Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are the main cars Guards Drive?

• 15-05-2008 4:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭

as above does anyone know the main cars the guards here drive??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Ford
    Nissan
    Subaru (limited)
    Mitsubshi (1)
    Volvo (limited)

There only one or two more I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

What Nissans do they drive?
    and what Mitsubishi ?

Thanks..

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,511 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

BMW
    Toyota
    Honda
    FIAT

Many many more. They pretty much drive everyday cars now

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭sgt.bilko

traffic corp have nissan patrol jeeps and i think mitsubishi lancers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Gunmetal Bmw 318 d 2007 and silver Traffic
    ScooobyForester
    Bmw 535d
    Black Landcruisers
    Alfas but i think they couldn't stand the work
    Garda
    Got a bit of sense in the last two years they have all sorts and country reg s now aswell

So not all Garda cars are Dublin reg now?

Good idea...sort out their aerial issue and they might actually catch some people.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,511 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

ClioV6 wrote: »
    sort out their aerial issue and they might actually catch some people.

You'll be surprised what they have now...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

Don't forget the Isuzu Troopers, the BMW X5s (I think that they have "specialist" usage), the Opel Vectras, the Fiat Puntos, Ford Transits, Fiestas, Foci, and Mondeos (I especially like the unmarked Mondeos with the blue lights screwed to the sides of the front bumpers!), and a few other odds and ends.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Merc S class (seen one with an E60 BMW on the N4) - possibly political usage
    Toyota Yaris, Corolla, Avensis & Camrys
    Opel Corsa and Vectra

antodeco wrote: »
    You'll be surprised what they have now...

I hope so!

Sick of seeing yaris' and punto garda cars..

what's the point..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Tails142

I hope so!

what's the point..

eh...... travelling to and from the scene of crimes? ;)

Tails142 wrote: »
    eh...... travelling to and from the scene of crimes? ;)

ahhh I mean the ones on patrol on the national roads...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I hope so!

what's the point..
    Very little of the gardais time is spent in high speed chases.
    Is a 155mph capable car needed for routine community work, responding to burgalries, etc.?
    ahhh I mean the ones on patrol on the national roads...
    When they are out on the main road then you don't know exactly why they are there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Very hard to out run radio waves

kbannon wrote: »
    Very little of the gardais time is spent in high speed chases.
    Is a 155mph capable car needed for routine community work, responding to burgalries, etc.?

When they are out on the main road then you don't know exactly why they are there!

It isn't needed for community work! I'm not saying we shouldn't have those cars in service but these are the cars we(being me and friends) always see on the main road from ballon to carlow (which is notorious for racing).
    I just think it's a bit ridiculous.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

2926007a.jpg

Uk counterparts ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,685 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Heard a Siren outside the window ealrier so peeped out to see a Grey, new Mondeo pulling up next to a van. He seemed to point at the occupant of the van, throw his head back and laugh then speed off in to the industrial estate.

Not sure if it was someone messing with a friend (guy in the van started laughing when he saw who was in the Mondeo) or the 1st unmarked new model Mondeo I've seen. Didn't get a long enough look to check for the extra lights on the wings / stubby ariels, but it didn't seem like the sort of car someone would throw a siren in to for a laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Saw a guy in an Alfa 146 get pulled in by a grey Volvo S60 on sat afternoon last on the M50, blue lights on the back and front window, a first for me ! A uniformed garda driving it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

The boys in blue drive nearly everything these days, as previous posts say,
    Mondeos, Corollas are the main ones, but you can get a bit of everything else.
    Still a few Camrys knocking around - one is always with the Black S350 (I presume that's Brian's now!!!)
    How to recognise an undercover?
    OK, the the three aerials (two of which will be stumps)
    Number plate holders have no garage identification
    No garage stickers in back window
    Dash and parcel shelf fixed strobe units
    PJ and PJ up front!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

gman2k wrote: »
    The boys in blue drive nearly everything these days, as previous posts say,
    Mondeos, Corollas are the main ones, but you can get a bit of everything else.
    Still a few Camrys knocking around - one is always with the Black S350 (I presume that's Brian's now!!!)
    OK, the the three aerials (two of which will be stumps)
    Number plate holders have no garage identification
    No garage stickers in back window
    Dash and parcel shelf fixed strobe units
    PJ and PJ up front!!!!

The aerials are getting smaller and I've seen some with garage plate surrounds (and insurance disks), what's giving them away to me now is that the middle LED in the high-level rear brake light is missing/dead/blocked by a tiny strobe.

Of course, by the time you're close enough to see that they've already seen you! :D

I agree, the best way to spot a Garda car is PJ & PJ!!

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Deicida

Ford Mondeo's Dublin registration usually 5 didgets! thats down south anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Indeed it is! Only the Taoiseach gets a car in that class, and he has a 06 S350.

All future state cars, including the Ministerial ones will be diesel powered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

E92 wrote: »

Why is this, emissions?

I have seen a volvo S40 Guarda car in cork I think, and I saw a Saab 93 a few years back but that was only a trial, a few were purchased but no more have been since. Actually the volvo may have been a V70? Not sure.

O and the cops drive Fiat vans(paddywagons) now too along with the transits.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

E92 wrote: »
    Indeed it is! Only the Taoiseach gets a car in that class, and he has a 06 S350.

Mary also has one, excpet hers has wing mounted Tricolour and Presidential Standard. She had an S-Class before An Taoiseach having had a 99 previous to the identical order in 2006.

They also have an unmarked Renault Espace floating around somewhere, saw it at an Ard-Fheis in recent years.

I've seen the 3 Series and a White Ssanyong Rexton on the N7 outside Naas. There's a few mid 2000s Xsaras doing the rounds too. The new stock has only the factory arial though, so the days of 3 arials giving the game away are gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,319 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Make that 'unmarked' and you are close. You forgot: no insurance disk, tax disc states 'Exempt'. A couple of other indications too, but I'm staying schtum.

If you spot an undercover car, the guys who prepared it didn't do their job well.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Ferris

New shape Lexus GS300 in black with no aerials, only blue strobes in the front and rear windows.
    Blue Subaru Forrester Turbo.
    Red Transit Minibus with blacked out windows around Dundalk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

lollers some of the replies in this thread are funny ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

every guard car i see is corrolla/mondeo but if they where'nt slow enough they've even got yaris/micra's and an unmarked 55 hp fait punto....

lets just hope they Train the drivers before buying a new fleet of under powered over weight Fwd saloons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

They even have a small iveco rigid HORSEBOX truck! Saw it one day on the main Dublin/Limerick Road.

I wonder what vehicle they use to move the gear around for their Orchestra? Transit probably!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭WHITE_P

They have quite a few Subaru Foresters, got close to one recently at a set of traffic lights.

Gold colour, 06-D plate, tiny little camera mounted beside the rear high level brake light, and blue LED lights (about the size of an old pound coin) mounted to a dog guard behind the rear seats.

PJ and PJ up front, neither of them wearing a seat belt, until they decided to chase after a car going the opposite way.