Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Late Night at Tesco's

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

What's up with all the scangers pulled up outside tescos car park from 12:00 a.m? they never even race, just sit there...
    its Galways new doggin site!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Did that happen in Tesco and under what circumstances?

yes thats why it posted in this thread. i was on both occassions entering the tesco carpark. stopped and looked before stepping off the foot path (it was clear except for a stopped knacker moblie) and then these knackers met my eye and were laughing as they chased me down and turned the wheel at the last minute. it was as close to a near death experience as i've had, and i've had one or two. it was intentional, no doubt in my mind. i sat down on the floor after as i was in shock and didn't get their plate numbers. It happened again a few weeks later (the whole, meeting the eye, speeding up ****e) but this time it wasn't as bad. the thing with my boyfriend happened when we were on the footpath waiting for them to stop racing around the exit so we could leave. i go to dunnes now.

before these things happened i never really minded these boy racers. its very hard for me now to trust one if i see them on the roads.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

missfemale wrote: »
    99.9% of the people that come down tescos are genuine car esthuasiats.. not scummer "boy racers".... although we are painted all with the one brush.

I just had to sign up when I read this. I could be wrong but I believe this person is off the road at the moment due to their dubious driving. Maybe the brush fits.

As for the donuts at two in the morning, myself and a mate were on our way home one night, happened upon an impromptu gathering of 'drifting fans' at a roundabout outside the city. We couldn't get by despite blowing the horn and letting them know as the roads were blocked with maybe 20-25 cars. He has a brainwave - if you can beat them join them so we tagged on the end of the convoy back to town. Guess where we ended up - Tesco's car park. Our happy little soiree was short-lived however as we were made decidedly unwelcome (buckfast bottle thrown at the car). Shame, they seem like good people, just misunderstood.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

MaxFlower wrote: »
    I just had to sign up when I read this. I could be wrong but I believe this person is off the road at the moment due to their dubious driving. Maybe the brush fits.

As for the donuts at two in the morning, myself and a mate were on our way home one night, happened upon an impromptu gathering of 'drifting fans' at a roundabout outside the city. We couldn't get by despite blowing the horn and letting them know as the roads were blocked with maybe 20-25 cars. He has a brainwave - if you can beat them join them so we tagged on the end of the convoy back to town. Guess where we ended up - Tesco's car park. Our happy little soiree was short-lived however as we were made decidedly unwelcome (buckfast bottle thrown at the car). Shame, they seem like good people, just misunderstood.:rolleyes:

kind of a nod to those defending the scanger label??

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

I often walk past the Tesco car park at between 12 and 2am on various nights and have never had or seen any problems with any of them. Sure some of them will screech off every now and then but its not really that bad. In any sort of activity there will always be certain undesirables no matter if its car fans, poker players, computer geeks or film fans or anything. Just look at football fans all non-football fans get the impression anyone going to live games is a hooligan but that is clearly not true. I live in Doughiska and they do appear to be racing somewhere near at times but it does seem to have decreased in recent weeks. There should be somewhere for them to do it safer instead of on the street but I guess to the minority this is part of the thrill.

I don't even own a car and don't know anyone who hangs out down there.
    Disclaimer: I've also only been in Galway just shy of a year so a lot of things could well have happened with them before my time.

PS please excuse any spelling or grammatical errors I suck at spelling etc.

jimmii wrote: »
    Don't we all!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

In any sort of activity there will always be certain undesirables no matter if its car fans, poker players, computer geeks or film fans or anything.

The subtle difference being that those poker players, computer geeks or film fans won't be harassing and generally annoying the **** out of everyone else early in the morning in public areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

It just struck me now that Tesco's should be actively involved in discouraging these knacks.

I was going into Tesco a few months ago at a late hour, which was my usual custom. Some of these yokes were parked all along beside the pedestrian crossing. They were revving and inching forward, daring me to go around them. I didn't give the smartest response ever, i'll admit, but it was satisfying.

I just walked close past the bonnet and gave a one-fingered salute. Tesco bouncer fella saw me do it and when I got as far as him he said that it wouldn't be wise to try that trick again... Smart fella that bouncer:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Dfens

Why don't you write a letter to Tesco's Galway Manager or S.C. management expressing your concerns ? Yes, they should be doing something to ensure the safety of their patrons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Just set up a LAN party every saturday night in the Tesco carpark. Problem solved.

wow, they're still there. supposedly, there was a massive congregation of 'em in january for some reason

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Terrykid

ya it was the night that the rally was in galway, it was unreal, traffis was really bad around 11pmaround tesco. it must be like their anual convention, it was some sight, very funny though, every car was spotless, like they dressed them up to go out or something:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

the gardai were always being called out to stop racing around the car park.

never had any trouble from them down there so don't really care..

altho i drove in the bowling alley side one night and near hit a black car drivin wit no lights on.. donkey.

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭talking_walnut

I often walk past the Tesco car park at between 12 and 2am on various nights and have never had or seen any problems with any of them. Sure some of them will screech off every now and then but its not really that bad. In any sort of activity there will always be certain undesirables no matter if its car fans, poker players, computer geeks or film fans or anything. Just look at football fans all non-football fans get the impression anyone going to live games is a hooligan but that is clearly not true. I live in Doughiska and they do appear to be racing somewhere near at times but it does seem to have decreased in recent weeks. There should be somewhere for them to do it safer instead of on the street but I guess to the minority this is part of the thrill.

I don't even own a car and don't know anyone who hangs out down there.
    Disclaimer: I've also only been in Galway just shy of a year so a lot of things could well have happened with them before my time.

I think things like this might be the difference between undesirable car enthusiasts and undesirables in other areas. A car is quite a dangerous piece of machinery in the wrong hands. Note my use of the word "undesirables". I know plenty of people who are into their cars but drive safely.

The laws should be tougher. Might ease some traffic congestion on our roads too :)

• Registered Users Posts: 31 missfemale

that was the galway rally they were all in for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

This happens in every town in the country. Its a generation thing where the 18-23 yr olds are there as a social thing.... Most if not all dont drink smoke or cause trouble... You will never find these fellas and girls fighting and spewing up all over the street wreaking havoc.

How do I know all this...? I used to go out "touring" when I was in my early 20's. I met most of my lifelong friends doing this... We are all "past it" now... Too old:eek:

The Garda fare enough know who the mouths are in the carpark. The lads that behave have no fear of being hassled. Again its the 2% that give all the lads a bad reputation unfortunately.

BTW you should go to Maherafelt, Cookstown or Toome and you will see that Galway is a small gathering......!

that was the galway rally they were all in for

You should know - you're one of them!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

I presume the shopping centre car park concerned is Tesco
    An Athenry boy racer has been given two suspended prison sentences for dangerous driving.
    19 year old Patrick Geoghan of Moyvilla, Athenry, pleaded guilty at Galway District Court this week to doing hand brake turns in a busy shopping centre car park on August 24 last year in Galway city.
    He also pleaded guilty to driving at 158 km/h on November 3 last near Oranmore while a “pram” or emergency wheel was fitted to his car because the regular wheel was punctured. Manufacturers of the puncture replacement wheel recommend a maximum speed of just 35 km/h.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 missfemale

MaxFlower wrote: »
    You should know - you're one of them!

thats obviously what i said and what you mean im one of them f*** you sorry

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

dankers08 wrote: »
    I must say i find this topic of conversation rather humerous, due to the fact that you clearly have no clue what you're talking about. I happen to be one of those "skangers" you refer to that sit down tesco, and contrary to your belief I most certainly have more than one shared brain cell....in fact the liklihood is that myself, and the other person here with me, who also spends part of their time socialising down tesco, has more intelligence in our baby fingers than all of you put together. Ye're insinuating that we have no lives when you are all, in fact, sitting at home discussing the lives of others. How does that reflect on you? Quite ironic isn't it? Oh and yes malice_...I did figure out how to turn on a computer, thanks for your concern. I find it amusing how you are saying in the same train of thought and idiocracy that the guards should be involved, giving the impression that ye are wonderful upstanding citizens, and also saying that ye'd like to come down and smash up the cars, quite the contradiction isn't it? This is our own private lives, ye continuously reiterate the fact that we are not the brightest, yet it is obvious that in saying that, that ye haven't interacted with any of the people, showing that you have no evidence and have, therefore, completely disproven your entire argument.

In fairness, if you buy a citeron saxo/VW Polo/Honda Civic/whatever for less than 10k and the proceed to spend 5-10k "modding" it, you're not the smartest man in the world.

your small engined front wheel drive city car will never be high proformance and looks f*cking stupid.

If you own a 15 year old skyline and engage in the same process you're still an idiot.
    Nissan spent tens of millions over the last 20 years developing that car and it's engine to prefect its proformance, there is a reason it's BHP is restricted, it actually proforms better around tracks un modded than modded, this is fact, straight line drag races dont count, you're not american and the car doesnt have 900bhp!

Basically, why spend 10k doing up a peice of ****e when you could have spent 20k buying a good car int he first place?

A 4 year old Vauxhall Monaro is about 17k now, a 3 year old focus RS is about the same, an old GTI would be easily got, a top end skyline over 9 years old would cost less than 15k, same for a GTO.

Putting what sounds like a spud up your exhaust on the pack of your car and lights under the floor pan dont make your car go faster, look cooler or anything else you try to achive by doing it, you just look like a tit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

You can pick up an M3 for less than €10k nowadays , factory modded is best :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭scottledeuce

OT but reminds me of one time some scanger in his saxo drove up bedide me revin the engine while I was waiting for a mate to come out from xtra vision.

Rolled down the window and asked me if I wanted to race...I really wanted to come out with something smart considering I was driving a fto which probably has twice as many cylinders not to mention bhp.:cool:

In the end I kept my mouth shut in case I found my car with a nasty dent in it some day but I still would love to know what made him think "yea I can beat this guy in a race":D

I f'n hate skobies.

I f'n hate skobies and their smelly pirate hooker girlfriends.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

http://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/10737
    Oranmore boy racer teen narrowly avoids jail
    Galway Advertiser, April 09, 2009.
    Six year suspended sentence imposed for dangerous driving

By Martina Nee

A teenager who entered a busy shopping centre car park at high speed before performing dangerous handbrake turns narrowly avoided jail and instead received a six year suspended sentence, was fined €2,100, and disqualified from driving for four years at Galway District Court this week.

Nineteen-year-old Patrick Geaghan with an address at Moyvilla, Oranmore, was summoned to appear before Judge Mary Fahy last Monday for two counts of dangerous driving, driving without due care and attention, having no NCT cert, and driving while unaccompanied.

Inspector Mick Coppinger told the court that on August 24, 2008, at 5.55pm an off-duty garda observed a car driven by the defendant entering the Galway Shopping Centre on the Headford Road at “high speed”. It then revved up, drove up towards Supermacs and performed handbrake turns, causing the car to “fish-tail out” in an area which was full of people. The garda was so concerned about the nature of the defendant’s driving that he deemed it necessary to intervene.

On November 3 at 4.05pm gardai who were conducting a speed checkpoint at Gurraun, Oranmore, observed the defendant driving his red Toyota Corolla at a speed of 158 kmph in a 100kmph zone. Inspector Coppinger said that the car had also been fitted with an emergency wheel which comes with a warning not to go over certain speeds “never mind the speed limit”. The defendant had also been unaccompanied and had no NCT cert. On April 5, 2008, at Bothar Na Dtreabh, Ballybrit, the defendant had been approaching the Ballybane roundabout when he rear-ended a car which then rear-ended another car, causing minor injuries.

Defence solicitor Adrian MacLynn acknowledged that his client’s behaviour had been “stupid” but that he had been covered by insurance and did co-operate with gardai. He added that Geaghan, who works in his father’s tarmacadam business and has no previous convictions, will not be driving for some time as the car is now up for sale.

“This man seems to think that this is a minor offence... The speed you were going at, did you not think you were endangering yourself and others? The rear-ending was because of your speed and you were not able to stop in time,” said Judge Fahy.

“The car in front stopped suddenly,” replied the defendant.

Judge Fahy, who was not impressed with the defendant’s attitude, then convicted Geaghan and imposed a six year sentence suspended for 12 months on condition that he enter his own bond of €500 to be of good behaviour. The defendant was also disqualified for a total of four years and fined €2,100 with three months to pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Ronanom

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    You can pick up an M3 for less than €10k nowadays , factory modded is best :D

Add another 8k for vrt unless your buying an e36

thats obviously what i said and what you mean im one of them f*** you sorry

Apology accepted :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Probably a repeat post but there is a website dedicated to finding shedmobiles hewn from solid Isopon.

http://www.barryboys.co.uk/mx/index.php?page=2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 rusty nail

I think things like this might be the difference between undesirable car enthusiasts and undesirables in other areas. A car is quite a dangerous piece of machinery in the wrong hands. Note my use of the word "undesirables". I know plenty of people who are into their cars but drive safely.

The laws should be tougher. Might ease some traffic congestion on our roads too :)
    What about women who Soup Up themselves with push-up bras and high heels?.