Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Night at Tesco's

• 12-05-2008 5:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭

What's up with all the scangers pulled up outside tescos car park from 12:00 a.m? they never even race, just sit there...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Seems to be the 'cool' thing to do these days, hanging around in carparks. To be honest, if they're just sitting there having a chat I don't see the problem. As long as they don't make loads of noise it's cool!

I have the same people where I live. People park their cars in the carpark of the Hanley Oaks right outside my bedroom window. They're usually pretty quiet though, so it's ok.

It's still a bit strange!

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭StonedParadoX

u know

they do this in newtownmountkennedy too they sit out site the Sentra Shop and just sit there for hours on end

they dont make much noise but they just sit there with there flashy cars and bug ugly womens!

right now there is a wasp on my bed and im scared ****less of sleeping tonight!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

There was a lot of complaints a few months back about them using the tesco car park for drag racing, guess they have gained some sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Yeah, remember reading recently a few of them were caught there and subsequently banned/jailed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭the-furbo

Ah the old galway cruisers..loud pipes save lives....pure tome like. Basically a bunch of spanners,who knows what their reasons are?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

the-furbo wrote: »
    Basically a bunch of spanners,who knows what their reasons are?
    I doubt any of that special breed of pond life have enough ability to use a computer enough to come onto Boards to tell us :).

Who knows how their minds operate, you'd have to lower yourself to their level to try to understand :eek:.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Could hear them doing 'donuts' somewhere in oranmore area few nights back around midnight.
    They really have one brain cell to share between them all, screwing their tyres and so of course reducing the performance that they try to improve in their plastic cars.

Makes me laugh that a car company spends millions on designing something and they think 'I know I'll bolt on a few bits of plastic and 'lexus' lights (which look so ridiculous it makes me cry laughing), oh and of course improve my horsepower to at least 300bhp because I have a very loud exhaust!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Webbs wrote: »
    Could hear them doing 'donuts' somewhere in oranmore area few nights back around midnight.

Where do they do this, the car park? I can hear it pretty much every second night between 12 and 2am, and it's annoying as hell. I'd love to just go down and smash one of their pathetic cars, whose ****ty spoiler and alloys are worth more then the actual car, in with a sledgehammer.

I really don't know - can't think of anywhere that would be 'suitable' for this. Guess you could let the Garda know that its a problem and cross your fingers that they will actually do anything

Where do they do this, the car park?
    If you mean where in Oranmore, I would guess the car park in the village beside the astroturf pitch and maybe also the car park of the Oran Town Centre.
    Makes me laugh that a car company spends millions on designing something and they think 'I know I'll bolt on a few bits of plastic and 'lexus' lights (which look so ridiculous it makes me cry laughing), oh and of course improve my horsepower to at least 300bhp because I have a very loud exhaust!'
    Don't forget the go faster stickers! They're well worth a few hp! :)

malice_ wrote: »
    If you mean where in Oranmore, I would guess the car park in the village beside the astroturf pitch and maybe also the car park of the Oran Town Centre.
    Don't forget the go faster stickers! They're well worth a few hp! :)

With the Garda station across the road (although is it manned at night??) I can't see it being the Oran Town Centre. The carpark in the centre of the village is usually pretty quiet when i stagger past on way home form the pub.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

I has a noizy car and it do donuts all the tiem. mi wimmins sez it maeks her h0rny...

The po-lees see me ridin' on Lough Atalia - they be hatin' and I be sayin' fu** all of y'all.

If we all drove 1.4 Ford Focii, the world would suck monkey balls...

'cptr

Webbs wrote: »
    With the Garda station across the road (although is it manned at night??) I can't see it being the Oran Town Centre. The carpark in the centre of the village is usually pretty quiet when i stagger past on way home form the pub.
    Good point about the proximity of the Garda station but then skangers aren't really the brightest are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 dankers08

I must say i find this topic of conversation rather humerous, due to the fact that you clearly have no clue what you're talking about. I happen to be one of those "skangers" you refer to that sit down tesco, and contrary to your belief I most certainly have more than one shared brain cell....in fact the liklihood is that myself, and the other person here with me, who also spends part of their time socialising down tesco, has more intelligence in our baby fingers than all of you put together. Ye're insinuating that we have no lives when you are all, in fact, sitting at home discussing the lives of others. How does that reflect on you? Quite ironic isn't it? Oh and yes malice_...I did figure out how to turn on a computer, thanks for your concern. I find it amusing how you are saying in the same train of thought and idiocracy that the guards should be involved, giving the impression that ye are wonderful upstanding citizens, and also saying that ye'd like to come down and smash up the cars, quite the contradiction isn't it? This is our own private lives, ye continuously reiterate the fact that we are not the brightest, yet it is obvious that in saying that, that ye haven't interacted with any of the people, showing that you have no evidence and have, therefore, completely disproven your entire argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

go dankers!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

dankers08 wrote: »
    I must say i find this topic of conversation rather humerous, due to the fact that you clearly have no clue what you're talking about. I happen to be one of those "skangers" you refer to that sit down tesco, and contrary to your belief I most certainly have more than one shared brain cell....in fact the liklihood is that myself, and the other person here with me, who also spends part of their time socialising down tesco, has more intelligence in our baby fingers than all of you put together. Ye're insinuating that we have no lives when you are all, in fact, sitting at home discussing the lives of others. How does that reflect on you? Quite ironic isn't it? Oh and yes malice_...I did figure out how to turn on a computer, thanks for your concern. I find it amusing how you are saying in the same train of thought and idiocracy that the guards should be involved, giving the impression that ye are wonderful upstanding citizens, and also saying that ye'd like to come down and smash up the cars, quite the contradiction isn't it? This is our own private lives, ye continuously reiterate the fact that we are not the brightest, yet it is obvious that in saying that, that ye haven't interacted with any of the people, showing that you have no evidence and have, therefore, completely disproven your entire argument.

So do ye just purely hang out and chat or would there be loud exhausts, donuts or tearing around the place involved at all?

In tesco, generally, hanging out and chatting is all that's involved. There are, however, a number of different groups, some of whom find "tearing around the place" fun. However, it is unreasonable and unfair, to say the least, to engage in this type of generalisation. Donuts and tearing around the place is, in fact, impossible in tesco, due to the large influx of cars. In my experience, this sort of behaviour may have been the case several years ago, but this trend has long since passed. There is private property on which to engage in such activities, if one wishes to do so. Which is another point in showing that we are not stupid, we do not want to endanger others and we do not intend to break the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

wat the hell else is ther to do in galway....
    [that doesnt involve money or alcohol]

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

dankers08 wrote: »
    In tesco, generally, hanging out and chatting is all that's involved. There are, however, a number of different groups, some of whom find "tearing around the place" fun. However, it is unreasonable and unfair, to say the least, to engage in this type of generalisation. Donuts and tearing around the place is, in fact, impossible in tesco, due to the large influx of cars. In my experience, this sort of behaviour may have been the case several years ago, but this trend has long since passed. There is private property on which to engage in such activities, if one wishes to do so. Which is another point in showing that we are not stupid, we do not want to endanger others and we do not intend to break the law.

If you read the entire thread you would have noticed that some people (well, me anyway) said that there is no problem as long as people don't make too much noise. So don't go on about how people are generalising when you are doing the exact same thing in saying that everyone tars you with the same brush.

Despite what you may think, some people do realise that not everyone who hangs around in car parks are skangers who just do donuts the whole time. I still think it's freaking strange that people hang around in car parks, but it doesn't automatically mean they are skangers.

Wow, where to start with that rant?

Obviously dankers08, your extra brain cells don't enable you to structure forum posts or apply punctuation, capitalisation or spelling correctly but I suppose you deserve a commendation for trying.
    dankers08 wrote:
    Oh and yes malice_...I did figure out how to turn on a computer, thanks for your concern. I find it amusing how you are saying in the same train of thought and idiocracy that the guards should be involved, giving the impression that ye are wonderful upstanding citizens, and also saying that ye'd like to come down and smash up the cars, quite the contradiction isn't it?
    Well done, you get a gold star for being able to turn on a computer. Now maybe you can explain to me where I wrote that I would like to smash up your cars?
    This is our own private lives, ye continuously reiterate the fact that we are not the brightest, yet it is obvious that in saying that, that ye haven't interacted with any of the people, showing that you have no evidence and have, therefore, completely disproven your entire argument.
    We don't have any evidence of what exactly and what's the argument again?

I hope you enjoyed your little spleen-venting session, post up another!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Fair play dankers
    janeybabe - yourself and 'cepter are the 'ceptions in this case.
    The thread starts out curious and descends into gearhead-bashing pretty quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,815 ✭✭✭✭po0k

malice_ wrote: »
    Wow, where to start with that rant?

Obviously dankers08, your extra brain cells don't enable you to structure forum posts or apply punctuation, capitalisation or spelling correctly but I suppose you deserve a commendation for trying.
    You're missing a comma after Obviously.
    mallice_ wrote:
    Well done, you get a gold star for being able to turn on a computer. Now maybe you can explain to me where I wrote that I would like to smash up your cars?
    The nicks blend together after time, particularly when writing an emotive response.
    We don't have any evidence of what exactly and what's the argument again?
    That the all the owners of the vehicles in question are scumbags/under-educated/tards.
    Most of the gear heads I know are techies.
    I hope you enjoyed your little spleen-venting session, post up another!

All in the name of balanced argument.

po0k wrote: »
    You're missing a comma after Obviously.
    Do I get any comeback by pointing out that your post shouldn't have 'Obviously' capitalised? :p
    po0k wrote:
    The nicks blend together after time, particularly when writing an emotive response.
    True, I just wished to clarify that it wasn't me.

But why is it always at like 2 or 3AM?The people that hang around the tesco car park seem less than savoury.

We don't have time to reply properly at the moment, but we will later. I would, however, like to point out that "seem" is the operative word in that sentence Dazzler. Were ye never taught not to judge a book by it's cover? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Awesomo-4000

fend wrote: »
    wat the hell else is ther to do in galway....
    [that doesnt involve money or alcohol]

Shouldn't have spent all your money on a ****e car that just makes noise so

• Registered Users Posts: 31 missfemale

I'd love to just go down and smash one of their pathetic cars in with a sledgehammer.

i dare you to come down to tescos and try that!

99.9% of the people that come down tescos are genuine car esthuasiats.. not scummer "boy racers".... although we are painted all with the one brush.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

missfemale wrote: »

99.9% of the people that come down tescos are genuine car esthuasiats.. not scummer "boy racers".... although we are painted all with the one brush.

I think most people have had enough bad experiences with boy racers, or people driving pimped-up cars, that its only to be expected that they will form prejudices against the rest of you. I'm talking about being tailgated, dangerous driving, cars revving late at night, etc. I know I've had plenty of bad experiences, especially with tailgating, speeding, dangerous overtaking and pulling out in front of me, so excuse me, but I do believe there are a lot of bad eggs amongst you, and I will continue to hold my prejudice of "scummer boy racers".
    That said, I'd be glad if ye all hung round in car parks and stayed there, then I wouldn't have to worry about being tailgated...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Then do something about it.

I am a powerboat user, just like lot's of other people in Galway. However, there is a minority of powerboat owners giving the rest of us a bad name, just like 'boy racers' compared to genuine car fans. We've set up a club (Galway Powerboat & Watersports Club) to show that there ARE a responsible group of powerboaters in Galway and that we will not be associated with the 'yobs' of the water. Unfortunately, there's always going to be a case of the green eyed monster as most of the equipment we have is pretty tasty and wouldn't suit everyones budget (as opposed to a sh1tbox boy-racer car anyhow) so there'll always be some jealous eejit complaining (And no, it's not being arrogant, i've seen it happen before)

And before you say you've already done that, "Galway Cruisers" wouldn't exactly inspire me, i've seen a lot (not ALL) of sh1tboxes with bean-tin exhausts with these stickers in the windows - doesn't set a good image/example tbh

As someone who is a DIY car enthusiast and has enjoyed restoring cars in the past, what is it that you do to the car that would not put you and others in the 'boy racer' category (apart from being female of course;)).

Aren't most if not all modifications made to your cars designed to give the impression that you have improved performance or made the car look/sound more 'aggressive' i.e turn it into something you can 'race' with.

I agree it can be great fun resurrecting a car from the dead or returning it to its former glory but I just have never got my head round the idea of ruining the lines of a car with spoilers/go faster stripes, exhausts that serve no purpose other that to 'show off' etc all these have absolutely no reason/purpose at the speeds you will obtain in a 10yr old honda civic etc.