Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Police" - skanger talk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,523 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Golferx wrote: »
    What is it about the skangers and working class of Ireland that they seem unable to say the word "Gardai", instead referring to our police force as the "Police"?
    Even "Gardai", is wrong.

For the organisation: Garda
    For an individual officer: garda
    For a group of officers: gardaí

Epic Fail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

aren't they na gardai siochana?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

aren't they na gardai siochana?

dont you mean An Garda Síochána

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Predhead

flanum wrote: »
    ive heard travellers referring to them as "the shades" !

incidently, im"working class". i say garda or gardai!

op, are you middle class or upper class?

Whatever class he is he needs to get a life.

Who cares what people call them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

seamus wrote: »
    Talking in Irish is Gay.

Go bhfoire Dia orm :eek:
    Beadh naire an domhain dhuit a Sheamuis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Po-po
    The filth

Never the police.

Anyone ever notice that in the rag that is the Sunday World, yer man Williams always refers to the Gardai as ''The Cops''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭conchubhar1

na rudaí a duirt des bishop faoi - tá siad an cheart

dún do chlab, dún do bhéal - none of ya's know the scéal

eeijits in this thread,yo

An Garda siochána - the guardians of peace
    they are a police force

if you speak english - there is no problem callin them whatever the fook you feel like at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭uberpixie

flanum wrote: »
    ive heard travellers referring to them as "the shades" !

used a lot in Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Golferx wrote: »
    What is it about the skangers and working class of Ireland that they seem unable to say the word "Gardai", instead referring to our police force as the "Police"?

Bloody proles should get back to their workhouses tbh

WTF...where's my rolly eyes thing gone?

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭kreuzberger

the filt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Dee369369

I normally say the law?hmmm jst me?