Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How did you score on your last round?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

78 gross last sunday. played to my handicap is all i can say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭slingerz

23 points for the 1st 9 this evening. Made all the more remarkable by the fact that I had surgery on my lower leg to remove 4 screws on Wednesday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

34pts this morning, scratched one on each nine. Had a birdie which brightened things up a bit for me (off 20)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

37 pts on Saturday, to just get over the hedge down to 5.4.

Then swiftly found myself slamming trunk at Clontarf on Sunday in the Lord Mayors having not played the course before, and played a football match that morning, was a 4 or 5 shots off qualifying.

.1 back and back up to 6 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

8 holes on saturday morning, 12 holes on sunday. Level par gross on saturday, 4 over on sunday. Still not dry after it yet. Quite p****d off with the weather at this stage! Also Hats off to Bob Rotella and Golf is not a game of perfect. Used some of the things in the book with some success over the weekend! Best 10 euro I've spent in a long time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

11 over on the first day of Captain's Prize. Had one double bogey, on the last :mad: :o

Made the cut anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

5 pars 2 bogey's 2 birdies 27points off 18...................front nine

19points back nine Satuarday, couldn't sleep, thought I've cracked it...

Fast forward 24 hours sunday, 13points front 17points back.

what a head wreck this game is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Simplyjoe

Blunder wrote: »
    Also Hats off to Bob Rotella and Golf is not a game of perfect. Used some of the things in the book with some success over the weekend! Best 10 euro I've spent in a long time!

I echo this. Had a horrible year of golf until I read this book. On Friday had
    40 points and on Sunday had 1 under net (stroke). Made some errors on Sunday that if I had taken Dr. Bob's advice I could have had 6 less shots. Trust me this is the best €10 you will ever spend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭arg

Playing really badly lately - +24 on sunday; had been playing in the 12-18 bracket fairly consistently since the start of the year and felt I was making real progress. At the start of the summer I had hopes of playing to 12 by the end of the year ; seems like a ridiculous notion now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

arg wrote: »
    Playing really badly lately - +24 on sunday; had been playing in the 12-18 bracket fairly consistently since the start of the year and felt I was making real progress. At the start of the summer I had hopes of playing to 12 by the end of the year ; seems like a ridiculous notion now.

What did you start the year at and what are you at now? Can be frustrating when it goes on you alright... same has happened to me recently. If you can do it once (consistently) you can di it again. That's what I'm telling myself anyway. I guess it's normal for mid to high teen handicappers to fall in and out of scoring and swinging well - that's why we're mid teen handicappers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭SEORG

4 Under Net (stroke play) on Sunday. My best round so far. :D

What did you start the year at and what are you at now? Can be frustrating when it goes on you alright... same has happened to me recently. If you can do it once (consistently) you can di it again. That's what I'm telling myself anyway. I guess it's normal for mid to high teen handicappers to fall in and out of scoring and swinging well - that's why we're mid teen handicappers.
    I don't have an official handicap - started back playing in october (had played a bit ten years previous for a couple of years) but I declared a society handicap of 15 in feb which I reduced to 13 in April. I'll spend a bit of time on the driving range to see if I can get myself sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

Weird round today, I was 3 over with 5 birdies, 5 pars and 8 bogeys. Surely if you have 5 birdies in a round you should be going under par...

Tee'd off at 5.10pm last night in the Wednesday s'ford, but it soon became apparent we weren't going to get around.

Was +2 gross after 16 and it was hard to see the ball at your feet - zero chance of seeing it fly. Scrambled a ridiculous bogey on 17 (index 1) and despite two of the lads manning the 18th fairway to try and hear the ball drop, I lost it and scratched the hole to finish with 36 feckin points!

Least I dodged a .1 I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Played in a past pupils outing there on Friday, holed a 50 yard pitch shot for an eagle 2 on the 18th (my first ever eagle) in front of a bit of a gallery of lads sitting on the verandah outside the bar. Round of applause and everything.

I couldnt help myself from breaking into a bit of an embarrassing dance routine with the excitement of the moment, and lets just say I will never again scoff at these celebration dances (such as Harrington's "jig" at the PGA) you see the pros at

Didnt score well at all on the day unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,610 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Played in a past pupils outing there on Friday, holed a 50 yard pitch shot for an eagle 2 on the 18th (my first ever eagle) in front of a bit of a gallery of lads sitting on the verandah outside the bar. Round of applause and everything.

I couldnt help myself from breaking into a bit of an embarrassing dance routine with the excitement of the moment, and lets just say I will never again scoff at these celebration dances (such as Harrington's "jig" at the PGA) you see the pros at

Didnt score well at all on the day unfortunately.
    That was actually a fist pump

Had been playing badly for a few weeks - read Golf is not a Game of Perfect (it been recommended by a few on this forum) and gave me a much needed new outlook on the game. The results have been great! Was hitting the ball very well in a recent society outing; didn't score brilliantly mainly because it was the first time I played the course and was punished heavily for a few relatively minor mi****s, but I really enjoyed the game and had some fantastic holes.
    My second round since reading the book was very good as well; had 2 birdies, 5 pars, 7 bogies, 2 doubles, scratched 2. It's very rare for me to have two birdies in a round; one of them was on the index 1 - hit a 3 wood into the wind to 5 foot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

13 over off the championship tees in the Captain's Prize (including a treble bogey!)

Won the Junior section :D:)

4 over in the presidents prize (as an honourary guest :cool: )...38pts with a scratch. 3 over after 4. 2 three putts. Should have birdied 14,15,16 and 17. Played solid, hit 13 greens and all but 4 fairways. Got cut .2, down to 5.8 :)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

35 points with 1 scratch yesterday (in a team competition). Played some fantastic irons and solid driving, hit 14 greens in regulation but putter was very cold, only 1 birdie (a two putt).
    I got a quick couple of pointers (a mini lesson) on Saturday night and it helped immensely... my focus was on swinging the club through towards the target and hitting the ball happened to be a consequence of this, whereas my tendency to try and "hit" the ball leads to more inconsistency in my shots. I hit greens with everything from my rescue, 3 iron, 4 iron all the way up so delighted with the result.
    Can't wait to work on the putting and bring on the next singles competition :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 ohinthecomputer

41 points. Had 26 on the front and 15 on the back. Came second because of a bad back nine... Including two scratches and two one pointers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Paulusmaximus

Played Waterford in their Senior Scratch cup. Had 73,73,75,76 for the four rounds. Couldn't get to grips with the front nine in all four rounds. was 13 over for the 4 rounds, 16 over for the front nine and 3 under for the back nine!!! i don't think i've ever played a course where one nine doesn't suit me at all and the the other nine suits me very well!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭kingshankly

as an 18 handicapper I am capable of some pretty inconsistant golf but today it all came together shot my record 5 over par 75 but the most astonishing thing was I had 12 birdie putts which about 8 were within 12 feet and I never made one( what could have been) mind you hadn't a 3 putt sitting here contemplating whether to go pro or stay an amateur next outing Friday 100 here I come

75, 5 over for me yesterday in our weekly singles.

Got off to a shocker, with 2 three putts in the first 3 holes - 4 over par. I said to my self if i finish the 9, 3 over, ill be happy. So I did :D I got back to 2 over but had stupid bogeys at 11 and 12. On the 14th, i had a wedge in my hand and put it onto a bunker - bogey.

Need to get down to 5 real quick before the end of the year if im going to have a chance at getting trials for the interpros!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

Played Waterford in their Senior Scratch cup. Had 73,73,75,76 for the four rounds. Couldn't get to grips with the front nine in all four rounds. was 13 over for the 4 rounds, 16 over for the front nine and 3 under for the back nine!!! i don't think I've ever played a course where one nine doesn't suit me at all and the the other nine suits me very well!!

A member of our club (Richard O'Donovan) won that event with rounds of 71, 72, 73, and 70 for a 2 over par total of 286. He's 17 and plays off scratch. Played with him a week later in Lucan and he barely broke sweat shooting a 74.

Played in our Foursomes Final yesterday. A screw up with tee-times meant we were delayed by a half hour and teed off at 3:30pm behind a society. Took us 4 hours to play 16 holes which for foursomes is brutally slow. We were 1 down playing 18 but manged to win it with a par. It was now nearly 8pm and almost pitch dark so instead of bombing drives off the 1st tee into the abyss (anyone who knows the first tee in Lucan will understand...see attached), we decided to play the par 3 7th until we had a winner.

It was so dark that we had to leave the 2 guys who weren't teeing off on the green so they could listen for where the tee shots landed. First time round both balls found the green and we halved in 3. Second time round I took a six-iron, made a half swing and punched the ball towards the green to ensure that I hit it straight. Our opponents found trouble in high grass and we won out with a 4. Not a nice way to win it but they're the breaks.

Niall09 wrote: »
    75, 5 over for me yesterday in our weekly singles.

Got off to a shocker, with 2 three putts in the first 3 holes - 4 over par. I said to my self if i finish the 9, 3 over, ill be happy. So I did :D I got back to 2 over but had stupid bogeys at 11 and 12. On the 14th, i had a wedge in my hand and put it onto a bunker - bogey.

Need to get down to 5 real quick before the end of the year if im going to have a chance at getting trials for the interpros!

You'd be doing well to get trials for the Interpro's playing off 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 bignose3838

Played Rosslare Golf club for the first time ever, the course is great and I played well. It was a bit windy, but thats what it's all about.
    Out of interest how bdo you become a pro as in able to teach, I'm nowhere near that stage yet but I just wanted to know as we had a discusion in the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

I think you have to play off a max of 4 hcap to enrol in a 3-year course with the PGA (run out of The Belfry) and also have to shoot better than two 75's round a particular course. Dundalk was one of the courses the Irish PGA used here on the East coast when they were based there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭stooge

Played 9holes in stepaside on sat. Finished 7over for nine which included a double and triple bogey.

Quite happy with my driving which has been a weak point since I started playing again at xmas.

Its an easy enough course and only played 9 instead of 18, but its encouraging for me nonetheless. Gave myself 3 or 4 birdie chances which I missed but still happy to be giving myself the chances in the first place.

Great weather too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Played 9 holes yeaterday in Tullamore, 2 over for 2 and was level par after 9:) Short game still needs improving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭WaldenByThoreua

+3 37pts in open singles last wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

41pts on Sat. Nice round as I scored well but some of my mid irons were poor and the short game had to come to the rescue

level par on Saturday off 6, 42 points. Went out Sunday, level par again, 41 pts :D

Got cut 1.1 in total and am now second lowest junior at my club (previously being 4th). Am now playing off 4.7

Weird golf though, on Saturday i hit 14 greens and played great, consistent golf. On Sunday, I played about 3 or 4 times worse, but ended up with the same score :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭slingerz

Had my best ever scores on the last 3 occasions I've gone out. An 89, 86 and 85. Left some silly shots behind me with poor putting, 3 putted on 6 occasions and some errant pitch/chip shots

Is it just me or does everyone seem to be playing well all of a sudden!?
    Great scores guys. Especially Niall - that's awesome stuff!

President's Prize in our place on Sunday. Was 6 over thru 14 and birdied 15, 16 and the index 1 17th. Hit it to 8 feet on 18 for a fourth in a row but no joy!
    +3 gross and 39pts off 6 gets me back down to 5.

The gas thing was, my nines were 17pts on front and 22pts on back. I figured I'd be beaten with 40 or 41 even though it was a tough day.

Believe it or not I was beaten by another 39. Some lunatic had 16 on the front and 23 on the back!! :p

You can only laugh really but very happy overall. Hit 14 greens which for me is unheard of. I average 8 per round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

72 (level par) 41pts, off 5.

Scratched one hole and bogeyed two others. 4 Birdies (3 in a row on 12,13&14).

My 41pts wasn't even at the races, didn't win any prize. But happy enough with the score as I am not hitting the ball that well at the moment, but grinding out the scores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭neckedit

finally got my 3rd card in for my handicap, like others on the forum, haven't played in 4-5 years getting back in to it. hopefully getsome practice in over the off season and see how bad I really am. Looking forward to meeting some boardies on the Scratch Cup scene next year:p

Is it just me or does everyone seem to be playing well all of a sudden!?Great scores guys. Especially Niall - that's awesome stuff!

President's Prize in our place on Sunday. Was 6 over thru 14 and birdied 15, 16 and the index 1 17th. Hit it to 8 feet on 18 for a fourth in a row but no joy!
    +3 gross and 39pts off 6 gets me back down to 5.

The gas thing was, my nines were 17pts on front and 22pts on back. I figured I'd be beaten with 40 or 41 even though it was a tough day.

Believe it or not I was beaten by another 39. Some lunatic had 16 on the front and 23 on the back!! :p

You can only laugh really but very happy overall. Hit 14 greens which for me is unheard of. I average 8 per round.

No I'm playing sh!t :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 limerick-kev24

somebody said it before i did!!!! playing ****e too lately, 4 to 7 iron and putting gone missing!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

brutal score, but I won my first ever golf prize today :)

second shot terrible most of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 764 ✭✭✭xbox36016

-3 in cahir last weak:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,027 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

xbox36016 wrote: »
    -3 in cahir last weak:eek:

Will you stfu with your lying...1) You barely even play and 2)You are off 30..No lie people..The child is off 30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,823 ✭✭✭kingshankly

callaway92 wrote: »
    Will you stfu with your lying...1) You barely even play and 2)You are off 30..No lie people..The child is off 30

Great score of 30 not bad 69 points !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Playing brutal too. 25 points playing off 18 at Hollywood Lakes.

Funny but 6 months ago when i was playing a lot i was shooting late 70's. Now i've developed a nasty draw (some might call it a hook) off the tee, i 3 putt regularly and my ball striking is terrible. Funny game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

77 (+6) at The Portmarnock Links.
    Came 1st in a society outing.
    Chuffed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭WaldenByThoreua

77 (+6) at The Portmarnock Links.
    Came 1st in a society outing.
    Chuffed.

Becoming a member in Portmarnock, whats it like? Up there with The European Club Lahinch and Ballybunion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

Becoming a member in Portmarnock, whats it like? Up there with The European Club Lahinch and Ballybunion?

Portmarnock GC is class, rated 2nd in the country by golfers digest.

Portmarnock Links is a different course, absolute top quality aswell. Held the irish womans open a few months ago. Bernard Langer designed. Classic links.

They're both on the same strech of land.

Had a wierd weekend. 30 pts on saturday followed by 40 pts on sunday. What a difference a day makes!

fullstop wrote: »
    You'd be doing well to get trials for the Interpro's playing off 5

That's what i thought too, untill someone told me that all ppl in category 1 under 18 from Munster were called up to get trials.

Niall09 wrote: »
    That's what i thought too, untill someone told me that all ppl in category 1 under 18 from Munster were called up to get trials.
    Ain't like that in Ulster!