Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Stage 2 - The Interview

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

Are you sure the first date is the 14th?

Has anyone else here gotten dates yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 dottie

Thats the question, is it the 14th? I have no problem whatsoever with the date I have but just so that people don't be panicn if they are not getn a date and came in quite high in the appt. I came in quite high - thats the only reason i'm wonder which day it starts. As I say I have no problem with my date

For the last campaign, it was in order of how you placed in the apt. test. They may have changed it this time around to alphabetical order...who knows?

Has anyone on boards got a date for an interview yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

dottie wrote: »
    Thats the question, is it the 14th? I have no problem whatsoever with the date I have but just so that people don't be panicn if they are not getn a date and came in quite high in the appt. I came in quite high - thats the only reason i'm wonder which day it starts. As I say I have no problem with my date

I was in top 10, and got my Interview on the 3 rd day I think. It definitely wasn't the first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭sfhawke7w

when i spoke to the woman she said interviews were going on but according to an email from public jobs there were starting 14th july,

if been done by alphabetical order - i will be waiting a while.

anyone else ring to see what they told?

dottie wrote: »
    Same as me

so you've been given a date then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 dottie

pvt.joker wrote: »
    so you've been given a date then?

Yes, have my date with a while. As I said earlier I have no prob with it, just don't want others to panic if they havn't got a date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

rang PAS today and they confirmed that the interviews are given out on merit. some people dont except the interview or want a different date henb the one given, thats why sometime it doesn't look like they are in order. from what i can gather from woman at public jobs, every thing is on track and funding has already been allocated for this recruitment cycle, so the current economic situation isn't a factor, yet! having said that. it dosent make waiting any easier :)

dkhill47 wrote: »
    funding has already been allocated for this recruitment cycle, so the current economic situation isn't a factor, yet!

That's a relief, I was worried with all these cutbacks being announced, that they would freeze recruitment :eek:
    Good to have it cleared up :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭The Dude 87

Ok Lads just a few questions I have regarding the interview. I have it on the 15th july.

1. How early should you be there before your interview starts?

2. When they invite you in should you shake hands with them and the usual "pleased to meet" stuff or do you just sit down until spoken to??

3. Was anyone asked for more than one example for any of their scenarios and if so how many?? Or is one example for each sufficent?

4. Should you keep talking until they shut you up or just answer the question they asked??

5. Roughly how long is an average interview?

6. Do I need to bring anything in with me??

7. Regarding phases do I need to know each phase in depth or just a brief account of each one?? Also do I need to know what is studied in each subject or do they just ask you to name the 8 subjects??

8. Are you marked on the way you sit or anything eg. if your rubbing your hands or anything (nerves)

9. Do they or would they cross examine you or eachother??

10. Is it a good idea to make a joke or anything....I dont mean like a joke joke just something to maybe ease the nerves??

11. AM I WORRYING TO MUCH???:o:):o

Cheers everybody and thanks in advance!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

Ok Lads just a few questions I have regarding the interview. I have it on the 15th july.

20-30 mins

2. When they invite you in should you shake hands with them and the usual "pleased to meet" stuff or do you just sit down until spoken to??

I shoke hands with the pas women who came out to get me, but didnt with the Garda rep in the room as it was a wide table and was also told not to.

3. Was anyone asked for more than one example for any of their scenarios and if so how many?? Or is one example for each sufficent?

Yeah, i was asked to give another scenario one only one of the skills asked could be more for others. Just have back ups just in case and have them re hearsed.

4. Should you keep talking until they shut you up or just answer the question they asked??

Keep talking as much as possible but dont talk jibberish or lie, they will spot ya a mile off. They generally seemed to stop you when they have the information they need.

35-45 min

To the interview no, pens to the report writing exam.

7. Regarding phases do I need to know each phase in depth or just a brief account of each one?? Also do I need to know what is studied in each subject or do they just ask you to name the 8 subjects??

I was just broadly asked about what i knew of the Garda training which was just a little and was left at that. Again could be more or less questions involved here for others,best tp have some knowledge of the way it works.

8. Are you marked on the way you sit or anything eg. if your rubbing your hands or anything (nerves)

as far as i know yes.

I talked to one of them for almost all of my interview and only breifly at the end to the other interviewer.

10. Is it a good idea to make a joke or anything....I dont mean like a joke joke just something to maybe ease the nerves??

Nah, they try to make it as comfortable as possible for you, its not an interrogation.

Yeah :P

Hope this helps in some small way.

Cheers Dr Mason Really appreciate the quick reply!!!:)

Alot of good info there again!!:D As with the worrying part i cant help its all Im thinking about since last week!! :rolleyes::o Just wish it was over now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

Cheers Dr Mason Really appreciate the quick reply!!!:)

Alot of good info there again!!:D As with the worrying part i cant help its all Im thinking about since last week!! :rolleyes::o Just wish it was over now!!

No worries man, everyone is the same :p

you'll be grand.

Anyways back in a few weeks GL with it all.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

On the day of mine i was asked could they bring my interview time forward by an hour so it's best to be there at least an hour in advance. You can go upstairs to the canteen if you wish or wait in peace in the waiting areas.

I was advised not to shake hands when entering the room but then as i went in the Superintendent got up from his chair and extended his hand to shake mine...just go with whatever happens on the day

I was only asked for 1other example from 1scenario ... it's good to have one for all senarios so you don't get caught on the hop in there

They will stop you when they hear what they want to hear

Time does vary with the interviews but the average does seem to be about 40mins

No need for anything in there with you. They even have water for you should you want some. You can either bring in your prep info into the room or leave outside, it's up to yourself

Know your subjects for Phase1 and know roughly what happens in every other stage like if you're in Templemore or out in a Station

Don't fidget ... Sit upright and be yourself. They will expect nerves and if fidgeting is something you can work on in the meantime then i would.

Yes and Yes. They interrupt each other inter-change the questions they ask you in there so you have to be on the ball and focused at all times. My super corrected the lady from PAS during minr which she didn't appreciate

Shouldn't be any need being honest. You will be calm and relaxed throughout

Just about as much as the vast majority of people attending Stage2 ;)

You seem to have your research done to date ... Sincere best of luck with it

Cheers kerry4sam,

Like I said before your help is always appreciated and greatly valued!!:D Its sounds a lot easier reading this than been in there i'd say:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭ta moko

I met with an interview prep guy today and he said everyonr will get two to three weeks notice to prepare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Paolo5

I would say about 20 mins - make sure you know where the place is before hand. Go in, check in at desk, go to toilet, get a drink of water and relax etc.

The PAS rep will come out and explain to you what will happen. They should shake hands and will tell you who the Garda rep is and if you should shake hands or not.

You are given a copy of the form you submitted and they will run through some personal info fairly quickly. Then they move to scenarios - you need at least 1 back up for defo and then an example of how a Garda might use the skill.

When talking about the competency they might not ask you to run through the whole example but may ask a specific skill you used.

Talk until you feel you have answered the question. If your not saying what they want they may interupt to push the answer from you a bit more.

40 mins - but it flies

You dont need anything on the day - but maybe your own pencil and rubber for the written test. If you have notes etc that you have prepared you should bring them to look over but will have to leave them outside.

I knew the phases, the length of each, the subjects in each and the difference between phase 2 and 4.

8. Are you marked on the way you sit or anything eg. if your rubbing your hands or anything (nerves)?

I am sure you are marked on general impression but if you prepare enough you should be ok.

They may push a question if your not getting the point they are looking for over but generally they split the interview between each other. At the end they may ask the other if they have any other q's.

It is serious enough stuff when you are in there. If there is a moment to smile by all means do but do be looking for an angle to get a joke in! You have enough to think about.

11. AM I WORRYING TO MUCH?

Yes and No. No in that you need to be keen to prepare and do your homework so your q's are all very valid. Yes in that you will never be able to prepare for every eventuality so relax!

If you need anything else pm me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭horse1

hi all,
    just wondering, when in the interview and when you are answering a question will the other person who didnt ask the question throw in a question to try and put you off while you are answering. and if so do you answer the first question and then answer the other persons question or do you answer the 2nd persons and then go back to answering the first persons question. just confused and worrying a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Dub chick

horse1 wrote: »
    hi all,
    just wondering, when in the interview and when you are answering a question will the other person who didnt ask the question throw in a question to try and put you off while you are answering. and if so do you answer the first question and then answer the other persons question or do you answer the 2nd persons and then go back to answering the first persons question. just confused and worrying a bit
    well i did mine in may and basically there were two interviewers. each took two of the competencies each and while each asked the questions the other took notes. never the two at the same time....they are really fair. Don't panic!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Dub chick wrote: »
    well i did mine in may and basically there were two interviewers. each took two of the competencies each and while each asked the questions the other took notes. never the two at the same time....they are really fair. Don't panic!!! :)

There are two interviewers? I was under the impression there was three. Have mine in two weeks, that kind of puts me at ease, rather face two than three..

well i can't say 100% but anyone who was interviewed with me that day only had two. One civil servant and one Superindent. I know a number of people who went on different days and that was the max!! i promise....they're really nice!

As far as Im aware there is only the two mentioned above!:)

Yeah their used to be three and some prep info you get from courses says three people on the interview panel but their will only be 2people there (besides you of course :D ) ... One Superintendent ; One from PAS and then One Candidate :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Cool, thanks for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 dado76

hi there,just want to ask if anybody knows is it possible to e-mail stage II apl. form part 1 again as i messed up first one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭nd001

dado76 wrote: »
    hi there,just want to ask if anybody knows is it possible to e-mail stage II apl. form part 1 again as i messed up first one?

I would say so but you would definitely want to ring them to tell them you are going to do it. The last thing you want is two files of yourself floating around you get enough problems with one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 dado76

thanks mate,I've done on my sis pc and some pages were missing so I only realised that today but still waiting on date for mu interview!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭nd001

dado76 wrote: »
    thanks mate,I've done on my sis pc and some pages were missing so I only realised that today but still waiting on date for mu interview!

No probs good luck in the interview better to get it sorted now much easier in the long run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Paolo5

Re Interview

They split the competencies between them and you mainly address the person who asked the question maybe giving the occassional glance to the other person who will probably be taking notes.

They wont or should not interupt the others line of questions.

Any q's pm me as I dont usually look at this page .............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭greydiamond

Could someone please PM with details of courses. Has anyone done them and how have they found them? Im trying to choose between 2, probably fairly obvicious which ones I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Kidd-o

yeah anyone have any websites i can visit to perhaps get a course about the interview etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭karlokarl

yeah, i have a website. the two people doing the prep course are really good. i was advised very strongly to do this course by my garda reference. i rang one of them up about it and he knew about everything from the recruitment manager in PAS to basically who would be on the panel itself!....anyone who wants the site just pm me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 popsypya

Hi Everybody,

Ok, well I am wondering about what to wear for the interview, I guess a suit is the right thing? But if you are female, does it matter if it is a suit with a skirt or is it better to wear pants? I am so bad at this and can't make up my mind, time is moving closer so said I would ask... Any ladies out there with a bit of advise of this??

And what about if you have long hair? Should you wear it up or down? Or does it even matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭punchestown

popsypya wrote: »
    Hi Everybody,

Ok, well I am wondering about what to wear for the interview, I guess a suit is the right thing? But if you are female, does it matter if it is a suit with a skirt or is it better to wear pants? I am so bad at this and can't make up my mind, time is moving closer so said I would ask... Any ladies out there with a bit of advise of this??

And what about if you have long hair? Should you wear it up or down? Or does it even matter?

I would wear pants and the hair up. If you do make it to Templemore that will be the order of the day so no harm in getting used to it. Also I think the interviewers would probably prefer to see a woman in pants and hair tied up as opposed to skirt and long flowing hair as its not permitted on duty and subliminaly or otherwise you will convey the fact that you aware of that across. But Im a man and what do I know! :D

I wore a skirt to my interview. To be honest i don't really think it matters but i did a prep course for the interview and got the impression that they traditionally like a girl to wear a skirt. I passed interview... if you have one grand but as the last poster says i'd defo wear hear up but not sure if the skirt thing makes a difference. I had a female superintendent so it wouldn't have gotten me any brownie points there!!! lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Good question popsypya, I've been wondering that myself!
    I think punchestown's advice is good. Pants and hair up it is so. And maybe a fitted shirt or something. I think a professional, confident appearance is probably the most important thing anyway.
    I booked a prep course the other day, and I had a good chat on the phone with the guy who does it. It's a very high percentage of people that fail the interview, so I think a prep course is a really good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭goouch

Anyone get an interview date today or late last week still waiting!!!!!would have taught going my numbers i would have a date by now!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭quirkek2

goouch wrote: »
    Anyone get an interview date today or late last week still waiting!!!!!would have taught going my numbers i would have a date by now!!
    Dont worry about it mate....i got a fairly high number in my aptitude test and it was 2 and a half months till i got my interview! Not saying that's gona happen with you but just be patient, this process is all about preparation and then waiting! not sure exactly what the numbers are supposed to mean but there were people who got called way before me for interview and they had numbers in and around what i had and higher numbers too. You will get called if you've got passed the aptitude so dont worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

I'm still waiting on a date aswel, but I was in batch 2.
    In the public jobs message it said the batch 2 interviews will start in August. I was advised it would probably be the tues after the bank holiday (the 5th) and then they interview on average about 24 people a day, starting from whoever was placed number 1, then 2 etc..
    Hope this helps goouch

Quirke2 but if you got a high number it stands to reason why you had to wait 2mths.Well they are to go by numbers lower the number the sooner your called, obviously people can change dates which may effect the arranged numbers may have happend to you, thanks for the reply

really thats good to hear for those in batch 2 but im in batch 1 , so if i was to bet then ill be the last week in July i should have a date then i should be notified end of this week and others in Batch 1 also,i could be way off the mark just my thinking lol,thanks Bluebell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Ye i got a lowISH number in batch 2, says i'll get a date soon but it will be in August, where abouts do the interviews take place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Frenchie78

ojewriej wrote: »
    It sure is.

Had to do it 3 times, it was a pain.

I think they usually say it takes up to 8 weeks. It won't influence your interview result's as such, but before it's done, PAS won't tell you whether you passed or not. I don't know what's the reasoning behind it to be honest.
    Hi ojewriej. First post here and just wondering if you had to get your qualifications translated before sending the documentation over to QRI, and if so where did you get it done? Many thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Frenchie78 wrote: »
    Hi ojewriej. First post here and just wondering if you had to get your qualifications translated before sending the documentation over to QRI, and if so where did you get it done? Many thanks in advance.

Yep, you have to have it translated to English by a sworn translator. You have to do it yourself - I've done it in Poland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Frenchie78

Thanks a million ojewriej and thanks for everyone's posts. Been more than helpful in the past few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 moonglow

hey evreyone,
    iam in batch 2,does anyone know how i could get in contact with the lady from templemore that does private interview coarses?ive heard shes good,anyone have any info? thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭quirkek2

goouch wrote: »
    Quirke2 but if you got a high number it stands to reason why you had to wait 2mths.Well they are to go by numbers lower the number the sooner your called, obviously people can change dates which may effect the arranged numbers may have happend to you, thanks for the reply
    goouch, hows it going? Sorry my bad, when i said a high number i actually meant i got well within the top 100... i should have said a low number instead. :) that's why i was surprised i had to wait that long... im here now though just waiting on this call so that's the main thing..

Can I just ask what are the main reasons for wanting to be a garda??? I have a few reasons but I dont no weather they sound any good or not!:confused: Really Stuck!

If anyone wants to pm me feel free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Hey again everyone, just about the interview perperation, i know the sergeant in my town, through my family not because i've been arrested:D but i know a couple people who know him like me and he has helped them with there interview, he wants to help me with my Interview which is great and i will take all the help i can get but has anyone else done something like this and any advice?

MOG7 wrote: »
    ... where abouts do the interviews take place?

Chapter House, 26-30 Abbey Street ... right at the Luas Stop