Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment - Stage 3a - Medical Examination

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Paolo5 wrote: »
    To answer the q and get off the guys case there is a urine sample given - I am not sure what they test this for but it is a possibility I suppose that drugs are tested for.

Ah i wouldn't answer his question.

You can leave runners/shoes and socks on when you go into the room for the medical but are basically down to your boxers/briefs/y fronts for the test - that was for me anyway!

Gowns are lovely mulity coloured or wine. Probably many years old!

That changing room is the funniest thing going, those gowns are probably there since the 70's and they are tiny!!!

Chatmaster wrote: »
    Hi, do you wear shoes or anything?

I've an idea of what the robes are like.. photo would be good tho lol

Hey Chatmaster, I wouldn't worry about the medical especially of what to wear to it and during it, it will all be explained when you are told to do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭kojack

Hey Guys

After meeting with the Super - he advised me to make an appointment with my doctor so he could give me the once over before i get the call for the medical.

Does anyone know any details about the medical - what tests do they actually carry out? any help would be great!!

Yohave to fill out a form when you get there so have your doctors name, address and telephone number with you, you also have to fill out another form like at the end of form b about any crimes you committed. Then you do a urine sample and have your blood pressure taken. Then its a lung capacity test and a hearing test.

You get sent upstairs to the doctor then and have to wait around in bathrobes! When you get called in you have to stand on your tippee-toes, tell the doctor on how you keep fit, eye test, show any scars you have, colour blindness test, your height and weight are taken and then the doctors examines you, and thats it!

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭PeteK*

kojack wrote: »
    ...tell the doctor on how you keep fit...

What would he like to hear? Lol
    Hey Chatmaster, I wouldn't worry about the medical ....
    Good to read a comment like that.. hopefully I can pass this cuṇt of an interview and get to the medical to not worry about it! Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Mark63

I got called for medical but got deferred. A bit disappointed but should be OK, doc said I needed to get in a notice that what I needed to get done was done and then I'd be back on track.

Now got a letter looking for a medical report - seems a standard letter - which seems to imply getting a report in now and not something saying I'm all done.

Hope I'm making sense but just wondering if anybody got anything similar?

Will check it out with Appointments but maybe somebody on here knows??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 tigerman2k

To answer the q and get off the guys case there is a urine sample given - I am not sure what they test this for but it is a possibility I suppose that drugs are tested for.

I was told by a reliable source that there the sample IS tested for drugs but nobody in here should have anything to worry about I'm sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

i emailed hq looking for the details of the medical and in particular weight, but all they did was send the feckin notes for candidates which is pretty vague on the medical!:mad:

shakin wrote: »
    i emailed hq looking for the details of the medical and in particular weight, but all they did was send the feckin notes for candidates which is pretty vague on the medical!:mad:

There is no big secret to the medical regarding weight. the system they use is BMI. Height and Weight. Have it between 24 -28, calculator on-line. For my medical he measured my height, noted my weight and that was it.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭cathalfeely

Hey guys have the medical coming up now in a month or so. For all that i know about it is that you are tested on:-
    Eyes
    Hearing
    Weight / Height (BMI)
    Flexability
    Lung Capacity
    Teeth
    Colour Blindness

P.S I stand to be corrected.

I was just wondering if anybody could help me on any of the following questions...
    1. When you are tested for your sight is it using your naked eye or with glasses if you wear them and what are the requirements.

2. Is the hearing test very hard and does anybody think that i would be at risk as i work in a nightclub and listen to loud music 2 hours a night (I be on the door for the rest of it). But please not that i wear industrial strength ear plugs. So basiclly i would like to know if anyone thinks my hearing has been afftected?

3. My BMI is currently 28.4 and am wondering is that to heavy for the medical? Would I get a straight fail for it, although I am flat out in the gym and hope to get it down to 27.5 in the month that I have left.

4. Do many people that smoke pass the medical? I smopke 15 - 20 a day but feel healthy.

5. What exactly do they check for in teeth? Do they just check if you need to get any work done on them and if you do, do you fail tyhe medical?

My apolagies for such a long message and I understand if all the questions cant be answered but any help would be greatful.

Thanking you in advance:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 dazwhite

Hey guys have the medical coming up now in a month or so. For all that i know about it is that you are tested on:-
    Eyes
    Hearing
    Weight / Height (BMI)
    Flexability
    Lung Capacity
    Teeth
    Colour Blindness

I was just wondering if anybody could help me on any of the following questions...
    1. When you are tested for your sight is it using your naked eye or with glasses if you wear them and what are the requirements.

2. Is the hearing test very hard and does anybody think that i would be at risk as i work in a nightclub and listen to loud music 2 hours a night (I be on the door for the rest of it). But please not that i wear industrial strength ear plugs. So basiclly i would like to know if anyone thinks my hearing has been afftected?

3. My BMI is currently 28.4 and am wondering is that to heavy for the medical? Would I get a straight fail for it, although I am flat out in the gym and hope to get it down to 27.5 in the month that I have left.

4. Do many people that smoke pass the medical? I smopke 15 - 20 a day but feel healthy.

5. What exactly do they check for in teeth? Do they just check if you need to get any work done on them and if you do, do you fail tyhe medical?

My apolagies for such a long message and I understand if all the questions cant be answered but any help would be greatful.

Thanking you in advance:)

hey dude.. im club Dj and recently passed my hearing so im sure u'l be grand!!... specially wit u wearing ear plugs!!.. just do a search on the thread with "hearing" ad take everyones advice cos its tricky enuf!

dazwhite wrote: »
    hey dude.. im club Dj and recently passed my hearing so im sure u'l be grand!!... specially wit u wearing ear plugs!!.. just do a search on the thread with "hearing" ad take everyones advice cos its tricky enuf!

thanks a million dude, cause i was chatting one of the dj's in the club and he told me that he has been dj'in for ten years and last year he went to a specialist and he told him that his hearing was fine, thanks for the reply :)

no hassle .. was kinda worried about it myself cos like u i spend a lot of time in that enviroment,..when u up??

have got it early/mid october.... when did you do yours? you got a date for your pct? you looking good for november?

pct next month.. from wat i hear theres bit of backlog so not sure about november.. its a waiting game now!

yeh i heard that to but alot of the stuff that you hear is bullsh*t and i dont know where they come from. i read a few weeks ago on this that there will be half the numbers going in, in november but on the applying to the gardai thread somebody says that they are going to meet their quota for 270 so you dont know what to believe, i would be confident if i was in your shoes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Surfboarder

hey quick question

my BMI is around the 30 mark...i know im obese!!

I'm bout 6'5, 18stone never been described as fat, more athletic, muscular build - does this matter or is BMI around 30 an automatic fail?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

Anybody here ever passed with a lazy eye??

I have one but my other eye is perfect. Im not sure of my exact vision capabilities or whether they meet the requirements.

Obviously it differ from one person to the next but just wondering is it possible to pass the eye test with a lazy eye?

Anybody know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭The Dude 87

li@mo wrote: »

I have one but my other eye is perfect. Im not sure of my exact vision capabilities or whether they meet the requirements.

Obviously it differ from one person to the next but just wondering is it possible to pass the eye test with a lazy eye?

Anybody know?

Hi. I had/have the exact same problem as you! Right eye perfect but my left eye slightly lazy! I was worried about this to and brought the exact requirements (found on the garda website) to opticain and he checked it out for me! He said I was okish but recommended I get galsses to be 100% sure!

So thats what i did! My best advice would be to go to the opticain and get eye test test with these requirements!!;)

Ps its free if your PRSI is enough to cover it I think! Hope this helps! Anything else just ask!:)

hey quick question

I'm bout 6'5, 18stone never been described as fat, more athletic, muscular build - does this matter or is BMI around 30 an automatic fail?

Cheers
    I heard they go on BMI alone so if you are 30.0 or above a fail. 29.9 BARELY pass!! Could be wrong here hopefully someone will know for sure!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 MichaelH24

I know of 2 people that failed with "lazy eye"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭li@mo

Hi. I had/have the exact same problem as you! Right eye perfect but my left eye slightly lazy! I was worried about this to and brought the exact requirements (found on the garda website) to opticain and he checked it out for me! He said I was okish but recommended I get galsses to be 100% sure!

So thats what i did! My best advice would be to go to the opticain and get eye test test with these requirements!!;)

Ps its free if your PRSI is enough to cover it I think! Hope this helps! Anything else just ask!:)

Thanks for the quick reply. I will check that out. Doubt I'll meet the requirements. When I did the eye test for the driving license I was toled by the optician that I just about met the requirements to drive un-aided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

hey quick question

Cheers

bmi over 25 is technically over weight, bmi 30 and over is obese? from what i can tell they look at your overall body fat. muscle weights slightly heaver then fat. my gp said today that bmi is not the most accurate way of determining if some is "over weight" if they have built alot of muscle.

• Registered Users Posts: 24 Aha-shake

lightyear wrote: »
    Good stuff lads
    I thought I was over-reacting at first but in all honesty the man is an idiot

Sorry to be diverting to the topic at hand but I take exception to being called an idiot. My social life is no business of yours, I merely asked a simple yes or no question. While I may be somewhat cavalier or ignorant to some, I assure you, I'm far from an idiot.

That's my two cents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

li@mo wrote: »

Anybody know?

I have a lazy eye too. I just brought my glasses into the medical with me. He tested me unaided and then with the glasses. Past the requirements for both. He then just asked me, "when did you find out you had a lazy eye" I just said when i was young but its never afected me. That was it. Its not a barrier and wont fail on its own, but if the doc sees a lazy eye he will look for an indication for bad eyesight so if your eyesight meets the requirements then nothing to worry about.

Eyes
    Hearing
    Weight / Height (BMI)
    Flexability
    Lung Capacity
    Teeth
    Colour Blindness

Thanking you in advancesmile.gif

Finally got a call for the medical today!!! At last!:):) Have it in october!!

well done mate, the ball is rolling for alot of people now, when about it october do you have it?you from the jan or may competition?

From the may competition so was kinda suprised been honest! Hopefully some more people will hear something soon enough!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 tigerman2k

From the may competition so was kinda suprised been honest! Hopefully some more people will hear something soon enough!:)

Good for you. There's hope for the rest of us then.