Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How come I keep getting banned

• 12-05-2008 12:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Even on new accounts I have just setup and caused no trouble, I use a shared IP address is my conclusion
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Even on new accounts I have just setup and caused no trouble, I use a shared IP address is my conclusion
    Hooray, give yourself a pat on the back.

Yes, shared IP address is allowed, once it's not the same person, but in your case, it's plain to be seen it's the same person who keeps signing up just to get around bans, and that is not allowed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Permanent ban means permanent, the admins don't want to see you back, and will keep banning you.

On the Banlist, I can see straight away, four accounts called Mantime that have been banned by gordon. so, not just was it your IP that gave it away, it was the username...

10-05-2008, 12:41
    manTime
    one of many accounts
    Gordon

10-05-2008, 12:38
    mantime323
    no, leave
    Gordon

10-05-2008, 12:38
    mantime667
    away!
    Gordon

09-05-2008, 8:42
    mantime666
    Returning banned user
    Ruu

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

You were site-banned. What would be the point of a site-ban if the person just signed up again and was allowed post as before?

I think after the 5th account, he should have figured that out himself, but now, I think we're on the > 6th account and he still hasn't figured it out. Why bother to explain it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 mantimereturns

A fresh start. whats the point in putting people in jail for a determined sentence if they keep commiting crimes when they get out, lets just give them the chair

after you make your second account, you immediatley go back to the SMod/Admin who banned you, apologise, and depending on the nature of your offence the first time, they may allow you to post undisturbed again.

After the stupidness of making a 6th account, and by being that stupid, I would be surprised if the admins wouldn't ban this account as well.

so how many accounts have you had?

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

It's not jail, Murdock, it's extradition.

nevf wrote: »
    after you make your second account, you immediatley go back to the SMod/Admin who banned you, apologise, and depending on the nature of your offence the first time, they may allow you to post undisturbed again.

After the stupidness of making a 6th account, and by being that stupid, I would be surprised if the admins wouldn't ban this account as well.

so how many accounts have you had?
    Well iv 83 out of 100 email invites left, two of which were used for geniune reasons the rest for boards accounts, so do the maths yourself -
    This place isn't liberal enough for the mass tastes -
    I think im going to setup my own boards.ie site thatll be far more liberal
    itll allow discussion of that music corporation, swearing, and depravied sex talk - just wait

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Well iv 83 out of 100 email invites left, two of which were used for geniune reasons the rest for boards accounts, so do the maths yourself -
    I think im going to setup my boards.ie site thatll be far more liberal
    itll allow discussion of that music corporation, swearing, and depravied sex talk - just wait

With blackjack and hookers......... let me know how you get on with the IEDR getting the domain name boards.ie. rolleyes.gif

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

This place isn't liberal enough for the mass tastes

You do realise it's the most popular forum in Ireland, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

and black jack and hookers right?

javaboy wrote: »
    With blackjack and hookers......... let me know how you get on with the IEDR getting the domain name boards.ie. rolleyes.gif
    Galvasean wrote: »
    and black jack and hookers right?

:cool:

ye boards2.ie isnt

Yah, thats what we call the real world.

why do you still use gmail invites anyway? I thought everyone knew by now, that you dont need gmail invites to sign up for a gmail account.

So, I'm looking forward to seeing your new site... I know of a few Boards.xxx that are free to register:
    www.boards.tv
    www.boards.co.nz
    www.boards.jp
    www.boards.com.cn
    www.boards.org.uk

all free to register domains. good luck with that. I suppose the admins would have no problem selling you boards.ie for about 35 euro if you wanted it?

ye boards2.ie isnt
    Why don't you take boards.com? :D

You do realise it's the most popular forum in Ireland, right?

Ye you got lucky, free publicity's gonna do it

• Registered Users Posts: 83,216 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

or b.ie

edit: boards.com is hilarity.

Lads I'm with mantimereturns36252817666. I'm jumping ship. There's no free speech around here. I want to get in on the ground floor of this new better boards2.ie. We'll attract a higher class of poster, probably better looking too.

All the moderators on boards are Nazis too. Also they're hiding Maddie in one of the private subforums. They may or may not be behind global warming too.

Zzzzzzzzzzzz

rolleyes.gifSeriously this kind of thing is why we need the proper rolleyes back.

Lads I'm with mantimereturns36252817666. I'm jumping ship. There's no free speech around here. I want to get in on the ground floor of this new better boards2.ie. We'll attract a higher class of poster, probably better looking too.

All the moderators on boards are Nazis too. Also they're hiding Maddie in one of the private subforums. They may or may not be behind global warming too.

Zzzzzzzzzzzz

rolleyes.gifSeriously this kind of thing is why we need the proper rolleyes back.

Id set it up it tonight if i wasnt busy, i think i'll register boards2.ie now just to show you, if my credit card still works

You ever registered a .ie domain name before? I have and it's not easy. Good luck and do let us know how you get on.

I can guarantee you that you wouldn't get it registered tonight even if you had nothing else to do.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,307 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Guys, seriously

DontFeedtheTrolls.jpg

Don't you have to be a company to get a ".ie"?

Zaph wrote: »
    Guys, seriously

DontFeedtheTrolls.jpg

Ah but he's so cute. He wants to set up his own little boards.

Usually although I think if it's your own name you can register it in some cases. I registered a .ie that wasn't a company name. It was the name of a sports club and a very generic (probably valuable) domain name. I had to jump through major hoops and get all sorts of signed headed documents done up before they would give in.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

in before...oh wait, he pre empted the whole "if you dont like the site set up your own"...woah....

hes quick.

kudos.
    well,that was a quick feedback. awesome.

You just have to justify that you are an Irish based website,If you are a registered company however you get priority over the .ie extension, so if boards isnt a registered company (which I assume it is)and I registered a company in that name, I could technically take their domain.
    card was declined anyways

Not necessarily, but you're not supposed to be a dumbass when getting a domain. He's going to have a job going to the IEDomain Registry and telling them:
    "Yeh, well see, I wanna sight like Boards.ie, and it's going to hav about 13 acountz for each user, and a small bit of porn to keep us all happy,... lets call it boards2.ie"

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,307 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Ah but he's so cute. He wants to set up his own little boards.

Yeah, I know, and it's hard to resist when they're as cute as that, but you end up taking them home and they repay you by crapping all over your furniture. Remember, a troll is for life, not just for a quiet Sunday night.

You just have to justify that you are an Irish based website,If you are a registered company however you get priority over the .ie extension, so if boards isnt a registered company (which I assume it is)and I registered a company in that name, I could technically take their domain.
    card was declined anyways
    will you stop talking crap, they can't just deregister Boards.ie from Boards.ie Ltd. just because someone else wants it. Get a grip. Go on, make your own website, and bring all the muppets with you, and the fake accounts.