Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Marijuana March tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Phaetonman

But I've just shown you a study by scientists which rate ecstacy as being less harmfull to society than marijuana. So you are wrong.

And cocaine is fairly bad I won't debate you there. At the same time you can keep up a mild enough weekend habit for years much like weed and not see much harm.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

The other aspect also is when snorting coke or popping an E, God only knows what you are actually taking... at least with a lot of good home-grown about these days you do know you are smoking just grass (well, maybe some pesticides too). Soap bar is another story obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

keen wrote: »
    Snort coke at the weekend - potential to cause a lot of harm
    What kind of harm? :confused:
    Don't get me wrong I don't believe cannabis causes no harm at all, but I don't think it can be compared to coke and e in terms of how harmful it is.
    Coke is addictive and potentially lethal when mixed with alcohol, so I'll give you that, but E? What's so harmful about E?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    What kind of harm? :confused:

Coke is addictive and potentially lethal when mixed with alcohol, so I'll give you that, but E? What's so harmful about E?

Harm such as heart palpitations, extreme paranoia, depression sever anxiety. I've seen it all first hand.

Have you ever seen anyone on a Monday moring after taking a few e's on a Friday and Saturday? Ever hear of a comedown? Sure, if you take an E in a controlled enviroment once, you'll be fine but this isn't how people use drugs.

Harm such as heart palpitations, extreme paranoia, depression sever anxiety.
    Lol, all of those are also attributable to smoking too much weed.
    Have you ever seen anyone on a Monday moring after taking a few e's on a Friday and Saturday? Ever hear of a comedown? Sure, if you take an E in a controlled enviroment once, you'll be fine but this isn't how people use drugs.
    An E comedown isn't exactly harmful though, and only really bad if you've totally overdone it. And, to draw a contrast, alcohol hangovers are generally much worse. After a night of smoking weed you feel groggy the next day too.

Lol, all of those are also attributable to smoking too much weed.

An E comedown isn't exactly harmful though, and only really bad if you've totally overdone it. And, to draw a contrast, alcohol hangovers are generally much worse. After a night of smoking weed you feel groggy the next day too.

Stop being pedantic man, I've seen an old friend of mine being hospitalized due to coke, heart nearly pumping out of her chest resulting in her having an irregular heartbeat for days. Weed causes mild paranoia when stoned once it weres off you fine the paranoia continues with coke.

Serotonin depletion is lot more harmful then a hang over or feeling croggy after a nights smoking.
    An E comedown is due to your brain being drained of serotonin that is harmful.

Stop being pedantic man, I've seen an old friend of mine being hospitalized due to coke, heart nearly pumping out of her chest resulting in her having an iregual heartbeat for days. Weed causes mild paranoia when stoned once it weres off you fine the paranoia continues with coke.
    Ah, I'm not saying coke is less harmful than weed, but come on, but it's not uncommon for someone to freak out on weed, a little more than mild paranoia.
    Serotonin depletion is lot more harmful then a hang over or feeling croggy after a nights smoking.
    An E comedown is due to your brain being drained of serotonin that is harmful.
    Serotonin is replenished naturally. Having temporarily low serotonin levels might not feel nice, but it's not harmful.

Ah, I'm not saying coke is less harmful than weed, but come on, but it's not uncommon for someone to freak out on weed, a little more than mild paranoia.

Serotonin is replenished naturally. Having temporarily low serotonin levels might not feel nice, but it's not harmful.

tbh I've only ever seen people get the greenys on weed, not saying your lying or anything just haven't seen it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

The focus on fatalaties takes away focus from mental health issues, which are a pretty big deal I reckon.

Marijuana increases the risk of psychosis, as well as having detrimental effects on learning and memory.

Psychosis? That is scary stuff, and it doesn't sound 'harmless' to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

the detrimental effects on learning and memory go away if you stop smoking, as for the psychosis? Just a modern take on the 'it takes over your soul' argument.

Kooli wrote: »
    The focus on fatalaties takes away focus from mental health issues, which are a pretty big deal I reckon.

Marijuana increases the risk of psychosis, as well as having detrimental effects on learning and memory.

Psychosis? That is scary stuff, and it doesn't sound 'harmless' to me.

Again, no concrete evidence what so ever to prove your statements.

I'm not living in denial just there's no proof to what your saying, also I can learn pretty well and my memory is spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Hurray, another drug "debate", it's been so long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

No evidence?

Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry: "Despite the heterogeneity of methods and definitions of psychosis, there is reasonably consistent evidence from prospective studies that frequent cannabis use predicts an increased risk of psychotic symptoms and psychosis that is not explained by potential confounders such as other drug use."

Journal of Psychiatric Intensive Care: "cannabis use potentially leads to psychosis in vulnerable people, especially if started in adolescence"

I could quote more, but why bother? Fair enough if you want to say you don't BELIEVE the evidence, just don't say that there is none.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Dev 17

Anyone got pictures of this years march?
    How many people attended?

-Dev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I saw the youtube videos of last year. Needless to say, I wont be attending.

No it's fúcking not. This is what písses me off about dumbass stoners. You think that weed is this harmless, wonderful substance with no downside to it and that other drugs are totally different to it. Firstly, you do do drugs if you do weed and alcohol. And secondly, what evidence do you have to say that weed is so less harmful than E, acid, coke etc. that it should be legalised and they shouldn't? As far as I'm concerned, weed is no more or less harmful than any other commonly used recreational drug. Just because you can't overdose on it doesn't mean it's inherently less harmful than any other drug.

All that said, drugs fascinate me and I read about them constantly and take them on occasion. I do believe in their legalisation, but not the exclusive legalisation of weed.

And it's people like you who support hard drugs that are the problem, legalize the least harmfull and next they'll be asking to legalize coke, what reason do I have to say marijuana is any less harmfull how about nobody has ever died from taking it...ever, how about the guy who took E and took his own eyeballs out, or acid staying in your system so long you can have random flash backs for years , or people Overdosing on coke...there's a start anyway.

Irishcrx wrote: »
    how about the guy who took E and took his own eyeballs out
    If that actually happened then it wasn't MDMA and wouldn't have happened if MDMA was legal and regulated since the person taking it would be sure they were actually taking MDMA.
    acid staying in your system so long you can have random flash backs for years
    That's a myth.
    http://www.erowid.org/chemicals/lsd/lsd_myth1.shtml
    http://sulcus.berkeley.edu/mcb/165_001/papers/manuscripts/_278.html (last paragraph)
    what reason do I have to say marijuana is any less harmfull how about nobody has ever died from taking it...ever.
    What about all those people with mental illness which was brought upon by smoking marijuana?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Kooli wrote: »
    No evidence?

Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry: "Despite the heterogeneity of methods and definitions of psychosis, there is reasonably consistent evidence from prospective studies that frequent cannabis use predicts an increased risk of psychotic symptoms and psychosis that is not explained by potential confounders such as other drug use."

Journal of Psychiatric Intensive Care: "cannabis use potentially leads to psychosis in vulnerable people, especially if started in adolescence"

I could quote more, but why bother? Fair enough if you want to say you don't BELIEVE the evidence, just don't say that there is none.

Twin studies have shown that military training can induce schizophrenia (this was the best link I could find at short notice which documents the fact).

Should we ban military training?

I think it really depends on what proportion of the population are suceptible. Penicillin has the potential to harm a decent fraction of the population. Hell, even peanuts can be deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭KERPAL

Personally I think you pathetic stoner **** are just as bad as the Coke addict or the Heroin one. You know the marijuana will **** you up but you decide not to conform with society cause you are more than likely lazy socialist pricks.
    From first hand experience, a relative of mine has been in and out of mental hospitals for the last 4 years because of smoking weed.

Pity the Po didnt take youse down. Your lucky your in such an on the fence country, in a more assertive state, youse would get the ****e kicked out of you by the police and deservedly so.

rofl

we've got an intellect here

rofl

we have another sad nerd, almost 10,000 posts to his/her name. Sort yourself out you sad prick.

some of what i said may be complete crap and spur of the moment stuff
    But one thing is a fact.
    That my uncle has been in and out of mental hospitals the last 4 years as i said, because of a weed problem.
    So why dont u "rofl" to that

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Kerpal, tone down the abuse.

rofl

KERPAL wrote: »
    Personally I think you pathetic stoner **** are just as bad as the Coke addict or the Heroin one. You know the marijuana will **** you up but you decide not to conform with society cause you are more than likely lazy socialist pricks.
    From first hand experience, a relative of mine has been in and out of mental hospitals for the last 4 years because of smoking weed.

Pity the Po didnt take youse down. Your lucky your in such an on the fence country, in a more assertive state, youse would get the ****e kicked out of you by the police and deservedly so.

haha

My granddad died of pneumonia. He also liked lemonade. Does that mean lemonade gives you pneumonia?

rofl

some of what i said may be complete crap and spur of the moment stuff

Well, half right.

Fremen wrote: »
    My granddad died of pneumonia. He also liked lemonade. Does that mean lemonade gives you pneumonia?

Yes.

rofl
    your uncle's a moron

Another brilliant wide ranging use of vocabulary from the Intellectual himself.

I suppose you could call him a moron for partaking in the activities of some of the posters on this thread.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Kerpal, mordeth (or whatever the hell you're called now) take it to pm or shut up but don't de-rail threads with this crap.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Twin studies have shown that military training can induce schizophrenia (this was the best link I could find at short notice which documents the fact).

Should we ban military training?

One tends not to undergo military training for recreational purposes. Of course, there are always exceptions, but even those tend to have multiple benefits, both personal and public. However, overall the cost/benefit analysis is for the public good. I'm less convinced of the cost/benefit analysis to recreational MJ use.

Speaking of soldiers, why choose the Garden of Rememberance? Short of the War Memorial Gardens, I can't think of many more incongruous places.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Personally I think you pathetic stoner **** are just as bad as the Coke addict or the Heroin one.

if you knew a coke or heroin addict, youd think differently
    Pity the Po didnt take youse down.

yea, gansta ;)
    Your lucky your in such an on the fence country, in a more assertive state, youse would get the ****e kicked out of you by the police and deservedly so.

like where? we're probably the most conservative country in Europe.
    You know the marijuana will **** you up but you decide not to conform with society cause you are more than likely lazy socialist pricks.

is your relative a lazy socialist prick?

if you knew a coke or heroin addict, youd think differently

yea, gansta ;)

like where? we're probably the most conservative country in Europe.

is your relative a lazy socialist prick?

I know lots of coke addicts.
    Excuse my bad grammar.
    Like Italy.
    Yes I suppose he is.

I'm less convinced of the cost/benefit analysis to recreational MJ use.

Well, legalisation would make drug-dealing far less profitable (which means less organised crime) and it would generate some revenue for the government.

Well, legalisation would make drug-dealing far less profitable (which means less organised crime) and generate some revenue for the government.

Generate income which they would have to spend (+more) on health services for victims of Marijuana

What about if it was taxed so that they recieved more revenue from marijuana than it cost them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,248 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

So anyway, how did the march go? Any pics/youtoobage?

I was in Amsterdam lately with college and their system seems to work pretty well. Cafes are real chilled out and good for a laugh.

Going out for a smoke was a good alternative to going out an getting pi$$ed and rowdy.

Would that not lead to problems with illegal sellers of cheaper marijuana which would cost even more for the government to sort out?
    I dunno, I just dont think its going to add anything to this country whatsoever.

Im sorry for that idiotic rant about socialists etc but I just think the stuff brings little good to society.
    It would just be another probelm to add to alcoholism,smoking,gambling IMO.
    And obviously theres the extra bit of anti-marijuana in me because of my uncle also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

bigkev49 wrote: »
    So anyway, how did the march go? Any pics/youtoobage?

I'm sure theres plenty of pics and vids of 6 other random stoners smoking while sitting in a circle in some grass. It cant be that hard to find on tinternet.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Half of them probably didn't make it past Centra due to an awful bout of the munchies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

I was O'Connell Street when they passed. Probably about 100 people, not too much of a Garda presence. To be honest, the marchers all looked like they could do with a good shower and haircuts...

mate of mine was there with his hot sister

i like hot sisters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Mena wrote: »
    Oh man this is great, I'm going to rent a hot dog machine and follow you feckers around. I'll be minting it by noon!

Priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

I have no problem with people who enjoy smoking MJ who have no probs from smoking it but to say it does'nt have serious effects on some people is misleading. Probably 70-90% of people who smoke MJ will have no serious effects but there is a significant % of population who are more susceptible to psychosis and other psychiatric problems DIRECTLY as a result of THC. I know many liberal psychiatrists and pschiatric nurses and they all say MJ is dangerous for a significant % of population. Maybe the people who get unwell would get unwell if they did'nt take MJ but there seems to be a direct correlation between THC use and psychiatric effects in a significant % of population and if these people smoke during adolecence when their brains are not finished developing there is significant increased risk of pschiatric probs.

As I said for those in the majoity who have no negative side effects from MJ knock yourselves out and I agree it should be legalised etc but young people under mid twenties use with caution and if you have family history of psychiatric probs avoid MJ.

there is a significant % of population who are more susceptible to psychosis and other psychiatric problems DIRECTLY as a result of THC.
    Bullshít. Correlation does not mean a direct link. They've tried to prove a direct link countless times and as of yet have not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Smoke weed, you'll be fairly relaxed, or just stoned.

Snort coke, and you'll either be on a confidence high, or ready to smash someones face in.

=-=

Also... I wonder how many of these people will be checked out by the Gardai over the coming weeks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

gaz wac wrote: »
    Thanks Irishcrx, ill be there :p jees just thinking about weed is getting me all giddy, love it. I swear its the only thing that makes working in an office 9-5 worth it.... 3.30 time for a joint.
    see you tommro

u should change your 3.30 smoke break to 4.20 man
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/420_(cannabis_culture)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Phaetonman

Oh man this is great, I'm going to rent a hot dog machine and follow you feckers around. I'll be minting it by noon
    Half of them probably didn't make it past Centra due to an awful bout of the munchies...
    Is there a more tired or unfunny joke in existance? Ooh you smoke weed, what about the munchies lol!!!

I don't know anybody who eats snacks during or after smoking other than what would be normal for any person to eat. I've never felt hungry when I've smoked. The only time I've come accross this phenonomon is in some lazy weed joke from american tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,918 ✭✭✭nix

Would that not lead to problems with illegal sellers of cheaper marijuana which would cost even more for the government to sort out?
    I dunno, I just dont think its going to add anything to this country whatsoever..

How about a **** load of jobs?

Im sorry for that idiotic rant about socialists etc but I just think the stuff brings little good to society.
    It would just be another probelm to add to alcoholism,smoking,gambling IMO.
    And obviously theres the extra bit of anti-marijuana in me because of my uncle also.

You seem to be confused as to what the effects marijuana has, i take it you have never tried it?

And please dont compare marijuana to alcohol, alcohol makes you slow, docile, and aggresive and kills more people than all other drugs combined.

Marijuana relaxes you and gives no physical/mental draw backs (In my experience)

I have been smokin hash/weed whatever you wanna call it for the best part of a decade, and have never, not once had a bad experience with it. Only that i may have over paid for **** deals :D, oh and occasionaly i may wake up in the morning a little more tired than usual. But hey ! its better than waking up with a killer headache, vomiting, inability to think in a timely fashion, profuse sweating, you all know the symptoms.

And regarding your uncle, did ya stop to think that maybe hes just a looney that coincidently smokes tha reefer ? :P

Regretfully i couldnt make the march yesterday, due to me being in work :(

How did it go? Anybody ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭MrVestek

nix wrote: »
    How about a **** load of jobs?
    How did it go? Anybody ?
    It was alright yeah, good enough turnout. As much as I'd love for it to have made a difference though I doubt it will. Also there was a fair amount of garda presence but they seemed to abandon us the closer we got to the dail.

Funilly enough the guards were paying more attention to people drinking on the streets than to all the joints that were being passed around...