Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackout in Rathmines

• 08-05-2008 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭

Anyone know what was going on in Rathmines today? Swan centre and right hand side of the street down towards the canal experienced an electrical blackout for more than an hour. The special branch/ guards, were tearing up and down the street...

Just too many air conditioning units turned on for the grid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i thought you meant the other......:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

i thought you meant the other......:pac:

Lol, me too. Lucky there were no chinemen out in rathmines at the time.

And OP, wtf. Sometimes power goes down.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

South William St lost power this afternoon too for a little while.

Dublin forum

• Registered Users Posts: 797 ✭✭✭ergo

bug wrote: »

Just too many air conditioning units turned on for the grid?

Jaysus, was in Brisbane when there was a heatwave with temps up to 43degrees. Now that was blackout central :eek: . I remember someone texted in the radio station to say their neighbour was out mowing the lawn in the midday heat :eek:

but if people need a/c for this weather here, well, I dont know.........

wasn't down that part of Rathmines today though, dunno what was going on

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

moved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

In before culchies moaning that this isn't the Dublin Forum.

EDIT: Damn it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the garda were there directing traffic as the lights were down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

connundrum wrote: »
    Lol, me too. Lucky there were no chinemen out in rathmines at the time.

And OP, wtf. Sometimes power goes down.

Just a question.

Here's another.

what's a chineman?

I apologise for wondering.

Thanks Karoma, soz.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,465 ✭✭✭✭cson

Was he shot in time?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

bug wrote: »
    what's a chineman?

A distant relative of a china-man. Apparently it is racist to speak of chinamen in the singular term.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Not sure what was the story there, I work in Rathmines and we got to go home early, back of the net!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

My office is off Merrion Square and we experienced something similar yesterday at around 2pm (I think) power went out for a second and then came back on, my pc had to be rebooted :(