

To think that some Gardai are really struggling to get by is outrageous.

and 121 were paid 'minus' amounts in their wages last month, such was the amount stopped at source

thats an outrage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

WilcoOut wrote: »
    and 121 were paid 'minus' amounts in their wages last month, such was the amount stopped at source

thats an outrage

What on earth could have put their wages into a minus?

*Edit - nevermind, I just saw the article in the other thread.

Anyone watching the Police situation in England/Scotland/Wales? the Government is cutting over 10,000 Police officer jobs! I think overall their budgets are been slashed by 20%. I think as bad as we are I don't think AGS have had to deal with cuts that steep? Although Anvil's budget took a huge battering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

In England/Wales alone they have over 140000 police officers,so 10000 is not that much,they dont want to stop recruitment or promotions just get more officers back on the front line to fight crime.Its the redtape and paperwork they want to cut back on.They wont savage the Police Services in UK the way FF did here,the British gov are very pro-police generally unlike the Irish gov.Everything here is "kneejerk" reaction,not much study or analysis just blanket moratoriums on all things public.

I don't study English Police so I wouldn't know a whole lot on numbers etc..However just 2 be nosey. I have clicked onto Met Police, Mersey-side Police etc just to see their recruitment procedures and they haven't recruited in a while I think it's the general trend across all police forces in England! even if the police population in England/Scotland/Wales stands at 140,000+ loosing 10,000 Officers does raise an eye-brow.

I totally agree with you regarding our stance vs England's when it comes to the way we handle our Garda/Police affairs. And could not argue the Moratorium point. I think we in Ireland see a Moratorium as the answers to our problems. We ravage and cut our front-line services to the brink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

The Met is a huge force and around twice the size of AGS , it has historically a relatively high turnover rate ( almost 40% of new officers will have left within 10 years ) , yet last year 1500 people due to start training got letters saying that they were no longer required and that despite having passed everything their applications were history and they must re-apply whenever recruitment starts again ( at least you guys here who got caught out by the AGS freeze didn't get told that ). This is despite London being at high risk of terrorist attack and hosting the 2012 Olympics.

The competition for the very few Police jobs that do arise in Britain is intense , last time South Yorkshire Police recruited ( approx 60 slots ) they got 20,000 ( yeah , 3 0's ) applications on the first day alone.

British Police Officers are ' Crown Appointments ' and cannot be made redundant but civilian support staff are not and I suspect that this is where the axe will fall. UK forces are light years ahead in terms of civilianising posts ( forensic investigators , jailers , control room operators and a host of other jobs are done by civilians ) - the problem is that you if you dump these civilians you end up taking Police off the streets to cover the gaps.

I think the UK forces are in for a few very tough years just like here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Eoiny6

hey does anyone know if a fetac level 4 minor award in security would be ok too join?