Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

00 astra

Options
  • 10-05-2008 8:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭

my timing belt snapped on my astra and just trying to put it all back together, there 10 valves bent which i'm in the middle of replacing. the only thing i'm stuck on is how to time it! i'm by no means a mechanic and never did anythin with an engine before apart from servicing. so is there anyone out there that can help me and tell me how to time it??
    Thank you!!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

Someone at http://www.astraownersclub.com/index.php should be able to help you

• Registered Users Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭muddle84

brilliant thanx

• Registered Users Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

There is a mark on each cam pully line the two of them up accross from each other inlet cam at three o clock exaust at nine o clock.
    The crank pully has a mark that lines up with a mark on the inner timing cover at about five o clock.
    Make sure the cam gears are put back on the right way the one with all the bits sticking out of it goes on the exaust cam also make sure the dowel is in the right hole in the pully.

Anything else let me know.

There is a mark on each cam pully line the two of them up accross from each other inlet cam at three o clock exaust at nine o clock.