Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

FA Awarded extra UEFA Cup place!

• 09-05-2008 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭

Breaking News on SSN there that they've been given an extra place for next season's UEFA Cup for topping the Fair PLay rankings!

That'll mean Villa won't have to go trough the Intertoto now won't it?!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭delija_sever029

Extra place for England or at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Nah unfortunately it will be Spurs who get the extra spot, the spot will go to whichever team has the best discipline record in the top flight. Spurs are a good way clear with Utd in second, so unfortunately it wont make a difference to Villa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Idu

spurs already have a uefa cup place though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

i think it has to go to the team that topped englands fair play league though, which is currently city, as all other teams above them have europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

it's going to Man City at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Is it possible for Fulham to overtake City this last weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Tis going to us!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Whoa, is this the time sack the manager?

Mike.

Top 10 in the Premiership and possibly in Europe. Sack him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Jesus he's done nothing this season:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

right

so this means everton are in the uefa win lose or draw on sunday, them being ahead of city in the fair play

which means they might be less likely to put the boot in v newcastle just in case, which means newcastle might be a bit more likely to do them, which means if we win, we could still get 5th, and both us and everton will be in europe

grasing at straws, but theyre very sexy, tempting straws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,521 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Manchester City are in pole position to claim a place in next season's Uefa Cup after the Football Association was awarded an extra place in the competition.

European football's governing body revealed that English teams had topped their Fair Play competition, meaning an extra place in the first qualifying round of the 2008-09 Uefa Cup.

The FA has confirmed the berth will be awarded to the highest-ranked side in the Premier League fair play table that has not qualified for Europe by other means.

City currently stand fifth in the fair play table, behind Tottenham, Arsenal, Manchester United and Liverpool - who are all already guaranteed a place in continental competition.

That means Sven Goran Eriksson's team, with only a single league game at Middlesbrough remaining, stand on the brink of an unexpected European spot.

Thats from the website there. Man City to also get a slice of action in Europe(if they qualify:P). Quite clear now that Sven isnt up to the job:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,707 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Whats the fair play ranked on? Least number of cards? Hardly worthy of sending someone to europe if it is....whats that, ye're not a filthy shower of hatchet men? Okay, off to the UEFA cup with ye so, have fun? Surely it should have some sort of qualifying grounds other than that, I mean Fulham are in the running and they've done nothing to warrant that kind of reward, merely being in the PL next year should be enough for them.

Is there chance things get changed in last round and someone else claim that place and not City?Anyone close to them on fair play ranking?

Ah the begrudgers are out. This is a reward for having no hatchet men or divers. We play the game in the spirit it was intended and deserve this proze.

Is there chance things get changed in last round and someone else claim that place and not City?Anyone close to them on fair play ranking?

everton

Everton will play Uefa cup anyway so whats the point?

if everton lose at the weekend and villa win everton finish 6th, which means no qualification via the league

And what if they get 5th place?They will qualify over the league and what if they example win also on fair play list?that means no another place for some other english club or they will still give it to 2nd one on fair play list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

And what if they get 5th place?They will qualify over the league and what if they example win also on fair play list?that means no another place for some other english club or they will still give it to 2nd one on fair play list?

keeps dropping down the list until a club not qualified gets in.

kdjac

Logical,i got confused coz someone was talking in way,one club will get place no matter if he already got place over league or not,in case thats same club over league and over fair play list theres no another place for another team,that would be stupid,so City will be playing in Europe next year,good for them

so City will be playing in Europe next year,good for them

no, theyll only be playing in europe if

a) everton finish 5th

or

b) everton finish 6th, but behind them in the fair play league

if everton finish 6th, but finish ahead of city in the fair play league, everton will be in europe

Helix wrote: »
    no, theyll only be playing in europe if

a) everton finish 5th

or

b) everton finish 6th, but behind them in the fair play league

if everton finish 6th, but finish ahead of city in the fair play league, everton will be in europe

Quit cursing it! :mad:

im trying my best to curse it damn you lol

i want everton to finish 6th, and i think the ability for them to get into europe with that finish is good for villa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Link to the rankings: http://www.premierleague.com/page/FairPlayTable/0,,12306,00.html

Pretty interesting. Doesn't include Matchday 37 though.
    R/Y = Red & Yellow Cards - Maximum 10 pts per Match (Red 3pts, Yellow 1pt)
    P/P = Positive Play - Maximum 10 pts per Match
    R/O = Respect Towards Opponent - Maximum 7 pts per Match
    R/R = Respect Towards Referee - Maximum 7 pts per Match
    B/O = Behaviour of Officials - Maximum 6 pts per Match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

You think that Derby would be high enough up in the Fair Play table considering how long they've been playing for nothing this season.

But they still some how find themselves in the bottom three of that table aswell:eek:

SofaK wrote: »
    Link to the rankings: http://www.premierleague.com/page/FairPlayTable/0,,12306,00.html

Pretty interesting. Doesn't include Matchday 37 though.

man city got no bookings, fulham 2 and everton 1 so barring a mass brawl city should get it.

also the top 6 have more cards then the bottom 6, its the other things that kept them down.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Positive play? Bit vague isn't it? Who awards these points? Load of old pony if you ask me. Soon, every bloody team in the Premier League will be able to qualify for Europe at this rate! The Champions League is a farce. How can a team that finishes 2nd, 3rd or 4th play in a competition called the "Champions" League... Bring back the old days! League Champions qualify for the European Cup, Cup winners in the Cup Winner's Cup, and 2 Uefa Cup places...:D

sorry... went a bit OT there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

It would be very very entertaining if the City players confrontred Shiniwatra and threatened to get themselves all sent off in a mass brawl unless Sven is given an extension before the match. It would work alot better than the petition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

I'm pretty sure Newcastle are top since the arrival of Keegan. Wretched Alan Smith and Sam Allardyce have cost us another crack at Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Tis going to us!!! :D

So basically City's plan for the final game is, don't foul anyone, doesn't matter if you lose 10-0?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Mad_Max

Touch off topic but anyone know what the crack is with the champs league spot? Does it get passed down seen as one of the top two are getting the champions spot. Can't remember what they do since the pool won it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,707 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Mad_Max wrote: »
    Touch off topic but anyone know what the crack is with the champs league spot? Does it get passed down seen as one of the top two are getting the champions spot. Can't remember what they do since the pool won it.

What are you talking about? What spot? England get 4 champions league spots. If a team is current champions, they take the spot off the 4th placed team unless they have already qualified.

So liverpool lose the place? I honestly don't know what the jig is with it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Mad_Max wrote: »
    So liverpool lose the place? I honestly don't know what the jig is with it :o

Did you zone out halfway through reading his post? Unless they have already qualified Chelsea and Utd have already qualified through the league. If Chelsea were 5th and won it, then they would take Liverpools place.

oops read it wrong, reading becomes hard to bare after a certain amount :( You begin to see what you want to see after a while :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Looks like England nipped in ahead of the Norweigans by 2 thousandth of a point!

Fair Play Table

Europe here we come!

Btw fair play place is 3rd round qualifier.

your in with the EL

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote: »
    Btw fair play place is 3rd round qualifier.

your in with the EL

kdjac
    Not much of a challenge so,lol!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Ah the begrudgers are out. This is a reward for having no hatchet men or divers. We play the game in the spirit it was intended and deserve this proze.
    Wait sorry...hold on! By saying no diver etc and 'we' does this mean your not calling Ronaldo a diver?!:p

kmart6 wrote: »
    Not much of a challenge so,lol!

Would fancy taking Villa , not so much man City and definitley not Everton.

shockingly im serious :eek:

TNS ar the prefered choice tho :D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Is there any chance that England could go behind Norway on the final day?

Say if Utd go 3-0 up and Chelsea are 3-0 down at half time they could get two or 3 subs sent off so City don't get into Europe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

UEFA Cup place for 'Fair play'? Ridiculous!

its always been there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Would fancy taking Villa , not so much man City and definitley not Everton.

shockingly im serious :eek:

TNS ar the prefered choice tho :D

kdjac

I love football optimism!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

Helix wrote: »
    its always been there

First I've heard of it, still ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Would fancy taking Villa

aaaahahahhahahahahahahahahaahhaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

First I've heard of it, still ridiculous.

Yep, been around for ages

Ispwich won it but got relegated the same season a few years back.
    Small consolation for them I suppose

Is there any chance that England could go behind Norway on the final day?

Say if Utd go 3-0 up and Chelsea are 3-0 down at half time they could get two or 3 subs sent off so City don't get into Europe
    Revenge fo the two darbies...love it!